Perception this season?

I have today put up a thread on IMDb about this subject, which is doing rather well, and they are coming up with some very interesting perception related topics. Some I had never even thought of. I decided to watch 8 x 01 this evening, and thought I have begun to forget stuff, so it did me the world of good to go back and start at the very beginning. Most have said the perception is from the brothers point of view, but I disagree there I think it is from all angles.

So what I would like from you today my little angels is, if we can think of what scene/moment made you think it was perception. As I have been having a hard time working out if it was perception or not. So drop Aunty B some lines and lets see how we progress, as it might make it easier for some of us, who can’t piece it all together for what ever reason.

Here is my link for you all to peruse at your leisure, and examine with a fine tooth comb.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0460681/board/flat/214856774?p=1

14 thoughts on “Perception this season?

  1. I truly enjoy seeing what people think about the show and where it is headed I really do! I hope I’ve read the comments correctly and don’t misuse anyone’s words, but there a couple things that struck me as intriguing. Everyone seems a bit excited about Sam’s reaction to the angels, but it was surprise just as much as anyone. Sam hadn’t known the plan that Dean and Cas were following. So he simply asks, “what’s happening?” Dean knows so he answers. Sam has been preoccupied with closing Hell’s gates. I think he was simply exhausted and in pain still from the trials, but the angel that fell in the water near them jolted Sam awake a bit to ask what was happening. I don’t think that Sam will have anymore connection to the angels than he did before.

    Someone also mentioned that Sam’s world with Amelia seemed “wonderlandlike.” Well, I think that’s because it was paralleled with Dean’s dingy, dark memories of purgatory. You have Sam’s bright, unrealistic world for a Winchester man, with Dean’s dangerous world that seems more like a Winchester life. I think Sam’s world was trying to show what reality looks like in comparison to Winchester life [it’s going to look odd and unusually bright and colorful]. They also had Dean find a closeness with someone in purgatory to create that “mistrust angle” with Sam finding Amelia and not looking for Dean. Plus, the boys keeping secrets from each other has been a custom from the beginning. It seems to be a characteristic that both boys keep. I think Dean was also once again afraid of Sam leaving now that he is back. Sam has always seen the way out, since the beginning and that was brought back into the storyline with the finding of Amelia and I think Dean saw it set into stone until the college admission emails. That screams to Dean, “Sammy’s leaving again. Just like he did when he went off to Standford.”

    Sam changes his mind when he realizes that the only way to appease Dean is to do these trials. He needed to prove to Dean that he wasn’t, “Sammy, the kid anymore.” Something Dean thinks he can let go of, but never really does. Sam put himself through a penance, like how Cas did with purgatory. All of it was for Dean, if one really thinks about it. However, I think what this season 8 ending brought was that FORGIVENESS the boys have needed between one another. They gained each other back through FORGIVENESS, a theme that I think was resonate since season 7 [but they never got there] and then carried throughout season 8. Dean and Cas seemed to have forgiven each other as well. However, there is one angel who doesn’t want to fix anything with FORGIVENESS [that being Metatron]…Metatron seems to think that the angels will suffer from falling. Are we to expect they die? Or merely lose their grace and become as Metatron told Cas to do? Live a life, make a story. Stories. They seem very important for Metatron and now he is going to twist one of his own through the apparent “god’s word” on the tablets, which confuses me, but hey! it was a nice twist. Plus, there is that precarious notion of Abaddon wanting a “regime change.” Queen of Hell, anyone? Anyone? Not that I’d want to see Crowley [Mark Sheppard] go, no! But there is definitely more to do with her. If not, why have the boys dig her up? Oh, wait that was to let her roam free to cause havoc…with more havoc brought upon by falling angels. Yup, season 9 will be intriguing. Hopefully, they can bring it in with gusto. I trust the writers and everyone else won’t let us down.

    Like

    1. I truly enjoy seeing what people think about the show and where it is headed I really do! I hope I’ve read the comments correctly and don’t misuse anyone’s words, but there a couple things that struck me as intriguing. Everyone seems a bit excited about Sam’s reaction to the angels, but it was surprise just as much as anyone. Sam hadn’t known the plan that Dean and Cas were following. So he simply asks, “what’s happening?” Dean knows so he answers. Sam has been preoccupied with closing Hell’s gates. I think he was simply exhausted and in pain still from the trials, but the angel that fell in the water near them jolted Sam awake a bit to ask what was happening. I don’t think that Sam will have anymore connection to the angels than he did before.
      It was odd that the fall of that angel in the water did move him enough to wake him fully. As he was out of it. So from this you don’t think Sam has a connection to the angels? So I am still back to square one. I don’t no what Metatron ment from, oh you are resonating? You are right in that he was exhausted and in pain from the trials.

      Someone also mentioned that Sam’s world with Amelia seemed “wonderland-like.” Well, I think that’s because it was paralleled with Dean’s dingy, dark memories of purgatory. You have Sam’s bright, unrealistic world for a Winchester man, with Dean’s dangerous world that seems more like a Winchester life. I think Sam’s world was trying to show what reality looks like in comparison to Winchester life [it’s going to look odd and unusually bright and colorful]. They also had Dean find a closeness with someone in purgatory to create that “mistrust angle” with Sam finding Amelia and not looking for Dean. Plus, the boys keeping secrets from each other has been a custom from the beginning. It seems to be a characteristic that both boys keep. I think Dean was also once again afraid of Sam leaving now that he is back. Sam has always seen the way out, since the beginning and that was brought back into the story line with the finding of Amelia and I think Dean saw it set into stone until the college admission emails. That screams to Dean, “Sammy’s leaving again. Just like he did when he went off to Stanford.”
      This is so why I loved starting this blog, as I see things in my mind, and I don’t always get it. Its great for me to see how others break it all down, and show it piece by piece. Some of this I would have never picked up in a million years. I don’t no how I miss stuff as I really take notice of what’s going on around me on screen, may be I don’t pay enough attention I don’t no. But nearly all of us were convinced here and on the forum that there was something supernatural at play with those scenes in particular. But now you’ve emphasized this in this way, it clicks. There was a promo poster out some time last year, and a tree divided the boys with Dean in a forest setting darkened and leaning against a tree. Sam was kneeling in a field by this same tree, with a dog next to him. Now why didn’t your well thought out theory click with me, when I saw that picture as this is what I am picturing now. So Dean also has his own deep fears of bunking off and leaving him again, just as in the pilot. So this season has been all about the brothers relationship. Carver I think your awesome!!! Its always been about how Sam has always wanted out, which is brilliant continuity.

      Sam changes his mind when he realizes that the only way to appease Dean is to do these trials. He needed to prove to Dean that he wasn’t, “Sammy, the kid anymore.” Something Dean thinks he can let go of, but never really does. Sam put himself through a penance, like how Cas did with purgatory. All of it was for Dean, if one really thinks about it. However, I think what this season 8 ending brought was that FORGIVENESS the boys have needed between one another. They gained each other back through FORGIVENESS, a theme that I think was resonate since season 7 [but they never got there] and then carried throughout season 8. Dean and Cas seemed to have forgiven each other as well. However, there is one angel who doesn’t want to fix anything with FORGIVENESS [that being Metatron]…Metatron seems to think that the angels will suffer from falling. Are we to expect they die? Or merely lose their grace and become as Metatron told Cas to do? Live a life, make a story. Stories. They seem very important for Metatron and now he is going to twist one of his own through the apparent “god’s word” on the tablets, which confuses me, but hey! it was a nice twist. Plus, there is that precarious notion of Abaddon wanting a “regime change.” Queen of Hell, anyone? Anyone? Not that I’d want to see Crowley [Mark Sheppard] go, no! But there is definitely more to do with her. If not, why have the boys dig her up? Oh, wait that was to let her roam free to cause havoc…with more havoc brought upon by falling angels. Yup, season 9 will be intriguing. Hopefully, they can bring it in with gusto. I trust the writers and everyone else won’t let us down.
      Again I can relate to this as Sam sees Dean as a father figure, he is also his brother rolled into 1. I think this reminds me of when some one says to someone you are tied to your mothers apron strings, and will never let go. This is rather sad actually as they never will let each other go. They both look up to each other and are devoted to one another, because that’s who each other has, they only have each other. If they had the chance to back down, they never would. They at the end of the day could not be parted from one another. Metatron is the key I think to the first part of next season, I am really interested in where they are taking him as he could be a real, cool nasty character. Particularly as you say, I thought the same thing its all about the stories, and Metatron has plenty of stories to tell. Abaddon is not finished with yet. Definitely with the words “regime change.” roaming free from her lips. She will be one tough cookie to get rid of. I think the writers are doing a good job this season, few duff episodes but on the whole, its been a cracker. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

  2. The main moment for me was when Dean kept seeing images of Cas everywhere.Even before that, I questioned Sam’s memories of his time with A. But the final straw was when Cas related to Dean what really happened in Purgatory. I started to question all of the characters perceptions about what was going on and yet…I was still caught off guard becauuse it wasn’t about the characters perceptions at all. Carver was playing with us the viewers.

    It turns out that all of the plots thrown at us this season was a distraction to what was happening right in front of our faces. The breakdown,the repair and the maturation of the brother’s relationship.

    It started from a place of mistrust and the guys have evolved and grown so much since that first episode. I suspect that next season will be about the evolution of Cas and Dean teaching him how to be human. Team free will has got a lot to work on emotionally if they’re going to be ready for Carver’s endgame in season ten.

    Like

    1. The main moment for me was when Dean kept seeing images of Cas everywhere.Even before that, I questioned Sam’s memories of his time with A. But the final straw was when Cas related to Dean what really happened in Purgatory. I started to question all of the characters perceptions about what was going on and yet…I was still caught off guard because it wasn’t about the characters perceptions at all. Carver was playing with us the viewers.
      Ikeke I think I was in the same boat originally. So I was write all along, it was clever writing.

      It turns out that all of the plots thrown at us this season was a distraction to what was happening right in front of our faces. The breakdown, the repair and the maturation of the brother’s relationship.
      So Jeremy was right about a Mature Sam. But failed to tell us that Dean was also maturing. So we were not fully compos ment-is about perception until they unveiled the finale?

      It started from a place of mistrust and the guys have evolved and grown so much since that first episode. I suspect that next season will be about the evolution of Cas and Dean teaching him how to be human. Team free will has got a lot to work on emotionally if they’re going to be ready for Carver’s endgame in season ten
      Sam not looking for Dean, yes. But if Cas is human for a while, who is there left to fix Sam? Please tell me more about this end GAME!! 😉

      Thanks for the comment,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

      1. I don’t think Sam is going to need fixing. I think Sam appearing to still be sick is a red herring. Its not what we should be focusing on as we go into season nine. I also think the whole Sam not looking for Dean thing is over. The purpose of that piece of information has been served and you guys need to focus your attention to what this season means going forward. Of course I could be wrong but I don’t think that Sam being sick or not looking is our primary concern.

        I have to admit that I thought Sam was still sick from the trials but I went back and watched the episode several times and I think what Sam is reacting to is the fall of the angels. The glowing arms had disappeared and then after Dean hugged him he grimaced which was about the time Heaven would have just closed and the angels began to fall.For some reason, I think that’s what Sam was reacting to which does nicely set up your theory about Sam being in tune or resonating with the angels, specifically Metatron. If that’s so then whatever we saw happening to him may play a large part in season nine.

        As for Carver’s endgame : He stated himself that he was working on a three season arc from eight to ten. This is just the first part of the whole story he’s trying to tell.Season eight is basically the introduction and setup of all the major players through season ten. We don’t know what his story is or where it will go because he only just introduced it this season. For example: that figure watching Sam leave A. I suspect that’s important and something that will play out in the next two seasons.

        Like

        1. I don’t think Sam is going to need fixing. I think Sam appearing to still be sick is a red herring. Its not what we should be focusing on as we go into season nine. I also think the whole Sam not looking for Dean thing is over. The purpose of that piece of information has been served and you guys need to focus your attention to what this season means going forward. Of course I could be wrong but I don’t think that Sam being sick or not looking is our primary concern.
          I am getting that whole ball game now, why the writers didn’t want Sam to look for his brother. It was all setting up the story from the mistrust angle. And your right, we need to focus on newer material coming through and get a better understanding of what might come our way. 😀 As a fan I just worry about the consequences of him not being well. What this could lead to next season. He is a major player and is signed for two more years, so I no if he dies he will be bought back. So I’m not overly concerned, but it will be on my mind over the summer if he is okay underneath?

          I have to admit that I thought Sam was still sick from the trials but I went back and watched the episode several times and I think what Sam is reacting to is the fall of the angels. The glowing arms had disappeared and then after Dean hugged him he grimaced which was about the time Heaven would have just closed and the angels began to fall. For some reason, I think that’s what Sam was reacting to which does nicely set up your theory about Sam being in tune or resonating with the angels, specifically Metatron. If that’s so then whatever we saw happening to him may play a large part in season nine.
          I did actually wonder this myself. If the angels falling were having an affect on him. As someone said he had passed out and as they fell he came too and asked Dean what was happening. Thank you I thought I was going bonkers over that thought. Metatron would not have said the word unless it was an important factor. 😀
          Could Sam be good and not related to hell after all?

          As for Carver’s endgame : He stated himself that he was working on a three season arc from eight to ten. This is just the first part of the whole story he’s trying to tell.Season eight is basically the introduction and setup of all the major players through season ten. We don’t know what his story is or where it will go because he only just introduced it this season. For example: that figure watching Sam leave A. I suspect that’s important and something that will play out in the next two seasons.
          I no, this was what I understood he was getting at. Carver is a slow burner I have no doubts about this now. That figure has been driving me mad for a long time. Especially since that alternate universe theory came out it got me thinking about it even more. I wonder who it really is, and what importance they are playing? Another thought struck me, could it even be John Winchester? 😛

          Thanks for the comment,
          Love Aunty B xxxxx

          Like

          1. “I have to admit that I thought Sam was still sick from the trials but I went back and watched the episode several times and I think what Sam is reacting to is the fall of the angels”
            I so hope youre right as aother season of sick!Sam will be borrringgggggggggggggg

            Like

            1. “I have to admit that I thought Sam was still sick from the trials but I went back and watched the episode several times and I think what Sam is reacting to is the fall of the angels”
              I so hope you’re right as another season of sick!Sam will be borrringgggggggggggggg

              There does seem to be a strong connection leading this way. As Metatron new what was happening to Sam.

              Thanks for the comment,
              Love Aunty B xxxxx

              Like

          2. Or that figure could be any number of people from the past ,present or an alternate world. It doesn’t have to be Dean and Sam who are misplaced. It could be some other displaced version of one of them or it could be a displaced/out of time angel.

            Like

            1. Or that figure could be any number of people from the past ,present or an alternate world. It doesn’t have to be Dean and Sam who are misplaced. It could be some other displaced version of one of them or it could be a displaced/out of time angel.
              Ikeke your so right, and spot on. It seems for ever though in reveal something that happened so far back in 8 x 01. Carver is such a slllllooooooooooooowwwwwwww burner. I would love to no how he comes up with these amazing ideas? I think Supernatural is getting back to what it once was 🙂

              Thanks for the comment,
              Love Aunty B xxxxx

              Like

  3. One of the times was how picture perfect and wonderlandlike Sam’s world with A. was like with all the primary colors. Another time was the shadow figure looking in on S+ A- maybe it was Sam looking at himself-his own perception of himself-deciding she was better off without him as well-one of those never answered questions this season, so I rationalize it this way. Cas’s perception has been off about many things all season. Dean’s perception of Purgatory. Sam’s perception of Dean’s perception of Sam. Sam’s perception of Benny. Benny’s perception of where he thought he belonged. Jodie Mill’s perception of Crowley. Sam’s perception of the Grand Canyon trip. Even the witch/dog/cat episode had misperception. Some were obvious others did not make sense until the finale. I have not rewatched the season so I cannot say when the thread popped first. It certainly unraveled in the finale. will get back to you.

    Like

    1. One of the times was how picture perfect and wonderland-like Sam’s world with A. was like with all the primary colors.
      This was why we thought something Supernatural might have been behind it. As we all commented on how hazier those pictures actually looked. As though someone was playing with your own mind. Making you think this. I do remember us talking about that picnic scene in particular as it reminded us all of Dean and Lisa’s scene. I also recall some scene with Amelia were not as hazey as some were.

      Another time was the shadow figure looking in on S+ A- maybe it was Sam looking at himself-his own perception of himself-deciding she was better off without him as well-one of those never answered questions this season, so I rationalize it this way.
      This thought did cross my mind also. I thought thinking back it could have been one of five people. Sam looking back at himself, Azazel, the alpha vamp, Don, and even Dean had crossed my mind. There was another but have since forgotten. I re-watched this episode last night and don’t recall the person just the bush moving. Also when I watch the show on the computer screen it is sometimes very dark, and you cannot make out those finer details. So that detail is clearly there of a person in a coat with a hood. Perhaps this is the perception, that it was in our imagination and was never there in the first place?

      Cas’s perception has been off about many things all season. Dean’s perception of Purgatory.
      I still cannot get my head around the portal for a few reasons. I early on so wanted the portal to reject Cas because he wasn’t human. Why would Cas be so willing to let go of Dean’s hand which I admit to stay behind in purgatory to pay penance for his actions, but why oh why, does he shout Dean’s name as if he wants to come out of the portal with him. This still to me does no make any rational sense. Or this might be perception once again. The other thing, how on earth did Benny no it was a human portal. If Naomi is not behind a lot of this? How would he have known.

      Dean’s perception of Purgatory./strong>
      So if both boys perception or idea of purgatory is wrong, which version is the correct one?

      Sam’s perception of Dean’s perception of Sam.
      Woah, hang on. Re-wind with this one please ….. So none of what we have seen of Sam this year has been what it should have been. You can tell I’m confused as hell 😉

      Sam’s perception of Benny.
      This I have almost got my head around.

      Benny’s perception of where he thought he belonged.
      I have got my head around.

      Jodie Mill’s perception of Crowley.
      So are you talking about their date in the finale? that she didn’t know who he was, when she did all along?

      Sam’s perception of the Grand Canyon trip.
      Yes as we all no they both never went there in the first place, duh writers …. 😉

      Even the witch/dog/cat episode had misperception.
      This I have almost got my head around.

      Some were obvious others did not make sense until the finale. I have not re-watched the season so I cannot say when the thread popped first. It certainly unraveled in the finale. will get back to you.
      Tell me about it. I am still trying to work most of them out. I have a firmer idea of where I am going with this now, as I was struggling at first. I just wanted to clarify it in my own head, as I was beginning to thing was I going nuts. Its so confusing and I think the writers did a great job in getting one over on us and making us really think about the writing, and what message they were trying to get across. It really did take some writing, I sometimes don’t no how these writers do it, and keep a level head over it. It would certainly confuse the hell out of me.

      Thanks for the comment,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

    1. There were some really good posts on your IMDB thread!
      Thanks barb, there were some great answers. I was amazed that some never thought there were any 😉

      Thanks for the comment,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

