The human portal?

A number of points phase me about this little gem of writing, that our writers could think up an amazing idea such as a portal. This has had me mussing over these thoughts this year and once again on re-watch. Perhaps my little angels can shed some light on this one for me. So here goes …..

Five individual questions raised my eyebrows this season which yet have not been answered, so here they are.

SUPERNATURAL  Season 8 purgatory .................
The human portal was there more to this ………
  1. How did Benny know there was a way out
  2. How did Benny know that the portal could only carry HUMAN passengers.
  3. How did Benny know a human (DEAN) was running riot in his domain
  4. Why was Cas so sure that he would not get back on earth
  5. Why did Cas shout Dean’s name if he was willing to stay behind, to serve penance for his crimes
SUPERNATURAL  Season 8 purgatory .......
Why did Cas shout ‘Dean’
Was he scared of being left behind?

My only theory up to now is that the portal new Cas wasn’t human and rejected him. This was also why Benny knew that he had to envelop himself inside Dean and hitch a ride as he new it would reject him if he rode out solo. So if this is the case I think Perception is to blame or bad writing once again. Unless others have firmer idea’s. I so wanted the portal to reject Cas because he wasn’t human and the portal forced Cas to let go of Dean’s hand which was why he was hollering his name out. Both boys had different views of why they never both made it out at the same time. Even more concerning, was how Benny new of the portal and how he knew it was a human portal ONLY?

SUPERNATURAL  Season 8 purgatory ..............
How did Benny no about the Portal
and that it could only take HUMAN’S

So Bella is excited in hearing her little ones explanations and ask you to once again share your thoughts with her, and the world. Is the portal such a mystery or is it something very simple that has not been explained, YET? So get that keyboard typing guys and set this little mystery straight. 

9 thoughts on “The human portal?

  1. How did Benny know there was a way out?

    I wonder if Benny is the only one in purgatory that knows about the exit, because the minute I showed up there, I’d be searching for one. I assume that most of the monsters there did just that. Find an exit, figure out it is apparently only for humans (as someone mentioned it plays along with that notion that humans go through purgatory to prove themselves, then pass on through like Dante’s Inferno).
    Yes, there is something very suspicious about the whole Benny plot, certainly surrounding the portal, it seems to iffy for my liking. I still can’t put my finger on it. At first I thought Naomi had planted Benny in there. Then after thought Sam had struck a deal with the Alpha Vamp and Sam knew Benny was down their searching for his brother. It just seemed very strange that it was only a human portal. So I guess if humans actually get stuck down they, that they are not supposed to be there, there is a way out for them? Could be.

    How did Benny know that the portal could only carry HUMAN passengers?

    If I stick with my, “the monsters probably tried the exit, but failed” theory then that is how he knew it was a human portal. And since we’re theorizing and speculating, how could Dean have ever been the first human to have passed through purgatory?
    Tried and tested reasonable theory to believe. Actually this thought did cross my mind too. How could Dean have ever been the only human to have got down there, any thoughts on this question guys? Perhaps this could be a test, to see if the portal actually works. Perhaps no one has ever passed through. As Benny did seem excited when he saw Dean, so much so he was itching to tell he’s his meal ticket out of there. Vamp as we said sense humans are about, so was Dean the first human down there?

    How did Benny know a human (DEAN) was running riot in his domain?

    I agree with whomever explained that vampires catch a scent of a human right away. Therefore, it’d be definitely easy for the vampires, who are probably aching for some human blood that they’d immediately sniff out a human Dean.
    Yeap got this one just explained above, beat ya to it 😉 So Benny had been tracking Dean in there for some days/time I bet.

    Why was Cas so sure that he would not get back on earth?

    Cas wanted to stay to serve penance (as the next question says), but of course, we never actually know if the portal was angel proof, do we?
    Well again I think this is down to perception. As my little bright idea, that no one thought of was the portal rejected Cas because it new Cas wasn’t human, hence shouting Dean’s name out loud.

    Why did Cas shout Dean’s name if he was willing to stay behind, to serve penance for his crimes?

    The name shout was from how Dean remembered it. Dean assumed that he had let go, therefore I think he always placed Cas shouting his name, because he lost grip (thinking it’s my fault, it’s my fault)…Cas then shows him what really happened in a later episode of S8 and it shows Cas saying, Dean, let go…or something of the sort.
    Yes good point. But could this be perception again. Could the writers be leading us up the river without a paddle. Perception is so annoying this season, because you think its what’s shown but might be something entirely different.

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

    1. “we never actually know if the portal was angel proof, do we?”
      No we don’t!

      Because I still reckon the portal rejected him for this reason, he got too close too that gate and it flung him back out again, hence not being angel proof.

      I think Cas called Deans name to get his attention so he could explain that he didn’t WANT to leave. I believe Cas’s version as Dean did all that he humanly could to get Cas out.
      Again because the portal was pushing Cas back, it was forcing Cas and Dean to separate. Dean could not hold Cas’s grip. Its just the way the whole seen played out. The whole angle of Cas wobbling and slipping back down the bank. Dean’s face also explaining to Sam and he said ‘he saw enough’ rang alarm bells with me. Then it never came into fruition. It still might be reveled as perception later on. If they go back and re-visit.

      Thanks for your comment & support,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

      1. Maybe this will be a stupid question, but what do you mean by perception? I’ve been seeing that thought tossed around a lot. Plus, you may be on to something about the portal rejecting Cas. We really don’t know and sometimes I’ve come to conclude that there will be plot holes that we’d wish the writers would re-visit/fix.
        Perception is the theme of the season possibly seasonal arc’s. Jeremy’s idea of fooling us, that perception means all is not as it seems. What we think might be correct/real may not be. How we perceive the scene/scenes. Its really hard to work out what is correct and what is not. That’s why this season has driven me up the wall. This is why I think there is more to the portal. I don’t by Cas shouting Dean’s name if he was staying behind, why would he. So I think this is still perception, its not been finalized either way. The portal rejecting Cas, was my baby no one even thought of this, which was why I was so sad when it was revealed they put it another way. It would have been so cool, may be too much for our writers to think of. But was a clever idea if executed.

        Thanks for your comment & support,
        Love Aunty B xxxxx

        Like

  2. There is no Canon on how Benny knew but it seemed to me that all the occupants KNEW there was a human there (that vampire says oh you’re the human) and when Dean asked they seemed to know of the angel being there as well. I just assumed it was one of those things that after time is just Known.

    Like

    1. There is no Canon on how Benny knew but it seemed to me that all the occupants KNEW there was a human there (that vampire says oh you’re the human) and when Dean asked they seemed to know of the angel being there as well. I just assumed it was one of those things that after time is just Known.
      I guess that’s just an instinct thing going on. But not many humans seem to end up in Purgatory so could the creatures again sense when Dean actually appeared down there?

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  3. Just my theories but here goes. Benny had been in Purgatory long enough to know there was a human portal- and the writers needed a cool way to get Dean back AND keep Cas there, so while it seems like easy writing, it actually set up the portal in Taxi driver nicely. It is a human portal because, in the Biblical lore of the New Testament, Purgatory was only temporary for human souls as a place to repent and then move on. Benny knew Dean was human. Vampires have a keen sense of smell as some character once said, once they catch your scent, they never let go. In the year of Purgatory, Benny knew about hopping a ride but no human ever befriended him before to attempt it. Remember, Dean was not killed so he is actually there and not scheduled to be there.Benny probably explained it was a human portal and Cas over heard it so he knew Dean could make it through,he could not, and he did not want to make it through since he needed to repent for his time as God and the havoc he caused in Heaven and Earth. He knew it was not his time and it was a set up for him to be pulled out by Naomi which set up the whole angel tablet, torturing angels thread. Maybe Cas shouted Dean’s name as what he thought was a final goodbye to his human friend or maybe it was a Dean you gotta let go shout out. I am going with Cas’s perception. Dean hearing his name would naturally think he screwed up with Cas and was a disappointment. Nice symmetry with Sam’s disappointing Dean. It also showed how Dean goes to the last degree to save someone contrasted against Sam not even trying to look for Dean. Dean is focused, a pure hunter and pushes thru his emotional damage. Sam is distracted, not pure hunter, and struggles with conflict. It was a perfect set up for season 8. Dean tells his grandfather Henry, if there is a chance to save Sam, he’ll take it no matter what.Set up for what is family, once again. Set up for Sacrifice.
    Did anyone notice the symmetry(there is that word again) in the first episode and the finale this season? In the first episode, Sam trusts that it is Dean and needs no proof although Dean insists. In the finale, Sam has to trust Dean about always putting Sam first. In the first episode, Kevin is in a church and the devil’s trap cracks in the floor enter Crowley- think about the finale in the church, the devil’s trap, Abaddon. In the first episode Dean’s arm glows, the dagger glows, in the finale Sam’s arms glow. In both Crowley is present and his future undetermined.JC is so tricky!!!
    So here is my thought of the day- since the actors do not get the scripts until right before shooting an episode, then how would J2 know how to play the scenes in episode one? Jared’s face of “I know I disappointed Dean again” is clearly there. I can see it in retrospect as I am sure I will be able to revisit the rest of the season with finale knowledge- it certainly explains our perception of Sam as OOC- My thinking is the show runner knows the arc of the season as he hands out the writing assignments. Does JC tell the director to tell the actors what he is looking for? Again, it makes Jared’s performance all year more intriguing and note worthy. Jensen’s too, I don’t play favorites. It just seemed that while we all saw the Dean character in our face as usual and sometimes over the top when yelling at Sam(again a set up to Sam’s desperation) that Sam was given a quieter role that slipped by us as OOC. We even questioned Dean’s loyalty!!!!So even more kudos to JC and the actors. Any thoughts?

    Like

    1. Oh man! I was just thinking of all this earlier and was going to leave this message on the other thread.

      I think its a setup. I think everything was setup by someone or something we haven’t yet met.
      1. Benny said “they ” told him about the portal. I’m going to assume someone or something told him how to do the spell to get himself out and the portal ‘s location.
      2. The figure we saw watching Sam leave Amelia is also the same being that brought Don back into the picture. Remember, the military declared Don dead. Not AWOL, or MIA. Dead! They usually don’t make those kind of mistakes. I think Don was resurrected to divide Sam from Amelia. Who resurrected him?
      3. I think this unknown being manipulated the Winchesters to come together at that time so that they could get the tablets and get started.Its mighty funny that Don showed up right about the time Dean got out of Purgatory.
      4. Who is the “they ” that Benny mentions in the first episode?
      5. Were the brothers being manipulated to come together and start the trials?

      I think this is something that’s going to play a big part in season 9.

      Also I don’t think Sam is still sick from the trials. I think he was experiencing the angels falling. He may be resonating on some angel frequency and as the angels are wanderin earrth now and look human, this resonating may be something useful to them that will allow them to tell when they are encountering angels. It will also come in handy when they meet up with Cas again and Sam can confirm that Cas is human.

      Just some random thoughts that popped into my head at 2AM. Bella, your timing is spot on.

      Like

      1. I think its a setup. I think everything was setup by someone or something we haven’t yet met.
        1. Benny said “they ” told him about the portal. I’m going to assume someone or something told him how to do the spell to get himself out and the portal ‘s location.
        2. The figure we saw watching Sam leave Amelia is also the same being that brought Don back into the picture. Remember, the military declared Don dead. Not AWOL, or MIA. Dead! They usually don’t make those kind of mistakes. I think Don was resurrected to divide Sam from Amelia. Who resurrected him?
        3. I think this unknown being manipulated the Winchesters to come together at that time so that they could get the tablets and get started.Its mighty funny that Don showed up right about the time Dean got out of Purgatory.
        4. Who is the “they ” that Benny mentions in the first episode?
        5. Were the brothers being manipulated to come together and start the trials?

        I am thinking along similar lines. Something still feels odd this season, and I cannot put my finger on it. Something is nagging me deep in side, and TV doesn’t usually do this to me very often. Like for instance the person out side in episode 1. I put a thread up today and someone thinks that its Sam and he’s time traveled back in time. So something magical is going on I can really feel something isn’t right. I definitely remember point 2 being bought up on the forum regarding this so that thought has been tossed about. But this does look very suspect.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

    2. Just my theories but here goes. Benny had been in Purgatory long enough to know there was a human portal- and the writers needed a cool way to get Dean back AND keep Cas there, so while it seems like easy writing, it actually set up the portal in Taxi driver nicely. It is a human portal because, in the Biblical lore of the New Testament, Purgatory was only temporary for human souls as a place to repent and then move on. Benny knew Dean was human. Vampires have a keen sense of smell as some character once said, once they catch your scent, they never let go. In the year of Purgatory, Benny knew about hopping a ride but no human ever befriended him before to attempt it. Remember, Dean was not killed so he is actually there and not scheduled to be there.Benny probably explained it was a human portal and Cas over heard it so he knew Dean could make it through,he could not, and he did not want to make it through since he needed to repent for his time as God and the havoc he caused in Heaven and Earth. He knew it was not his time and it was a set up for him to be pulled out by Naomi which set up the whole angel tablet, torturing angels thread. Maybe Cas shouted Dean’s name as what he thought was a final goodbye to his human friend or maybe it was a Dean you gotta let go shout out. I am going with Cas’s perception. Dean hearing his name would naturally think he screwed up with Cas and was a disappointment. Nice symmetry with Sam’s disappointing Dean. It also showed how Dean goes to the last degree to save someone contrasted against Sam not even trying to look for Dean. Dean is focused, a pure hunter and pushes threw his emotional damage. Sam is distracted, not pure hunter, and struggles with conflict. It was a perfect set up for season 8. Dean tells his grandfather Henry, if there is a chance to save Sam, he’ll take it no matter what.Set up for what is family, once again. Set up for Sacrifice.
      I understand he was in Purgatory for sometime. But how many humans’s must have passed through purgatory for him to actually have knowledge of this evidence. Had he known someone who had gone through that was human previously? The more I think of this it feels a bit suspect. I got that too that Benny sensed Dean was human. I got this also, but I still again think something could be afoot, may be its me reading too much into something so small. I can’t think its this simple. Again Cas’s scream I can’t walk past in my head, it feels odd. It could have been a goodbye, true enough. It could be something as simple as that. I also read in an online interview some where, that Sam and Cas are in a very similar position in wanting Dean’s approval almost that they both look to him for guidance. I like there is a difference between the two boys as regards hunting, as it would be so boring if they both were pure, there would not be a writing challenge. Dean’s life has always been about saving Sammy, ever since he ran out carrying Sam in his arms from their home. I think that’s one thing I love so much about Dean, how he strives to honor that pledge no matter what.

      Did anyone notice the symmetry(there is that word again) in the first episode and the finale this season? In the first episode, Sam trusts that it is Dean and needs no proof although Dean insists. In the finale, Sam has to trust Dean about always putting Sam first. In the first episode, Kevin is in a church and the devil’s trap cracks in the floor enter Crowley- think about the finale in the church, the devil’s trap, Abaddon. In the first episode Dean’s arm glows, the dagger glows, in the finale Sam’s arms glow. In both Crowley is present and his future undetermined, JC is so tricky!!!
      Your right he is very tricky to understand this season. I will have to watch Dean’s arm again, I probably did notice but may be since forgotten, I do that a lot these days 😉 Yeap I got this too that Sam has to learn to trust Dean again, in baby steps. He doesn’t have to prove himself to Dean as Dean has always got Sammy no matter what.

      So here is my thought of the day- since the actors do not get the scripts until right before shooting an episode, then how would J2 know how to play the scenes in episode one? Jared’s face of “I know I disappointed Dean again” is clearly there. I can see it in retrospect as I am sure I will be able to revisit the rest of the season with finale knowledge- it certainly explains our perception of Sam as OOC- My thinking is the show runner knows the arc of the season as he hands out the writing assignments. Does JC tell the director to tell the actors what he is looking for? Again, it makes Jared’s performance all year more intriguing and note worthy. Jensen’s too, I don’t play favorites. It just seemed that while we all saw the Dean character in our face as usual and sometimes over the top when yelling at Sam(again a set up to Sam’s desperation) that Sam was given a quieter role that slipped by us as OOC. We even questioned Dean’s loyalty!!!!So even more kudos to JC and the actors. Any thoughts?
      Yes it seems the most likely approach that JC would inform the director of his foresight in the future. As I don’t see it another way. I think this also is down to a good show-runner. As he has that knowledge and its what he passes down to who ever so he see’s his writing come to the fore. I did have a problem with Soulless Sam as even Jensen said at a convention that they both didn’t know that Sam was soulless. So from this I took that no one upstairs informed them. I also heard that Gen/Ruby2 was not informed she would eventually turn evil. So hates off to those actors for making the job appear as it did to us on screen.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

