Has the show broken its own CANON?

I had thought about this for a while, and yesterday thought about putting this up on IMDb and someone else had beaten me to it. So I thought I no, my little angels would love to discuss this. So lets talk ….  For along long time the word Canon threw me. I used to think was this an american term as UK shows have never I don’t think use this word. Other fandom words also throw me are Fanon and Ret-con, so little angels explain to Aunty B what these mean.

Sam recalls they’ve been,
but as the audience we no they have not …

So has the show broken its own Canon in its story telling. Are there any area’s you know of which can/cannot be explained. Is this season deliberate in the fact that perception is at play.  For example; the classic flaw this season, is Sam remembering their trip as children to the Grand Canyon and Dean also recalls the fun memory. Some say he was just pleasing Sam as he was having a turn due to the trials. Croatoan states back in Season 2 that Dean wanted them both to take a break. ‘Lets visit the Grand Canyon, Why Sam asks ‘Cause we’ve never been?’ So guys is it deliberate or have the writers not researched the shows history enough, or don’t really care about its past.

Was this literature originally right or wrong?

So the thought for the day is, can you share any hidden gems which others may not be aware of. That we can talk about as a group and may be discuss why the writers may not have thought this were not odd if its not deliberate. Or again, are they trying to be clever and fool us seeing if we do pick up on minute details. They do love to play with fans. So would they may be go back and visit those plots where a loop hole has slipped through the net, or forget it for all time. Are some writers in our team worse for breaking canon rules than others perhaps? Do we sense that canon is being regularly broken and we are not happy with these penned notes of history not being adhered to. What would there reason be if they had an incline that we knew. Is it inconsistent that the show breaks its own canon that it can fall flat on its face. Or does it not bother you that mistakes are being continuously made.

Bella continues to give her little angels a challenge, and awaits your views. So think on and re-visit some of those scenes in your minds and see if the writing is being kept to. Is season 8 full of canon that its spoilt the season and show for you, that the writing is up in the air. Can you really rely in our writing team to produce work that is true to its own canon. Type away guys and lets have a fun debate.

13 thoughts on “Has the show broken its own CANON?

  1. I only remember this because I am watching reruns on TNT. In Supernatural Season 3, “In The Beginning”, when Dean and John are in the diner a friend of John’s father comes in and speaks to John and says “Tell your old man I said hi.” In Season 8 “As Time Goes By” it is understood that Henry disappeared when John was just a little boy. In the Season 3 episode, John has already completed his tour in the Marine Corps. Henry went from being an average dad to a dead beat dad over 5 seasons.
    Hi Melissa, welcome to the group nice to see a new face 😉
    As you can gather were a small, friendly group and love to gossip about Supernatural. Your right on all your accounts above, and its surprising what you often recall when re-watching episodes when you think you’ve forgotten it. My memory is terrible these days. I wish they had treated John much better though, as he appeared such a lovely man. It was only because of Mary’s death that he’d changed into a warrior over night. I think he gets a bad press most of the time. And that’s sad.

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  2. The canon is fine, there hasn’t anymore ignoring or retconning than was done during the Kripke years (I’m including season 6, because he was still fairly involved in the writing process for that season).

    Like

    1. I just remember fans moaning like hell about canon being broken during Taxi Driver and the two writers are really bad in remembering what’s been written before, Season 6 was all over the place and very disjointed for me. It didn’t have any overall meaning. What was the point in Dean having a relationship with Lisa only to have her mind whipped of her loving time spent with Dean. It was just one pointless area that felt wrong. As much as I liked Lisa, I felt the writers didn’t really know what to do with her.

      Thanks for the comments,
      love Aunty B xxxxxxx

      Like

      1. I don’t feel there was any canon breaking involved in “Taxi Driver”, it’s a flawed episode for sure, but nothing in it really contradicts anything the show has shown before. And Sam’s journey through Purgatory and Hell, while rushed was explained in a satisfactory way.
        Mick your probably right. I sometimes get tunnel vision and spend a lot of time on the same forum, and get bogged down by their views. I just remember when the episode came out how they were shouting at the pair of writers breaking their own canon. They don’t think too highly of them for sure. I think the only real break for me was the Grand Canyon line, as we all know Dean said to Sam lets take some time off and go see the Grand Canyon. The writers did mention this at comic-con so has been put to bed. 🙂 I feel better, thanks.

        Season 6 deserves a little slack, they went from a five year story line to having to to start from scratch again. I think he Lisa story line and mind wipe were done to show that Dean cannot have nice things in life, nevertheless at least they didn’t horrifically kill her and Ben.
        I didn’t dislike S6, just found there was no real arc, as I loved this and missed it from seasons 1-5. As you so rightly say, at least they didn’t kill them off. But Lisa spent some lovely quality time with Dean it felt so sad that he had to get Cas to erase it all like it never existed.

        Thanks for the comments, good to see you back 😉
        love Aunty B xxxxxxx

        Like

        1. Well canon was that it was hard to get in and out of purgatory and hell but because the episode was so rushed (should have been at least 2 episodes) it made it seem like it was easy! Thatw as a real bummer.

          Like

          1. It should have, but I hardly consider it breaking canon. But fan girls want to nitpick this show to death, like the Grand Canyon thing. Edlund forgetting a throwaway line from season 3 hardly destroys the shows mythology.
            I know exactly what you mean Mick. They do go over the top some times particularly with two members of the writing team. I know I moan sometimes, but I think its not the actors fault. Its the writers who are writing for them. They only act with what they have been given. It gets me what they’ve done to Sam in him not looking for Dean, and they are beginning to pick up on this fact. They are human too after all, and make errors. Do they need to make such a big deal out of it.

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

        2. What did the writers say about the Grand Canyon line?
          Not 100% sure but something along the lines of we are sorry it was an error.

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

          1. I never thought it was that big of deal anyway, hell I didn’t even remember the line until people started moaning about it. You would think coming from Ben Edlund, that an honest mistake like that would be given some leeway, and not be declared the line that destroyed of canon. So I can’t begrudge Edlund for not remembering a basically throwaway line from five years ago.
            It wasn’t an over big deal, I think the fans were just shocked when they first heard it. I think the way I looked at it was that Sam was in a hell of a mess from the trails and what it was physically and mentally doing to him. If you look closely at Dean, he almost says with his face I don’t believe what I’m hearing, but he goes along with it any way. Sam was almost in a drunken state, so he wasn’t in his right mind any way. So in all tense and purposes, I think Edlund did get a way with it, just. I don’t begrudge him, just felt it was a bit obvious. But at least, I think the trial got him out of what could have been, a sticky hole.

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

  3. Oh, and I have to add that of late with the new BBC Sherlock show there has been a fandom created and the word CANON has been used a lot in referring to that show. Plus, Doctor Who as well, but perhaps it is only used by the American fans. But I really haven’t a clue on that. I just know that I see it a lot on Pinterest.
    So the UK has bought it across, I think most things do come across to the UK eventually. I assumed it was an American phrase/craze. Its surprising what we do pick up on from other networking sites. I was on Pinterest yesterday, not over keen on its concept, but the artwork was amazing. I cannot see the point of clicking onto a picture and liking it, that’s just me though. 😉

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

    1. Bella-pinterest is a nice place to save stuff you like. recipes clothes pictures of Jensen (lol) etc. its also a place you can converse with other people that like the same things as you.
      Barb, I’m already on Pinterest. My cakes are and so is this blog. Don’t spend loads of time on there just advertise really and occasionally look at cakes and recipes.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  4. Well, as far as I know whatever is considered is something that has happened in the SHOW. For instance, the slash fiction stuff that people come up with like Wincest or Destiel is NOT CANON. That is what many people of the fandom consider fan fiction (something they’ve made up). Then there is HEAD CANON, which is basically all the theorizing and things we want to happen like re-visits to certain plot lines, even people want some of their fan fiction to be made CANON (which means it is put into the show).
    Yes, I am picking up slowly on the technicalities. Canon is what the writers have penned which is gospel. So Ret-con is made up fiction basically? Head-canon is as it says in your head not canon? Yes, like Dean and Cas to be an item, when they are not?

    Supernatural has stayed on track with its characters and story, but it also started to notice the Internet fan explosion so the show felt the need to reach out in such a way with certain episodes like the S5 episode with the “supernatural convention.”
    I love how it goes to the extremes, how wacky it can be. Reminding me of The French Mistake among others. They are very brave in even venturing there to start with. But that’s creativity at his best, this is part of the reason what makes this show so special that they as they’ve said break that 4th wall.

    Plus, not writing in everything is the best way to make good writing/entertainment. If we didn’t have holes to fill or questions to ask I don’t think we’d be such dedicated fans. Plus, the show wouldn’t have gone for as long as it has without the dedicated fan base it has.
    This is one amazing fan base to be apart of. When I think back to my day, we had fan-clubs. Now I’m showing my age. That’s what I adore about fans how inquisitive they really are, and how over the top they can sometimes be, but still remain professional. When you watch the conventions some amazing stuff comes up, which I would never even of thought of. We are a dedicated bunch, who would do anything for our show, whether it be voting for the boys in polls, to writing fan fiction we love the show. As John Barrowman said at Comic con this year I wouldn’t be hear if it was for all of you. So thoughts like this do stay with you.

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

    1. “Well, as far as I know whatever is considered is something that has happened in the SHOW. For instance, the slash fiction stuff that people come up with like Wincest or Destiel is NOT CANON. That is what many people of the fandom consider fan fiction (something they’ve made up). Then there is HEAD CANON, which is basically all the theorizing and things we want to happen like re-visits to certain plot lines, even people want some of their fan fiction to be made CANON (which means it is put into the show).
      Yes, I am picking up slowly on the technicalities. Canon is what the writers have penned which is gospel. So Ret-con is made up fiction basically? Head-canon is as it says in your head not canon? Yes, like Dean and Cas to be an item, when they are not?”

      I hope that maybe since this post you’ve gotten a handle of the Fandom jargon. But if you haven’t I want to say that for certain Fans “canon” is hard to define. Because mostly for Destiel Fans there are some CANON TEXT that for them supports a romantic link between the characters. And I mean wholeheartedly in love, not just bromance.

      Also, I’m actually not familiar with the term retcon. I’ve been seeing that around as of late and I keep thinking does that mean a way of saying “amensia it” as if it the plot line or whatever didn’t exist? And if you’re going to refer to canon as gospel then to lots of people Dean and Cas would be an item, but that’s beside the point. Basically, canon is actual text and anything that doesn’t seem to come from the show’s TEXT itself is head canon/fan Fiction.

      Like

  5. This is a hard one-there’s a lot of canon over 8 years! I need to think abut it
    Make sure you come back with some good ones.. 😉

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

