So, Sam and Amelia

Now as we’ve talked a bit more about Sam’s year away from Dean. And come to some conclusion that Sam was living a fantasy life and it was all a smoke screen to block out his other manifestations? Can we assume that Sam and Amelia were off for a reason now? Can we finally understand where the actors where coming from, and why there was no chemistry between the couple? I think it was the line that Sam made, “what is it you want me to say it was all a mistake, ” helped us see that Sam felt he had let people down again who were close to him. I don’t recall Sam’s face so sad, as he was on that bed.

I have re-watched the premiere a couple of times this week, much more closely taking our discussions on board, and analyzed it with these views in the back of my mind. It does sit better. But I still have little niggling issues that I cannot put to bed. How rude Amelia was to Sam when they first met. Would a Vet really talk to a customer in this manner. It was if she was talking to someone she had known for a number of years.ย 

Amelia to Sam: So you’re going to take the dog?

Sam: I would, he’s not mine

Amelia: He’s not anybody’s

Sam: I’ I spend a lot of time on the road

Amelia: Don’t you think your responsible

Sam: Why do you think I brought him here?

Amelia: Roberta, could you hand this man a trophy on the way out please?

Or may be if your such an up standing guy, you wouldn’t have hit him in the first place?

Sam looks blank/confused camera turns to Amelia who offers a smile in return

Sam: Fine, I’ll take him

Amelia: There’s my hero and Amelia turns on her heals and walks back out into her room

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2vLDjSe_1I

So from deciphering this small dialogue what do we actually digest from this first meeting ? Do we sense Amelia in a better light, or a much worse one now we no what this relationship is based upon? Could this women sink any lower? She blatantly orders Sam to take responsibility of the dog, dumping it on him when she knew fine well that Sam was on the road, most of the day. So what life would the dog have had.

Followed by the annoying upstanding citizen speech that made me want to throw up. We now see how this couple actually first met, and how we are perceiving them now what have we learnt about that scene. Can we melt down those words, and start from the beginning and see what the relationship supposed/love story was all about? Can we imagine what Jeremy was really getting at, and what story he was that he was trying to tell?

So before I hit the sack tonight little ones, I hate to put Samelia back out to you, but I love picking dialogue to pieces and understanding ย the content of the literature. Could the writer have worded that dialogue any better, could we have made it more believable? Did these actors have enough to work with? Did they really understand early on what was occurring during those scenes. Can we re-wind and form an image as to what Sam’s flashbacks really stood for. Was it all a smoke screen where Sam imagined he had that perfect life, and be the man he always wanted to be. I cannot see him with this woman but, can see now why she was there at the right time almost like a kindred spirit, she did ‘saved’ Sam when he clearly needed someone. So if it wasn’t love what was it? Can we put a name to what we really think this relationship was?

So Bella would love to know what my angels are thinking about this couple, and how they stand months later in the grim light of day. Can a couple really live out a fantasy and still be happy with out the notion of love? Type away guys and enter your thoughts and lets rack our brains once again.

12 Comments

  1. Was Don actually dead? In SPN is anyone actually ever dead? All snarkiness aside, it is one of those open ended questions which the writers may choose to tap into at the end of the series and bring Amelia back for explanation=this would really piss off fandom. Nobody took to her and I guess we were not supposed to as I said before it was not love. Was Don the shadowy figure looking in n Samelia? Another open ended question. It reminds me so of the end of Swan Song when Sam is looking in at domestic Dean and Lisa. I like to think it was a symbolic and artistic rendering of Sam looking in at his own life as this self reflection comes out masterfully in the finale. A crossroad and choosing a direction so to speak. So I am going for that explanation now, since Don looking in is just plain creepy. Would rather it was a SPN force that caused Don to reappear that that. But the point was IMO that for once there was no supernatural influence on Sam and he was free to decide which road to take. Knowing how Carver thinks and what he said about the theme of Perception, it is Sam beginning to reflect on his lifestyle- I’m going with that for now. Hey, there is a tropical storm here today and Spn reruns have been on all day, so I am a bit loopy. I did take time out for a coffee run-free donuts today and my SPN gang was there for a round up. So this blog will finish out the day nicely. Ta ta
    It did actually cross my mind, that was he in fact dead in the first place. I remember Jeremy saying towards the end of the series that hadn’t talked about a way to bring Amelia back. When they were doing so with Benny in Taxi Driver. So they still might! I wouldn’t put anything past this lot ๐Ÿ˜ก Yeap we were not meant to so I take my hat off to Laine, miserable C**! I really did try and see her nicer side, even when she came back to the motel room looking for Sam and he didn’t show. I felt sad for her inside. But still hasn’t really changed my mind over her. May be I find it hard to see the bad in anyone ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought this about Sam and season 5 too, these writers are picking up on the past which is nice to see. I like that thought Sam looking in on his own life. I could imagine him doing that. Sam had crossed my mind the stranger outside the house in 8 x 01 which i think will continue to bug me until they expose who it was. Someone did mention it was Don as he had the same coat on, and would be something he would do seeing if Sam had kept to his side of the deal. But are imaginations will continue to ponder on this thought for seasons to come if they don’t expose it.

    Hope the storm isn’t too bad, at least you have your show to keep you company. Stay safe ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Pouring here all day too, and still is. I’ve been dvring the Marathon. I have the DVDs but the dvr is easier lol I re-watch the episode and keep the ones I love on the dvr for quick viewing. I have all season 8 except 2 that my husband must have been manning the remote and deleted. )-:
      I haven’t got Southern Comfort for some reason so I to am missing one episode. Wondering what it was about now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Good idea to transfer the episodes you love for quick reference ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Barb
        R u in the New England area or somewhere along the east coast of the US? Just wondering if we are close enough geographically. Of course, I respect you’re wanting to remain anonymous,if you choose not to respond, but looking for SPN junkies close by to share stories. Wait, does that make similar to Metatron? Only in a good way.;-)

        I wish I lived closer to you both to join in your group too ๐Ÿ™‚

        Thank you for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

          1. Not so far away!
            Let me know if both of you meet up, I will be so chuffed if you do ๐Ÿ™‚

            Thank you for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

            1. I forgot-where are you? (unless you don’t want to say)
              Isn’t Debbab in Houston? (hope she doesn’t mind me letting that out) ๐Ÿ˜‰

              Thank you for the comments,
              Love Aunty B xxxx

              Like

              1. 2 miles outside of Boston. Notice the Winchesters have come to Connecticut and New Jersey, but I do not think the writers have ever come to Boston or Brooklyn. I guess they leave that territory to others for cop shows and medical series.
                6 degrees of separation. I know a young man whose former teacher in high school is Misha’s step mom. Misha is from Mass. A few years back, I thought I saw Misha on the street in Boston, before he was a series regular, but thought, no way. His brother is almost a look a like except for the nose a bit so who knows. Could have been. That knowledge and a quarter get me 15 minutes at a parking meter, but thought it was humorous in retrospect..
                I know there is a convention in New Jersey and there was one in Boston a few years back. Have you ever attended? I fear I am a bit too long in the tooth to compete with the young demographic for floor space, not to mention the expense. It is odd,because as a young person I did not follow any one group or actor as a “fan” as deeply as SPN family. Of course, we did not have the technology then either. What would Sam do without his computer? As we see in LARP episode, Dean does the old fashioned footwork and comes out with the same answers as Sam. Just ranting on a Sunday morning

                Like

                1. Im planning on doing the NJ con next year if finances permit. At least then I wont have to pay airfare, I could even drive home every night but i will probably get a room in the hotel. Id love to get one of the better packages and at least a photo op with Jensen and maybe autograph. Dont let age stop you! I signed up for an alert for when the tickets go on sale. I undersand you ahve to be quick to get the better packages. You can si\gn up for alerts at this site http://www.creationent.com/auctions/index.asp
                  Hey go next year so we can go together and my husband will be spared the embarrassment of coming and watching me drool and squee! (-:

                  Like

  2. I still think there’s more to come on that front. I don’t believe the military makes those kinds of mistakes regularly. It’s usually pretty good at keeping track of its people. So if you are declared dead they are usually right be pause a body identified as yours has been found. I think he was resurrected by someone or something so that he could come back into Amelia’s life and get Sam out the door. That’s my theory and I’m holding onto it.
    I think we did touch on this before, now I seem to remember. I couldn’t think if I’d seen it here or on the forum. I did have this gut feeling which was why originally I thought it could have been Don standing outside Sam’s house as he drove away. Would make sense, again are they leaving this up to our imaginations? But why start something and leave a trail behind. As Naomi is Dead now, so why didn’t they include it much sooner?

    But you’re right. Sam has a pattern of attaching himself to someone in Dean’s absence. Either that or going crazy. Jess., Ruby, Amelia. That’s what he does. For season. 8 he kept that pattern of obsession with some female in place of Dean. Now while I don’t have a problem with him not looking for Dean, I do have a problem with Sam not keeping at least one of his phones on so Kevin could reach him. Sam is such an incredibly selfless person that I’m having trouble with him abandoning Kevin, who is a true innocent. Although he probably thought Kevin was dead too, it still bothers me more than the Dean thing ever did.
    Yes, like Amelia said annoyingly, finishing off each others sentences errrrh this women now does drive me BARMY! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did, this was one of the things this season I couldn’t get my head around, no matter how hard we tried to sandwich it together it didn’t make any rational sense. Its just not like him. If he was still in shock, may be yes. But even if he wanted out of hunting that badly he would have at least kept one phone just in case like Dean did with John’s phone. Kevin is still a mystery, like when Sam said to Dean Kevin’s lasted a year he can last another day. Okay fair point, but why did he ditch him in the first place. I feel like tweeting this question to one of the crew ๐Ÿ˜‰ There is still so much that isn’t adding up this season. If its perception I will have to live with it, but doesn’t sit well with me either.

    Now about Amelia. Did I say how much I cant stand that character. I understand why he was with her and I even understand why he attached himself to her. She challenged him and probably reminded him of Dean quite a bit. But it was never love as it was never built on a firm foundation of trust. It was built on a broken, cracked foundation of grief and loneliness. She guilted him into taking the dog and Sam certainly was manipulated by her into taking it. They kept seeing each other around and she kept snarking him. And although she became less un-likable later on there still was no chemistry to speak of. We all new that would never last.And then later on she had the nerve of giving him the option of adultery and half of a life with her or freedom to go his own way. What kind of choice is that? That character came off wrong no matter what.
    Yes Ikeke you did say you HATED her with a vengeance, I think most of us do now. Your right she did remind him of Dean, and that must have been even harder for him to cope with. Bad cocktail their, I bet he was really lonely, and that sadness in the bed scene was a similar moment, he was dreading being alone. I could really spit at her for making him take that dog, she was a real bully. How dare she! I bet Dean would have knocked her down a peg or two. I am pleased now Sam did go back to Dean that was definitely the right move for once.

    Thank you for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  3. IMO Sam is so used to Dean snarking at him, that Amelia filled that bill. He is used to the jerk remarks from Dean, so in some peculiar way having been without Dean and alone, he probably misses the interchanges. Of course, taking this guff from a brother who loves you and has your back is not the same as a stranger, but Sam is in need of something to make him feel something. Take responsibility for something, anything as he has been avoiding for so long and Amelia gives him this opportunity. It is not love, but a familiar pattern he falls into. The writers could not write it as love. It would have been harder for the character to walk away and still think he is a nice guy. At least Lisa knew what Dean did as a hunter and there was true affection there.She knew about Sam too. Sam never revealed to Amelia what he used to do with Dean, heck he did not seem willing to talk about Dean at all. Not terribly open and honest. In the rear view mirror, the Samelia lack of chemistry, Sam’s fantasy about normalcy, and his sad look in the motel when Amelia is wearing his shirt all point to the finale and Sam’s big reveal- true or induced and magnified by the physical debilitation. What he says in the premiere, about there was a girl and then there wasn’t-she was still there, but he no longer needed her as Dean was back and he refocused on having his brother’s back to Close the Gates. I am thinking even if Sam did not choose hunting, he would not have gone back to Amelia because of Don. He might still leave open the possibility of a committed relationship in the future but for love not need or falling back into old patterns.
    Yes, I get what you say she was a bit of a mirror image of Dean. So the writers were clever in some ways in how they created her, like for like. I love your line but Sam is in need of something to make him feel something. I can only begin to imagine how empty Sam was when he lost Dean, and to meet up with her must have been comfort for him as she was so like Dean. A familiar pattern I relate to this now. So this was why Jeremy was so elated about this love story, as it was never one? He’s breaking the cycle once again. I did notice Sam never told Amelia what he did for a living. But I guess that was his way of protecting her. The boys have often get their job a secret so there was no real surprise there. Did he not mention he lost someone too? ummh … Yes I so agree that he wouldn’t have gone back to Amelia because of Don. Why did the writers choose the name Don, when history says Dean does not like the name Don? confusing. Old patterns is such a good way of describing these moments. It was cool that he found someone to gee him up a bit, and gain the normalcy he clearly needed. It shows what loosing a loved one can do to you, and what state we would get in. Also how long it would take us to feel something like normal again. When Dean came back he was really confused, and see this scene so much better now.

    Just wanted to mention Debbab and to all of you. Jensen is now a father, his baby girl was born 30th May and they have called her Justice Jay, ‘JJ’ Ackles I love the name. Jensen is known as J his daughter is now known as JJ, so cute. I am so happy. Daneell tweeted last night. So we have something to celebrate. A new healthy life!! We have another J to add to our SPN J family. All our three leads are now DADDIES. They both decided to keep the news secret for a week from the fandom.

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

  4. In my opinion she was in the right place at the right time. We the audience could see they weren’t good for each other but they were both in such desperate places that they imagined a love that really didn’t exist. They used each other to stay sane till they could move on with their lives IMHO
    This is so cool how we are reading this now, we new for a long time it didn’t feel right. But it was needing to see that finale, to put it in perspective. I wanted to give Amelia the benefit of the doubt, but now I view that scene with a yucky taste in my mouth. What a nice woman (sarcasm) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sam gave her as good as he got. I agree he was in the right place at the right time. Something needed to kick him up the bum. But it didn’t totally kick him back to reality. He was still in a haze, hence the hazy flashbacks. He really was in a bad way. So in a way, I guess we have to say thank you to the old moo. She did save Sam. But I wish a relationship never really took place and it had ended at the vets. I also get now why he went with her too.

    Thanks for your comment & support,
    Love Aunty B xxxxx

    Like

    1. Not a pity party, but two individuals who happen to meet at a certain crossroads in their lives. It worked to create a safe place both- and the sex was probably good, so they stayed together, until someone shook the tree and shocked them back to responsibility of real life- Don/Sam. Curious that the dog was called Riot- something without order- There was order although it was false when Sam and Amelia feigned normal. Although Dean says never trust a man who gives you…. and is named Don. So let Amelia rest in peace with Don. I assume she kept the dog, Riot.
      Crossroads I like the sound of that word. Oopps too much information ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would have liked to have been Amelia though ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love the shake of a tree too, I wish I could have shaken Sam a while ago. I so want to know what happened to Riot, please don’t tell me that miserable C** didn’t keep him, poor RIOT! I think now you mention it there could be something in the name Riot, that Sam does seem to like the quieter side of life, and not the hunting world which purgatory when you think about it was a riot 24/7 for Dean. So I would like to think his name had a meaning, and Dean knew almost instantly that a dog had been in the car. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love Dean’s sense of smell, spot on. On to another point. Do you think Don was actually dead? would the army actually make this sort of mistake, as others did I felt this were odd.

      Thanks for your comment & support,
      Love Aunty B xxxxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

