The first Season 9 spoilers – from TV Guide (via Spoiler TV)

Sam’s health

We’ve sort of expected that and I’m not surprised that Sam didn’t fully get back on his feet, but Robert Singer has revealed that Sam’s recovery is a key element. In reference to where Sam and Dean are when the show returns – Singer: “When we start the season, Sam is quite ill. How he comes back from this is a real spoiler”. New mysterious powers maybe? 
Old characters returning 

The show frequently brings back characters from the dead, which is why there’s a possibility that Benny will make an appearance. “The fans love Benny,” Singer says, “We’ll probably find a way to bring him back.” 

And the ladies? Sadly, Abaddon won’t be played by Alaina Huffman, which is bad news for me. I really enjoyed her portrayal. Robert Singer explained that she could return in a new meat suit to try to dethrone Crowley. She might become the new big bad, which is a reason why Dean and Sam team up with Crowley. “…but there’s someone else who wants to take over the reins of Hell. That person is an enemy to the boys, so there’s a certain ‘the enemy of my enemy is my friend’ feeling between them.”

As for Naomi, her fate is less certain. Fans would really love to see her back, though.
Jeremy Carver only mentions that “Supernatural is supernatural”. So the possibility for a comeback is obviously there, small as it is. Moreover, “he’s still out there,” Carver says, when asked about Golem. He also hopes to see Charlie again.

Sam and Dean’s grandfather can make an appearance in a flashback. “It might not be in the present,” Carver says, “but he’s part of our world now.”

Kevin Tran 
Supernatural is currently shooting out of order, but Kevin makes an appearance in “Devil May Care”. Brian Rose tweeted this lovely picture, which shows Kevin with the tablet in the MoL bunker. 

He is very central to the angel tablet arc and he “has a role to play… because he has an angel tablet that hasn’t been translated yet,” Singer says. Hopefully it means more interaction with characters like Castiel.

Castiel’s humanity 
Now that he’s human, there’s a multitude of options for a good story, especially one that focuses on his feelings regarding his former angelic status and a better understanding of what humanity entails. When questioned about Castiel’s fate as the season opens, Misha says that “we find him the the woods as a human.” and “he will be human for the first time”. I remember that Cas came very close to being human at the end of season 5, but obviously he will have more time to discover what it means to be human and to be on equal footing with the Winchesters. And maybe he’ll be reunited with Sam and Dean.
Robert Singer also elaborates on the angels on Earth. “They’re not happy about being earthbound. They lost their wings, so while they have powers, they can’t teleport. Different factions will find each other.” Misha also said that, “all these disgruntled former angels with a certain amount of power would make for a formidable army.” An army against the Winchesters or an army against Metatron? Carver explains that we “can absolutely expect that different angels will have different reactions to life on Earth. That will lead to a lot of exciting, dangerous, and fun stories to explore.”

Crowley 
We got confirmation that Crowley is not fully human, but he “was genuinely affected…How much of that will linger is an open question, because, in the end, he didn’t become human”. I’m not too fond of a redemption arc for Crowley or the fact that he might be working with Sam and Dean, but the interactions between Sam and Crowley were definitely a highlight. When asked about Meg, her fate seems to be “cloudy”. 

And what about Dean? 
Next week, we’ll hopefully find out more during the panel. Please check out Sunday’s schedule here. Unfortunately, nothing has been said about Dean’s story line yet

I picked up the Comic Con edition of TV Guide today… which, to say the least, has made me more anxious for season 9 than ever!
Carver and Singer say that season 9 is going to open where season 8 left off. Yay, no time skips!
Singer says that Sam will still be “quite ill” but how he bounces back from that is a “real spoiler”.

Crowley will still be under Sam and Dean’s control, probably still tied up (but Carver and Singer made it clear that he is not human, but Crowley did enjoy his brief touch with humanity and that idea “will color him throughout the season.”)
Castiel will be in the woods alone. Not with Sam or Dean. *sniffs*

I now and appreciate some of you are not keen on spoilers, but thought it might be a point of interest and may be a platform to bounce off. Let Aunty B know what are in your thoughts, as filming did start back yesterday. So we do have a bit of info up our sleeves to play with. With Comic Con this Sunday, we may get a bit more of a teaser to mull over before October. Of which I am always a bit nervous of but, a tad excited too. So type away little angels, if you feel in the mood or inspired by the interview. I have highlighted what I think might be interesting and very appealing. The forum are mad, that Dean’s story line has not  been given any hints on. So write soon …..

9 Comments

  1. I would not expect Sam to be well, it would be much to convenient. How he has changed and what it means to the arc and Sam’s growth are the real story. Crowley has to be affected and I predicted somewhere that he would be challenged for the position of CEO of Hell and also the angels would fracture their efforts on Earth since their track record for harmony is poor. Cas is going to learn to be human and he has Dean as his primary role model-his new father so to speak. Although I enjoyed Benny, not sure what else can be done with that relationship. Naomi either way, not necessary. Charlie, yes we need her as a strong female role model. Kevin is crucial as the interpreter of the tablet because we have to break Metatron’s control of Heaven’s gate. And poor Dean. He does need a strong story line, not that I am one of those who thinks he is not vital to the story, but come on, let’s get that shirt off and have some gratuitous chest. A female hunter is being introduced I hear along with an older former friend(Bobby like character) as if they can replace Bobby. However, the Winchesters are men and I do not think they need a father figure at this point but a coordinator and cover. After all the MOL lair has lots of information. Get well soon Sam.
    A thought just struck me as it does occasionally. I remember seeing an old poster of Dean heaven and Sam pictured upside down in hell. Now I wonder if they are going this route. Sam has been tinkering with Crowley, and I think we might have touched on this point about Sam being purified. He already has demon blood within him, what if he’s turning into a demon. He is human after all, and with fiddling with Crowley and passing blood. Could this happen? As humans become demons eventually does this make sense. Would Dean being related to heaven being the righteous man. This why I was so wanting both boys connecting to their vessels. This would be continuing on with this theme and as if by magic Sam may be having powers. But my only downside to this theory panning out is Cas working on the heaven tablet. Although this was a fake contest panned out by Metatron so Dean may well be working on the heaven tablet later on. Is this a possibility that Dean may be kind of Heaven and Sam king of hell?

    Thanks for the comments, always
    Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

    Like

    1. I don’t know. I think the Sam as demon story line is over. I think season nine will probably focus more on the heaven tablets, but I’m not going to rule out the demons being mad about closing the Hell. Also with angels and demons walking the earth at the same time there’s bound to be some scrapes between the two groups.
      It was just a very wild thought. But since the finale and Metatron saying resonate, I cannot get this thought out of my head and its hurting now 😦 Yeap I can see this a mile off too. Can you imagine a cat fight between this lot?

      I would like to see what the angel trials consist of and I still believe Dean will get that job if they decide to go that route. After all death may be at the end of that too and the brothers may decide not to follow threw.
      That’s true the boys may not decide to do it, wise thinking my friend, 😉 I hope they do bring death back, I really miss his presence.

      Thanks for the comments, always
      Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

      Like

    2. I really hope you are wrong about Sam turning into a demon. If he does then Sam becomes totally evil, full stop. Do not pass go, do not collect $200. Sam can not come back from being a demon. Oh yeah, Meg was semi-redeemed but that was because Cas liked her and Dean accepted her. Cas doesn’t care much for Sam and Dean has NEVER accepted the supernatural parts of Sam. They might as well just shoot Sam if he is turning demonic. I certainly would run for the hills because Sam is evil, Dean is perfect has been done way to many times for my tastes.
      Its just me thinking like a wild thing Percy. Don’t take a lot of notice of me. As I said to Ikeke I just cannot get rid of that thought resonating and then that spoiler coming through and saying may be powers? So may be is more than lightly probably, unfortunately. I fully get what your saying. We’ve seen enough of evil Sam. If he is becoming powerful other than an angel, demon, prophet, or even a god. What else is there on the cards? If they decided to take the power route, as the CW have a lot of power programs on TV now, they might make Sam look more sympathetic, and make him a decent angel. The boys have always done good deeds and it could be a reward for doing the trials as we previously no. So if he completed the trials he would undoubtedly die, in his case he didn’t complete them. So has God got something else in store for Sam in not finishing the trials. But that’s the best possible I can think of. I’m just trying to brace myself if the worst scenario happens:( Yes perfect Dean has been played to death that is true too.

      Thanks for the comments, always
      Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

      Like

  2. Sam’s health
    We’ve sort of expected that and I’m not surprised that Sam didn’t fully get back on his feet, but Robert Singer has revealed that Sam’s recovery is a key element. In reference to where Sam and Dean are when the show returns – Singer: “When we start the season, Sam is quite ill. How he comes back from this is a real spoiler”. New mysterious powers maybe?
    Please, no powers. Please no powers. Please no powers. I can not stand one more season of is Sam evil because of powers, or being ill or whatever. I don’t care how Sam gets cured, just now powers that he can be bashed with.

    I’m optimistic about this. It might be a good story the writers might turn this on its head for once and show us Sam and Dean on the same page. The boys are angel vessels so this has always made sense for me. But how Sam comes back from this when he thought he was going to be purified might be a killer for him. So I hope they do it justice and make Sam look sympathetic and not a negative thing. Its how it will come across which will be a turning point, for me. I miss Sam not using his power. But I don’t want it used for angst between the boys. Had enough of this 😦

    Old characters returning
    The show frequently brings back characters from the dead, which is why there’s a possibility that Benny will make an appearance. “The fans love Benny,” Singer says, “We’ll probably find a way to bring him back.”
    And I remain one of 2 people who could not care less about Benny. I’m sure he will come back and Sam will have to grovel for not having immediately trusted him and Sam will be reminded that he has no right to ever decide anything without Dean’s express consent.

    I’m hoping the writers have more sense than this and not to go down this road. I think if they write this properly, Benny could be incorporated very well into the team. He is very popular with fans alike and would be a waste if he wasn’t re-introduced. Now that Sam no longer see’s Benny as a threat, I think it could work out very well. He’s also a hunky male what is there not to love about Benny 🙂

    And the ladies? Sadly, Abaddon won’t be played by Alaina Huffman, which is bad news for me. I really enjoyed her portrayal. Robert Singer explained that she could return in a new meat suit to try to dethrone Crowley. She might become the new big bad, which is a reason why Dean and Sam team up with Crowley. “… but there’s someone else who wants to take over the reins of Hell. That person is an enemy to the boys, so there’s a certain ‘the enemy of my enemy is my friend’ feeling between them.”
    The show has so few women I hope Abbadon remains female, but I don’t care a bunch.

    I’m either or if male or female. I just think that, that actress was superb, and will be a real loss. If they find another strong woman then please keep her writers don’t kill her off for the sake of it. Use her wisely.

    As for Naomi, her fate is less certain. Fans would really love to see her back, though.
    Jeremy Carver only mentions that “Supernatural is supernatural”. So the possibility for a comeback is obviously there, small as it is. Moreover, “he’s still out there,” Carver says, when asked about Golem. He also hopes to see Charlie again.
    I wish they had done more with Naomi so having her back would be fine. I like the Golem and Charlie so that’s good.

    Me too, Percy. She could have been again fleshed out so much more. She could have been a real ascent but again dropped way too soon, shocking! When I think of what stories she could have told. She was so powerful and kicked butt too. I’m so sure about Charlie as I am still on the fence about her. One minute I like her the next I’m not over keen. 😦

    Sam and Dean’s grandfather can make an appearance in a flashback. “It might not be in the present,” Carver says, “but he’s part of our world now.”
    Whatever.

    I liked Henry I thought he was a cool guy. He died in Sam’s arms 😦

    Kevin Tran
    Supernatural is currently shooting out of order, but Kevin makes an appearance in “Devil May Care”. Brian Rose tweeted this lovely picture, which shows Kevin with the tablet in the MoL bunker.
    I like Kevin. I hope he does more than disintegrate mentally. He is very central to the angel tablet arc and he “has a role to play… because he has an angel tablet that hasn’t been translated yet,” Singer says. Hopefully it means more interaction with characters like Castiel.

    Is Jensen directing this year. I no Misha is? Yeah I saw that pick too. I do like Kevin a lot. Castiel was really rough with Kevin though. And they didn’t really hit it off did they. So I wonder how this will play out?

    Castiel’s humanity
    Now that he’s human, there’s a multitude of options for a good story, especially one that focuses on his feelings regarding his former angelic status and a better understanding of what humanity entails. When questioned about Castiel’s fate as the season opens, Misha says that “we find him the the woods as a human.” and “he will be human for the first time”. I remember that Cas came very close to being human at the end of season 5, but obviously he will have more time to discover what it means to be human and to be on equal footing with the Winchesters. And maybe he’ll be reunited with Sam and Dean. Robert Singer also elaborates on the angels on Earth. “They’re not happy about being earthbound. They lost their wings, so while they have powers, they can’t teleport. Different factions will find each other.” Misha also said that, “all these disgruntled former angels with a certain amount of power would make for a formidable army.” An army against the Winchesters or an army against Metatron? Carver explains that we “can absolutely expect that different angels will have different reactions to life on Earth. That will lead to a lot of exciting, dangerous, and fun stories to explore.”
    Not a Cas person. I hope he stays in his own story or with the angels. I”m sure he will hook up with Sam and Dean and Sam will go back to being wallpaper whenever he is around.

    I am beginning to think that Cas may be running out of stories. I find him a tad boring these days. Don’t no why. Maybe cause I fell out of love for him bringing down Sam’s wall. I had a real hard time getting over that one. I do miss him though strangely when he’s not on. I find him amusing.

    Crowley
    We got confirmation that Crowley is not fully human, but he “was genuinely affected… How much of that will linger is an open question, because, in the end, he didn’t become human”. I’m not too fond of a redemption arc for Crowley or the fact that he might be working with Sam and Dean, but the interactions between Sam and Crowley were definitely a highlight. When asked about Meg, her fate seems to be “cloudy”.
    Oh joy the only person who will talk to Sam is Crowley. This will be fine as long as Dean decides that Crowley is okay, but as soon as he sees Sam actually feeling responsible for Crowley we will be back to Sam is incapable of deciding who is good and who is bad. I am NOT looking forward to Dean beating up on Sam for trusting a demon again.

    I don’t think he will Percy. I reckon Sam is wising up to Crowley, as he never gave him an inch when Crowley gave us that I want to be loved speech. If Sam was going to be sympathetic towards Crowley he would have done so by now. I think Sam is always cautious over Crowley. Since Ruby his changed over demons and isn’t so easily lead. Crowley if used properly could be a cool Allie to have around.

    And what about Dean?
    Next week, we’ll hopefully find out more during the panel. Please check out Sunday’s schedule here. Unfortunately, nothing has been said about Dean’s story line yet
    Oh PLEASE give Dean a myth arc. Preferably with him doing all sorts of bad things and not giving one word of explanation. Well that will never happen, but I still want him to have one. I’m not one who believes that Dean hasn’t had enough of a story, but many people do, so I hope he gets one.

    Dean is the righteous man so it won’t happen 😉 The writers tend to write one brother good and the other bad. So this will remain a theme for sometime to come. I hoped this would change with the finale. I want Dean to be less bossy with Sam, this is all I really ask for. I am also tired of nurse maid Dean as it was getting boring, and Dean is worth so much more. But every story they give him its reduced or side-lined for another character. 😦 I so want Dean to have a MAJOR plot next season. I said before, its long overdue 🙂

    Thanks for the comments, always
    Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

    Like

  3. Well sorry Barb. Unlike you I did see a story line for Dean last season. It was less obvious than Sam’s story but to me it was a real thrill watching him change and grow and act more mature and his character looks very promising for next season. I’ve never really had a problem with this sort of thing because I have always thought of the show as Sam’s story as seen through Dean’s eyes. To me Dean has always been the chronicler and emotional center of Sam’s life story.
    I did see a story with Benny, and Cas the whole purgatory feel was there. I just wish they had stretched it out more as those three together were really strong. Yes the story is told from Dean’s POV. But there are times when they don’t flesh out a story enough. Like his drinking, like his womanizing, like his time in hell I could go on. Dean and Cas have a partnership but they never flesh the pair out. Not in a romantic way, but as friends. I think fans just want to see the scales balanced and I can see why they are flustered all the time over it.

    But hey, I love butt kicking Dean too so even if he’s not directly involved in the story I would love to see every other episode have a bamf! Dean moment followed by him hugging somebody. I don’t even care who. I’d also love to see Dean in a repeat of Free to Be You And Me trying to teach Cas how to be human.
    This was why so many adored purgatory. As when we knew he was going there we all thought, finally Dean has a story with Cas. But what did they do reduce it in flashbacks and didn’t give us the full story. That whole area could have been mind blowing and they let us all down. I loved FTBYAM but a number didn’t. It was like watching a father and son moment that was very special.

    But hey, wont Dean be directly involved in the story line because of all the fallen angels? You think Carver can see the imbalance there?
    How do we no this for certain? Dean is Michael’s true vessel after all? Both boys do have an angel connection?

    Thanks for the comments, always
    Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

    Like

    1. “Well sorry Barb. Unlike you I did see a story line for Dean last season. It was less obvious than Sam’s story but to me it was a real thrill watching him change and grow and act more mature and his character looks very promising for next season. I’ve never really had a problem with this sort of thing because I have always thought of the show as Sam’s story as seen through Dean’s eyes. To me Dean has always been the chronicler and emotional center of Sam’s life story”

      I agree 100%. Im not one of those people starting petitions for Dean to have a part in the myth arc. I just feel cheated over the purgatory story being passed over and I think its just fair that he should have a part in the angel tablet story line. T he fact that there’s spoilers on all characters except Dean’s is disheartening.
      Barb, CHEATED is the right word. It was a huge let down and we no Jensen would have thrived in a situation like this and they didn’t flesh it out enough. Don’t get me started on the angel tablet. I thought it was set in stone that Dean was going to do it. It is very disheartening and its about time those scales were even. Its long overdue.

      Thanks for the comments, always
      Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

      Like

  4. I. like this. Its also not too much a spoiler for me as I guessed a couple of things.
    I guessed a couple of things too Ikeke.

    1. Sam is still sick and my theory on it being angel related still stands.
    Me too, did we not say as much on this blog. I had thought may be Sam might be a prophet of the lord, something about this I like the sounds of. As Metatron did say as we no Sam is resonating? Which I still think is a crucial element.

    2. I really like the idea that one fan espoused about Crowley’s speech in Sacrifice. About how his speech was really about Sam’s thoughts and feelings because of all the blood being pumped into him by Sam. And it looks like Bella’s theory about their blood connection may be true.
    I did wonder didn’t I? If someone continues to inject their own blood into someone else, I don’t think they can hide behind the fact that there won’t be any connection. It stands to reason to me. It still makes me wonder if Sam’s demon blood never made Crowley human any way, that’s what made me think he would never be fully human.

    3. It also looks like my theories on the different factions of angels running around causing trouble might be correct. It makes sense to me that they would have some of their powers but not All their powers.
    Yes, I like this theory, and did wonder myself too what chaos it would all cause. It stands to reason again that with so many angels falling that there would be some sort of ramifications from it all.

    4. I like the idea of Crowley working with the brothers against the big bad. I wonder if the big bad is Metatron trying to control Hell too. Or maybe someone we haven’t seen yet.
    I’m itching to no who this big bad is. I wonder if this is the person that was standing outside Sam’s in 8 x 01? I wonder too if this will ever be resolved? Hence me thinking that Heaven and Hell are connected so again this stands to reason.

    5. I like the idea of character comebacks. Im going to miss Abaddons old meat suit and while I
    know some fans would dearly love Abaddon to be female again, I still think the character would be better served as a seriously a**kicking guy. It’s just. I’d really like to see the brothers go up against something massively physically powerful. That guy who played Jayne in Firefly springs to mind.

    I never watched firefly, so not sure who you are talking about. But get what your saying. We’ve never really had a powerful oh so powerful big bad, except may be Eve could have been. Dick Roman was crap and the boys made mincemeat out of him. So I think we are due a great big character. Its a shame we won’t see this actress which was what a number of us were banking on ….

    6. I’m mot a Kevin fan so I don’t much care what he does too much. I don’t hate the guy but I could take him or leave him.I am however a total Benny fan and I seriously hope they bring him back as a semi -regular character. Just maybe 2 or 3 episodes would be cool. Yeah. We love Benny and seriously it’s all in that rough southern voice with the double entendres. Or was I the only one who caught those?
    Kevin has really grown on me. I think he’s played off all those demons and he’s smart. He’s a damn site better than Garth put together. At least he has the sense to hunt and help the boys out. I miss Benny also, I think Ty is a great asset. Particularly since Sam came around to him in the end. So he didn’t die in purgatory then? I did notice the voice as it was the first thing I noticed about Benny. At first it did annoy me but after a while I didn’t notice it. I really got to love Ty through the conventions, he really does love Jensen.

    7. At any rate I’m getting seriously excited about season 9. Even knowing what I know Carver can still throw some major curve balls at us so these aren’t really that spoilery, B.
    I guess there not over spoilery as they don’t want to give too much away too soon. Comic con is the earliest we tend to get any major spoils so role on Sunday. I wonder if we will get to met Jensen’s little girl …. I hope we do see a clip.

    Thanks for the comments, always
    Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

    Like

    1. I would absolutely love to see Benny and Sam connect. That would become an interesting an unexpected relationship like Cas and Meg. I didn’t see that one coming either.
      Me too, I think Sam would get a bit of his popularity back too. I think it will do them both good to be honest. It will help Benny integrate and mix with others, and Sam will get to ease up on some of his inner anger. Its a wi,n win 🙂

      I thought Cas and Sam got off to a rocky start but they’re good now I think. They’ve been through so much together and they’re friends just not the same way Cas and Dean are friends. Remember there have been times when Cas would answer Sam’s call even when he was avoiding Dean. And then in episode Torn and Frayed he went to get Sam despite Dean’s expressed wishes.
      Oh I get this. That awkward hug that didn’t happen in season 6. Dean has friends that respect him, and so want the same for Sam. All Sam has is Dean at the moment, and this is getting tiresome. They need to balance those scales again a bit more. Charlie was starting to notice Sam. But still she turned to Dean 😦

      I think Sam does have close relationships with people its just the writers are cheating us out of seeing them. They all seem to happen off screen. They always show Dean bonding with people but some things like Cas and Sam talking or Sam and Charlie, they never show and its becoming very noticeable to the fans. Also would love to see Sam bond with Aaron from the Judah Initiative, too.
      I so believe you over the writers. We don’t see it on screen. Dean does mix with more people much more closely than Sam. Its like he’s almost taking a back seat and doesn’t want to involve himself. He’s not a shy man, so why have the writers gone this way. Sam is written a lot more aloof this season, is there a reason I wonder? Aaron is another thought, but again I thought he was taking a shine to Dean, and not in that way. Even Garth he’s distant, and not matter how much we moan about Garth, he is a friendly kinda chap. 😉 I could kick the writers sometimes what they are doing with Sam. 😦

      But you know what? Ultimately I don’t even care as long as

      1. The bromance is solid.
      2. Somebody is kicking somebody else’s butt.
      3. Monsters! Monsters! And did I say monsters?
      4. Some great lines get spoken.
      5. That Eugenie Ross person falls terribly ill and cant write any episodes. Great googly! does she stink as a writer.

      I am 100% with you on this five points. Is Eugenie Robert Singers wife? is this what the forum is upset about, keep it in the family? Saying she has only got the job because of him. I think to date they have only written one descent episode.

      Thanks for the comments, always
      Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

      Like

  5. As usual nothing about a story line for Dean but I am used to it already. Geez Louise there’s 2 MAIN characters and you can’t come up with 2 intertwined story lines writers? Im tired of that fight. As long as Jensen’s in every episode and has some good interaction with guest stars (maybe Benny) and gets some emotional scenes I guess I will have to be satisfied.
    I really, really want Benny back now, with Dean, Cas and Sam. There may be a chance of Benny being in team free will, they never did replace Bobby? May be Benny is that man. I am tired of these scenes too, has to be said. I think they don’t no what to do with Dean, they are lacking in creativity with him, when they could do so much. What about the righteous man story for Dean ha? I can still see him being nurse maid to Sam and Cas now Kevin too.

    Thanks for the comments, always
    Love Aunty B xxxxxxxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

