The past and present?

I am beginning to feel a pattern when viewing later episodes, and going back and re-watching earlier episodes. I found myself moaning about the writers which I guess we are all guilty of at one time or another. I think the writers are really doing their home work and re-visiting the past and being true to our boys. I didn’t like to admit Sam’s anger and mood swings this season, I felt he was so strongly out of character as did many of us. But once I begin my rewind summer viewing schedule I was surprised at what I had forgotten about my beloved characters.  As we get older our memories are not as clear as they once were. But saying this when you do watch that episode again you capture it like it was yesterday and its surprising what you don’t forget.

Count down to season 9
What do we really, really want to happen?

Now lines I am hopeless at remembering and no where near as good as I used to be, having to check stuff out frequently on you-tube for my safety net. But Sam’s anger has often reared its ugly head, which did shock me. Was Jeremy true to form with Sam this season. Was Sam right to be angry at Dean for being a hypocrite over Benny. And once again the old tiresome Sam not looking for Dean. But this is still out there as those earlier memories I clung too alter slightly with time. What you think is a perfect character isn’t always a perfect character until we see the story through to the bitter end. Sam always did what he thought was right, with good intentions even over the demon blood and Lilith he continued that bitter struggle with or without his brother. His yearning for a normal life has always stayed true to the character too, so at least they have balanced and have stuck to a stable routine. We have grown to love both boys and see them as our flawless heroes with hearts of gold. So what is in store on this road trip now. Where do we see it go as far as its history. Both boys have suffered and had angst chucked at them a mile high, so what else can they physically endure. What can the boys not cope with, under extreme Winchester, supernatural pressures?

The boys we sense are not the same as earlier seasons, so what can the writers do to improve this balance, and make their model leads work as a cohesive unit. Sam has broken down on more than one occasion in his life, and closely together too. Where does this leave Dean in his fight to keep his brother safe and out of danger? Can the writers change direction and over us something different but keeping on a similar path? And of course keep true to our heroes.

So Bella is returning to the past, in a hope of what the future might bring us. Collecting little thoughts along the way of what stories the past has bought us. As Metatron said, its all about the stories, and Supernatural sure no’s how to tell a story. What is out there now, and what can be learned from Sam’s cry for help, as that’s what we basically saw in the finale. A broken, defeated man at deaths door. Trying desperately to redeem himself and let it all go. So tell me little ones, seeing into the future what can we expect from this show, what paths do we think they might take?

 

10 thoughts on “The past and present?

  1. “I hated his reasons for drinking the demon blood and his totally disrespectful attitude towards Dean that season. But I don’t think it was completely out of character, just ugly to watch”
    I agree-even chuck said to him are you sure thats why youre drinking the blood and its not that it makes you feel strong etc…………..

    Like

  2. “Sam always did what he thought was right, with good intentions”
    Yes he has but his choices always turned out to be wrong! Any Seinfeld fans out there? He should do like George Costanza did when he realized all his decisions in life were wrong-He would do the opposites of what he thought he should…and it worked for a while LOL

    Yeah, but sometimes doing this can still turn out wrong too. I feel for Sammy …. 😦

    Love the countdown clock
    Thanks, I keep meaning to put one on the blog front page.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Yeah, George was, to coin a phrase, “a right prat “. I often wanted to smack him. But George was also a lot less likable than Sam. And his reasons for the decisions he made were often deeply selfish. The only time I saw Sam be quite that selfish was because of the demon blood, although I’m sure other fans of the show can name a wholle host of selfish acts.

      Like

      1. Oh wait a minute. He did do the opposite of what he felt might have been right and not looking for Dean still turned out wrong.

        Alright everybody, lets be fair here. How was he supposed to go about finding Dean when he thought that Dean was dead? A lot of people have complained about this particular event but Ive never heard even one person offer a solution as to how he would have gone about finding and retrieving Dean. Everyone is so busy being upset about it but not thinking things all the way through. As a mental excercise I’d really like to hear people’s thoughts on how he would have saved Dean from he knew not where? Help the writers out here.

        And oh yeah, I love that countdown gif too.

        Like

        1. “Alright everybody, lets be fair here. How was he supposed to go about finding Dean when he thought that Dean was dead?”
          I would have liked it if he would ahve at lest had it confirmed that he was dead. Honestly that didnt bother me as much as not caring about Kevin.

          Like

          1. Yeah. Not caring about Kevin and turning off all his phones bothered me more than anything else. Although when I think about it, who would possibly have been calling him? Everyone was gone. Meg, Bobby, Kevin. It still bothers me though that he left Kevin hanging even if I don’t like Kev very much.
            Ikeke you mentioned it all linking to the finale Sam not looking for Dean, do these points also link? I still feel like Sam had been controlled by Naomi or on something, as it still feels off that he would ignore someone in danger and ditch the phones which infuriated me by the way. When Dean was mad at him, he had EVERY reason. Sam said everyone was gone, now as much as I love Sam, there were other hunters around he could have asked. I cannot believe he would have not gone and done a bit of digging. Its who he is, its what he does for a living. It just felt so false. 😦

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

            1. He knew that Crowley had Kevin. Its not like he didnt know where he was. Summn a demon or Crowley and find out whats going on with kevin and maybe, just maybe, he would ahve also found out that dean was alive.
              Exactly!!!!!!!!!!

              Like

            2. It don’t know. I got the firm impression that Sam was on the outs with the other hunters. Remember when Dean was trying to get help for him when he was crazy. I thought the other hunters didn’t like him.
              I don’t no if I got that impression about other hunters not liking him. But there are so many out there that may not even no him. I cannot believe that he just came to a dead end literally and thought DEAN was DEAD! I got grief played a huge part in the first part of his time alone without dean. But how long had grief got to him before he if he ever came to his senses and thought OMG what about DEAN. Dean always looked for me, can I may be look into where he might of imploded too. The writers no matter what way we dress this all up made Sam look really bad, and that’s what I have a hard time getting over. But the finale has covered over a lot of cracks now. 🙂

              But here’s my solution. If he truly wanted to know what had happened to Dean, whether he is in Heaven or Hell or wherever he could have summoned Death who “might ” have responded. I know the angels were too messed up to be helpful to anyone and Crowley would never have offered him help to find Dean even if Sam could’ve brought himself to ask for help. Hes trying to avoid making deals with demons after Ruby. But death would have been an option.
              Yes, exactly he could have summons someone, with his brains and intelligence I cannot believe he wouldn’t have even tried. This is what I cannot get my head around. 😦 That he just GAVE UP! I even said as much I didn’t want him to go to Crowley for help, but I bet at the time Crowley never even crossed his mind. I still can’t think why he even shrugged Kevin off and not gone to look for him. The writers still may oil out this story and give us a bit more, who knows! 🙂

              Although apparently I’m one of the few people who totally understands why he wouldn’t want anything more to do with the supernatural. I don’t like the idea of Sam being controlled by anyone. Not that that’s not true. I just don’t like the idea. The idea makes a certain poetic sense that he would be manipulated into not looking for Dean but it also negates that beautiful reconciliation in Sacrifice and he’s been controlled enough. We’ve all been down that road too many times and its time to stop that sort of thing I think.
              I get this, but there were loose ends that he could have tied up, and not left dangling. Kevin after all was their responsibility. Dean wasn’t around so he was the one to pick up the flack. And he didn’t. No I don’t now, but hope you can see why I thought this originally as I thought wow whats going on here. I am pleased now there wasn’t anything supernatural going on. I appreciated how raw those emotions were, and now see where he was coming from. Even now I think why does he continue to make lousy mistakes. I hope the writers show Sam maturing and making the right choices this year, am tired of seeing Sam make the wrong moves continually 😦

              Thanks for the comments,
              Love Aunty B xxxx

              Like

      2. “Yeah, George was, to coin a phrase, “a right prat “. I often wanted to smack him. But George was also a lot less likable than Sam. And his reasons for the decisions he made were often deeply selfish. The only time I saw Sam be quite that selfish was because of the demon blood, although I’m sure other fans of the show can name a wholle host of selfish acts”

        I was sort of kidding in a serious way. lol Although Sam does need to rethink things especially when Dean tells him its not a good idea cause Deans usually right when it comes to SAMS safety.

        Like

  3. Yeah, I never thought Sam was out of character as far as being angry. In the beginning he was mostly angry at John and rarely expressed it at Dean. After John died he argued with Dean a lot more, it seems. And then in season three he transferred that anger to Lilith and then Lucifer in season four. In season four he confessed to always being angry (and I blame Azazel ‘s demon blood for that.)
    Oh I get he was always angry with John and rebelled so much because of him. I have wondered you no for ages if the demon blood had something to do with his anger? It appears he has often had issues with his anger and you rarely see Dean over angry. I did feel his anger had got on top of him this season, and did notice it more it has to be said.

    I never thought he was out of character in not looking for Dean. Even if what he did was completely wrong he always had good intentions or thought he had good reasons. Just because we don’t like his reasons for doing things doesn’t necessarily mean it’s out of character.

    I am getting this more and more now, I am not as SHOCKED as I once was. Because my little angels have calmed me down and reasoned with me about it 😉 I feel in a better place over it more so than this time last year. I can begin to put that behind me, and hope they move forward with Sam, and not twenty steps back.

    I hated his reasons for drinking the demon blood and his totally disrespectful attitude towards Dean that season. But I don’t think it was completely out of character, just ugly to watch. I can get over the fights they had at the beginning of the season because they’ve been that way towards each other before. Remember when Sam shot Dean way back in season one, I think. And that huge fight in season four. Season 8 was mild by comparison to that. It was just haphazardly written. I don’t like to see them fight but if a good story comes out of their conflict then I can accept it. And let’s admit it that whole Sam not looking for Dean was a setup for Sacrifice .
    I disliked the demon blood deep down. But I guess if the writers were turning him dark, they had to do things the audience wouldn’t necessarily like. I got why he did it. But the addiction must have been bad for him, as he even said as much to Chuck. I don’t like the physical fighting but as you say as long as there is a good reason behind it, I’m okay with it. I am 100% with you Sam not looking for Dean was a set up for the finale 🙂 PHEW!

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

