Why do Destieler’s want Sam out?

Many thoughts over time come into our own minds and we often asks ourselves the question as to why? The longer you are involved with a fandom, the more vibes you tend to pick up on. The last year has been no exception. 

Was it the worst days writing they ever did
when the writers bought in Castiel

To cut a long story short I have often wondered why Sam is not favored as much as Dean and Castiel.  From the jump I  might like to point out that I do not give a hoot about Diestiel and do not want this canon. But this is what they desperately want to see Dean an Cas an item. This week I have read posters comments from different corners of the fandom and begin to piece this fandom war if you can call it one, together. These fans are tired of limp Sam, ill Sam, what is wrong with Sam, and nurse maid/caretaker Dean doing all the worrying over ill Sam. They are threatening to quit watching the show and are already bombarding tweeter as we speak to plug the pair.  Also Dean fans are not supporting watching the show hoping that the ratings go down and the show is cancelled. And that Jensen goes on to pastures new where he is much more appreciated. 

Do the fans really want this?

I have known friends whom have been attached because they are simply bi-bro from destilers. Which is awful to bear, and to listen to friends whom have had this happen to them. The more I hear them complain about Sam the more I think this is what is at the root of it all. This is why they want Sam out of the picture they think the more they complain about weak, limp ill Sam will reflect on the majority voice to the powers that be. I was one of those fans who didn’t like the idea of another person coming in on the show between the brothers. I still sometimes feel this that Castiels simply being in the show divides the fandom which is so sad to see. I think that they dislike Sam, because they want to see the Dean and Cas show, not the Sam and Dean show. So when I think of all the moaning and groaning, the knocking and the bashing Sam to pieces in the past, it was for a clear motivated reason. I really do think they want Sam out of the picture.

Funny Images Jared Padalecki Sam Winchester Castiel Dean Kootation

We have had some very special moment from the trio?
But at the same time I don’t want this spoiling what is primarily Sam and Dean?

 

This is hard for me to vent these feelings, but I cannot think of any other reason why Sam is continually bashed, and slaughtered when ever the opportune moment arises and worse.  I do get tired of nurse maid Dean, and feel for lack of story for Dean, but I know deep down Dean has the best role to play. As we have talked about well here. Castiel to me is another cog in the wheel and they have a friendship, that will not go any further. If they get their wish and this happens. Will they be truly happy within themselves. Also what happens when the relationship breaks down, and comes between the brothers obviously this is what they are wanting to happen. But the more I think about this, the deeper it gets. I recently read that it is now bleeding over onto the actors themselves saying that they hate Jared simply for being a friends with Jensen.  I cannot comprehend this, so if they can enlighten me, I would love to listen. 

I see Cas as a friend, a close family member

A healer, a person to help them in times of stress,

A person who shares a friendship with a brother whom he saved from hell

A person who saved another brother from hell without his soul

A person who appears a dick but on the surface lovable, caring and considerate

But an item with Dean, sorry no, I don’t see it.

I have been off for a few days and am back in the running, so drop me your feelings down on what you think about Cas, Dean and Sam. Is Sam being threatened by Destieler’s? Is he being seriously pushed out by the majority who are sick and tired of limp, weak, ill, what’s wrong with Sam scenario’s. Do we sense the writers may actually grant them their wish? Is it worth getting hot under the collar just yet. Are we over worrying about Sam being used as a pawn in something much bigger that we don’t really understand? Is social media really changing the look of our show and our characters, are we right to be concerned? Or is it all hot air?

 

43 thoughts on “Why do Destieler’s want Sam out?

  1. It is best to get away for a while. This and WFB and Bardicvoice are the only boards I really read. These are genuine fans who like the show and want what’s best for the actors, characters and show. They don’t allow shipping and fighting about the characters on these sites and Bardicvoice is a lone voice in the wilderness. She is cool, calm, logical, smarter than god and spot on in her character assessments and that is very refreshing to me.
    That’s lovely to know thank you from the heart. I like WFB too and IMDb is about as far as I will venture. You get to sense where you prefer to stay. IMDb was my first home and its where I know, and I like the subjects that are bought up. Even though it is Dean heavy. Sam does get a hard time. Ikeke you might even like Supernaturally Devoted as we have a few more authors now, and its really building. I put a new article up from me last night.

    The negativism is contagious if you’re not careful. I’ve been there. You find yourself agreeing to things or saying things that eventually affect your enjoyment of the show. There are a couple of sites I no longer visit because of that. Reader beware is the only advice I can give.
    I so agree with this! It was as I’ve said before they even began putting me off Dean, which I didn’t want it doing, as I love them both. So I just stay clear of the stuff I think works me up. I find now with experience I know what to talk about and what not. It can yes, affect your enjoyment, if your not too careful. ‘Reader beware’ I love this ….

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I admit I have moved out of fandom this summer. It became very uncomfortable. Winchester Family Business is currently not functioning, they had issues with their hosting service and Alice is trying to rebuild the site on another system. I hope it gets up and running because it is a really fair and balanced site.
      Isn’t this site more Sam friendly though? I heard it crashed the other day because of so much activity. So this is why there not around? I hope it comes back to. It will be a real shame if they don’t.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. You’ll be happy to know thaat WFB is back up and running. There’s still some strangeness on the site. Its not like it used to be but it’s close enough for horseshoes.

        Like

    2. hmm..think I will check out those boards you mentioned. The negativity that goes on at IMDB is definitely contagious and I noticed I started to have a more pessimistic outlook towards the show. I have no issue with people expressing their opinions but the vibe of the board seems very biased and aggressive towards anyone who do not share the same views to the point where arguments and name calling would start and it was very uncomfortable for me. Last season I would sometimes peek on the board before an episode and the negative comments made me feel biased and I no longer had a natural reaction towards the episodes because some fans would bring up things I never would have thought about and of course it was always something negative. I do like some of the posters over there and know that not everyone who post is like that, but it seemed like a majority of them are. I am not sure how involved I’ll this season, especially after seeing people already getting angry over promos *sigh*.

      Like

      1. “Last season I would sometimes peek on the board before an episode and the negative comments made me feel biased and I no longer had a natural reaction towards the episodes ”
        This was so true for me also. I actually looked forward to my husband watching the episode (hes not into the fandom at all) because he always has an unbiased take on it.

        Like

    3. “This and WFB and Bardicvoice ”
      I know WFB is Winchester Family Business but whats Bardicvoice?

      I believe she is a writer on The Winchester Family Business. There is about 12 current authors. Its a good active site.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Shes a long time fan. She runs Bardicvoice Descant. Mostly its reviews of individual episodes since season one and tons of beautiful meta essays about the show and characters.
        You may not always agree with her but she’s definitely bi -bro, levelheaded,never hysterical and when she has complaints, they are well thought out and backed up with solid proof. You’ve probably seen some of her essays on WFB.

        Doesn’t Alice pretend to be SweetonDean and writes her own blog. I’m sure she has put up reviews on IMDb!

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

    4. I’m definitely going to visit the site. I would also love to try my hand at writing an article for the site if that’s possible. (It would be my first meta.) I’m not aware of any Sam bias on the WFB but there is a whole lot of Dean love on there and as long as there’s no blatant hatred of Sam or griping about the brother’s personalities, I can live with it. I have on occasion glanced at IMDB but I never read reviews or opinions before I see the episode myself because whether the reviews are good or bad I don’t want to be biased while watching. I’ll wait until after I’ve figured out how I really feel about an episode before seeking other opinions. (Which explains why I love episodes other people hate like Taxi Driver.)Sometimes people do have legitimate complaints about the story or canon and that’s okay but I won’t tolerate griping about the character of the characters. I just accept whatever parts of their personalities that Sam and Dean show. That’s how I treat real life people and I respect the characters enough to react to them the same as I would real people.(Its part of the reason I like Sleepy Hollow. The characters just feel right.)
      Lou is the owner of the site Supernaturally Devoted, and she originally asked me on board as her administrator, because she liked what I do on my own blog and new of me. She just had the idea at the time of collaborating with others who love the show. We also originally asked another to join us on the main team, but then declined as she’s a busy writer, she was snow-leopard who is on IMDb. I have since written to snow who is submitting soon which I’m really pleased about, but not on a full time basis. So that’s how that little blog was born. We are very mixed in the characters we love which is another reason why I love it. That we all have are own individual style of writing. We each bring our own view on the show. Its special to me for this reason that we share the work load and have fun. Its not bitchy, stressful or negative. Good old honest banter. I will of course let Lou know you are interested in writing for us, as we have recently taken on a good current team. So that decision will be down to her. I love your style and views on Sam. So I think you would be a great team member. I will get back to you. IMDb has been through the mill, and is very Dean orientated (heavy). He’s the golden boy and Sam is bashed none stop. There are some vocal Sam girls but sadly now not so many. Even the Sam squad has drifted away. Not much activity. Some forums closed down like the CW lounge and they flooded onto IMDb but I think a number of those have jumped ship too. The summer is always quiet until the spoilers come out. See what you think of the place and lurk for a bit, that’s what I did for two years before I braved it. I was so scared when I first started posting, now I cannot leave it alone …

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. ” (Which explains why I love episodes other people hate like Taxi Driver.)”

        I actually like Taxi Driver. I just think it should have been 2 episodes. Because it was so rushed the special ness of how hard it was to get into Hell and in and out of Purgatory was lost. I would have liked more explanation of rogue reapers like when they started..was it before Dean went to purgatory? I loved the Dean/Benny scene a lot. Again it felt very rushed..too many ideas (good ones!) for 1 episode.
        It could have been so good. I enjoyed the story on re-watch after the hype and the dust on it settled. But you still feel it missed something. Something important considering how vast purgatory and hell are, and what could have been lurking down there. So many said it was rushed and not properly planned out. One thing I did observe. Why did Sam take off his watch when going into the hell prisons. He tucked it up on a shelf up high, and collected it on his way out. Which I thought was rather odd.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

  2. Hi Bella, It’s been a while 🙂
    I am getting so tired of the Sam hate. I think it’s ridiculous and don’t understand why some people continue to watch the show if they feel this much animosity. I feel the show has always been about the Winchesters story, so to get rid of Sam would be deviating from what the show is about…the brothers. I am also tired of the hate that people have toward the actual actors, I mean to try to get someone to lose their job, or to try to destroy the show because your not getting your way is so childish IMO. Honestly I have no problem with Cas, but have definitely seen so much negativity from his fans and Destiel shippers so much that it is starting to turn me off to that character. His fans can be mean saying that anyone who does not ship Dean/Cas are homophobes just because we don’t see what they see. Sometimes I do feel like certain scenes are taken out of context. I’ve actually re-watched some “Dean/Cas” scenes that have been pointed out to me and didn’t really see it. Also some fans even hate on people who love both brothers because people don’t like the fact that anyone could like Sam and so it’s either you like Dean, or you’re the enemy (a.k.a. Sam fan) it’s like they don’t see the possibility of liking both Winchester brothers…the actual leads of the show. Ugh! I’ve just seen so much hate from those fans…I am sure there are nice Dean only fans and nice Destiel fans who aren’t so adamant about seeing their ship become canon…but there seems to be very few and I’ve seen a lot of hate towards fans who don’t agree with them almost to the point of bullying. Maybe it’s just on the boards, I think casual viewers do like the brothers…I know people who actually stopped watching in season 4 because they felt it wasn’t just about Sam and Dean anymore.

    So good to see you back Jade, miss you. 🙂 …
    Me too. I love his character, and what he stands for. I think because they enjoy winding us up. I know of course this would. It would really mess up the whole story. And break up this partnership for what the Dean and Cas show. It is childish I so agree. Taken out of context, so this. If viewers don’t like the brothers, why do they watch? When is it going to end. I just don’t get their logic. If it does become canon as I said in the post, then what. Will they find something else to moan about. I love this show it hurts, and this sort of stuff really upsets my viewing and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Why can’t we all get along, and live as one happy family. 🙂

    Thanks for the comments, and so good to see you again 😉
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  3. Seriously? Someone is saying that there are actors on the show who hate Jared for being friends with Jensen? I would hope no adult would believe that rubbish. Sounds pretty Middle School (actually, I apologize to the middle school readers, it is much sillier than what middle schooler’s would say). Jared and Jensen are both fine actors and reportedly friends. I appreciate their hard work. I love their show and cannot imagine the show without both main characters,Sam and Dean. It would not be the same show without either of them. I can’t imagine that I would be interested in watching the show without both main characters continuing. I also enjoy the characters of Bobby, Castiel, Kevin, Charlie, Crowley, Jody, etc. BUT I WOULD continue to watch if any of these characters died/disappeared because to me the show is the brothers. That said, I found a lot of interesting comments above and thinking about them made me hope that the writers will develop Sam and Castiels friendship this year, further explore their commonalities, and show more of Sam’s POV, while both main characters (Sam and Dean) continue to play the major roles in the episodes to come. — AB/C
    I actually read this would you believe on a you-tube comment. That poster got a few heated comments back. I find this all so childish sometimes. I so agree, they are friends and support each other. Even the four of them go out together and have meals out together which is lovely to see. The show so is the brothers, it wouldn’t be the same without either one of them. I think this is being explored, and would also like to see Sam and Jody together again for a bit. They worked so well together in that episode looking for Dean. I think they need to flush out Sam’s POV a bit more.

    Thanks for the comments, and for coming back. I do appreciate it. 😉
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

  4. I’m not a particular fan of Castiel. I will admit that if the writers finally decide to stop making him comic relief many of my problems with him will be lessened. Sadly, being told that he will suddenly have to eat and eliminate makes it sound as if Castiel will still be comically adjusting to the world for the early part of the season.
    I always did love Cas, until Sam’s wall, and that as many know broke his love for me for ages. It wasn’t until purgatory when Benny quizzed him to give him an answer that, that love came flooding back. Not as strong. But there. Cas is comic relief I grant you. But we do need some to lift the heavy myth arc occasionally. I would rather have comic Cas, than comic Garth any day of the week.

    I do think that the addition of the Castiel character is part of why Sam’s character hasn’t been as well explored as I would like. When the writers strike changed the season three story line, so that Sam didn’t go dark saving Dean, any sympathy that Sam would have gotten was removed. Deciding to play Sam’s motives “in the background” in season four was a real blow to Sam’s character because we really didn’t get SHOWN why Sam was acting the way he did and we really didn’t get told much either. When Castiel was a hit and returned to season five, the writers suddenly had a new character that they had to flesh out instead of concentrating on Sam’s POV. Since Cas had turned because he believed in Dean, while Sam had “betrayed” Dean by turning to Ruby Cas had rooting value and Sam didn’t. Somewhere Sam’s POV and value got ignored, or the writers didn’t know how to show it adequately and Cas became the “good” person bonded to Dean. I don’t think the show has ever found a way to reset that balance for many people. Cas’s sins, such as they are, were on a cosmic scale and are forgiven, Sam’s were against Dean and are not. Even breaking Sam’s wall was a sin against Sam, who after Soulless!Sam was still on the less than good scale, and it was never portrayed as a betrayal of Dean, no matter how much I thought it was. Dean was perfectly okay with Sam being broken and forgave Cas, while apparently holding Sam accountable for daring to permit Cas to only rescue his body, not his soul. So I know that there is a group that sees Sam as a constant failure to Dean and Cas as a constant support, even though I don’t agree.
    I see this now. I knew it had something to do with season 4 and Ruby but didn’t get this far. Thanks Percy 😉 But even Cas has gone against Dean in the future and they still love this relationship. The whole thing over the souls infuriated Dean, and that Cas went behind Dean’s back to get the job done, bringing down Sam’s wall to keep them off the trail, which to me was a betrayal to Dean. Dean had a hard time forgiving Cas. But the more Sam seems to do wrong, they still continue to take it out on him, and not Cas. Which I don’t get. Both have a bond with Dean. And both men do things to hurt Dean. I also see your points about the writers. I bet Cas was the new blood they could flesh out and interest fans in rather than the current man, Sam.

    I don’t understand the Destielers who want the ship to become canon. For me Fic belongs as fic, not on the show. But I do think there is a certain LOUD contingent that is going to keep pushing for it.
    This is so what I feel too. I think they are so loud, and as we often say vocal. I understand if this is there love do it, but don’t force others to who don’t want it. Fan fic doesn’t belong on the show, it is what it is.

    I don’t have a good answer for you. Mostly, I’m commenting so I can follow the discussion easily.
    That’s okay you’ve helped me get my head around another area, so that’s cool for me 🙂

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. Hey Percysowner, I agree with what you said here. They really did not explain Sam’s motives a lot in season 4 and I think they still wanted to go for the dark!Sam story line somewhat which is why they had him team up with Ruby, and then had him struggle with the whole blood addiction thing that went on. And I agree it would have been nice for them to show Sam’s POV instead of flesh out another character, I kind of feel like the season 8 finale was the first time in a long time we really saw how Sam felt, and his view on things which is something I feel has been lacking for the past couple of seasons.
      Season 4 was a big turn off for many and if they had got Sam to save Dean instead of Ruby coming into the picture, I think he would have fared much more sympathetically. I still can’t help but think sometimes this was what they were wanting all along to write Sam bad. I wished they had stuck with the original plan. 😉

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  5. Oh and I want to add that the Sam bashing is unnecessary. Sam is an important component of the show and has been since day one. Take him away and it makes no sense.
    I 100% so, so agree……. 😉 Well said!

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

  6. You have to admit though that just like Dean is fiercely loyal to Sam, it is also the same with Castiel. It sort of reminds me of the instant bond Watson and Sherlock have (books or BBC show can be though of here). Dean and Cas built their relationship a little more than just a random, bam! We are friends type of things. For different reasons they have come to love one another. And while it may be a “sexy” fantasy that does not mean Dean and Cas need to become a couple. Hearing Dean say, “I need you,” should be enough to show how much he does love Cas. Dean is protective in nature even of an angel…an angel who could crush him. This makes me wonder what Dean will do with human Cas in the upcoming season!
    One thing I think we sometimes overlook is that they are both not human. One is an angelic creature of the lord, and the other human. This is what I love about their friendship that they are not both human. But I like your logic about Sherlock and Watson. I so believe when Dean openly tells Cas we are family, and were like brothers. Not literally, but how meaningfully Dean says it from the heart. Which is what they appear to be, not lovers. Why do so many see something into this that is clearly to most, of us not there. I find this interesting too now that they are both human. If Cas will loose any of that out worldly way of his, I cannot wait.

    Welcome back, and thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. Thank you for saying this.
      The show is about TWO BROTHERS -SAM AND DEAN!
      From the beginning, the show has been about Sam and Dean and it will end as it began. Because theres not a writer on earth whose going to change a mainstream character in a show from straight to gay in the middle of primetime tv.It ain’t gonna happen. This is not a show about a gay relationship which is what it would become if that were to happen and the writers are focused on a very different story than that. If you want gay then watch True Blood.

      I think this is a very loud, and vocal Minority and I don’t care if they stop watching the show. They and fans like them who hate various characters are the reason that everyone makes fun of the fans of this show and think we are ALL bats**t. These types of fans have got up to all manner of mischief including trying to get various actors and writers fired and starting horrible rumors about various actors sex lives on the show and all because they want their particular brand of fanfiction to come true.

      They need to understand that the show is not about them or what they personally want. Other people watch the show, the vast majority of whom are sane and need to stop making us all look bad. Their behaviour is annoying and ridiculous.

      For the record I don’t care who a person likes on the show and I’m not averse to gay characters. You all know how much I love Charlie. But these fans are extremists of the worst kind. They are pathologically incapable of seeing friends as friends and insist that their little personal fantasies are completely real. I’m coming to the conclusion that they are all crazy and not in any good way.

      Like

      1. I know it’s been 7 months, but I must reply. First to this: “Because theres not a writer on earth whose going to change a mainstream character in a show from straight to gay in the middle of primetime tv.It ain’t gonna happen. This is not a show about a gay relationship which is what it would become if that were to happen and the writers are focused on a very different story than that. If you want gay then watch True Blood.”

        Truthfully, there is a lot of carefully thought out and well written analysis of why Dean has never really identified as a straight character [take this as an example: http://andythanfiction.tumblr.com/post/46243577913/ac-dc%5D. And just because he blatantly has sex with women on the screen means nothing, really. It has been said in a My Bloody Valentine episode that Dean treats sex like the consumption of food and alcohol. It’s a necessity to him. I venture to say that it has been meaningless sex for him since season 1. Just him trying to fill this emptiness he’s always had inside of him for some reason.

        Plus, the show dealing with a Supernatural world and then implementing real life situations is still entertainment and so if that happens that Dean is “bisexual with an exception for Cas” kind of thing then so be it. It’s all open to interpretation, because I don’t believe the show can pull the card that Dean is completely gay. No way, that’d logically make no sense. And because while I believe Sam is integral to everything the show was about in the beginning and is it about that does not mean I’m going to ignore how OBVIOUSLY the writers used Dean and Cas’s relationship from 6-8 (and most brilliantly in 8 may I add with the Purgatory scenes and all). And if they put into WORDS (rather than actions and subtext) that Dean loves Cas then that is a big step in terms of the show breaking social ground. 8×17’s crypt scene is big proof that Dean sees Cas as something VERY VERY dear to him. “I need you.” Yeah, he says the family line, but that’s Dean’s default when he wants those he cares about to stop doing something.

        And making Dean and Cas more than subtext wouldn’t hurt the show. Cas probably wouldn’t make a good hunter see Hunter Heroci. Though, when he is Human!Cas he tries to make up for that dismal attempt at hunting in s9. He figures since he’s got more understanding of being human it’ll make Dean happier if he tried….but besides the point. Don’t want to get off track here. And I don’t want you to think that one person’s analysis on Dean and Cas has changed my mind. It hasn’t. I’ve thought things since season 4 when Castiel came onto the show. I’ve just become more vocal since. And what I want to impress upon you is that something that you brought up and that is “THEIR PARTICULAR BRAND OF FANFICTION.”

        After all, that’s what this bottom lines to. Fans will project their sexually explicit fanfiction onto the characters and that may be how they ship “Destiel.” However, there is a particular breed/brand of shippers if you will who are more analytical of Dean and Cas, noticing certain subtexts or ACTUAL TEXT that has given us charge to believe that the two characters are stupidly in love with one another. Of course, this does not mean I am berating you in any way, but I don’t think these “Destiel” Fans can put into a crazy box and locked tightly into it. They have their fantasies through Fan Fiction, but I still believe that they aren’t imagining something that isn’t in the show. I certainly don’t like to think that I’ve imagined something out of nowhere and began projecting it onto the show. That’d make me feel like I need to seek a professional, if I’m just going to start projecting wildly non-existent thoughts onto people/things fictional or not.

        And I must repeat that that doesn’t mean that Sam never takes a back burner seat in Dean’s mind. He never will. He’s always Dean’s first choice and Cas understands this. Which is A BIG DEAL, but I like to say that s6-8 showed a progression of Dean and Cas choosing each other for various reasons, but Dean never excluded Sam even if he chose Cas. Since the beginning, in a desperate begging need he “used” Cas to help Sam. Plus, each character has different end games. Different arcs that are driving them-which is too long for me to explain, but I just wanted it to be clear that obviously over some time my thoughts had changed and that I totally RESPECT your opinion that the show has been about the brothers and always will be. It’s just after re-watching and reading certain analyses I noticed CHANGES and ACTUAL TEXT that led me to believe Dean and Cas are wholeheartedly in love.

        Like

  7. Sam is often misunderstood. I enjoy both portrayals equally. Season 8 did not begin with Sam starting out liked real well because he did not look for Dean. For the first time, he was all human story and no Dean as back up. For me, it was cleared up as the season rolled along sufficiently enough for me to be okay with the redirection of the story line of the brothers. Most of the brothers’ arc was far better than the previous 2 seasons and there was a balance, Cas is important to the story as he sometimes parallels one of the brothers with the decisions he has to make. He also creates links and helps us suspend our disbelief of the injuries. Dean and Sam have equal roles in the story IMO, just sometimes one is done less up front. Don’ watch the show to find someone to hate on. Haters should move on. There should be enough of us fans to use social media for good efforts if need be.
    I think your right, he is misunderstood. I love both portrayals too. I still don’t get what they were trying to achieve with this, even now but I am in a better place than I was. I can see why he did what he did, which is the most important thing. I agree with the last two seasons, even though it was a bit up in the air. That’s what I think I enjoy most about the stories is that Dean’s are more subtle and not as heavy as Sam’s. But there has to me always been a reason why Sam’s are more up front. I think this is sometimes what gets to them. I’m not sure. But we know Sam is a/the main lead which is why he is first billed. So get why his character ends with most of the stories. I enjoy Cas’s interaction as I think the boys would end up really stale without him in the picture. I also think if he was friends with both it would be stale and not have those awkward moments, which in the past have been comedic. So they all bring something to the table. Its been five years since Cas came on the show which I think has also started off this twitter campaign, which I didn’t think about yesterday. I so agree find some where else to jump on.

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. And it has been used in such a way. There has been some beautiful charitable work done by Misha Collins on behalf of the show and using social media. Some people do use the show ‘s fandom to do good works and create positive events.
      I so love Misha for all this hard work, he so creative and really engages with the fans. He keeps going every year and you have to hand it to him.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. “And it has been used in such a way. There has been some beautiful charitable work done by Misha Collins on behalf of the show and using social media. Some people do use the show ‘s fandom to do good works and create positive events.”
        Yes and there was a considerable amount of money donated in lieu of gifts for the Ackles baby as well.

        Like

  8. I am not a Destiel proponent, but respect the views of other viewers who have their own understanding of the characters. As far as Cas- he has stated to Uriel, that Sam is his friend and he will not allow Uriel to kill him. He has admitted that he has a special bond with Dean, perhaps because he was assigned to raise him from perdition and has learned much from Dean. Sorta looks up to him as a big brother. Yes, it is sometimes strained btwn Cas and Sam especially when Sam has made some bad choices that have a negative impact on Dean, but Cas calls himself a friend of both. What I don’t appreciate are the haters of either Sam, Dean, Cas or any relationships the characters have or are imagined to have. And when the vitriol spills over into the real life of the actors, well it really has gone too far. Those folks can find another vehicle to watch and leave us alone. Stop attempting to engineer the demise of SPN. We see good acting and both J’s are in command of their own careers. If they wanted to do other projects that are offered it is their choice to spend the off time with family or not. Both have professional representation. Both signed contracts for 9/10 and will be paid whether the show goes into 10 or not. I suspect if one goes, the other will not sign as their relationship is that close and the show would lose its impotence. Both J’s admit to being incredibly lucky with SPN and are still having fun doing the job. J2 make a healthy living from the show and the fans showing up to expensive conventions. Both are charitable with their time and personal charities. Social media can be used to build up or rip apart anything these days, so why not use it for positive efforts? If haters don’t like the show, don’t ruin it for those of us who see the flaws, but still enjoy our guilty pleasure. Just sayin…
    Debbab, you often read my mind. 😉 They’ve both been signed for two years not just one. Its like they are jealous of their friendship. Somethings in this fandom have got me down, and I’ve dug my heals in and tried to move on. But this for some reason really niggles me. Everyone knows how well they get on, and close nit they are on and off set. Which even Jensen has said in Hollywood these days is so rare. Its like all they want to do is tear it down. I feel like I was a kid again with building blocks, building a tower, and someone comes along and knocks it all down. For what! I cannot make out which fans are doing what. But as you’ve said I wish they’ve leave this show and move on to another, as the majority are fed up. Sorry moan over.

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. “What I don’t appreciate are the haters of either Sam, Dean, Cas or any relationships the characters have or are imagined to have. And when the vitriol spills over into the real life of the actors, well it really has gone too far.” Yeah I hate that some people say nasty things about Jared it really has gone too far. Just because they don’t like the character doesn’t mean they have to hate on the actor. I remember a thread on IMDB earlier this year where some people on the other board were trying to make it seem like Jensen secretly hated Jared and said Jensen only says nice things about him because it’s his job to say good things about the show and his co-star, yet Jensen praised Jared at Jib-con and both guys are close in real life and always have good things to say about one another. Also people kept saying Jensen is unhappy and should quit, but if Jensen hates his role on the show why does he keep signing on for more? LOL there is no logic to some of these arguments going on. And now people want to ruin the show, its like they have a “my way or the highway” mentality going on.
      I think this is natural in any fandom though, not just this one in particular. Its like they cannot understand why we like both. I think its just gone way too far. Its like they want to spoil what is good about them both. At one time everyone was happy they got on. Now its like they want them not to get on just as it was in The French Mistake. When we think about it, its rare that people get on in Hollywood any way, so this out cry doesn’t over surprise me. I just hope it doesn’t damage the friendship they have got. I love the conventions, and their natural spark for one another. Their charisma shows and doesn’t ever go unnoticed. As they’ve said in the past they are like brothers off set as well as on’. Jealousy is a strong word, but this is all I can put it down too.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. “Yeah I hate that some people say nasty things about Jared it really has gone too far. Just because they don’t like the character doesn’t mean they have to hate on the actor”
        Those people don’t know how to separate the actor from his character. Im not the biggest Sam fan but I ADORE Jared! How can they not like him, hes such a big cute goofball! totally the opposite of serious Sam!

        That’s a lovely thing to say barb. I find this is a majority of the problem that people don’t know how to differentiate between the actor and the character he plays. It has gone too far for a long time now, and that makes me feel so sad. As we are a family and would be wonderful to see us all get along, but when do siblings ever get on? I remember Misha getting it a few years back, and he was really down about it, so I don’t know how Jared really feels. I just hope they don’t take it to heart. I know a number who love Jared but not Sam. So that’s not unusual. Those puppy eyes get me every time whether Jared or Sam.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

        1. ITA! Jared is such a sweetheart I seriously don’t understand the hate he gets.
          Neither do a lot of us 😉

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

        2. I follow Jared on Twitter and he seems like a nice guy. I have watched some YouTube videos from various fan conventions and he appears to be a very friendly and nice man. I would love to hang out with him if ever given the opportunity. And I love the character of Sam Winchester in all his different aspects. I love that he is moody (not as moody as Dean tho) and he can be manipulative. I also loved Soulless Sam and Lucifer Sam. I just love how Sam is written. Jared the actor does not deserve fan hate. Sam the character is intriguing and I have loved watching his transformation from season 1 and cannot wait until October 8, 2013 9 pm est!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          I adore Jared he is very friendly, and some of the girls I know who have met him say he’s adorable in real life. He is MUCH taller and better looking without the TV make-up. And BTW so is JENSEN! Have you all seen the new promo posters out today, these boys look like Cat walk models. Yes I know Jensen. Credit to Jared who has performed so many different Sam’s. Jensen praising him on many occasion for Lucifer wearing his white suit. I cannot believe how he’s grown in eight years, he looks so different from season 1 Sam.

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

  9. I know some lovely Destiel shippers who don’t want it to be canon any more than Wincest shippers want to see Sam and Dean in a sexual relationship on the show. That being said, there are as you say some very pushy Destiel shippers who seem to think that Sam is what’s standing in the way of Dean and Cas hooking up on the show, and for some reason they believe that they can bully TPTB into getting rid of Jared/Sam.
    This is definitely the nail on the head. I was beginning to think I was cracking up. I couldn’t believe what I was thinking let alone try and comprehend it were true. I am tired of the on going scramble, which appears on the surface unhealthy and feel for Jared. What must they think if they personally read this stuff. Its beyond me. He appears a sensitive guy and this stuff must really hurt him. Its becoming embarrassing.

    There’s not a snowball’s chance in hell of that happening. Jared and Jensen made a pact a long time ago that neither would do the show without the other. It’s clear from cons that they are very close friends. Jensen is Jared’s biggest supporter. He’s very protective of Jared as if he were actually his younger brother. Jensen is also very pro-bro. That’s not saying that he doesn’t like Misha and Castiel. He does, but he’s made if very clear that he feels that Sam and Dean are the heart of the show. Many on the show have recently. Mark Shepherd for one said so at a recent con.
    This is the exact same feeling I get, and have seen Jensen protect him from fans at conventions when it has got ugly. He’s awesome. I am so pleased to hear this even though I know it deep down it just refreshing to hear it from another fan. I don’t get why they keep continually plugging it if they know in their hearts they won’t win. The majority out weighs it. I think if there is a relationship between any ship, it will spoil that core for me, and probably thousands of other fans.

    And honestly I don’t know how anyone could watch Sacrifice and think that Dean is in love with Castiel. The conversation that Dean and Cas had at the bar made it clear that while Dean would be sad to have his friend locked in Heaven where he’d never see him again, but he didn’t beg Cas not to do it. He didn’t come across as heartbroken. Sam on the other hand — Dean couldn’t live with the idea of his brother being dead and having to live without him. So, no, there’s no chance of it happening.
    The bond between them both has always been apparent. You can as a fan feel this. What Cas went through to save Dean and bring him topside where all other angels failed must have been immense for Cas to endure. So he feels something special for Dean, but ain’t love or an attractive interaction. But I can see why they feel a bond is present. But its how that has grown that concerns me. Dean would feel terrible if Cas were locked away in heaven we saw what he was like during season 7 when he thought Cas was dead after walking in the lake. He was distraught, and filled with immense sadness. So a second time apart would really do Dean in. They do have a hold over each other, but get where its coming from. I don’t dream about it night and day, I understand it. I don’t believe in it either.

    I don’t think that Sam hate is exclusive to Destiel shippers, however. There is a contingent of fans who don’t understand Sam and don’t care to. I don’t know how they watch the show every week when the see Sam as nothing but selfish, manipulative and mean. And why do they love Dean when he loves Sam so damned much? It makes no sense to me, but then I don’t even “hate” the villains. Without them, there would be no one for the boys to fight and no show.
    This is why I can’t understand why the writers made Sam not look for Dean, as this is where this has I bet steamed from. They are making one brother look unsympathetic and selfish. Again I don’t get this either when we know how much Dean clearly loves Sam, and what Dean would do to save Sam, I feel another thread coming on. I wish the writers would just balance this out, and give Sam a bit of TLC. I just don’t get the Sam hate. I love them both! Welcome to the group by the way. I forgot to welcome you, there have been some interesting points there.

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. Totally agree! I think when Castiel became part of the show, he was very intrigued with Dean and his irreverent attitude. Since Cas is an angel, I do not think that he is capable of romantic love. I think the writers baited the audience with some erotic scenes during season 4 but during seasons 5 thru 8, Cas and Dean are depicted as just close friends. Even if Dean were attracted to Cas in a romantic manner, after Cas tore down Sam’s Hell Wall during season 6, that was the end of that romance. Dean cannot forgive anyone that hurts his brother. Since Cas eventually healed Sam, Dean did forgive Cas but their relationship is not the same.

      As for the fans that want Sam off the show, they are not true fans of the show. This is the story of Sam and Dean Winchester. Of course other characters are needed to carry the story along but come on, how can Castiel and Dean be remotely interesting as the principle characters? They have what 4 years of history compared to the 30 years between the brothers? I know that Jeremy Carver and Bob Singer will never, ever remove Sam for the sake of Cas and Dean. I love Cas, however, I do believe that his presence has caused some tension between Sam and Dean as Sam finally pointed out during the season 8 finale. And what did Dean say? There is no one past or present that he woul put before Sam. End. Of. Story.

      As for fans that bleed into the actors lives, they are nuts. Jared and Jenson are phenomenal in their roles but they are ACTORS. We do not own them. Some people take this show too seriously. I love SPN and may have to be admitted for treatment when the show airs its final episode, but I will have a new tv obsession after that. I cried for a week after Sex and the City went off the air, but I eventually found my new love, SPN.

      Like

      1. I hear you. I’m not a drinker but I plan to have a nice big one after the last episode airs. Along with some tears and deep breathing exercises. Then I’m going to move on to my next obsession. (I’m hoping its Sleepy Hollow as that looks very promising but I’m not holding my breath.)

        It also goes without saying that I will will then proceed to watch every single episode of the series from episode one til the end in one long marathon binge. 😀

        Like

        1. ” I’m not a drinker but I plan to have a nice big one after the last episode airs. Along with some tears and deep breathing exercises. Then I’m going to move on to my next obsession. (I’m hoping its Sleepy Hollow as that looks very promising but I’m not holding my breath.)

          It also goes without saying that I will will then proceed to watch every single episode of the series from episode one til the end in one long marathon binge. :-D”

          I will be very upset when its over and Iam hoping it ends in such a way that we get a movie from it…maybe multiple movies!

          Im enjoying Sleepy Hollow so far too.

          Like

        2. I think I am going to start watching Arrow on Netflix to catch up on Season 1. The lead is super cute with a fantastic body. And when I saw the actress that was the first Ruby on SPN, I thought this show can’t be half bad. The Tomorrow People looks interesting as well. I am also going to watch Kripke’s other show since Edlund is going over as a producer. And love Grimm. Not as much as SPN (my true love) but enough to keep me going after that show is over.

          The Tomorrow People looks interesting as well
          This was my favorite show in the UK in the 1970’s. This tops all my shows. I was so wanting this to run along side Supernatural and the buggers changed it. I hope they do it justice. As I don’t want them cheapening the original. If you think of FAMILY you won’t go far wrong. The older kids looking after the younger kids breaking out which is what is happening to Stephen Jamison. He cannot work out why he’s different. Really give this ago, as I am like a little kid again. I’ve been waiting over a year for this to come into fruition.

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

          1. I too, went back to catch up on Arrow. I’m not in love with it yet because there’s too much talking and not enough action but the lead is really cute and sometimes thatsgood enough.

            What’s Kripke ‘s other show?

            I’m going to try to get into Grimm this year. I’ve mostly been ignoring it plus there’s way too many shows on Tv to watch and Grimm lucked out.

            Like

            1. “’m going to try to get into Grimm this year. I’ve mostly been ignoring it plus there’s way too many shows on Tv to watch and Grimm lucked out.”

              I fnd Grimm to be MUCh better than Arrow. i stopped watching Arrow but I continue to watch Gimm. It got MUCH better its 2nd season.

              Like

            2. Revolution. It airs on NBC. I think it is going on season 2.
              Arrow just did not draw me in the first time I watched an episode. But I ignored Supernatural for 7 seasons because I watched one episode from season 2, did not understand the story and just changed the channel. I started watching SPN on Netflix last summer, immediately fell in love and obsessed. I am hoping that lightening will strike again!

              I would say I’m hardcore Revolution fan I just love it. Its very predictable but I like the characters and their struggles. I am looking forward to season 2. I just felt I had to give Eric’s work a try, and support him. I felt the same about Arrow but my brother is older than me and he loves it. Its his fav show at the moment. I couldn’t pick it up either. Too young for me probably. But I do love Beauty and the Beast. I think Jay Ryan is so hot, and never realized he was in Neighbours. I bet you are now kicking yourself for not staying with SPN? 😉 I don’t know why I never tuned in earlier. I think I heard and read a lot of hype about them being models who couldn’t act. And the show was cheesy at best. So I avoided it. We had it first on ITV2 and Sky Living bought the rights and now we get it much later in the year which is so annoying. At least I can watch it Live via my PC link. Yeah, for our computers!!

              Thanks for the comments,
              Love Aunty B xxxx

              Like

  10. “but I know deep down Dean has the best role to play”
    I agree 100%! That’s why I don’t complain like other Dean fans. Don’t they see how important he is to all the stories even without being the main person in them?

    They never seem to pick up on this, because its like this is only part of the problem. Like its a tool almost to fuel the fire. Bi-bro’s can see this and I think even none bi-bros can see this. But this is just a piece of the jigsaw that is floating about.

    Destiel-No…Just no. People can ship it all they want but I don’t see it and don’t want it to be canon. I think they love each other like brothers but not romantically.
    Spot on, they are like brothers. Even Benny and Dean were the same but cannot pinpoint why they so won’t Sam out of the way. Its like they really are gunning for him.

    Thanks for the comments,
    love Aunty B xxxxxxx

    Like

    1. Hey Barb. Spot on. I love Deans character arc and growth and I’m also old enough and smart enough to see Sam’s emotional growth as well.

      The focus of much of the show is the plot and the action but I love the way the writers try to grow not just the brother’s relationship but the brothers themselves within the confines of the plots. I started watching the show because I thought it was about monsters and then I saw the leads were really cute. All the relationship stuff and interesting plots were like icing on the cake for me.

      But I have also come to understand that some people only see what they want to see and ignore everything else that doesn’t fit. That’s annoying but not as crazy as trying to get people fired and stuff like some of the extremists.

      I don’t have a problem with Destiel shippers. They’re not all nuts. What I have a problem with are those fans who seek to control what all the other fans are watching because they are crazy about one of the characters.

      Like

      1. What drives me crazy are the fans that complain continuously-they read a spolier and its-oh well you know what THAT means blah blah thats going to be terrible blah blah. Give the new season a chance for goodness sake and stop ruining it for the people that LIKE the show. My REAL question is why do they keep watching???

        Like

        1. Exactly!

          I think I mentioned this in another thread. These people are ready to dislike the new season already and solely based on a handful of video snippets? Really? They can’t wait for the season to actually begin first.? Are they trying to get a head start?

          Its not a contest, people! There’s no cheese with it and no points for the loudest and longest.

          Like

          1. “Its not a contest, people! There’s no cheese with it and no points for the loudest and longest.”
            LOL

            LOL I couldn’t agree more ………….. 🙂

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

        2. THIS! seriously I have been lurking on IMDB and the anger over a few clips is astounding. I think taking a break from the board this summer was good for me. The negativity seriously started to rub off on me. I see arguments starting, and people threatening to quit the show and the season hasn’t even started! I honestly don’t know why they continue to watch the show either, I mean I am really puzzled about this…

          Like

          1. What puzzles me is they WILL still watch it! No matter how many times they “threaten” to quit!
            This still continues to irk me too, I think they just like to be heard and may not even watch any way just say they do. How would we know if they did or not?

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxxx

            Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

