The Leviathans?

He also sent Dean and Cas into the back of beyond and gave our boys a year from hell.

Were they the monsters we loved to hate? At the time I wondered were they a cheap gimmick that wasn’t thought out as well as they could have been. Did they last the test of time considering they are the eldest of all monsters. God had created purgatory after all to keep his untamed beasts in. So were they ones to be scared of, and feared the most? I think on mass they were a commodity that were used to gain world denomination. But sadly lacked the mustard to pack a punch. Dick Roman considering a lavish name didn’t live up to his own expectations, even though he cloned himself. He also sent Dean and Cas into the back of beyond and gave our boys a year from hell. So was he the devil in disguise? Did he pack a mean punch when he needed too to escape them? 

The boys were also cloned and went on a killing spree to make it look like them

I think Dean knew how to handle our Dick, considering Dean thought Dick was a dick at the best of times lol! We thought masterful Dean got one over on him just to suffer terrible consequences himself. Dean so desperately wanted to bring Dick down, and vowed to end his world for killing faithful Bobby and Castiel. The boys were also cloned and went on a killing spree to make it look like them and take a number of lives in the process. The boys were once again hunted men at large. The poor Impala was placed undercover to keep the annoying pesky Levi off their trail. So the Leviathan had made their mark on our heroes. Was Dean more fulled than ever to get Roman of their backs. Had the hunt turned ten times worse by the end of the season, to find that mass production was on the cards. Even faithful Bobby tried his damnedest to get a message back to the boys about Dicks plans and what he saw on the desk that eventful day. Bobby delivered and found himself facing a reaper to get the goods back home. So were the Levi a real threat?

Even faithful Bobby tried his damnedest to get a message back to the boys about Dicks plans

At first I thought they were a bit gimmicky and laughable, but the more I researched into the Levi, I did enjoy what they bought. But Dick Roman to this day whether or not it was the actor at fault.  Dick lacked a certain something to be the ring leader of such a cooperate clientele. He appeared on the surface too slimy,  and not as direct as some one like Crowley would have been in his position. But both Dick and Crowley together were evil sons of bitches to gain power for their own ends, even resulting in getting one over on the other. I found world domination a tad under developed and just a tad repetitive.  The other aspect I enjoyed were the Levi in purgatory, the black goo effect as they came up from ground level was rather impressive and well planned. 

Dean so desperately wanted to bring Dick down, and vowed to end his world for killing Bobby and Castiel.

So up to now have your own thoughts changed about the Levi, how did you feel about them at the time? Were they a crazy big bad, that felt like a big baddy. Or did you not find them as inviting. Did Dick as a leader pull you in, and create a cooperate bad guy image. Was he one for our heroes to get rid of easily. Was he really that much of a threat? Were the Leviathan as a race of creatures particularly on mass, such a threat to world domination? 

8 Comments

  1. Edgar was creepier than Dick Roman but often time soldiers in the field are more focused that the generals that send them out. I think SPN was attempting social commentary with the chemical that turned humans into a food source for the levs. It had some funny moments like when Dean gets stoned on the sandwich but over the top with the dick jokes. The cloning of Sam and Dean certainly was creepy and it did give the actors some stretching, especially the diner scene. Both themes of the boys on the run (OK they were fake this time) and a virus/food that would end civilization(a la Croatoan) were revisited IMO. We were introduced to Frank but that was amputated quickly. He was a bit over the top as well- too X file like. And I suppose killing off Bobby had to happen in order for the brothers to just have each other. Don’t think it went over in a real big way. Crowley showed himself as the wheeler dealer- so? The Cas arc was interesting and certainly led to awkward moment of Dean giving Cas back his trench-coat who saves these things? Was it an attempt to feed the Destiel ship? Writers could have been stronger. I was just happy that the network held on to the series threw season 7 as it was not the strongest but it held- again it was the brothers who held it. Yes. the Levis were the big bad as they attempted to bring upon another type of Apocalypse to the human race.It was a change from the demon bad. Give writers a pass for trying something new. Again the horror was on a more cerebral level for me than MOW. We did get to meet Charlie. Dick Roman was portrayed well. And it did lead to season 8 tablets and now season 9. So. I give it a pass- some episodes far better than others. I’ll call it a transition year.
    I think we half expected the Dick jokes, didn’t WE? Your right about the soldiers in the field thought. I thought it was a brave attempt than the norm we were used to. But I don’t think as you say was received well. There were aspects I did enjoy, like fake Sam and Dean, Dick cloning himself, yes I have to say even Frank. I was sorry to see him go. I love Kevin Mcnally. Hope they bring him back. Dean with the Sandwich was possibly one of his best comic moments. I think my fav has to go to the sword in the stone moment!! Classic…. I got what Sera was up to with season 7, but I think she went about it the wrong way. Stripping the boys of everyone they know felt a bit lame at the time. Killing Bobby off and then Cas walking into the lake, poor idea. At the time I remember thinking, both men deserved better. Particularly Cas. Then all the speculation about how he would come back. Meeting Dean face to face on the steps with amnesia. Emanuel married, really!! I adored the tench-coat moment, and maybe your correct again to Destiel fans. But I think it was a beautiful scene regardless. Magic moments like those, we can never fault. I still think 7 was better than 6, and Sera was picking up toward the end. There were some great moments in that season. Still not so sure about Dick Roman, take him with a pinch of Salt!! I so agree with the transitional year good word.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Yeah, I didn’t like season 7 but mostly because of it’s execution. There are some singularly great episodes in that season like Plucky Penny-whistle, Repo Man, Out with the Old, and The Born-Again Identity, some of my favorites of the whole series. It’s just the season felt really disjointed and I thought the Leviathans could have been more frightening and there were too many filler eps. I applaud Gamble for trying something new but while she was doing that, she sort of neglected the boys relationship a bit. Plus I dislike the season because Bobby died and I just didn’t like that. I understand why. Sera did it but I still don’t like it. I don’t get upset when too much when they try new things. sometimes new things work and sometimes not. Abaddon is a great new thing and so is The Bat-cave and MoL.
      !00% agree with this!

      Like

  2. I think that they were going for the idea that evil can be mundane — like Monsanto, And while it’s true, it isn’t especially scary to actually watch. I liked Dick Roman in the way I like Crowley. I mean, they rarely have Crowley do anything that is truly scary either. The idea of the Leviathan was scary, but the execution of the idea wasn’t, but it’s been long time since the show was really scary, I think. They’ve gotten away from horror or Gothic, and gone for a more comic book/adventure look and feel to the show. It’s a shame.
    Oh I don’t no, think back to Samandriel and his treatment. I thought Crowley was a right you no what. He was also cruel to the prophets, and Kevin. I really did feel for Kev! that’s probably why I didn’t care for the Levi cause it had a comic feel to it. I think they were scary, particularly the scene with the hot cheese. I was screaming knowing what was going to happen. Also that family, who were guinea pigs, the poor grandmother.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. You’re right. I hadn’t really noticed that. I still love the show and the characters and all but when I go back and watch some of the earlier episodes, those were a lot scarier then. I don’t mind the feel of the show now but every now and then they should just go balls to the wall horror on us, and pull out all the stops. After all, it’s the reason a lot of us came to the show in the first place – because of the scares.
      I think season 1 was the scariest of them all. I also think we miss the old writers and directors. I think Kim Manners bought so much, and so did David Nutter. The atmospherics are not the same as they used to be. Even the night scenes are not as spooky. Its lost a bit of is edge.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  3. I wasn’t a big fan of Dick Roman and there were too many “dick” jokes gor me LOL. I also thought the leviathan were sooo much scarier when shown in purgatory.
    Me neither, I don’t think he was scary enough. Oh god the dick jokes, when did they ever end. The Purgatory Levi appeared to be so much better, almost like they had engineered them to be better, and changed direction half way through. I thought Edgar was a far scarier boss than Dick would have ever been. He was creepy.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Yeah I liked the actor that played Roman but the character was just cheesy and smarmy and not scary at all
      Edgar on the other hand gave me chills. He was really creepy. I also prefer the Purgatory Leviathans to the Earthly ones. They seemed more dfermimed and powerful. They did not try to be funny. I see what Seraph was going for in doing that. She was trying in her way to remind us of Buffy The Vampire Slayers funny villains, like The Master and the Mayor. It just didn’t work.

      Edgar did me too. I think he was actually the better actor. If he had been the boss, he would have given the Levi a better scarier edge, I’m sure of this. I wonder why the Purgatory Levi appeared better. I never watched Buffy, so don’t have any comparisons.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

