What is really Sam’s thing in life?

A piece of writing in a thread today got me thinking about this subject much more closely. Season 8 saw Sam take a u-turn and do something so unexpected or actually was it in character. When we look at Sam’s history he’s always wanted out of the family business when I remember Sam talking to his teacher in After School Special, and Sam re-visits him in later years. That teacher had a real affinity with Sam, even though we later learn the teacher in question was disguised as a demon. As we know Sam returns and is eager to be re-united with his former teacher to say thank you. And The teacher ends the conversation with as long as you are happy Sam, you are happy Sam?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jM6KQyebhOs

The teacher was manipulating Sam who told Sam what he wanted to hear, and said he didn’t have to go into the family business. It was his own choice what he did with his life, and it was his decision alone basically with how he steered it. But was the teacher/demon steering him in another direction? The words in the thread were indicating that Sam is often selfish and has a history of looking out for his own needs, regardless of how his actions reflect on his brother. And the Family business is not really his thing? Now in the finale, I think this wasn’t so. He was thinking of Dean and laying his own personal feelings on the table. So were the writers mature in where they were taking Sam. Had Sam matured when he bolted and ran, or are we to assume now that since its been penned and is canon, that this is now imprinted in Sam’s nature. Has Sam changed that much that he has done a complete u-turn and disregarded his own feelings in saving people. I still find it hard to believe that he didn’t think of Kevin and maybe the grief was so raw in him that he couldn’t cope. But I still don’t think that the bad choices he made in life were selfish. Yes, he’s made some really low calls, but in the end has always come back home where he belongs. Helping the family business and sitting in the Impala next to his brother.

Season 8 felt a mixed bag for many, and I come now to the question, what is Sam’s thing really in life? Do we really know him, and fully understand him as a character? Does he go much deeper than any of us ever really thought? Jeremy was wanting Sam to mature, so all the emotion Sam built up over loosing Dean, and meeting a lady was this the mature Sam coming through? Sam felt so guilty over continually letting Dean down. So what were the writers really trying to convey to us?

Was this mature Sam, did it work?

We don’t know what music Sam enjoy’s; we have an idea of what food he likes, what style of clothes he wears, the type of women he likes to en-counter.  But what else do we really know about him? We’ve also seen him tune in to animal programs on the TV, and watch baseball with his brother during the Christmas episode. Sam also didn’t really enjoy Christmas and hated the thought of his brother going to hell. We know Sam enjoys hunting and the thrill it gives him in saving a life and being on the road with Dean. He’s actually quite a solitary kind of guy, who keeps himself pretty much to himself. He’s a geeky book addict who loves nothing better than to attach himself to a computer, if he could 24/7.

So what have I missed folks! What do you think Sam’s thing in life really is if you could pin-point exactly. What do we sense are his deepest thoughts, his favorite past-times, his TV show. If we collected that perfect scrapbook of Sam Winchester what collectively would be in it? If you could sum him up,  his personality. Any thoughts …….

10 Comments

  1. Great points, guys. Very astute assessment, I feel, of where Sam’s head is in regards to Dean and how he is when Dean isn’t there to ground him.
    Your right Ikeke, I have enjoyed reading the replies thank you guys!!!

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  2. Ditto. There is a difference between normal and safe. You really have to listen carefully to the dialogue to get these details. tnks
    Sorry did I say something wrong?

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  3. “The teacher was manipulating Sam who told Sam what he wanted to hear, and said he didn’t have to go into the family business. It was his own choice what he did with his life, and it was his decision alone basically with how he steered it. But was the teacher/demon steering him in another direction?:
    I don’t think that teacher was a demon and don’t think he was manipulating Sam. Sam went back to see him in a later episode and he remembered Sam and their discussion. Refresh my memory if I am wrong.

    I’m thinking back to what I read on the forum. I must admit when watching it again this week I didn’t think he was. So I don’t know where they picked this information up from. I put up a thread this week and now they’ve come back and said the Dirk the jerk was a demon. So the replies come back totally different from what they were before. We never saw the teacher with black eyes and he appeared genuine and friendly so I wasn’t suspicious of him.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I don’t remember the teacher being a demon either. He just opened Sam’s eyes to possibility when Sam was young and impressionable. The teacher saw Sam’s intelligence. Teachers tend to look at the whole child, not just the academics so his question to adult Sam is within the teacher’s repetoire. His question to Sam as an adult about being happy has no answer currently. Being satisfied and being happy are not always the same thing. Sam was not happy in the end with Amelia. Is Sam happy being a hunter, a MOL? Is Sam happy being dead in season9?

      Like

  4. As for Sam not looking for Dean, I think that they did a terrible job of telling that. No, Sam isn’t selfish. I don’t pay attention to people who say that. They’re watching a different show or not paying attention. I get, based on Sam in previous eps when Dean dies/disappears, that Sam’s world did implode. Unfortunately, Carver didn’t show us that. I think that Sam had terrible guilt when he realized the truth of Dean not being dead i.e. in Heaven type dead. He feared letting him down again and wanted not be there if Dean were to die again. He thought that Dean didn’t need him since Dean had done fine in Purgatory alone — since early on he didn’t know about Benny but knew that Cas hadn’t been with Dean the whole time.
    Yes, it was a poor job I have to admit. Or I think they see it from Dean’s point of view and don’t like Sam. This was the grit of that story, I think all we saw was Sam in the Factory and then hitting the dog. I’d always said that a year is a lot of story to tell, and they never told us the full story. I know they only have a certain amount of air-time but those small details I feel a crucial to the whole plot. I so agree about Sam’s guilt when he realized. That was credit to Jared’s acting. If grief was the writers explanation, I just thought that Sam would have at some point come to his senses and thought about it a bit more carefully. That’s all I was surprised at. After all he’s the one with the brains. Maybe later thinking this doesn’t feel right. I wonder what really happened to Dean. Hunters are out there and he could have gone to any number of those and talked with them. Maybe they might have put a different spin on it.

    I friend of mine did a really interesting psychological reading of Sam based on how the lack of a stable home life or mother figure affected him and his relationship with Dean. Essentially, it meant that Dean was the only source of stability, security or affection that he had. It’s why when Dean disappeared in Mystery Spot, he completely went off the rails and became almost a psychopath. In other instances without Dean, he turns to women — Jess, Ruby, Amelia — to keep him grounded. It’s important that Sam corrected Dean in S1 about wanting normal. He said, “not normal, safe.” (link to that analysis; http://reading-is-in.livejournal.com/125514.html)
    Now I have always wondered this if lack of a female in his life had something to do with it all? Dean got to know his mum, even if only briefly. Dean took on that role of bringing up Sam, yes. I just wonder how different the boys would have been if Mary had lived? Sam is regimental in his worriness when things around him go array, we’ve as you’ve said seen him in action. This was one of the reasons I found it tough that Sam didn’t look for Dean. It felt so strange.

    I think possibly the bunker was the start of that. It is a home-base — no, not a house with a white picket fence — but safety of a sort where not just he, but Dean is safe because Dean not being safe is as worrisome for Sam as him not being safe. Dean is stone number one after all. I hope that now that the boys are back as a team, Sam will come into his own in a sense. Now that his suicide mission has been diverted, I hope that he settles into the bunker the way Dean has.
    Yes, Dean is Sam’s rock. I think the bunker for the first time has allowed Sam to also put down some much needed roots. They’ve never really had a place they could call home until now. Which I think is so good for them. Your so right that the bunker makes them feel safe in their own little world. If Sam has something to aim for a goal/purpose then he’s okay. He gets through his life with no real concerns. He’s totally driven in this way. I love how they can come back to a base and make it feel like their home. I so want them to be a team again, and not have Sam so angsty like last season, I didn’t enjoy watching him. 😦 I did read some where that we were going to see Sam’s room 🙂

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Did not see the analysis when I clicked the link; it was a fan fic about how Rufus and Bobby met. However, I agree with your assessment about how Sam really loses it without Dean in his life. The only way that I can accept that Sam would not look for Dean after season 7 is that he really believed that Dean was dead and not in Purgatory. And that would explain why he withdrew from the hunting life and fell in love with Amelia, another Dean substitute. I have noticed that Sam prefers his women feisty, fiercely independent, with hot tempers and smart mouths. Sound like anyone we all know and love?
      Yes, DEAN!!! I can live with this thought also, we did talk a lot about this earlier on the blog. I could by this, but I still can’t buy why he abandoned Kevin? What did he think happened to him. He apologized to Kevin after Dean had bailed him out. The phones were another thing I couldn’t get my head around. Ditching them, was this maturity too?

      I stated in another post that I had read somewhere that the show is about Sam but told throe Dean’s perspective which could explain why we, the viewers, really do not know that much about Sam. The only glimpse we have about his personal tastes are when Dean is not around. When Dean returned from Hell, Sam had an IPod in the Impala with indie folk rock blaring from the speakers. When Sam was Soulless, he dressed better and his car choice screamed sexy and efficient. Soulless Sam was sexy and dominant. When his soul was returned, he immediately returned to a more subdued and submissive personality. I believe that Sam tries very hard not to outshine Dean because of Dean’s own self-loathing. Sam loves his brother, no doubt in my mind about that. However, Sam’s psychological and emotional dependence on his brother makes it impossible for him to thrive on his own. Sam probably does not invite friends into his world because he was raised to not become attached to others unless they are in the life. His experiences with women have always lead to disaster so now, what is the point?
      Good observations. But we saw Sam on his own last season and he’s not so good at it. He was in bits best part of the time he’d spent with Amelia, and that relationship probably suffered because of it. Oh gosh, Sam so, SO, loves Dean which was why I was so angry when he didn’t look. There were so many things against him last season, I think it will be hard for him to come back in some fans eyes. Even Jared admitted himself how OOC Sam was. When he was soulless we had an excuse, this time its not so easy to fall back on any excuses because he is himself.

      I think that Carver forced both Sam and Dean to grow up during Season 8. The aftermath of having to deal after their last parental figure died and knowing at last that they will always choose each other at the end. I watched Season 8 on Netflix this weekend. Supernatural is one of those shows that shouldn’t be watched while Tweeting or Face-Booking, etc. I think that I was overly harsh in my criticism of Season 8. I think Carver had Sam and Dean show mature emotional growth and acceptance of each others flaws and mistakes. After I watched Sacrifice for the umpteenth time, I applauded. The entire body of work was exceptional and the story really illustrated that Sam and Dean have grown up and truly accept the immense responsibility of saving the world. I know that I am extremely biased but from this point on, I will trust Carver’s vision of the show and know that Sam and Dean are in safe hands.
      But even as we go into season 9 we have them keeping secrets, and Sam not sure what he’s fighting for. He’s still by the sounds of it not convinced that hunting is where he’s supposed to be. Why has he said this to Dean. We know they both came back for each other, but the new clips appear to be taking the show backwards and not forwards. I must have another look at season 8 again, with fresh eyes if I get time. Perception was such a key last season, and had my head was all over the place, so it will be interesting in how I see it about the tenth time over. It was a good season, but I still have my little niggles. I think they tried to throw too much at it in places and not fleshed out some area’s. But yes, they all worked damned hard and it showed.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Sorry about that. Here’s that link: http://bangingpatchouli.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/lack-of-stability-and-moterhlessness-on-sams-development/

        I’ve been trying to make myself re-watch S8, but the first half of the season was just painful to watch with the way the boys tore into each other. I think what made it so difficult was that Carver had said they’d be more mature, and it didn’t seem like maturity at all. It seemed cruel and petty. I don’t know. I guess I need to watch again.

        Maybe all the loose threads that seemed to be hanging around were actually tied together better than I think. I did like the end, but I didn’t find the ride there enjoyable if that makes sense.
        It took me a while to get my head around season 8. But once that finale poured out, I new where it was heading. I think we all more or less said the same thing here that it takes the writers a while for them to tell us the story, so we have to patiently wait for it to unfold. How they keep up with it all is a tough journey for them.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

        1. Wow! I read the article and that explains a lot! I wonder if Kripke and gang created psyche profiles on their characters since Dean was four at the time of his mother’s death the same age that the unused neurons start to die. Thanks for sharing the article!

          Like

      2. When I re-watched season 8 in its entirety this summer. Some individual episodes were better than others and most seemed to reveal new aspects of the Winchester. I was too harsh. It was damn good save the one with the dog, witch, which even had some light moments a the beginning and did serve to remind us that both brothers had been to Hell. I do not think Sam was in true love with Amelia. They were sharing misery together and both were at their wits end without the significant relative in their life who had “died in combat”. In many ways, Amelia and Don parallel Sam and Dean: the loss, the running, the mutual support based on loss, the reunification out of nowhere. Had the writers had more air time, Amelia and Sam might have been better fleshed out but then again, we don’t want a soap story, so it was best to get back to the brothers and work it through with them. Bring on season 9

        Like

      3. I just re-watched Season 8 in a couple of days. Its much better watching it continuously. I still have problems with some of the episodes but I like it much better on re-watching.
        I am going to give this another look-in. I am almost at the end of Season 5 now, so have three years left to work through. Probably hit season 8 when 9 ends Lol!

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

