How is Sam going to feel once he finds out?

I recall early on what a guessing game we were all having, speculating what Sam would turn into. Along the route came a demon, an angel or now thoughts are even turning to Lucifer who has possessed Sam, and has somehow crawled out of his cage. I also recall Jared saying in interviews that Sam would be changing and changing all the time. So had we early on thought about an angel possessing him without his consent. As we all know that Angels need human consent before they can hop into that hosts vessel.

So am I surprised in the route that Dean took? At first yes, but since reading fans views I am swayed to thinking otherwise. There are mixed feelings out there saying that Dean has raped Sam in allowing the angel to walk inside his brother. But the more I think about Dean, this is exactly what Dean would do in his position. He would not let his brother out rightly die without some huge massive struggle. His open letter to the angels was moving and performed in true Ackles style, with the odd tear of sadness falling from his face.  He got duffed up for his troubles and eventually a good angel came to his rescue. Was Dean once more that damsel in distress? I can only begin to imagine the guilt that Dean is carrying inside him right now. How he deliberated with his soul and how he came to a decision to rescue his little bro once more. Has this been Dean’s best rescue attempt ever?

Dean in deep thought, asking angels to help save his brother.

So the pace of the episode had been laid out for us. Again I feel Dean has been unfairly knocked for helping his bro and in hindsight we knew this is exactly what ‘Dean’ would do. My only fear is how Sam will react to this invasion of privacy. He’s only ever had a demon roam inside him before and Meg and Lucifer both got to know what made Sammy tick. So how different will this feel for Sam. Will he be able to ignite any angel power himself? Will something register inside him that something doesn’t feel quite right? What immediate danger will this actually place Sam under? Angels as we know are fairly strong, agile and angelic celestial creatures, so will Ezekiel lay dormant in Sam all the time? I find this actually an interesting topic to mull over. If Ezekiel is in Sam for sometime how will he actually escape, and will Sam know of his escape?

When I think of deals which have been made in the past, each time its affected Sam he has been really angry with Dean, thinking back to season 2 and Sam had a hunch that Dean had bought him back from the dead, and said ‘you shouldn’t have done that. How long did you get?’ So will this twist be any different from any deal that has gone before? Sam is hot headed as we’ve picked up in the past, and I also have a hunch that Sam will bolt and leave Dean for a while. Again I can feel a familiar pattern forming, last season being a prime example. They may not separate. Sam may use his brains for once and think why did Dean do it. He might actually mature this time and consider what Dean went through and why Dean did it. I hope Sam also learns the guilt in which Dean often carries, for him. We also know it may go an entirely different way. I don’t want Sam to go ten steps back with this and act like a little boy. But I can also see why Sam would be pissed at Dean.

I can see why Sam will be pissed at Dean.

So how is Sam going to really feel about having an angel riding him? My guess is he will be confused and angry for a bit. Just like he was over Amy. But once the dust has settled he will understand why Dean would go in all guns blazing and save him, as it’s generally what Dean has done before. Maybe Sam could use the angel to his advantage. Maybe the boys could work with him and since Cas said to Dean he’s a good angel who’s to know what’s in store. It just concerns me how Sam will feel, and if he will take the thank you Dean Route, or throws it right back at Dean. Either way I hope Dean isn’t castigated for it later down the line. It’s been a tough secret to keep, so will this angst be any different than what we’ve seen before? Can the drama come between the boys once again, just for effect?  But then was it okay for Dean to trick Sam into saying yes, no matter how desperate Dean was in saving his brother? Was it the correct way to go about it? We know what each of them would do to save the other, what extremes they will go to, to bring the other back. But a time will come when death means just that, DEATH. Either brother will have to let sleeping dogs lie. 

But then was it okay for Dean to trick Sam, into saying yes?

So yes folks finally saw the episode today and as ever BELLA Loved it. It wasn’t edge of my seat stuff as some have said. But I like how Jensen really stole it this episode. How he used his old tricks of getting away from the angels in the hospital and trapping Ezekiel in a ring of fire. Jensen always moves me when he cries and in the hospital chapel was no exception, just one tear rolling down his right eye. There are times like this when I feel myself touching the screen and wanting to hug these boys. This did it for me. I felt Dean’s emotions and I felt Sam’s inner demons in not wanting to live, because he had nothing to go on and live for. But for this article I will leave it there today and may go into depth in the week. I just felt after such a long summer my fire was fueled again and I felt both boys performances and they both nailed it.  Its a nine out of ten from me. 

 

 

12 Comments

  1. Oh and there’s another element we had not thought o: What if Sam finds out about Zeke and wants Zeke to stay. What if Sam decides they need to have an angel on their side to protect against Abaddon And Crowley or anything else that’s out of their league and makes the decision to share that body with Z. until heaven opens back up again. I can see several scenarios where they will need Zeke and his powers since they no longer have Cas.
    Just a thought.

    Is there a way of Sam stopping the angel from leaving his vessel if he wants too? He summoned Balti in the past to stop his soul being put back in, so wondered if the same applied here. Particularly since he has his powers, he would prove rather useful. The more I think about the opportunities for this story line the more I’m liking it. I did actually wonder if I liked Cas human than with his powers, so there’s a thought too 😉 It would be interesting to see which way Sam goes with this if he’s mad, takes it for what it is, or holds on to him for future use. Are the boys as wise as this yet though? Would they think this far? They’ve got Crowley and are doing the same to him, so who knows ….

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. “Oh and there’s another element we had not thought of :what if Sam finds out about Zeke and wants Zeke to stay. What if Sam decides they need to have an angel on their side to protect against Abaddon And Crowley or anything else that’s out of their league and makes the decision to share that body with Z. until heaven opens back up again. I can see several scenarios where they will need Zeke and his powers since they no longer have Cas. ”
      I actually quite enjoy that idea!!!!!

      Me too …….

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  2. Dean does hesitate and one can hear the debate in his head. He knows Sam will be more than pissed at him, but what other choice did he have? That’s how Dean feels about Sam- he is the protector since age 4 no matter what. However, once again Dean makes a decision for Sam a la putting back his soul, and we know those consequences were not all terrific for Sam. We are also not sure about Ezekiel. While his reference is that he is a good soldier, what do we know about him,other than he needs a strong vessel like Sam, to heal himself. Are his motives pure? Will he have a major show down once Sam is better and he ejects him? Sam will be pissed at Dean for not letting Sam end it all and it will appear to Sam that Dean did it so Dean would not be alone “If there ain’t no you, there ain’t no me”. There will be anger, resentment, rebellion- and Dean will have to bear the weight of carrying the knowledge of the possession, so he won’t be right and Sam will sense it. Sam says to Dean in “Southern Comfort” final car scene, that Dean has to let go of the anger that Sam didn’t look for him. I would guess, Dean would need to say the same to Sam eventually or the writers might surprise us and actually let Sam appreciate the tough choice Dean had to make-Naw! The show thrives on brotherly angst. That’s okay with me since it drives the series along. Yes, Jensen’s acting was not over the top, but a measured performance that got the viewers to feel his depression, anger, choice, etc.
    I know, we new he would do some trick to save Sam, it was again inevitable and the journey would pan out. My question is why don’t they do something that bit different, they did last year when Sam didn’t look for Dean, and boy did that get some coverage, but it was different. They gave the drama a twist that we didn’t know was coming, (we did, but it was still a SHOCK!) Dean is a master at saving Sam its in his genes. Dean is the father figure in Sam’s life we know this its written in the stars. (Yes!) As one poster here has already said, both brothers are selfish and we see why Dean does what he does, as you say he doesn’t want to be alone all alone in this world. So he will do anything and that means ANYTHING within his power to stop SAM from dying. Sam knew this which I think he said this to Death becuase deep down he knew Dean would try and get him back. I just want them to push those supernatural boundaries just a tiny bit and surprise us. They did with how Sam healed and was very clever. I don’t want the re-cycling past plots just because its been written. I think that was one of Jensen’s best performances, he stole that episode and rocked.

    Jared was atypically robotic as Ezekiel which was a stretch for him, but remember how Cas was before he was exposed to humanity up close. Nice call. Now, Mark Sheppard was not available for shooting this episode, so the writers neatly put Crowley in the trunk. And yet, his strong portrayal of this character helped suspend our disbelief. I bought that he was “the junk in the trunk” and could imagine him pouting. Also the first time in a long time that Dean’s face is smashed into Baby. So there were some echos of earlier seasons, and a new path for this season. The ratings were incredible, I think because social media was trending the show. 3 hours before and during the show – it boosted the viewership/ratings. Back on topic, Dean has Sammy’s back and unless there is a major change in character, Sam should be resentful, of course he has let his anger go with understanding when Dean ganked Amy and Dean has let his anger go for Sam not looking for him, so either way, the relationship will survive – but will cause interesting dynamic and dialogue. 9/10 but I am on the edge of my seat for next week’s episode, so its working.
    A thread just started up yesterday saying just this that Jared looked wired the way he walked. But he was being possessed by some angel how different could he act it. Maybe it was the direction the director had told him how he wanted to see it done. I loved how Dean thumped his hand on the trunk and said once for yes, two for no. Then his face gets pushed into the boot of the Impala by an angel. It was a neat trick if Mark wasn’t available. I guessed they CGI him in. I still think our ratings are poor considering the talent we have in this show. The Tomorrow People only got a few less and was a new show. If the show got into the 4 m I would be very happy. But I think the move to a Tuesday appears now to suit the show, and who its pairing with. It did well up against Arrow last year, so hope this continues. I am keen to see how Sam’s reaction will pan out, and what direction it goes in. I just hope the writers can be a tad more creative in how they use angst. Sometimes it can be over the top, like the Amy saga. I too gave 9/10 it was almost perfection!!!

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Hopefully when Sam finds out, it will provoke some mature discussion between the two of them just as their disagreement did last season promoted some mature understanding between the two. And if Ezekiel is really as good as he claims, then maybe he could intercede between the two of them. We all saw how Dean was when Sam was in Hell, and we know that being on Earth without Sam was Hell for Dean. The only thing that alleviated that pain was Lisa and even she said he was suffering from some serious PTSD that year. He really cannot deal well without Sam. They both have a tendency to lose their s**t when the other is absent and Dean really doesn’t want to go through another absence of Sam again. What I would like to see for them is the ability to let each other go. To be able to accept the absence of the other in a healthy way. That’s a level of maturity they haven’t reached yet, but maybe they will get there.
      I think the writers were trying to be different this year, in allowing Sam to go to his resting place. Sam was in bits, and still from the finale he was wanting to end it all in his head. So nothing from that chapel had really changed. He had listened to Dean, but still wanted to go. But it was Dean who bought him back, again. Eventually these boys will have to die. Its a cruel fact of life, and Sam new this asking Death to keep him dead was his last dying wish. He didn’t want Dean trying to rescue him and bring him back. This episode was soooo good on many levels.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  3. Bella i’m happy you liked it! I also thought Jensen really nailed it. In the chapel how he want from sad to desperate to angry…wow.
    I sure did barb. 😉 Jensen was terrific. He sure knows how to draw in the audience and be in control of it. His emotions are so good. His face can really tell a good story.

    “I can only begin to imagine the guilt that Dean is carrying inside him right now. How he deliberated with his soul and how he came to a decision to rescue his little bro once more”
    Well Jeremy and Bob did say Dean would carry a different type of guilt that he hasn’t in the past. Which will drive the myth arc this season. They said on the forum that Jensen didn’t want any extra takes as it was too taxing and draining on him, so I wonder how many times he did actually act it out? Either way, he’s bloody brilliant!! How many different ways can you rescue your bro 😉

    THIS-wheteher we think what he did was good or bad he KNOWS he will have to live with this decision.
    Dean carries so much guilt its a wonder he doesn’t combust with the strain of it all. How he gets up in the morning, poor Dean!! Its so tough being the eldest brother. I hope Sam isn’t too hard on him. I don’t want too much angst this time, I just want them to get on ….

    RAPE??? PUHLEEZ! First of all-SAM GAVE HIS CONSENT. He did not ask what the plan was (DOH) but he did say yes. Dean didn’t lie to Sam he just said he had a plan. I mean did Sam think the cure WASN’T supernatural?? lol
    I know they had over 100 replies on this, and I gave up in the end I couldn’t be bothered sifting threw it all. Some also say that Dean tricked Sam into saying yes which is also being banded about as we speak. Sam also didn’t know that Ezekiel was Dean, if he saw his true face would he have said yes?

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I agree. Sam was waiting to hear what the plan was and the Dean inside his head had nothing to offer so he went forward toward death. Once he asked Dean “What should I do?” it was clear he would follow plan B and agree with Dean. He said yes to Dean’s plan blindly, but he said yes. Rape?? no way!!!! Now whether Ezekiel was truthful with Dean is another story. We will have to wait and see. Dean was desperate and did not have time to bargain the possession. Ezekiel was willing to walk away. Whatever Dean decided. Dean was a desperate man of he would not have sent out a calling all angels message. I agree with your posting.
      Your right. Sam was listening to all pleas before making up his mind. He was almost on the way out with Death, and once again good old Dean pulls Sam back from the edge, just like he did in the finale. We all know Dean has that power to persuade Sammy!! I don’t think it was rape and was a pretty strong word and not really thought about properly. I think it could be an invasion of privacy, and even a trick, but Sam did know of Dean’s plan. I think Sam will see it as a trick when he first finds out. I can just imagine him now ….

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

  4. First of all, I really enjoyed the episode and I’m excited about the new season. However, I am finding that I am feeling more troubled about what Dean did to save Sam as the days go by. While watching the episode, I remember it didn’t feel right. Reflecting back on it, I think what Dean did to save Sam this time was different from Dean’s prior actions to save Sam and it feels to me that he crossed a line I wish he wouldn’t have crossed. Previously, Dean saved Sam by his self-sacrifice, and in my eyes there was something noble about Dean each time. There was always a selfish component to it all (both characters can be both selfless and selfish at the drop of a hat, it seems), but it felt like Dean’s main motivation was clearly his love for Sam and willingness to give up his own life for his brother. This time, Dean saved Sam by allowing Sam himself to be possessed. He didn’t just make a decision about whether Sam lived or died, he made a decision about HOW Sam would live. He acknowledged that Sam himself would never allow another possession. Sam’s history with possessions is incredibly traumatic and Dean knew that Sam would not allow it and had to wonder if Sam could possibly handle it if/when he finds out the truth. Dean knows Sam always wanted to be normal and through the Trials hoped he was purified of his demon blood. To allow Sam to be possessed by an angel is a huge deal. Cas having a good opinion of Ezekiel helped me feel a little better, but then I realized that Cas said, “He is a good soldier”. That is actually a little scary and gives me flashes of an evil Naomi. Yikes.
    As I said I new why Dean did what he did, as this is Dean through and through. He thinks of an idea and sticks to it. Thinking back to when Sam dies at the end of season 2. What does Dean do finds a supernatural way to bring him back. Following in daddy’s footsteps making a stupid deal. So what is really new this time. He’s gone in all guns blazing and thought of a supernatural way to bring his brother back. Or should I say someone else put this idea in his head, Ezekiel. Its a hard call knowing how Sam will really feel. I did read there filming episode 9 now, and the secret is not out yet, so will go on for sometime to come at least until Christmas. I think the writers have stayed true this time and continued on a similar theme of Dean saving his little bro. Sam has endure so much, carrying Lucifer and having a break down. So it could go either way. We no Jared is coming back and not leaving the show so my chances are they will have some huge row, Sam may thump Dean in the face and in true Winchester style they will make up. Its inevitable!! I felt bad for Sam knowing how much he did want to be purified and kept thinking oh god what if he doesn’t. What if something else gets in the way and it never happens. I think also its about time that Sam does catch a break as everything is happening to him and being chucked at him from all directions. I can see why he didn’t want to come back. I’m not sure if Ezekiel is up to something or not. Most angels appear to not be nice, he could turn out to be Naomi mark 2. I’m holding my breath on that one.

    How is Sam going to feel when he finds out? I would guess he will feel violated. He will come around to forgiving Dean, of course. I just hope Ezekiel is truly a good guy and doesn’t abuse/use Sam for an agenda that includes revenge on Castiel. I also hope that Dean tells Sam before Sam finds out by overhearing a conversation or some such thing. –AB/C
    Violated is a good word. I gathered as much in time he will forgive Dean, this again is obvious. I can’t think now it will be all plain sailing for the brothers, only time will tell! I think Ezekiel appears on the surface to be a good guy and so many on this show turn out to be bad. I am keeping my fingers crossed too he doesn’t take advantage of Sammy.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I agree it was something that Sam will be pissed about, BUT, Sam will be alive. 🙂 I think after convincing Sam to live in the finale he feels he owes it to him to keep him living. Hey they ALWAYS make Dean do something to save Sam that Sam will be pissed about! As Dean says “what show have you been watching” LOL
      Its inevitable, Dean will always do something to save Sam, and guarantee it will be supernatural. How otherwise will they continue to make angst happen between the boys. But the agony Dean must have felt, and what he will continue to feel until that secret comes out. I don’t envy Dean at all… I am just interested in seeing how different they play Sam being pissed, as how many different ways can Jared do this without it getting boring?

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. And that is one of the reasons we do keep watching. For all the nay sayers, the pattern is the life of the characters. It wouldn’t be Sam and Dean if it were not. I find the echos to past behavior a way to make the characters more realistic in that they stay true to how they react, think and feel. With comments like “what show have you been watching” the writers are giving fandom a nod and a wink. As Dean says while he is getting drunk in order to kill the Japanese spirit, “Me likey”. Obviously other viewers do as well.
        I enjoy the show when the writers do remain true to the past and its characters. Its not so much fun when they don’t. Like Sam not looking for Dean. This will never go away easily will it!! But again I want to be surprised and not see that coming. I would like them to use an old story with a modern twist. The show needs to stay fresh. Now more than ever, since we are heading toward 10 years.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

    2. Dean can never hide the truth from Sam. He always acts out in a way that is atypical and Sam will sense there is something Dean is not telling him. That good soldier remark haunts me too. Nothing is written without a deliberate reason.
      Even when Dean was in Sam’s head Sam knew something wasn’t right with Dean. They know each other SO WELL!! I think it will be soooo hard for Dean to keep his real face from Sam, as Sam knows Dean’s expressions by now 😉

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Yes, I was not reassured by that good soldier remark either and Castiel is notorious for being a bad judge of character. He’s just awful at it, so I will just have to adopt a wait and see/hope for the best attitude about Zeke. Frankly I found the mind-wiping to be more disturbing than the possession part of the deal. I think that’s where Dean went too far.
        Memories are so important and I think if angels start tampering with this its not good news. Dean hated the thought of Lisa and Ben’s minds being wiped so what’s changed. He’s not learnt very much. He swore to thump Sam on the nose if he ever bought it up again, yet allowing possibly Ezekiel to perform the same task on Sam. Not a good choice Deano!! Your right about Cas making wrong choices too, he’s just as bad as Sam in the department. I still hope Ezekiel is a good guy. As Naomi changed her spots in the end.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

        1. “Frankly I found the mind-wiping to be more disturbing than the possession part of the deal. I think that’s where Dean went too ”
          I partially agree-because if he didn’t wipe his memory he might have ejected Zeke and died, but it was pretty disturbing. It disturbed me when he wiped Lisa’s memory too, and truth be told, made me cry.

          That’s why I can’t understand why Dean would have even CONSIDERED it, when I think back to how abrupt he was with Sam when he questioned him and vowed him never to bring it up again or he’d thump him. Yet at the time it appeared such an appalling crime it just entered his universe again. I think our writers have short memories sometimes. I wonder what Sam would have said to Dean if Dean had gone through with it?

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

