Dean knows this time?

Something got me thinking about Dean and how he’s behaving around Sam now and also in the past. This is something that I’ve just observed. When Sam was soulless Dean didn’t know that there was something wrong with Sam. It took him a while to work out that something wasn’t right with Sam. Considering he knew his brother had just come back from HELL. We knew what was going down, but Dean didn’t.

Click to view full size image
Does Sam suspect he’s not right, and doesn’t let on?

This season Sam doesn’t know again there is something wrong with him; he’s totally unaware that a creature lurks within. But then I thought hey, this time Dean DOES know that there is something wrong with Sam? So does this present any problems for Dean? Would he rather NOT know? Could this be more agony and unease than even he was prepared for the first time around. It must be strange for him knowing especially when the boys are in a happy place and talking and Ezekiel pops into his conversation and must be very unnerving for Dean. Even though Dean knows it must feel peculiar to see someone else act as his REAL brother so to speak.

Click to view full size image
Does it make Dean feel unease seeing Ezekiel in his brother?

I at first thought this a little creepy, seeing Sam be possessed by an angel.  I wasn’t sure how I would really feel about it. Thinking he’s being invaded by a stranger, a creature that he hunts. He’s been possessed by a demon before so why’s this any different? But then thinking about it Jared would have a field day at playing another facet of Sam. He has in the past pulled off some amazing incarnations of different Sam’s and has been so believable. So this time must have been so much harder to think of another alternative in playing a different person inside him. I take my hat off to actors as this only adds strings to their already mounting bow.

So Bella would love to no how you think Dean see’s Ezekiel in Sam looking at it from his perspective. Is he spooked by Ezekiel, or does he take it all in his stride. He knows the consequences if he tells Sam the whole story and he doesn’t know which way it will go. So does he still think again he made the right call, and he’s still beating himself up about it? …. Each time Ezekiel pops out for a brief chat, what is Dean thinking, what’s going through his mind when he’s speaking to Sam’s meat-suit but to the voice of an angel?

9 thoughts on “Dean knows this time?

  1. AAAHHHH!Supernatural is on tonight.
    I’m jumping up and down shame you can’t see me 😉 I am really hopping as I won’t see the show until Friday so promise me you will give me all the juicy bits. Don’t hold anything back.

    It’s been a while since I’ve been this excited about this show. I’m not a huge fan of Castiel. I tend to see him as comedy relief, but I’m very curious as to what he’s been up to lately and I’d like to see Dean and Sam ride to his rescue. I know it’ll be fun.
    I waver in and out for Cas, but I think I do love the guy and would miss him if here were not on the show, as he’s bought so much. He is supposed to be settling down with a bunch of homeless people, and I’ve seen photos of him on a bus. So he’s obviously on his way back to the bunker now. I am interested in knowing how he gets his grace back and how the angels will get back home. He falls in love apparently too oh god. She takes him captive cause he’s tied up.

    Also, Bella, you’ll be happy to know that D.J.Qualls (Garth) has no plans to appear any time soon during this season. Perhaps he’ll show up later. On the hand, I’ve loved Charlie since the moment she started dancing in that elevator in season 7, and next week’s episode features her.And Charlie episodes are always fun.
    Whippeee!! I can breath. Honestly I don’t hate Garth or Charlie, just don’t allow them to take over an episode. Garth as Mr Fizzles was my favorite Garth moment have to admit. I just find him a terrible hunter. I must admit people hated her in that scene but I enjoyed it. I also loved the clothing monologue in the store with Dean, that WAS FUNNY. Next weeks will certainly be a filler. I wonder what else is hiding in that Bunker that we’ve not seen yet?

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  2. I think that Sam may suspect that something isn’t on the up and up, but he doesn’t know what. Dean does have tells and no one knows him better than Sam. Besides that, Sam will starting noticing the little glitches in time or memory loss. Dean knows Sam isn’t stupid and he’s just waiting for the other shoe to fall. He doesn’t completely trust Ezekiel. Dean’s no dummy, and even his buddy Castiel has done some awful things to Sam in the past, so even even if Ezekiel’s intentions are good that doesn’t mean he won’t do something that could harm Sam.
    I am convinced he’s picking up on something, the more I think about this. I would think its a bit like mystery spot when he first felt something and didn’t know what was happening. This is kind of cool as Jeremy wrote Mystery Spot’. He’s picking up on his previous history. Neither of the boys are idiots, this is why Dean is so careful and buttering Sammy up, because I think he may already suspect that Sam might have an incline. I think I hit the nail on the head about what he remembers a little glitch. I remember Swan Song, with the toy sparking his memory it could only take a split second for something to register and wham bam, fat hits the pan. Circumstances could change it either way, as we only saw what happened with the demons. Zeke is protecting Sam like the good little soldier he is. But there may come a time when those thoughts may change.

    Did I ever say I love this show because it keeps me on my toes and keeps me guessing what might happen. 😉

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

  3. Jared does an amazing job of becoming Zeke on a dime that not only does Dean find it unnerving- so do I! It must be difficult for the unaffected person to switch the conversation- see Dean’s reaction when Zeke comes forth in the next episode’s breakfast scene. You look at someone you know and it isn’t them talking yet it is their voice. Dean has “tells” that Sam is aware of. He will catch on to Dean’s angst.
    I noticed this with Jared particularly since I’ve been examining the screen caps of the show, how he looks down at the table, and his facial expressions in general. He’s almost shy and funny at the same time. There is something about Jared that I can’t put my finger on. His acting skills sure have blossomed lately. I put the link on this blog some where. We did have something similar like this in Swap Meat where the teenage boy swapped bodies with Sam. That was also spooky. This reminds me of it. So you think something will drop with Sam?

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I agree! Sam is going to read Dean’s tells very, very soon. I’m surprised he didn’t say anything during the last episode. I think Sam is leading Dean on, waiting to catch him during a straight out lie. Sam knows Dean could not kill three demons with assault rifles with a demon blade. How stupid does Dean think Sam is? Cas is human so he is unavailable to smite and when Sam came to, all the windows were blasted, just like when angels smite. He is suspicious, but biding his time.
      Thank you for this info, it did prick my mind when you said about the demons, and then Sam’s expressions at the end in the bunker. When you put two and two together, it looks as though Sam may have cottoned on. I am loving this season so far now. Dean’s expressions there I think he was covering it up to about the blade it was how he reacted to Sam’s remark. So also by the sounds of this Zeke is healing pretty nicely if he can already smite with this power imagine how powerful he will be at full power.

      Jared is acting so well. I can instantly see the change when he is playing Zeke. His posture is perfect and his speech pattern is perfect. No contractions or slang. Just like early Castiel. I hope that Dean is allowed to be possessed by Abaddon because I would love to see Jensen spread his acting wings as well! Wouldn’t it be fun to see a showdown between Zeke and Abaddon using Sam and Dean as vessels? Epic!!!!!!!
      Jared gets an awful lot of flack, and I think he is underrated these days and doesn’t get the credit he deserves. He was superb at Lucifer and other facets of Sam in the past. I said earlier, he really has blossomed because he’s been given something meaty to get on with, and he’s dynamite!! I would love to see Dean stretch his wings too and hope the writers here that the fans are unhappy and want more for Dean. He so deserves some action and not just in the bed dept. I am on the fence with the showdown, purely because I never wanted this to happen in Swan Song. I hate seeing the brothers fight each other. But to see the range between a demon and an angel fighting, would be interesting to watch I must admit. This has been talked about extensively already on the forum. Dean and Abaddon were so hot together they melted the screen.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Oh yes they were! I had to watch again on Hulu because I was tweeting too much during the episode to catch all of the sexy snarkiness between those two. Bela and Dean were good, but OMG! Abaddon and Dean?! SMOKIN!!!

        Dean and Bela were good together, mind you Jensen has great chemistry with anyone. Have you had any tweets back from anyone. I’ve often tweeted Jared, but I don’t think he ever tweets anyone back. Or I’ve not known anyone whom has? I love Abaddon and Dean, that boy can knock anything out of the park he’s given. I think she really was teasing him, and he was playing along with it.

        I do not understand the Jared/Sam hate. I really, really do not. I can see the growth in his acting from Season 1. Especially when he played Lucifer. He was just as smooth and snarky as the actor that portrayed Lucifer throughout Seasons 5, 6 and 7. I have said before that I really enjoyed Soulless Sam because he was so darn sexy. Sex on a stick hot. If folks hate his character so much they should find something else to watch because no Sam means no show. Arghhhhh!
        Me neither Honey!! So can I. Each facet of Sam he’s been given he’s done his best. But this season both are so good around each other. I think they know each other so well now. Jensen has said that Lucifer/Sam was Jared’s best performance, and said he always wanted to play that scene. He really praised him. I didn’t care for soulless Sam, and am still not really sure why. It was well acted don’t get me wrong, I think because it wasn’t Sam. So it shows how good Jared really was. Cause he fooled me. Your right they should find something else to watch!

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

        1. This! Yes this! I don’t get the whole Sam/Jared hatred either. Color me puzzled. There was something about Soulless!Sam that was very, very sexy and that was right in the first episode of the season. (Yeah ,okay. He was a jerk too). For the first time we met a version of Sam without doubt or fear and totally confident. What’s funny is that he was more than a little creepy too. I remember watching it and knowing something was wrong with him but having no guess what it could be.
          He certainly was creepy that’s what I had picked up again watching live free twi-hard letting Dean get bitten and knowing there was a cure and being all snarky to Samuel blaming Christian or Mark. The whole plots were supposed to be nasty as the real Sam wouldn’t do it. He was very cold, and uncaring. Its like he enjoyed seeing Dean go through being turned. But I’m not sure if I saw him as sexy. Interesting maybe as it was a different persona that we hadn’t seen before. Like now with Ezekiel. Give Jared his due he always steps up to the mark.

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxxx

          Like

    2. You know, Sam’s history is one of bodily invasion and lack of body integrity, anyway. All kinds of people have been in there. It’s been up for grabs ,seemingly by whoever can wrestle it out of his grip,(Swap Meat, Azazel, Lucifer, Meg and now Ezekiel.)

      One can even make the argument that Sam’s mind and body has never belonged to him to begin with as it was engineered and intended for Angelic possession (by Lucifer) since before his birth and that he’s been mentally manipulated by demons and angels (Cas, Lucifer) ever since. How does Sam even know who he is? Ezekiel is just one more angel messing with Sam’s head and body.

      That’s got to be unnerving for Sam to never have autonomy over his own body and surely Dean must realize this. That’s got to be at least part of his guilt, that Sam’s body is being used and his mind manipulated (Ruby) yet again
      I hadn’t thought of this until you mentioned it. Good thinking! Jeremy and Bob did say Dean’s guilt this season is like any other his faced before. So it is huge for Dean. I wouldn’t want to be Dean right now. Sam has had so much crap laid at his door, and I said this last season its a wonder he’s still standing.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxxx

      Like

      1. Good point! I never really thought about Sam like that. He really was engineered to be used for demonic purposes and conceived for the purpose of angelic possession. Dean too, but only for angelic possession. I guess they need to tattoo anti-angel possession sigils on their bodies as well! But only after Sam is healed by Zeke!
        Actually thinking about this, how come Zeke possessed Sam as I’m sure they both have tattoo’s and sigils from Cas. Are they not working any longer. Do they ever actually protect them any longer as Zeke has got in very easily.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxxx

        Like

  4. I’ve tried observing Dean during such scenes and all I get out of them is that Dean feels guilty about what he’s done. Not the possession part but the lying part of the whole thing. Dean hates lying to Sam almost as much as he hates losing him and I think that’s what’s really bothering him the most.
    I’ve so picked up on this too. Jensen knows us too well now and knows the guilty expression very well. He’s getting harder to read. He hates lying. I think its also the paranoia of loosing him too. He’s so scared of loosing him for good he’s almost petrified. It just shows how close they really are.

    I get from his expressions that he also seems a little uncomfortable with Ezekiel popping out like that but I think that’s because Ezekiel keeps doing it by surprise, more than anything else. Dean is so used to Sam being by his side, that it’s got to be a pretty strange experience to walk into a room or sit down and think he’s talking to Sam, only to find out he’s not and that Ezekiel listens to their conversations.
    Its so creepy. I keep thinking about this a lot. He’s certainly surprised, this also gets very confusing for Dean I bet too wondering which version he thinks he’s going to get when he walks in a room with Sam present. Poor Dean, I sympathize. It must virtually give him a panic attack.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

