‘I’m no Angel’

So as you no I’ve not seen this episode and won’t until Friday. So as the usual rounds go, give me all the highs and the lows and the in-between’s. And don’t skimp on any spoilers I will take it as it comes. Is the tension of the episode keeping you entertained, is it still going full steam ahead. What has really surprised you, and what has disappointed you? I heard about Cas having Sex, and that didn’t go down too well. Oh Dear!! And he’s injured double Oh Dear!!

Cas by the looks of things has seen some action, the wounded warrior.

How is Sammy bearing up with little old Zeke, is he any the wiser? How’s Dean doing?

So don’t delay, and drop down those thoughts for me ASAP. I know your my eyes and ears. I looked at my screen caps page and have an idea of what went on. But that is still hard as you don’t know if its the full story. I’ve also read a few little re-caps. All remarking highly of it.

17 thoughts on “‘I’m no Angel’

  1. Yeah! What Debbab said. Pretty solid episode considering this writing team. It’s not awesome but it’s okay. It moves the mythology for this season along very crisply.

    We meet a brand new Angel named Bartholomew, who seems very angry, likes to yell, but knows how t get things done. He’s been using a preacher to put out the message that people should offer themselves to Angels whenever they appear and a lot of the Angels are finding vessels. We see what happens when a person is not equipped to be an Angelic host. They explode. Bartholomew has been using Reapers to hunt Cas because Cas has warded himself against Angel detection by getting a tattoo. He sends out one Reaper, in particular, to follow The Winchesters around, just in case they meet with Cas.

    Dean and Sam are out hunting for Cas after Ezekiel gives them a heads up that Cas is being hunted by an Angel named Bartholomew and that the Angels are organizing behind this guy. They go out looking for Cas and encounter some cagey homeless people and the Reaper that is following them. Dean tortures and kills him, after getting information about Bartholomew.

    Cas is experiencing being human and has renamed himself Clarence, the name Meg gave him.. (It’s not really played for laughs, so someone is keeping a very tight rein on these two writers as they stick to the story and even give off the same mood as the previous story.) Cas is getting cold, hungry, and sleepy. He’s tired of having to pee all the time and eating toothpaste as he does not understand brushing. He runs into April while he’s cold, wet and hungry and she takes him home with her and sleeps with him. (Red flag right there. No woman in her right mind would do such a thing.) April turns out to be either an Angel or a Reaper. I’m not sure. I think Angel because she starts torturing Cas for information about how to open up Heaven again. She thinks he and Metatron did it on purpose. Cas tries to explain he was tricked and that his Grace was used to do it. He says to her she should probably not kill him because what if he’s what’s needed to open Heaven again. (Good question.)

    Dean is very discomfited by Zeke popping in and out unexpectedly and says to stop that because he’s getting whiplash but at one point he does call on Zeke to come out while Sam is there, who is very confused. Dean uses Zeke to find April. They burst into April’s apartment and find Cas being tortured. April kills Cas out of spite and then flings the guys around a bit. Dean kills her with the Angel blade she used to kill Cas. Ezekiel brings him back. Cas is confused about what happened and Dean lies and said he made April bring him back. Sam , I think, is starting to ask himself some questions, as this is the second time he’s been knocked out and Dean accomplishes some miraculous goal without him witnessing. Cas tells Dean, “You lied to April”. Dean says,” Yeah, that’s what I do. I lie.” ( Oh, the irony of that statement.)

    They get back to the bunker and Cas is very happy to get a shower, but Zeke says Cas can’t stay because he will attract Angels to their position because the tattoo Cas got earlier wore off when he died. Zeke says if Cas stays, then he must leave and Dean doesn’t want Zeke to leave because he’s not done healing Sam. Dean makes a very painful decision to kick Cas out.

    Some great stuff was presented in this episode. Some new characters met. I’m not sure how I feel about Bartholomew but I’m becoming increasingly doubtful about Ezekiel and how long Dean can keep lying before Sam starts to catch on that something is wrong. It’s a good, solid episode. It’s not awesome although Zeke puts in several appearances. This writing team didn’t hit it out of the park but didn’t screw it up either and that’s a plus. I give this episode a 7 out of 10 because I’m not a huge Castiel fan and there was a lot of Cas in this episode. So if you love the guy, you will like this episode a lot. Hopefully this episode will turn out to be the worse of the whole season and all the others will be great.
    Thank you for the review. I don’t think fans are happy with this episode I don’t think it went down too well for a number of reasons. It was a reaper apparently and no an angel. I read a review on Zap2it which said so. As I have said to the others, Zeke is a plot device and is very cunning. He knows what buttons to press. If the other angels were not tailing Cas I doubt if he would have asked Dean to kick him out, we don’t know this. But am pretty sure there would be some other excuse. I think Zeke is also aware that Cas is a threat and he may blow his cover in front of Sam. Its all a cover up. It must have been so hard for Dean to kick Cas out, but we new he would chose Sam. So I hope Cas would eventually see this. Also Dean won’t let Cas starve he will see he’s okay, he will lie to Zeke probably about that part. I am liking how its panning out and where the season is going, so far. I think some also said Bartholomew was wanting Naomi’s job in heaven so I think Cas new of him, did he? I don’t still get the sex scenes just because Cas is human. Was it really necessary just to prove this point? Zeke is by the look of it becoming a bit of a problem, but a cool problem he’s bad news but has added a different dimension to the boys who’ve both rocked this year. I also heard Cas dies and comes back. So I am sure I will enjoy it.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. So it’s official. The big reveal will be in episode (5 or is it 6) titled “Dog Dean Afternoon”.
      Sam gets injured pretty badly and that’s when the whole thing comes to a head. I believe that episode 6 is titled “Heaven Can’t Wait”.

      Correct twice!! I think I did mention it, that Sam gets really badly attached in the throat by a dog and is very suspicious over how quickly heals, and questions Dean. Its pushed Dean into a real tight corner. Its getting interesting in how our writers find different ways of revealing a story.

      I think Sam is starting to suspect… something. He just has no idea what to suspect, though. But Sam is hella smart. I’m sure he’s starting to put something together in his head.
      I have been saying this too. He’s got a smart brain up there hasn’t he. I don’t envy being him when the shoe drops. Or even Dean for that matter when he has to justify himself to Sam. I just hope they don’t fight. I hate seeing them fight it out. 😦

      I mentioned on another board: We all know that Zeke has an ulterior motive but what if Zeke’s motive for doing this to Sam and Dean is as desperate as Dean’s motive for letting this happen.
      I don’t think its Sam I think now its Dean that Zeke is after. He’s holding Sam to ransom to get Dean to do something. Bob and Jeremy said this season is Dean heavy he’s the one pushing the mythology along, so I reckon it could be Michael or someone else after Dean other than Zeke. Dean didn’t trust him catching him in that ring of fire, so I think Dean is very suspicious.

      It’s obvious that Zeke wishes to remain underneath Angel radar and you have to wonder why. Zeke’s reasons may not be evil . He may be desperate to save himself from someone or something and hiding with the Winchesters is the best thing he could come up with. We all know how the writers like to create gray situations and Zeke may be one of those situations.
      He could well be. I recall remembering Zeke’s face when he got of that bus and he telepathically heard Dean’s cry for help. He instantly turned and got back on that bus, he didn’t hesitate. He saved Dean in the car lot too. We’re probably over judging him when he’s a decent angel.

      Although, quite frankly, in a choice between Zeke and Sam, Zeke will definitely lose.
      I do get this, but Zeke could be the one pushing the show along like Naomi last year. There is something very mysterious about him. As you said he may be shielding himself from others which makes him more interesting.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. I’ve been thinking about this some more and about all of the different factions of Angels. Heaven was in some disorder even when Naomi was in charge. Its possible that Ezekiel led one of those factions. That he has an ulterior motive for helping the Winchesters is plain but what if that motive involves the Angels wanting Zeke for something. Cas has happy memories of Zeke, so whatever Zeke has done Cas doesn’t know anything about it and Zeke acts like he either A. Doesn’t want Cas with Dean ; or B. Doesn’t want Cas near himself.
        I think there is more to this. I’ve still not seen in yet so its still hard for me to comment. But Zeke has some hold over Cas just like other angels had in the past. Maybe Cas saying that was a cover up, underneath Cas was scared of Zeke. Zeke wouldn’t order Cas out for any strange reason other than they new each other, and probably didn’t get on. But Zeke maybe see’s Cas as a threat towards Dean. Its Dean I think Zeke wants to get close to and Sam is his bargaining chip. Cas is a threat to Zeke but not sure yet what that threat is. He by all accounts doesn’t want him in the building. Which rings alarm bells with me. He may well have been a head of one of those factions which was a good thought. But there is something about Dean this season I cannot get out of my head. The fans have been sounding of about Dean having a myth arc and I think this season will be it. Zeke wants something from Dean, but WHAT? It’s got to be more than the angel tablet.

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

  2. Also regarding the reapers-It was hard to tell that April was a reaper… too much like a regular angel. People are saying its breaking canon that reapers are angels… I don’t think they ever said they were or weren’t. It sort of makes sense that they are an offshoot of angels but I think it wasn’t really shown.
    I have read she was barb fans were confused too. I think that the forum are so fed up with this pair as they are not consistent. Again, they’ve not told us the full story and left us short. Oh dear!

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Azazel possessed Tessa. Angels can’t be possessed. The Enochian symbols shielded Sam, Dean and now Castiel from all angels. I have to go with Reapers aren’t angels, but something else supernatural. However they seem to be becoming the little black dress of the supernatural, if you need something supernatural to fit all occasions, the Reapers are it.
      I don’t get how this episode has confused so many people. Have the writers gone against Canon or something. The uproar has been so bad. I am still waiting to see it so I have no idea of the extent of the scene. I always thought that reapers were a separate entity all of their own. This has been so confusing.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed the episode, need to re-watch with my husband tonight. I don’t like how they’ve written Dean as the liar that lies, but I guess when you keep a secret it leads to lies.
    It was bad enough watching Sam this season and they’ve turned the tables again. I think Zeke is a plot device and is deliberate. I think the writers are showing us it from Dean’s side what guilt pressures he’s under. Zeke knows exactly what he’s doing. Putting pressure on Dean.

    I’m wondering, if Zeke was able to heal Cas, did he expend so much energy that he now needs to stay even longer in Sam?
    Could well be, but its surprised me how long its taken him to heal any way, I thought angels almost healed instantly?

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. Yeah, I don’t like the lying either but luckily it won’t last much longer and I hope the two hash it out and grow from this and reach another understanding about how the other thinks. I hope Sam doesn’t do his usual tactic of running away whenever he gets mad at Dean. But I think it’s the lying and mind control that’s going to piss him off and not the possession thing. I was wondering about that too. How much energy did Zeke use and did it set him back.
      I so don’t want Sam to have a hissy fit and run off. I think the whole mind control thing will freak him out though. I am so not sure how he will react and hope its done and performed with some maturing and understanding. I want him to see it from Dean’s point of view. It will also be VERY interesting to see Zeke’s reaction when Sam does finally know. What showdown will we get to see then. This is so creepy.

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

  4. Solid episode that contrasts the good in humanity and the evil in the angelic sphere. Misha centered episode but Jared does a seamless switch to Zeke and as Dean says it gives him whiplash DEAN expresses what the viewer feels-nice touch.. The viewer is never sure when E. pops up. Jensen’s reactions and delivery of funny lines shows he is up there with Jared’s performance. They play off each other so well as they do with Misha. I was a bit suspicious of April taking in a homeless man, Castiel and rightly so, but Cas needed refuge and he and the viewer are somewhat innocent at to her motives. Nice shout out to Meg- it was a purer love of Clarence from a demon than what the physical lust was for Cas with April.Nice contrast. The reaction to Cas’ when April is done with him by Sam and Dean-nice acting-no words needed. The Dean line about lying has so many levels for the viewer-OMG. writers-nice. The look on Cas’ face at each human experience, but when Dean tells him he cannot stay in the bunker- ARGH! no words needed fade to black. Special props to the special effects team, not just the blue eyes, but the murdered priests- nice. The direction was crisp and the pace moved along nicely again speeding up as the Winchesters look for Cas. Lingering doubts about why Zeke really wants Cas out of the bunker. It makes logical sense, but again this is SPN. Solid episode.
    I have heard the Dean/Cas fans are mad. There saying its making Dean look bad, for kicking him out. I thought Zeke felt Cas was a threat possibly because of the angels hunting him. He found those threatening, so he ordered Dean to kick him out, or Sam would die. It was basically emotional blackmail on Dean to get him to do what he wanted. Zeke is a nasty bit of work. He knows how to manipulated Dean just as Ruby did with Sam, I can feel this all over again. It just feels very similar, but of course told in a different way. I am sure Dean has given Cas a credit card for money and food and I am pretty certain he won’t be as harsh and will go behind Zeke’s back to see if his buddy is okay. The boys wouldn’t do all that searching for nothing to find him. I don’t think Dean’s this cold. He feels for Cas! This is obviously Dean’s arc this season he is being torn between the people he loves and the guilt he has to face, so its going to be tough on him over the next few weeks. Sam was on the block last season, unfortunately I think its Dean’s tern this season. I don’t envy Dean by the sounds of it.

    Thanks for the comments,
    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. I think Dean told Cas why he cannot stay, off camera. Cas is family to Dean and he would not turn Cas out to fend for himself against the angels. He may not have told Cas about Zeke, but I am positive that Dean did right by Cas. I also think that Zeke wants to inhabit Sam on a permanent basis. Sam was Lucifer’s vessel which means Sam is powerful. His body was consecrated because of the trials so now he is the perfect angelic host. Zeke would need a vessel like Sam if he wanted to lead a counter attack. Dean would never allow himself to be a vessel, so Sam’s weakened condition presented the perfect opportunity to manipulate Dean into allowing the possession of Sam. Notice that of all the angels that heard Dean’s prayer, Zeke was the only one that wanted to “help” Sam. All the others wanted intel on Cas. So Zeke v Bartholomew v Metatron over heaven. Just my opinion! Also, I thought the episode was really good. I think this season is shaping up to be the best season since season 5. I can’t wait until next Tuesday already!
      I think this too, a number are ranting about this. I don’t think that Dean would be so harsh after having searched for Cas and seen him die apparently to just be so douchy about it. Its sounds out of character for Dean to me. I think we ascertained that Sam’s vessel is powerful to Zeke. I thought all along he won’t leave easily, he may do but there is a lot more to this story we haven’t seen yet. This was why I couldn’t get Hael out of my head, how gun hoe she was about getting Cas’s vessel. How many more angels must be doing the same thing. The boys will have a huge job sorting the angels out. Some are saying Zeke is Metatron but why would he want to leave heaven unattended? I think it only needed 1 angel to reply to Dean, he already thought that no angel had replied. So I think he was thankful when Zeke showed. But yes I think were all thinking along similar lines. Hope your enjoying it!!

      Thanks for the comments,
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. That’s some great speculation. You might also want to keep in mind that Zeke may not be who he says he is either and might be one of the reasons he wants Cas out of his presence. I mean, he made a good argument about Bartholomew and his army of Angels but ask yourself why he wants to stay underneath their attention. Clearly he’s a major player and its been speculated that Zeke is really Metatron, God, or Naomi. IMO, Naomi seems the most likely, and if Metatron’s spell kicked him out of Heaven, then there’s a good argument for it being him, although it’s just as likely its some Angel we never met before..
        Some are saying it could be Michael after Dean, or even Lucifer back. But if it were Metatron why would he abandon heaven after all he did to try and secure it, doesn’t make sense. It would be foolish to leave Heaven untended for further attack? Too soon for GOD to show, I don’t think the big man ever will some how. Naomi, I like the sound of and miss her actually. But Metatron did do a good job in seeing her off? But this is Supernatural so …. I still think Dean is the key to this season?

        Thanks for the comments,
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

        1. “God, or Naomi.”
          I don’t think its Naomi-that reaper said boy your really out of the loop Naomi is dead in pieces or something like that so I don’t think its her. I really hope hes on the side of good. I also hope they meant it when they said Sam matured and when he finds out about Zeke hes upset but not mad and tells Dean I don’t like what you did but I understand WHY and I would have probably done the same thing! Wouldn’t that be a different way to go for the show for a change?
          So was anything really hinted that it might not be Zeke or are we just speculating here? A big 100% YES!!!!!! about Sam.

          Thanks for the comments,
          Love Aunty B xxx

          Like

          1. I also hope they meant it when they said Sam matured and when he finds out about Zeke hes upset but not mad and tells Dean I don’t like what you did but I understand WHY and I would have probably done the same thing! Wouldn’t that be a different way to go for the show for a change?

            This is where I totally disagree. I can understand the initial decision to trick Sam into saying yes to Zeke, but keeping Sam in the dark so he has no say over how his body is used? That crosses a line for me. One of the things that Sam said in the church was “how long before you find another angel or vampire you trust more than me?” That is exactly what Dean is doing here. He’s trusting Zeke over Sam’s right to decide if he wants to be an angel vessel. Even worse, for me, is that Dean is now actively having Sam BE ERASED when Dean needs Zeke’s help. That is what shoving Sam into the back and then wiping his memories is when it all comes down to it, erasing Sam from a period of time because Dean trusts Zeke. This is incredibly abusive, IMHO and Sam saying I understand why you abused me and I deserved it because whatever Sam did with Ruby he never put Dean in any danger to work with her, let alone banish Dean from the world for a while. Having Sam accept Dean violate his body is all kinds of wrong, IMHO. He might understand why Dean did it at first, but after that it becomes iffy and when Dean asks Zeke to take over because it is convenient or even because he can’t come up with any other way to find Cas, then it is not forgivable and Dean deserves anger and for Sam to not trust DEAN. What happens the next time it’s easier, better, faster for Zeke to come out and solve and problem? What if the problem to be solved needs an entire day? a week? two weeks? Dean is already becoming comfortable falling back on the resident angel, just as he did with Cas, only this time the price is losing Sam as Sam is buried under Zeke.

            I have seen it expressed that people hope that Zeke is a good guy because then of course Sam would be willing to give up his body to help him. Maybe he does think so poorly of himself that he will allow someone else be in charge of his meat suit. If it were me, I wouldn’t care if it were Jesus or Buddha, or Mohammad, I would not give up my body to them. And I would never forgive someone who made me give up my body without my consent, no matter how good the being is. I used the term meat suit, because that is how Sam’s body is being treated, not only by Zeke, by also by DEAN. Why should Sam just say okey dokey no problem. That allowing an abuser to abuse you without even saying it’s wrong.

            Like

            1. ” without my consent”
              He gave consent to Deans plan -so its not like Dean said shut up Sam and shoved the angel in. If the consent wasn’t real the Angel COULDN’T possess him. IMHO
              Everyone’s entitled to their opinions-I don’t find what he did as abhorrent as you do (you are allowed to feel that way of course) I just wonder what Dean SHOULD have done-let Sam die? And then EVERYONE would be screaming at Dean OMG you let Sam die!. This was truly a no win situation for Dean. And continues to be.

              I can see what Percy is saying that Sam was saying yes to living not saying Yes to being Zeke’s vessel, they are very different, Sam didn’t get the choice of being Zeke’s vessel. He wasn’t offered this. So in affect Sam had been lied to and wasn’t told the truth. But unfortunately drama is drama and we all know this show is full of tension. I said also about Dean that he didn’t have another plan, he was caught between the devil and the deep blue sea. Its also a bit of a catch 22 situation.

              Thanks for the comments,
              Love Aunty B xxx

              Like

              1. I said I understood what he did when he tricked Sam into giving consent. What he should have done is to TELL SAM what is going on as soon as Sam woke up and that Sam is currently being an angel condom and that Zeke is what is keeping him alive. Then SAM, the guy who is actually being affected by all this, can decide if he wants to eject Zeke and die or let Zeke stay and heal. But what Dean is doing is continuing to force Sam into being a vessel when Sam has no idea that he IS being a vessel.
                I think this wasn’t what the writers wanted. They wanted to milk this story and drag it out just like they did with soulless Sam. The secret isn’t reveled until episode 6, which is a lot better than season 6. But to me they won’t give us the easy way out scenario and try and make it more complicated than it already is or needs to be. We all in hindsight expected Dean to have informed Sam as we know in our hearts that’s what we would have expected Dean to do. Whether Zeke turns out to be a good guy is still baffling many of us, what he is expecting in return. If they boot Zeke out too early then the story has gone flat, where as they opt for the opposite and drag it out.

                Thanks for the comments,
                Love Aunty B xxx

                Like

                1. I thought Dean should have told him the moment Sam said he felt great-but this is Supernatural, they need to milk as much angst out of a situation that they can.
                  This is what I just said earlier, they are milking it. They love all the angst.

                  Thanks for the comments,
                  Love Aunty B xxx

                  Like

                2. This! This exactly.
                  I agree wholeheartedly that Dean should have let Sam know the moment he woke up.
                  Its not the possession that’s getting up my nose about this situation. It’s the memory wiping I’m having a problem with. And I think that may be Sam’s big issue too. Sam should’ve never been kept in the dark about what’s happened and as soon as Dean made that decision, my first response was “hell to the no ” because you just don’t do that to people. It was wrong when Willow did it on Buffy and its wrong now.

                  I must admit the whole mind whip thing is giving me the creeps, especially after Lisa and Ben. Dean hated the idea and he’s thinking about it again?

                  Thanks for the comments,
                  Love Aunty B xxx

                  Like

          2. Metatron killed Naomi by shoving that drill inside her skull. He did not use the Angel Blade. Even if Naomi is in pieces, unless her essence was killed, she can be in another form that is unrecognized by those that know her. Wow, I did not think about that until reading these comments. Loves it here!
            Zeke could well be Naomi now there’s a thought ooooh its sppoooky!!!! I do miss her actually.

            Thanks for the comments,
            Love Aunty B xxx

            Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

