Character GROWTH for Sam?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0460681/board/nest/224489057

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0460681/board/nest/224489057?p=2

A post which went up yesterday got me thinking. I could still sense that people are not happy with Sam and the way his character is progressing. Particularly through the first half of season 8. Even now into season 9 fans are upset as they know Sam will kick off at Dean and all this will come back on Dean.  Sometimes I believe them and other times I don’t. We know why Sam was off during season 8 because of his sacrifice in the finale. But others are still not buying it.

Click to view full size image

I did feel at the time that Sam was not of this world in terms of out of character. But I no many of you here really helped me through it and thank you for it. But at the same time I feel for those fans who don’t see it. Was it poorly written, in the fact that we saw a different Sam than what we have seen before. Is this Sam’s future that he’s going to turn horrible and not the Sam we grew up with in the beginning? I have to admit I did hate Sam in that first part of season 8 as we hadn’t a clue as to why the sudden change in his character. But are the writers building up to something. Are they continuing to write the brothers as complete opposites? As this is what I have thought for a long time. I find myself going over the same ground, that Carver wanted Sam to appear mature. Was he in fact acting mature in the sense that he had lost everything and everyone and had dealt with the situation the best he could. Or was it immaturity in the fact that he simply didn’t care about Dean? What was this word ‘MATURE’ trying to capture and put across to us? Has Sam gone backwards or forwards in your estimation. Has he grown in character? I often think back to the past and remember Azazel saying Sam didn’t come back right was it really Sam. Had something changed in Sam’s head that his actions to this day are completely off kilter. 

Click to view full size image

I think I would like to see Sam mature subtle as Dean clearly has. He has progressed and I feel Sam is living in Dean’s shadow sometimes. I feel he’s not connecting with others, and he’s still very distant from Dean. In terms of still keeping things back from him for what ever reason. Is this maturity, I think its a bit childish. So how can the writers progress with a character in terms of maturity. What could they really do to bring the brothers into the 21st century. Or am I being a bit harsh? Are the brothers okay in terms of character progression. Or do you really feel it could be altered in some way?

Click to view full size image

So how do you feel about Sam’s progression over the nine years. Has he moved forward and grown with his age? Or is he going backwards in time and taking steps back. My argument has always been why is Sam always the one making most of the poor choices in the show, why is he not able to do good things just like Dean clearly does most of the time. Is the show trying to portray Sam as the bad brother the one the fans clearly don’t like or can’t see around why he does strange things that can’t really be explained?

19 thoughts on “Character GROWTH for Sam?

  1. I just finished watching last night’s episode and I gotta say that I was in tears and very emotional at the end. I know that I sound like a sap but I have lived a life that is very similar to Sam and Dean’s in that I lost my parents and all I have is my older brother. When they are hurting and at odds with each other, especially when we know that they love each other so much and one would lay down his life for the other, it really gets to me on an emotional level. The end of last night’s episode had me wishing that Dean would just break down and cry and show Sam how much he loves him and let him know that every stupid decision he makes is because he wants to help or fix his little brother. Dean is incapable of letting Sam die even if it’s what Sam wants. I wanted so much for them both to just let go of past mistakes and cry and embrace and move forward together in a healthy and happy sibling relationship but alas it wasn’t in the cards. One can only hope that when this series comes to it’s inevitable conclusion, (hopefully 20 years from now), we will all leave the Winchester brothers with a sense of happy closure. I, once again, want to thank Belinda Neal for creating this blog and giving fans of this wonderful show a place to meet up and discuss and vent. I feel like I have come home.
    If I am honest I think many wanted to see Dean break down and cry, its been in him for so long now that something eventually will crack over Sam and I will be surprised if it doesn’t. Dean mentally has taken on a hell of a lot and its a wonder he hasn’t cracked. Because we know what each brother means to each other. The trouble with this whole saga is that there is more than one thing that Sam is pissed about which has mounted over the two months Gadreel was in Sam. So how this will pan out is going to be a nightmare for both of them. We can all see why Dean did it, and eventually I hope Sam will come to terms with it and see it for what it is too. Gad blackmailed Dean and he came off worse. I just hope with all this angst that the writers deal with it all properly and not let all this brilliant acting slide. The story needs to go somewhere. Thank you too for opening up about your family, I can see why so many fans related to this show, and its story telling. It really is a great road trip. And thanks again for your kind words its always nice to hear from like-minded fans too. And do come back. 😉

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. I too have had SPN to get me through some very personal losses. The brother relationship is so personal to me on several levels. We have to “Carry On” Thanks for sharing personal info with us. I think we all feel the series.

      Like

  2. Wow I just discovered this blog and I followed it right away! I am soooo happy to find a group of like minded people who live and breathe Supernatural! I discovered the show during season 1 but was only able to watch sporadically. Since then I have just this past year got all of the first eight seasons and myself and my friends watched all 8 seasons in about 2 months or so. I have always been a huge fan of sci-fi, monsters, and monster hunters so this show was a natural fit for me. Jensen and Jared are two great actors and I get the sense that they are awesome people as well. Sam and Dean are so complex and I love the dynamic between the two, however I tend to feel for Sam because, at least to me, he seems like the guy who suffers the most. I can’t help but feel that Sam is living in his brother’s shadow and that he is a lost soul. I just want him to finally be happy and secure and to find his place in the big scheme of things. Don’t get me wrong I love Dean too with his macho sense of always having to protect his little brother and do what’s right. I have one complaint so far in this season and that is Sam’s portrayal of the Angel Zeek/Gad. I feel that it is a bit too wooden and robotic and I have a hard time connecting to him when he is in this mode. I do try and justify it in my mind by saying things like “oh well you know Angels are always anti social so he has to act this way”, but it doesn’t help! I can’t help the way I feel and it sucks but I still love Jared as an actor and Sam as a character and Supernatural as the greatest show on t.v. I know that my comment may not be in the right section but please bear with me, I just wanted to introduce myself and to thank-you guys for being here when I needed you! Also thanks to Belinda Neal who created this fantastic blog! I hope to become a regular contributor to this awesome site in the future.
    Firstly Darcy welcome and thank you for the lovely words. We are a small tight-nit group and get along so well together there all like my little angels 😉 Your one now too… I came into the show rather late, mid-season 4 after school special and by the time I got to the season 4 finale I was totally smitten and hooked. I immediately bought the box set 1-3 as season 4 wasn’t out yet part 1, so I had to wait until the following November to see Dean come back from hell, and I wasn’t disappointed. That was one of my favorite episodes “Ever!”
    I did marathon run the show, but can’t remember now how long it took me to get through it. But I was addicted fairly early on, I remember this much. I was never ever hooked on horror and if I’m honest I channel flicked through shows and new it was on, and read about the boys often on the net, and thought na they can’t act their models!! How wrong was I. I am bi-bro and find it so hard these days to choose. But I do tend to lean more Sam’s way too, as I loved his journey and it was the power struggle he had that did draw me in as well as the relationship itself. Which never ceases to amaze me the struggles they both have and share. The reason I feel Gad is wooden is that we the audience need to know that Jared is playing another character like a distinctive line down the two. That’s my only way of putting it. Jared has been superb at playing Gad this season how he comes out of scenes and picks up as Sam has been thrilling to watch and very captivating. Your right, he does appear to suffer the most, which many fans don’t appear to like these days. But I still love the journey he’s been on that bit more. I loved the bit when you said about living in Dean’s shadow and that he’s a lost soul, that was beautifully put. He sure is in many ways. Promise to return as we love having you.

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. Thanks for your speedy reply Aunty B. You seem to have a gift at putting things in perspective. I’m bi-bro also, honestly, it’s just that at certain times and in different episodes I connect with either Sam or Dean more closely because of the situation they may be in at the time. But overall I love them both to death! This last episode was different for me though because I felt for both Sam and Dean equally, in the moment, during their last rounds of dialogue. I have to say that although they have been in this position many times in the past, (at odds and going their separate ways), this time felt different to me. It’s almost as though their relationship has come to a head or a turning point that they may or not come back from. Or maybe they will come back from it but things may never be the same. I also have the sense that the writers are running out of avenues to explore with these breakups because we, as fans, have been here so many times in the past. We are in the 9th season and I’m wondering if the writers are going to change the dynamic between Sam and Dean somehow to keep things fresh and fans interested. It will be interesting to see how things develop from here to say the least! This episode was by far the most emotional for me and I really felt horrible for both brothers. They love one another so much and either one would kill or die for the other so it’s difficult to watch when their relationship goes through the ringer. Poor Dean, the only reward he ever seems to get for protecting and loving his brother is a wider chasm between them and more heartache for both of them. He just can’t win. I love all the monsters of the week and the Angels and demons but I have to say I really love this show for the acting and the characters and the story. Which ever direction the roads take our beloved brothers I will be there in the backseat of the impala every mile of the way!
      Your really welcome, and its lovely to see you’ve come back that makes me happy 🙂
      This time the split does feel a lot different I think because of the nature of it, and that as we know there are many things wrong with the possession in the first place. I think the writers are trying out different ideas as Sam didn’t look for Dean last year and Sam was on the rough end last season. Now this year Dean appears to be at the forefront. He’s had a good arc this time with stuff he can get his teeth into too. I hope the writers and get the feeling they do read our cries and try and incorporate them in some way or other. Many were wanting Dean to have an arc and he sure has had plenty to do this season. Even Sam not looking for Dean was bought up again at the end of the season via Bobby because of fan backlash. Remember when Cas and Bobby were both killed of during season 7, boy it was so strange and the Impala. One thing I did recall Eric saying a long time back was that this show has a habit of re-inventing itself and capturing your imaginations, and answers a lot of the questions. Which is so true. I think after this long with a show being on this long its bound to get a bit dry and stale. However, with new blood among the writing team we can hope this will help move the show along and help it re-invent itself. I have really felt for Dean this season, more than I have in the past. He’s tried so hard to see that Sam is safe, and is loyal to Sam in so many ways. Dean has such a good heart, and is so sad to see him very sad. I have enjoyed this season particularly Gadreel/Sam interaction and Dean’s struggle in protecting Sam. These brothers wouldn’t be them if it wasn’t for getting each out of a spot of bother, its fact!! They sure do love one another, but I wish now the writers would get Sam to show us his love for Dean every once in a while. It just feels a bit one-sided. He was mad at him for not letting him die and Dean couldn’t let it happen as it wasn’t in his nature. Maybe we will see some changes, I hope so.

      I also had a suggestion for Aunty B and any others that love character driven series like this one. If you haven’t already I suggest checking out Buffy the Vampire Slayer. That show is sooo well written and the story behind the characters and their interactions is top notch! Read up on the show in Wikipedia and research it and check out the reviews. I know the title sounds cheesy and at first glance the series itself might seem so too but really it’s not. It’s considered to be among the best shows in t.v. history. It’s not a kiddie show either and it deals with mature subject matter. Sure the characters start out in high school during the first 2 seasons but then they move onto college and many of the actors are much older than the characters they portray. It’s got 7 seasons and then there is a spin-off called Angel starring David Boreanaz which is also incredibly good and won many awards.
      I never really got into Buffy sorry to say, I did give it a try and found it wasn’t me. I never really watched horror until this show and always avoided it. But I did however watch Angel and love David as an actor any way. There were some good solid characters on that show. But once again I was sadden by that ending, and hope they don’t to the same to SPN. It was so lame!! Generally I hate american high school programs which did put me off Smallville until I decided to re-watch at got past their teenage years. Then still not got back to watch the last two seasons due to schedule change. But I did make myself watch the last ever episode and again that ending was so lame!!

      Anyways I hope I haven’t broken any rules bringing that up and I promise not to do so again if I did. I know this blog is dedicated to Supernatural so I will keep my subject matter to do with that in the future. I just wanted to share that with you because I know that if you love Supernatural because of the characters and dialogue like I do you will probably enjoy Buffy too. Anyhow I really hope that Supernatural will remain on t.v. for many seasons to come because I. for one, am not in the least bored with the subject matter. In fact if anything I am even more into the show now than I ever was. Going by statistics though not too many shows last past the 10th season if they make it THAT long. I just hope and pray that this last breakup between the brothers is not a sign that the show is coming too a head or some sort of conclusion this season or next. Also since the CW announced a Supernatural spin-off is in the works with the 20th episode of this season serving as a back-door pilot one can only wonder what is in store for Sam and Dean. Does anyone have ANY thoughts on what and who the spin-off will be about? Any wild guesses? Please Help, anyone! I am dying to find out!!
      Please don’t worry about going off topic, it happens and there are no real rules like that here. 😉 do feel at ease … I am more into the show, I think it also depends what you have going on in your personal life as this show like many others here its helped them through so much trauma, its been like a tonic we can so relate. I am so proud of this show for reaching that mileage. And for a road trip that’s pretty impressive. (see what I did there 😉 ) This will put your mind at ease that the powers that be love the show and as long as the J’s want to make it they will allow it to continue. So I can see at least 12 seasons. It just depends on how the boys themselves are feeling. They have families now, but have a good income coming in with this show and they both have fingers in other pies. I remember Jensen saying that if the stories continue to be good and not get silly he will stay. I think they are both of that mind-set. As regards your excitement for the spin-off I am not really 100% behind it as I have my doubts that spin-off’s don’t always do so well. All I know is its based in Chicago and I think it may involve the ghost-facers and this is all I’ve heard. See what you can dig out on the net and let us all know.

      Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. Wow thanks, that did put my mind at ease! It’s just great that the powers that be love and believe in this show so much that they haven’t put a time limit on it. J and J are so very lucky to be doing what they absolutely love, be awesome at it, and have a steady pay cheque on top of it! Now it seems that they have some job security as well. That the powers that be are basically leaving it up to J and J is frickin cool because it’s usually the other way around with a heaping helping of stress piled on top!
        We are extremely lucky to have bosses that love this show, otherwise it would I think have been cancelled long ago. I just wish sometimes the viewing figures would represent the brilliant acting that is delivered on this show week after week. I just wish they were recognized for the hours they all put in. They would be stupid if they gave up secure job security for another role which may or may not last. I hope they no in their hearts when its time to give up as I don’t want the show to get stale or silly. As long as the scripts are good I’m sure they’ll stay.

        Now the boys can concentrate on their respective characters and doing their very best without most of the usual job related stress that comes with starring on t.v. show. Now if the writers keep putting out exciting and engaging content, it’s all gravy for everyone.
        I so agree, I think the quality is picking up and the writing team is growing much stronger. They understand the history of the show and what makes the brothers tick. Both boys appear to thrive on the scripts they are given and always give us 110% and as the years go by, they both grow …

        Now I have a comment that might displease SPN fans but I have to get it out. I think that Sam’s character, in terms of growth, hasn’t really matured because of Dean’s constant interference. Don’t get me wrong I love Dean and his character and how he always wants to protect his brother but at the same time I think Sam needs to be shoved out of the nest in a big way. The most recent breakup is the result of Dean, yet again, making decisions for Sam that end up hurting him more than helping in some ways. This is a situation that we have seen the boys in countless times over the years! We could look at one of their breakups and fights from say 6 or 7 seasons ago and then jump to this one without knowing what has happened in between and think to ourselves, ” hmm…this must have happened in the same season.” It’s almost as though they are standing still within their relationship with Dean not wanting to let Sam be independent and Sam not having the heart to stand up to Dean and hurt him in the process. I know that they have both made the attempt to do these things but they have always failed. Proof of this can be seen in the most recent breakup over the same things. I mean honestly, you can’t argue that the reasons for this most recent breakup are the same for their past breakups and fights. That being said this last parting of ways seemed to be more serious than the past ones so I hope that things have come to a head and that their relationship will mature and Dean will give Sam the space and freedom to grow as an individual. Oh and thanks to Aunty B for being there always to respond to comments and give her unique insight.
        I know what you mean, and on some forums yes you would have got jumped on. But this time I have so felt for both of them, and yes Dean has betrayed Sam, just as he did to Dean during season 4. This is thinking it through from Sam’s view point that he has every right to be pissed with Dean on so many counts. Look at it this way if Dean hadn’t have intervened Sam would be dead right now and Sam would be out of the show. The writers LOVE angst as to them its what drives the show, period!! Dean admitted it wasn’t in him to allow Sam to die. He didn’t have it in his heart to let go of Sam, and was really struggling with it. Your right its like their in a rut and can’t get past it. Even if they do separate for a time they would find it hard to cope without the other. I think progression is clearly needed to allow them to grow. I think this episode allowed Sam to stand up for himself and give Dean a piece of his mind which was just lap 1, so we have more to come mark 2. Thanks so much for the praise, so appreciated. 🙂

        Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

  3. Ok, I know that you guys “across the pond” have not watched the show yet, but it was freaking INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No spoilers but our discussion above concerning the impact of demon deals is coming to pass. Season 9 is going to be epic and we must make sure that SPN wins the PCA for best Sci-fi show next year. Let me know what I can do to start that campaign TODAY. I am all in!
    I’ve not seen it yet and probably won’t until the weekend, which is driving me bonkers!! I managed to find a couple of clips over on you-tube this afternoon which did frankly blow me away, my show is back. This was what I was yearning for, a bit of action, and fast paced drama. Something for everyone and from all four characters. I saw the end scene and it did make me cry, which I don’t do very often. I also saw the clip where Crowley gets into Sam’s head and tells him to chuck Gad out, I do love Jared and Mark together. I am not sure on the PCA’s and how it works. Our American friends here might be able to help you with that one. Me being from the UK I don’t no much about your channels and how they operate. I so wanted the boys to get a triple this year with best SCI-fi and were beaten by Beauty and the Beast. Which surprised me. I didn’t know they had such a big fan base. But was over the moon that they one best bro-mance. So deserved!!!

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. “Road trip” was incredible to watch. The trip is just starting. OMG all players had good dialogue. Dabb wrote a great one. JP says it is one of his favorites.
      debbab when did Jared say it was his favorite, not heard this? I have always enjoyed what ever Dabb and Loflin do together and they are even stronger now apart when they write. Remember they did Frontierland too!!

      Like

      1. Oh this is definitely going to be one of my favorites this season. It had everything. Great dialogue, fight scenes, some angst and a couple of funny and unexpected moments.

        I had hoped the second half of the season would pick up its pace so we haven’t been disappointed. I’ve still not seen it yet apart from those two clips I saw on you-tube yesterday. Its so hard waiting. Everyone else appeared to enjoy it very much too. But the rate thread on the forum was mixed in its marking system.

        I’m also holding out hope for the next couple of episodes. Hope the writers hit it out of the park next week when Crowley and Dean hook up. We know Dean and Sam are back together for Sharp Teeth, so there’s going to be some conversation between them next week .
        Jared and Jensen said that the next episode was difficult for them to both film because it was very emotional. They expressed that there will be tears. I really like this writer I think he is a good story teller. He seems to understand the brothers really well now. I did read that episode ‘Sharp Teeth’ is in a Spa, and will be a crappy filler. I also think its the one where Garth comes back. Some say he’s been bitten by a werewolf that’s why he want AWOL when he was supposed to be looking after Kevin.

        Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

        1. My fuller review is on the other blog. supernaturallydevoted.wordpress.com Check it out for more detailed analysis and my humble opinion on the episode.
          I like the advertising their debbab, keep up the good work 😉

          Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
          Love Aunty B xxx

          Like

      2. Jared said it was one of his favorites on the live tweet Tuesday night.
        Thanks babe! I didn’t read his tweets. Haven’t tweeted for a while. I keep forgetting about tweeting. I get so busy on this blog and the forum and SPNdevoted I hardly get around to much else.

        Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

    2. Beauty and the Beast is one of the lowest rated shows on the CW network. Its win made me very cynical of the Peoples’ CHoice Award voting process. The process is that fans vote on line for about a month. Then the awards are presented pre inscribed at a ceremony that is broadcast. Now with Supernatural being one of the top rated shows on that network, how did the show not win again? Was there voter manipulation to bring attention to Beauty? Jared and Jensen usually cancel each other out in the acting category although both are always nominated.( By the way, fans get to nominate so SPN fans need to watch for the notice on line around Novemeber.). Now there were enough votes for CAS DEAND SAM award. Same folks vote for the show. How did SPN not win? Believe me, this is not sour grapes at not winning, it just seems odd that B/B did. The actress in that show Kristen K. also won( She used to play Lana in Smallville) so maybe there was carry over. Last year there was open campaigning on line by SPN fans. Nothing major this year. Maybe folks just did not know to vote. Hope that helps clarify the process.

      Like

  4. IMHO Sam has maintained his duality of switching between wanting a normal life away from hunting and being a fierce and devoted hunter who knows his place in the universe. In this regard he is consistent but his management of his duality is more mature. In this season’s premiere, he clearly wants the suffering of others to stop but also wants his life to have counted for something. As he is told,perhaps by his own psyche in the form of Death,(?) he has done enough. I go back to the Krissy episode where Sam contemplates whether the new breed of hunter can have both a family life and continue to be a hunter at the same time. We know Sam is a deep thinker, so perhaps the writers will pick up this thread in the second half of season 9. Clearly at the end of season 8, both Sam and Dean have a clear understanding of their relationship and the deep love that exists between them. It would be nice if the writers let Sam be understanding of Dean’s decision to trick him (save him) with the angel possession- now that would show growth, but it would also be new in the construct of the characters. Dean expects Sam to be angry and clock him for his decision, but Dean may be so guilt ridden by the results of his decision that Sam feels it is enough of a punishment. We shall know soon as Gadreel will be extricated from Sam shortly. We should see the arc of the angel war pull both Winchesters into central roles in the war (echo of season 5) which will take center stage and make the Dean/Sam angst take a back seat IMO. I do think Sam sees his role as a hunter as an important one to the universe-something he has not always wanted to accept. He does seem to be free of the freak label he put on himself through season 8. We’ll all have to wait and see how the rest of season 9 goes…. He may delve into the MOL past a bit more as he seems to get he is a legacy more than Dean IMO. Happy happy hiatus is almost done.
    I am so with this….
    It would be nice if the writers let Sam be understanding of Dean’s decision to trick him (save him) with the angel possession- now that would show growth, but it would also be new in the construct of the characters. Dean expects Sam to be angry and clock him for his decision, but Dean may be so guilt ridden by the results of his decision that Sam feels it is enough of a punishment.
    Isn’t this what I’ve been saying from the jump. This is one way of maturing Sam and showing that growth that he so needs right now. As always in the past he’s thumped him and stomped off in a huff, which has always been rather childish. I think he has every right to thump Dean I wouldn’t expect anything less. He has been through so much on top of nearly dying in the chapel. And now having the pain of going through Gadreel’s banishment spell and Cas getting the residue out. So by the looks of things Crowley doesn’t get all of Gad out? I hope they do take Sam down the MOL route as he has always been the book worm, and the bunker was the way out of his geeky past and helped him enormously to get over that irritation. It to me appears to be a natural move and the road to travel down. The episode does look rather good I hope its a decent one. I am feeling excited now, “I can almost touch it”!!!

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  5. I read the comments at the links you left and was reminded why I don’t read a lot of comments anymore. Don’t want to say anything more regarding those.
    Okay fair enough!

    After watching the complete season 8 a couple of times and giving some thought to everything that has happened to both of the characters, I don’t have a problem with how either character was portrayed that season. I can see character growth in each character. It was confusing during the first half of the season and there were things that probably could of been better spelled out, but the last few episodes tied the pieces together for me.
    Both characters’ development has been slow and subtle over the years. Since we don’t have Sam’s POV much, it’s probably easier to see changes in Dean. Sometimes I feel like the writers backslide with Dean -like when he seemed to make fun of Castiels attempts at being human and didn’t consider that Cas was homeless, etc.and I get a little frustrated. Except for things like that, I see that Dean has matured in his interactions with others. it’s especially lovely in his interactions with children and he’s been more open with others.
    I believe that there was a change in the way I would have expected season 1 & 2 Sam to develop once the decision was made that Sam would not save Dean at the end of season 3. I felt like the decision to go that route (due to the writer’s strike and shortened season?) made it necessary for Sam to go darker. I mean how could you have Sam’s brother/father figure be torn to pieces in front of him and be sent to hell without it being life changing/ traumatizing? That was the point where I felt like the more innocent and sometimes fun-loving version of Sam totally vanished. But he was still the vulnerable younger brother who looked up to and trusted his big brother, so I was okay with it.

    This was exactly how he felt when you say this he was traumatized when Dean went to purgatory and for him it was exactly that same feeling. That’s why he ended up hitting the dog. I am amazed actually that he could drive considering the state he would have been in. But then he did fix up the Impala first. But loosing someone in this way must send you sky high and do wired things to you. So yes I did have a lot of sympathy with Sam’s situation. Your right about the way the season was written, and as Ikeke said it takes a season to pan out and get a feel of the whole story. We need to see the finale to make head and tail of the rest of it. I am with you also on Dean and Cas. I felt there was no need for the finger pointing from Dean. I thought that was badly written when you think of what efforts Cas went too in getting as far as he did. It must have been traumatizing for him too, not only becoming fully human and getting use to this. But also to know how to get a job, and learn on the job as he had never had any experience in the way humans went to work. Then Dean kicking him out of the bunker seemed so heartless and cruel. Now we know why of course, but at the time that must have been devastating for him. I think its done Cas a lot of good in many ways to have had this stint as a human being. He’s learnt a lot as well as observing us over those many years. I thought Dean was a bit insensitive. I don’t think at the time he gave him any or much credit.

    Now, I do see a more mature, but still sweet, man in Sam. I think Sam’s “need” for Dean is different than Dean’s “need” for Sam. I think Dean needs Sam because Dean has allowed his whole self worth to be tied to his role as Sam’s protector (father figure). So he literally feels he will cease to exist without Sam. I think Sam’s need for Dean is tied to his need to feel validated and trusted by his father figure. This need was always there on some level but it really exploded when Sam felt devastated after making a lot of bad decisions for what he thought were good reasons. It’s not that Dean never praised Sam. He did. But he also tended to keep bringing up the bad stuff Sam did, culminating in the ending scene in the chapel. I feel like that scene was the end of the guilt tripping from Dean (and was verified by how Dean supported Sam when the girl hunter gave Sam a hard time about his past early this season). Now I think Sam may be coming full circle back to his words to Dean, “When this is over, you have to let me go.” The fact that Dean made the decisions he did to keep Sam with him (there ain’t no me if there ain’t no you) will weigh heavy on Sam and he may work on loosening the ties between them as an act of love towards his brother. Sam knows Dean has a terrible sense of self worth and that won’t change until Dean sees himself as a strong, important person in his own right. And Sam knows that won’t happen until Dean lets go. Oh man, sorry this got so long. Do I hear snoring? I’ll stop now!
    Cool words. I think I would have said the same thing. That their feelings for each other are very different and of course very complex. I would hate the thought of Sam leaving Dean for ever. I don’t think on the surface that it would ever happen. But I see your reasoning behind those words. The show couldn’t carry the boys separately full-time. I think there would be fan up-roar if it were true. So the longer they are together does this mean the worst its going to get. Or can their co-dependency get much worse? We know how each other feels but if that crunch came I still couldn’t see them being apart from each other for long. They’ve always come back to what they know, each other.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. OMG! How did you get in my head? My only additional comment is that people forget that Sam spent over 100 years in hell and he suffered (and still suffers) from PTSD, depression and psychotic breaks from reality. I know that Cas took on the mental illness from Sam, but he did not wipe his memory. We the viewers do not look at this show for what it really represents. SPN is very dark and violent at its core with subject matter content always on the demonic. I agree with Bella in that Azazel warned Dean that Sammy may not be pure Sammy. In winding down the show, the writers could be leading us to the ultimate conclusion that demon deals always end in heartbreak for everyone. Mary cursed her sons before they were born and cursed John to live a horrendous life because she chose to bring him back to life. Dean repeated his mother’s choice by bringing Sam back. Sam’s life has been hell since returning to life and Dean has had to bear witness to his choice. Sam’s character has become sadder and so withdrawn from the first 3 seasons. I think his character has developed appropriately based on Sam’s history. I do not know what show the complainers are watching, but for the most part Carver is taking the show on its intended path and I will be watching until the very end!
      Were telepathic didn’t you know 😉 I have always felt Sam’s background very early on. And felt he had the demonic straw. I think if the show ends up going this way, I can still see Sam going dark and Dean possibly having to finish him. Bringing full circle from John, Save him or Kill him, which still haunts me by the way. Sam has definitely become withdrawn and sadder which is hard to watch. Season 8 was tough on us in many ways. And how this season pans out is anyone’s guess up to now… But the writers appear to give Sam the what’s wrong with him as this is what they seem to think we like to watch. So who knows where Sam will end up down the line. I can’t believe they could throw much more at Sam than they clearly have already. And yes, he is still suffering from those after effects which I think about an awful lot. How can one human being take on so much and still stand and function. Dean has taken some batterings over the years and torture. But Sam’s life experience has probably been the hardest journey. I am here until the bitter end too. I hate it when that day finally arrives as we all no it will. 😦

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. We ARE in each other’s head!!! The impact of Sam’s time in hell, the breaking of the wall, and the fact that Sam does still have the memories is huge. I would have liked it if the writers had taken the opportunity to remind us of this last season during the flashbacks into Sam’s life before Dean returned from purgatory. I think it could have fit in nicely and might have prevented some of the viewers from getting so negative about Sam’s behavior.
        I have said it before, I don’t think they told us the whole story, and left it up to our imagination as to what really happened during that year. I don’t think it was really fleshed out enough or as much as it could have been, as some area’s were still a bit blank. I also so wanted Sam to save Dean and not have watched Amelia which would have been my perfect match.

        I am so excited ( and nervous) about the new episode tonight!!! — AB/C
        I am more nervous than excited I think, as I am concerned about Sam’s pain and the trouble he will have to face before he becomes Sam again. Those pictures look horrific and so scary.

        Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

        1. Well said, everyone.
          Sam has grown and matured. He’s just a lot quieter about it than Dean. His love for Dean manifests in a different way than Dean’s love for him and so consequently people have trouble believing in it. It’s not as obvious but it is there. Just as Dean does these things out of love for Sam, Sam does a lot of subtle things for Dean that may be harder for some fans to notice.

          Your right Ikeke … That’s what I have loved about the writing team that they can do these subtle story lines. Where little is required and its one of the things they do best.

          And you are right. This is a horror show (or rather a dark fantasy show) and it is heading in the direction it was always meant to go, which may not mean a happy ride off into the sunset for these characters, and I think people forget that.
          I never ever wanted it to end with that cheesy ride off into the sunset. I want a fitting end for two great heroes. They’ve been through so much, and to see either or both of them die will be so sad and rather pointless. Angel ended with one of the team dying and it was horrible.

          Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
          Love Aunty B xxx

          Like

          1. Swan Song was supposed to be the series finale and Kripke had Sam going to hell to atone for starting the Apocalypse. I think Carver is going to end the show on a similar note except I hope that both Sam and Dean end up in Winchesterland heaven when they die together. I hope the writers bring back all the characters that have died to welcome the brothers into heaven starting with John, Mary, Bobby, Ellen, Jo, and that guy from the Roadhouse. I am tearing up just thinking about the show ending because I have grown so attached to this series. It helps to know that there are others out there who love the show and it’s complex characters and relationships, spirituality and religious themes. So glad I found this blog!
            I have that feeling to sometimes that Carver may go down this road. I would hate to see either or both die it would be heartbreaking for me personally to watch. I have invested so much time into this show and desperately want them to have a perfect ending what ever that might be. I hope in particular John comes back, I so want to see JDM again even if its just in a ghost form. I do so miss the roadhouse and did find out later it was got rid of as they thought it was cheesy. Me too, I can’t bear to think about the ending as every day that feeling haunts me and I no its coming. Your welcome SPNforever and promise me, you won’t leave me your such a thoughtful writer. 😉

            Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
            Love Aunty B xxx

            Like

        2. Tonight’s show was fantastic, but I am so in love with this show, my opinion is probably biased! I agree that season 8 could have done more to actually show the impact on Sam when Dean disappeared, yet again. He probably just shut down emotionally and mentally which is why he did not look for Dean or Kevin. He is not accepted in the hunter community and all the hunters he knows (except Garth) are all dead. He had no one. OMG, my heart is all a flutter over tonight’s episode and I can’t wait for this blog community’s discussion!
          I SO agree with you there about more of Sam’s story in season 8. But for me it was much more than not looking. It was the way in which he acted when Dean quizzed him about the phones and Sam just sat eating his meal. You could see that Dean was getting more and more pent up. And he just nonchalantly gives that expression on his face like WTF! Am I bothered!! That hurt me a lot and still really don’t know where the writers were coming from or the director in this instance. It was so OOC of Sam to just shrug his shoulders and not even flinch at Dean for ticking him off. There was so much that was off about that season even though we no now why events took place. He sure had no one, and I think I said before he was in shock in the lab and saw RED. I wanted to see what happened after he left the lab. Not that that would have made a scarp of difference. But may have made Sam look a bit more sympathetic. Sam sure did take a battering that season, now Dean is getting his fair share 😦 My heart is still fluttering as I am so excited now I have heard such good things about it. I want what I can’t have even more … 😉

          Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
          Love Aunty B xxx

          Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

