News about the Supernatural spin-off

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0460681/board/nest/225079064

Some of you were asking on this blog about news of the spin-off this new information came up on the forum today,

The boys will appear but it won’t be the normal road-trip feel. More cast which won’t include motel rooms and diners.

‘Supernatural’ Spin-off: Script Finished, Chicago-Based Series Backdoor Pilot Details Revealed [VIDEO] 
By Vanessa Frith, ENSTARS / Jan 16, 2014 12:57 AM EST

‘Supernatural’ has featured its main characters Sam and Dean hunting and battling demons, ghosts and supernatural monsters of the course of its nine-season run. (Photo : Supernatural/Facebook)

The CW is continuing to move forward with a spin-off for its hit show, Supernatural.

Although there has been little mention of the upcoming Chicago-based backdoor-pilot since it was first announced at last summer’s San Diego Comic-Con, CW president Mark Pedowitz commented on the status of the untitled program at the Television Critics Association winter tour.

“The script just came in,” Pedowitz revealed on Wednesday, according to Crave Online. “They’re supposed to get it to me today or tomorrow.”

Set to air as episode 20 of Supernatural’s season 9, the spin-off will focus on another group of hunters, but it will not be based out of motels and rest-stop diners.

“It’s going to be quite a departure – the same world but from a whole new perspective,” said executive producer Jeremy Carver during July, according to Entertainment Weekly. “Most spin-offs, you spin characters out and create a show about them. Jared [Padalecki] and Jensen [Ackles] will be in the spin-off, but it’s an entirely different cast of characters. And unlike Supernatural – which is a road show – this will take place in one place with a wider cast of characters.”

Deadline reports that Supernatural’s current ratings should promise a continuation of the series, according to Pedowitz, and crossovers with Dean (Ackles) and Sam (Padalecki) will be discussed at a later date.

“In the spin-off episode, they would be in it,” Pedowitz explained, according to Crave Online. “Whether they’re in the series, for me spin-offs to work have to stand on their own two legs so you could only organically do those crossovers when the time is right.”

5 thoughts on “News about the Supernatural spin-off

  1. With out comparing… the CW network has not done a bad job with the whole vampire diaries/the originals series from what I’ve heard, so like all of you I am on the same page when It comes to wanting more info about the spin off series. It’s hard to say what they could do with it because I feel like Supernatural has its fan base zoned in on 2 specific characters throughout a series I’m curious to know who they would use, or if we would be introduced to some very new characters in the spin-off as well as some beloved characters throughout the series. Either way in the end if they do a good job with it, personally I don’t see having double the supernatural as bad thing lol!
    One thing I do know is it does have a bigger cast than just two. So maybe this might help it out a bit more. I don’t watch TVD/The originals. I don’t know that much about American TV channels. It may do the show some good, and we also might get new viewers ourselves which we could do with too. I don’t know why if I’m honest why its been kept so quiet as up to now. All we new was that the pilot would launch off episode 20 and was set in Chicago, and the boys were not appearing and that’ about it. No pictures of the cast, who’s been signed up or nothing. Now there’s not long until episode 20, 8 episodes to go so don’t know what will be reveled. I will give it a month and see if it hooks me, otherwise I’m dumping it.

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  2. Yeah, I’m withholding until I know more. I like the setting and that’s about it, so far.
    Ikeke I’m with you, I loved the idea of the setting.

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  3. Garth and Benny monster hunters!! the werewolf and the vampire!! slaying one monster at a time no just kidding. I don’t know if I like the idea of it just being based on hunters although it would be nice to see some of the killed off hunters like Ellen, Jo, Rufus, Samuel, Meg, Gabriel
    I never really think a spin-off is a great idea personally. As nothing is ever as good as the original format. If they use past characters which is what a spin-off is done well should be about then it might and that’s a big IT could work if the writing and acting is on par. Otherwise it could flop miserably as the fans won’t want to invest their time in it. I always liked the idea of the Roadhouse, if they did something like this I could see it working since their not on a permanent road trip. But generally no, I’m not keen on the idea of a spin-off.

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. last spin-off I enjoyed myself would probably have been ANGEL with David Boreanaz
      I picked up on angel late K, but yes I did so love David as the lead. Angel to me was far better than Buffy. That’s a good spin-off. I hope it does work for the show.

      Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

  4. Interesting. I’m not sure what to even think about this idea. I’ll have to wait and hear more details.
    Its very vague at the moment. As one minute they said the boys were not appearing, now in this document they say they will until the show is capable of standing on its own two feet. I'm not keen on a spin-off especially if it includes a character I'm not keen on. Like Becky, Garth, Charlie, Chrissy all the newbies really apart from Kevin. Now if Kevin and Mrs Tran were in the spin-off that would be great!!

    Thanks for leaving a comment, appreciated.
    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

