The Mark of Cain – Can the boys be affected by it?

I just thought about something really spooky yesterday and debbab and myself were talking about this and I was wondering what you all thought. 

Cain’s mark on Dean, this is a huge BIG if, and you no I love to dramatize but what if that mark may be interfering with things, when looking into this from day 1 I couldn’t stop thinking about it. What effect it might be having on Dean and what thoughts it could be disturbing between the boys? Debbab did mention (hope she doesn’t mind me publishing this)told me that the mark disrupts family life in isolates the bearer, Is Sam affected and is almost like the Siren in Sex and Violence that it controls the two of them, thoughts and all? After all we are talking something supernatural that is actually influencing them this time, not like after last years debacle. Dean is also on the Whisky and not on the beer which is a poor, poor sign that he’s shutting out the horrible stuff. I can’t believe that no one has even suggested or hinted at this mark since Dean acquired it. We know the boys appear OOC and if this mark is deliberately over taking them I wonder if Cas will spot it, as he’s not been around for a while. Just as Bobby did in Sex and Violence.

14 thoughts on “The Mark of Cain – Can the boys be affected by it?

  1. We can think up theories of how this latest Bro-drama will turn out. How this Mark of Cain will have meaning or effect on the Brother’s. But Seriously this Arc has been in the works since season 5. Think back to S5 x 04 “The End” Sam was possessed by Lucifer, he had just killed “Future Dean” and talked to “Past Dean”. Luci had told Dean, “Whatever you do, you will always end up here. Whatever choices you make, whatever details you alter, we will always end up…here.” But what I and everyone else it seems, keep forgetting this small fact – Sam ISN’T even in this scene. This entire conversation is just Dean and Lucifer talking. So when Lucifer says “We will always end up here” we can take that could mean “you,& me” But initially, Lucifer says “You will always end up here” – YOU, he is addressing Dean, not you both, not us, not you and Sam, in fact he has excluded Sam altogether.
    This has been in the back of my mind for a while as we are in 2014 now, and even put a thread up on the forum about this fact, last year wondering what they could be preparing for this year. I don’t know if the vessel story will ever take shape again or the Apocalypse as what been and gone has gone. You can’t really top it or do it again. But you could work on something similar. We know our writers love to re-cycle old plots. Those words still give me the chills because I don’t want either of them to end in a battle being pitted against each other. I couldn’t bear it then and I can’t now. I would hate to see either or both die but I can feel it going this way now.

    Let’s move to another interesting point. We just had an episode about Cain and Abel. Remember the last time the show mentioned Cain and Abel? I wrote the exchange of this on another thread it was in Season 5 x 14 “The Song Remains the Same”. Again Michael confirms what Luci said, almost by verbatim. Dean, no matter your choices, no matter the millions of little choices that you choose, the fact remains…you will ALWAYS end up right where Destiny means to have you.
    No matter what ever they try to change, they never can because its fate, its what ever will be will be …

    Michael referenced Cain and Abel when he was talking about how, although Dean is his true vessel, he could actually possess Anyone of his fathers blood; the Winchester bloodline, including Dean, Adam…and even Sam, if he so wished. The Winchester Bloodline is descended from Cain and Able. If that’s true, then we must assume that Michael’s other Brother, Lucifer could, if he were in a pinch, possess Sam, Adam…or even Dean.
    But that’s silly, you say. Dean would NEVER…he would never knowingly accept Lucifer, no matter the situation.

    I had forgotten that point actually that Michael could of taken Sam if Dean continued to refuse if they hadn’t of bought in Adam. But then Adam was needed if they couldn’t persuade Dean. But if it meant protecting Sam he probably might. That’s even a worst thought.

    Except…
    He willingly, knowingly ACCEPTED the Mark of Cain. The Mark of Lucifer himself, he took it on his Person. Dean accepted the Mark of the Fallen. So there’s a small possibility that, in late 2014; this season in fact, we may still hear this conversation between Dean and Lucifer once again. Only this time, the conversation may be a little more personal and one sided. Poor Dean, he is now Crowley’s bitch-boy, that Mark will have repercussions, Cain warned him. Cain told him this Mark comes with a great Burden, others say it comes at a great cost. Dean in his hubris said, “You had me at, kill the Bitch, ” Will this one day bite him in the ass? Yes, cause he has just became Crowley’s FIRST Knight of Hell.

    I know this was what annoyed me at the time thinking Dean taken on yet another deal without really thinking about it. How’s Sam gonna feel if Lucifer does actually come back in Dean? Oh boy I dread that thought. I know Dean can’t say that Cain didn’t warn him. But his actions are blind all he sees is taking out Abaddon that’s his aim and doesn’t think about the rest of it, as long as she’s been dealt with. But what will he think after she’s dead?

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. This is an interesting idea. An even more interesting idea would be if Dean offered himself up in order to save Sam. But I don’t think this is gonna happen. Lucie is still locked up in the cage as far as we know and this idea is way too imaginative for the writers of this show, although I like the idea, (and only if they can get the original Lucie-Mark Pellegrino – to do it.)
      I just thought that before I’d even read this OMG! No I think its going to be Sam saving Dean as so many are wanting this to happen after recent words. I think its possible they could bring Lucifer back but Dean would be the hostage and not Sam maybe. Sam knows Lucifer all too well, and can imagine him talking him down from harming his brother. Its what Sam is getting at now that in how Dean saves him, so I don’t think that particular version will pan out. Its a cool idea, but Dean’s done too many saves, I want to see Sam do a big SAVE this season to make up for last year.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. Pelegrino is busy with the show the Tomorrow People but he is in Vancouver so you never know!!!
        He could spare sometime to do a cameo which would be superb to see him back as a special guest star again. I so miss him, he though he did drive Sam mad 😉

        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

        1. It’s interesting, but No one is exempt from coming back to this show. We have Gabriel, & Baz making a come back sometime. Hell if God has made exceptions for those two and Cas several times…I’m sure he would spring the two naughty brothers from the trap, and have them straighten out the huge mess that is Heaven and Hell. Michael should be released just on principle. If only, just to boot Meta booger out of Heaven, and pop that big ole’ head of his. Luci should be let out of the box, as he needs to make room for Booger. Maybe a couple Millennium in that Box would straighten him out. Luci /Pelegrino made short appearances, and has said many times he had no problem coming back for Day trips…Ha!
          Is this definite they are coming back. I new there was talk at the convention that Jensen wanted Gabe back but never thought it was more than this. Balti I have never heard any news whatsoever. But would love either back. Not so keen on Gabe but love Balti. I did wonder how they will eventually get Metatron out of heaven. Who will go in and boot him out. If Sam can cast Gadreel out, how about Sam going up there and doing the same to Metatron for Kevin. So it could be a HUGE possibility that Luci maybe on the road back?

          Love Aunty B xxx

          Like

          1. Oh man! Do I hate Metatron. He is like the most hateable villain evah!
            I love to hate his conniving arse, but he does need a serious beat down. (So does Gadreel. I’m totally off him but if he can be saved then maybe he will be.)

            Don’t agree there. For me I think Azazel was the most hated. For what he put the boys through he was responsible for John and Mary’s deaths. True he’s bad. But not in Azazel’s league. He gets people to kill for him which is pretty heinous. Lucifer was pretty bad on Sam as far as torture went.

            Love Aunty B xxx

            Like

            1. “(So does Gadreel. I’m totally off him but if he can be saved then maybe he will be.)”
              I have a feeling that Gadreel will see that Metatron is a bad guy and end up helping Sam and Dean. Oh wouldn’t it be a kick in the butt if Sam needs to let Gadreel save Dean? Or would he??

              Not if Dean has anything to do with it. Didn’t Dean say to Cas, dead man walking! He’s hell bent on gagging Gadreel at the moment considering what position he put the boys in. He’s only out for revenge so I can’t see this happening. He may change and see the light, possible but I can’t see this.

              Love Aunty B xxx

              Like

            2. Gadreel doing the right thing for once to save his brothers? Now where have I heard that theme before? Gadreel still needs to repent and I don’t think there is any way he can for killing Kevin.
              I think what this was meaning, was about when he let the serpent into the garden when he was talking to Metatron how ashamed he was and I think this only made his matters worse as Metatron played on his weakness.

              Love Aunty B xxx

              Like

          2. Before we act all Dean like and go ahead with a Lucifer/Michael returns theme, we need to think of the repercussions for the Winchesters, the fans, and the writers. Perhaps Lucy works thru the Mark of Cain so he does not need to walk the Earth. Michael is just not the one to lead the charge against Metatron- he is too self righteous and Cas would be well…. I would like to see Anna kick Metatron to the cage- let’s see a strong female. What do ya’ll think?
            We may be true jumping to conclusions. But since Lucifer appears to be at the helm of this story with Cain, who else would be at the forefront? You mention Anna which I never cared for at the time, (because she went back in time to kill Sam, and killed the real Sam) why would she come back in now? What about even Zachariah someone who was higher up in rank. Yes Dean killed him but hey its Supernatural. I am wondering if Cas will have anything to do with this story line, and what part he will play? I don’t want him saving Dean, but being involved with the mark some how makes sense too.

            Love Aunty B xxx

            Like

            1. I could watch that, yeah.
              The show does need another strong female in it and we already have a demon, so adding an angel would be cool.

              We do need another strong woman I thought Tara was ACE! Shame she only lasted ten minutes.

              Yeah, I’m not ready to forgive Gadreel for Kevin. Maybe if he sacrificed his existence to save someone, then maybe I could, but not right now. Right now, he’s just being a selfish dupe.
              I really want to see Dean kill Gadreel, for what he put Sam through. I think it will help him sort his head out. Dean is gunning for him right now and would make sense if he gags him.

              Love Aunty B xxx

              Like

  2. Dean traded his soul for Sam’s life. He gave up Lisa and Ben to help Sam(souless at the time) among other “got your back” moments. Yes, he has said”if there ain’t no you, there ain’t no me”. Sam tried throughout Mystery Spot and with Ruby to find a way to save Dean. He also let Amelia go to help Dean(ick-let’s not go there). So both have had their sacrificial moments. I thought the speeches during season 8 put Sam and Dean on an understanding of each other’s motivations. Sam wanted to take Dean to a brighter end and was not on a suicidal mission, he wanted to prove he was trustworthy. Dean’s speech in the church appeared to be sincere and not saving Sam just so he would not be alone in the world. And yes I know the show works every level of brotherly angst, but hearing Sam declare that he has a heart and won’t approve of killling the Pish ta ko in 9.13 makes his statement about Dean being sacrificial as long as it does not involve Dean being hurt all the more heartless in the name of honesty. Couple that with the obvious not mentioning the Mark of Cain’s toll and I am more suspicious that it is emphasizing Sam’s resentment of Dean as his older brother. Now Dean has called Sam a selfish bastard in the past. Sam has not been happy with Dean’s manipulations. They have always had each others’ backs so does Sam statement at the end of 9.13 designate that he no longer has Dean’s back? Can’t wonder if it is Sam being Sam but more stripped down or if it is the mark of Cain. I wondered a while back when Sam was possessed by Meg and tormented Jo(Born Under a Bad Sign) if his move on Jo was partly Meg playing with Sam’s wanting Jo and his jealousy that she liked Dean. Ruby tells Sam at the end of season 4, that he did not need the demon blood for power and that he “could fly” without the feather( DUMBO reference). So what is really inside that psyche of Sam’s? When he asks what the upside of his being alive is and Dean retorts honestly with the two of them fighting the good fight, Sam cannot see any up side.( See supenaturallydevoted.wordpress.com for full commentary.) I don’t think any of it is out of character for Sam. The past two episodes have dealt with disrupted families, Garth’s and the Pish ta ko’s,. These one off episodes are never really disconnected from main themes, so patience.

    Like

  3. Actually I guess I’m one of the few who doesn’t think that Sam or Dean is out of character. The way most fans use that word -I don’t even know what that means. Most fans seem to use it to mean the character is doing something they don’t like. Trust me people can still be unlikable and in character -look at Dean.
    No I don’t either now. After a depressing week I finally stomached to going on line and making notes of my own. The boys are not out of character this time, as I have worked out what’s going on. I am penning something together now, which is for my sister blog. But I will add it here. I think when fans say they are OOC its because we don’t understand what’s gone on in the show. We are not getting what the writers are saying. This year I have totally got. But last year until the finale was hard even now on re-watch to get my head around fully. I think the writers like to mess with our heads. Look at Sam last year!! Most fans haven’t liked Sam since season 4 when Sam almost killed Dean. That didn’t bother me because I knew Sam was tanked up on demon blood. He was out of his head and Dean was taunting him by calling him a monster. So I didn’t find S4 as bad as some still do. I did have a huge problem with Sam’s anger last season and still do.

    Its an intriguing idea, I grant that. I kind of like it but its still too easy an answer for everything that’s happening. It would ex plain why Dean looks so haggard and the serious drinking binge. Sam seems like his usual know it all self, though. 🙂 The Mark wouldn’t have to affect Sam anyway. All that Mark needs to do is make Dean think crazy thoughts to have him isolating himself.
    I grant you its an easier answer. But look at it this way. Last season it was full of perception. That mark is isolating Dean from the people he loves most Sam. Sam has said some cruel stuff to Dean which is pushing Dean further into this void the mark of Cain. Dean goes dark because of this, I bet you. This will force Sam to think and I hope save Dean. Its behind it I swear, look at Dean on re-watch look at his face, look at his eyes. He’s already distancing himself and saying to Sam his words didn’t hurt him. He’s hiding behind his real feelings. Sam’s words did hurt him. Its playing with his feelings, perception.

    Now if you wanna see OOC, then watch the previews with Crowley blubbering into a tissue. That was very disturbing -and kinda funny.
    OMG I did see a brief clip today, and he’s lying flat out on a bed drinking. This will be so wired. I heard Cas gets kidnapped in this one. Bartholomew also back and so are the ghost-facers I hated them the first time around. Oh this hiatus …..

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. I agree seeing Crowley having a human moment is kinda funny but I bet it is not gratuitous. He seems to be the Winchesters’ bitch again.
      I did read some where on a review that he’s still being human and he’s trying to get his old self back. Maybe this has something to do with his human traits of what Crowley used to be like as Fergus McLeod.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

    2. “Actually I guess I’m one of the few who doesn’t think that Sam or Dean is out of character. The way most fans use that word -I don’t even know what that means. Most fans seem to use it to mean the character is doing something they don’t like. Trust me people can still be unlikable and in character -look at Dean.”
      I agree. I do think though that they have taken Sam and Deans characters to their EXTREMES, so we sometimes question whether they are OOC.

      Wait and see as I’ve worked out what’s going on. It will surprise you all. But the writers have stayed true to form. I think once people get it they will see what Sam is doing and why he said what he did. Think about tough love! Another day and I’ve finished the article. Yes they do push the boys to extremes but this time its character growth. I am proud of Sam in this.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. I agree. They are both acting within the patterns of behavior we have seen before. Now it is exaggerated. Characters need to grow to prevent staleness. However, the heart of the show is the family and co dependency, so let’s be patient. Hoping the writers don’t go to far for too long. The question is how far would one of us go for our family member in the real world? Leave it to SPN to make fiction impose itself into the real world and make philosophers of us.
        This actually was what one of the fangasm fan girls were saying. The writers have only magnified on what is already there. It sure is. But I think its slightly deeper than this, now I begin to unravel all this. That Dean is basically copying his dad in making these wacky deals which end up in people getting hurt, Kevin. Sam is trying to get Dean to change. Its not the save that bothers him its what results within that save that bothers Sam, as we saw Sam save Dean without what went on in the angel possession. Both are hurting like hell, and so is my head.

        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

