What will happen to the mark?

Since I’ve been thinking about the Mark of Cain, I began thinking about the mark’s overall ending. How it will be removed from Dean, or will Dean have it on him permanently for ever and a day. I put a thread up asking this very question once he manages to kill Abaddon? What will happen to the mark once he’s killed her? Will Dean go back to being Dean and the mark vanishes, or will it make him much darker? Will he take on her persona? http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0460681/board/nest/227310787

So are we any further forward now that we are understanding the power of the Mark of Cain and how Dean is currently reacting to his shiny new toy and best friend for ever!! The mark is obviously a very powerful tool which only he can operate and use when he feels the need to use it. Wheeling it we now no comes with supernatural problems. How long will it take Dean to realize that once Abaddon is finally dead, what precautions will he take to get rid of the damned thing? He must no by now that it feels like a nose around his neck? Or is the mark so controlling that he is obliviously unaware that its causing him so many problems around him.

Click to view full size image

Of course my obvious question remains where will it all end? Is Sam’s life in danger of the blade, will Dean go the whole hog and kill his brother just like Cain did. Or are we thinking other less obvious routes the show could go? How the hell is Sam going to save Dean with all this power in his way? Have we seen something so powerful as the mark of Cain before? Sam’s demon blood era was tough on Dean, but is this going to hot up to be something like The Incredible Hulk!! Dean is already addicted to killing and feels comfortable with this emotion with out any real affect on his own humanity, let alone Sam’s right now. Is Dean changing that we don’t no what side affects will occur after. Just like Sam had with Gadreel. Will Dean learn anything from this event once is all over? Will he notice how blind he was in taking on the curse that manifested itself into what we currently see? Dean appears to get himself into these scrapes, but is it so easy to get out of them? 

Click to view full size image

Power is an evil source and very corrupt. The more menacing traits this tool takes on,  what power force will we encounter? What happens to Dean the more lives his kills, and continues to kill under the influence? He already witnessed Kevin’s death so this amount of life lost will drain on his emotions even more. Actions as we no have consequences, and the evil forces that are at bay now will get its comeuppance. But does it always end the way we want it to? Will our hero suffer long lasting damage from the mark? Will it eat away at him for a time to come. Can Dean ever be free of this burden once his killing spree is over? Have you any thoughts as to how the mark will go away, and leave Dean in peace?

Of course you are aware I have not seen the episode yet, so feel free to send me you views on how the episode went. I have heard very good vibes eight and above out of 10 for this one. How do you feel it went. What did you find were positives and negatives on first or multiple viewings?

 

11 thoughts on “What will happen to the mark?

  1. There are some things said in the interview with Jeremy Carver that got me thinking about what may happen to the Mark of Cain. He mentions that the boys bond is stronger than they imagined and in another part says something about there possibly being more to be said about Sam’s possession by Gadreel. So, now I am thinking that the bond between Sam and Dean will end up being the force (maybe with the help of some leftover grace left in Sam by Gadreel) that erases the MoC from Dean’s arm. To me it makes sense because if it gets down to a scene where Dean seems out of control and is going to ‘off’ Sam, I can see something in Sam’s presence that triggers hesitation and then physical contact between them could spur something–the force of their bond so to speak. In my head it plays out like the scene where Sam sees the toy soldiers in Swan Song and overcomes Lucifer. Dean could be empowered through his bond with Sam to overcome the mark and the grace Sam still holds could cause the mark to disappear. Oh well…fun to consider, anyway.
    If he is saying the bond is stronger than they think, perhaps it may have some overall power in getting them out of this predicament. They’ve been bickering badly all season, and for the bond to shine through when we least expect it will be amazing and a real wow moment. They need to get back on track and salvage what they’ve got left, each other. That is a really good strong point, I almost had forgotten about the grace in Sam. It would again be amazing to see this kick into action and save Dean some how, by healing him or whatever. Sam’s voice is already getting through to him and grounding him, but eventually Sam might need something stronger than his voice the next time. It could well be a Swan Song mark 3 moment but hope for something a tad more original as they did that last season with Dean and Cas in the crypt. I do love the sound of the grace contributing to this scenario in some way though, that does fascinate me.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  2. Bella, just wanted to add you were right about Dean becoming Crowley’s bee-yotch! I am absolutely no good at speculation. I don’t think I’ve ever guessed anything the writers have ever done but so far you’ve been consistent since last season. (I still think you over think the writers though. The writers are never very complicated in their plot twists and turns.)

    Yeah. I don’t no what it is about this year, for the first time since season 5 everything has been falling into place. Its so wired. I can’t explain it. It just seems to be clicking into place. I think looking up the Cain and Abel story helped me on line a bit, I had an idea then what might go their way. I also found last season I was busy thinking up ways to get Sam off the hock using Supernatural ideas. When on the ending it was all face value which up set me all the more. Last season was so, so, so tough. So many don’t like Season 8 and can’t bring themselves to watch it. Season 8 wasn’t Sam’s season. I hope this time they turn it around for him and get him to save Dean big time.

    Crowley is definitely taking advantage of the broken bond between Sam and Dean to weasel his way into Dean’s weak spots. Sam can see what the Mark and the First Blade is doing to Dean but he doesn’t know that Crowley is Dean’s version of Ruby.
    He’s manipulating Dean to kill and won’t stop at this either I don’t think. I think I rather hope that Dean’s brain box will kick in and realize before its too late, that Crowley has been playing him since the beginning. Dean really will end his days this time. I think Crowley’s clock is ticking. Will he last much longer?

    I think Crowley, once again thinking he’s got the upper hand, will overplay it and this time he’ll lose his life. It has happened every time, he thinks he’s won against the Winchester’s. He wins because he never underestimates them but then he’ll go too far and lose everything he gained. And even though he may start out with Dean under his thumb, Dean and the First Blade together may not be as easy to control as he thinks. Doing this to Dean could end up being his last play. Certainly Sam isn’t going to stand for it. Not after Ruby. He won’t see Dean fall into the same trap as himself and Cas did.
    I’m thinking the same thing above, I think his days are numbered and his clock is ticking. Whether he will survive this ending god knows, but I think he’s sailing close to the wind. He’s got to be on the ball with this story other wise he’s a dead man. Dean could easily turn on Crowley and Sam as we’ve seen this week only too clearly. We don’t no how powerful Dean is being lured in by the mark, and what its strengths are. But the more he uses it the more Dean will be under its spell. I can’t wait to see how far this goes. Get past this Dean, you can do it!!!

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. “Bella, just wanted to add you were right about Dean becoming Crowley’s bee-yotch”
      I don’t think Dean was Crowley’s bitch until the last few minutes of the episode. Until Crowley overheard Sam tell Dean they should kill Crowley and he got the blade, I think Crowley was DEANS bee-yotch! lol

      I thought all along he’s been plotting this to get Dean to take on the blade. He’s been using Dean behind his back the whole time. I think when he overheard Sam it was confirmed to him that Sam might get Dean to turn the blade on him, and was protecting him self from the knife. Or did I miss something here?

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

  3. This is Off-Topic:
    But the second episode of From Dusk Til Dawn finally showed one of the vampires. They’re fairly nasty creatures, just like in the movie. They have a lot of snakelike qualities – Giant fangs that fold out when in use, yellow, reptilian eyes, they’re mostly immune to religious symbols and sunlight, they use their fangs to siphon their victims into grey husks and are then able to shapeshift into the person they just killed. (Which makes for a really chilling and surprising moment in the show.)

    And one final note: One of the lead characters is seriously batsh** insane. He spends a large portion of the movie hallucinating ,sometimes about things he couldn’t possibly know, but turn out to be true or things that will come true later. His elder brother seems completely nonplussed and utterly helpless about it. I’m not entirely sure if this insanity is magical in origin since shady people seem to know about it.

    Just FYI for those interested in seeing it. I have it on good authority that this show will be on Netflix sometime this year.
    I’ve not heard anything about this or seen any info. I find if its all about one monster through out the series I get easily bored. True Blood bored me a bit in the end even though I loved most of the characters. I still never saw the end as the show changed channels in the UK and its not one we get. So lost out on it. I will keep a look out for it though on your recommendations. Thanks!! 😉

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  4. Moose is a loud mouth he felt the need to say that they wanted to off Crowley right in front of him
    I don’t see Sam as a loud mouth, he was just protecting Dean from Crowley, I think he was concerned the knife might end up in himself.

    Anyway I think they will keep Dean with the mark and play in to it a bit longer probably in to next season. Maybe Dean will learn to live with it or even add a new weapon to the stash(which I doubt)
    I think I read this week that JC appeared to say that most of the story lines will be cleared up by the finale. I think they are starting Season 10 with a clean slate again. It depends I think on how Dean feels after. He doesn’t like being controlled by anything supernatural so I am not certain he would want to keep it for the long term. They may perhaps find a spell to leave Dean’s arm. Or as others have said for Dean to pass it on to someone else who is also worthy which appears more logical at the moment.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. “moose is a loud mouth he felt the need to say that they wanted to off Crowley right in front of him”
      That was one of my few complaints about the episode. That and how snippy he was towards Crowley while Crowley was helping them. Hey hate him as much as you want but as long as hes useful don’t give him a reason to turn on you!

      I think Sam was protecting himself more than anything, he knew that blade in Dean’s hand might turn on him. Crowley has been helping the boys but only for his own ends, he’s using Dean hock line and sinker to kill Abaddon, so what’s he gonna do later on with Dean? Sam appeared smart and quick Crowley can also be too.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

  5. “Does Cain still have it? I thought he gave it to Dean”

    Sorry if I confused you-my bad. When I said why else would Cain still have it I meant when Dean got to him. Also you dont have to be a knight of hell to kill Abaddon, you just need the matk and the blade.

    Like

  6. Loved the episode. The brothers weren’t outwardly fighting, Crowley was funny and pathetic (stealing candy!), Dean touched the Blade (Jensen you rock), Sams had enough of Crowley, Abaddon is gathering her forces.
    I think the only way to get rid of the mark is to pass it on. The show really hasn’t said otherwise-why else would Cain still still have it?

    Thinking back yes your right. But then who will Dean pass it onto. He can’t pass it back to Cain as he wants Dean to kill him. Is this why Cain passed the mark on in the first place so he could die curseless? A free man …

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. Does Cain still have it? I thought he gave it to Dean, but okay if that we’re the case then he wouldn’t need Dean to kill him later. Does Abaddon have a mark too? Will she recognize it on Dean when they meet because apparently the rule seems to be only another Knight of Hell can kill a Knight of Hell. Does this make Dean a Knight now? If he kills Abaddon will he become a demon. If he kills Abaddon, and Crowley would that then make him King of Hell? If he kills Cain like Cain asks does the mark just go away or will he be stuck with it. Can he even pass it on and to whom? Sam?
      Ikeke you’ve just written the questions I’ve been thinking for a while. So I am a bit a head of you. I’m not sure about Abaddon, may find this out on the forum. I think only Cain has the mark as Lucifer passed it down to him. So I don’t think Abaddon will have one. If Abaddon doesn’t have the mark, then no Dean won’t be a knight of hell. But I always thought about ending up or becoming close to being a demon. I keep thinking he will be stuck with it for ever until he finds someone worthy like himself and Cain did with him. He might have to go through the same process to get rid of it. I had this thought in my head that Dean can’t pass it onto Sam as Sam is not the First Born. It can only be handed to First Born’s, hence the title of the episode.

      Obviously you guys can tell I’m majorly confused here but I still loved this episode and have already watched it like…37 bajillion times since Tuesday. This writing team I don’t like too much but this episode wasn’t bad at all. Sam was on his game, I loved Crowley, as usual and Jensen was totally on point. And not once did I find myself yelling at the TV.
      I did love it as well after finally watching it for the first time and only time Thursday. Its taken me three days to do the review on Supernaturally devoted. http://supernaturallydevoted.wordpress.com/ please view all of you if you get the chance. hint! hint!! I loved how in gear Sam actually was, and all this crap about Sam not saving or loving Dean, just look how Sam goes back and saves Dean how focused he is, and how in tune he is in jumping in and acting as Dean’s white charger. I think this writing team finally are getting their act together its taken them a while.

      Loved Crowley’s phone ID- Not Moose! And that Cougar was totally prowling Dean. I think this episode will be one of my favorites this season along with Road Trip, Dog Dean Afternoon and First Born. I also really liked the first half of the season this time, but once again the filler episodes were kind of blah and too many, I think.
      I did I thought that was a hoot! I loved how Sam tried to intervene there and she blocked him and went for Dean regardless. Poor Sam!! I am so with you apart from Dog Dean afternoon. I find that one still a bit cheesy. Some area’s were funny but not so much on re-watch. It didn’t much for me at all. I have so gone of Slumbar party I won’t watch that again I don’t think. Except for the introduction of Dorothy who I thought was great!!

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. What was wrong with Slumber Party? It’s not my fave but I don’t hate it. Oh that’s right, I think you just don’t care for Charlie. I give the episode a “B”. It wasn’t too bad. And hey, the brothers were still pretty hawt, no matter what.
        I think it was a bit of a let down in the fact that it was all filmed in the bunker as Sam was still recovering from the trial sickness. It was mediocre at best. Some area’s were slow in getting to the story, and felt the ending was a bit weak and corny. Both boys being
        possessed. The basic oz story line just bored me. I felt it earned a c+ for effort regarding the CGI moments and especially Dorothy who I loved. I thought she might have taken to Sam but ended up going off back into Oz with yes, Charlie.

        Tuesday’s episode gets a B+. But only because I suspect some better episode will come along later this season that will get an “A”. There’s always at least one of those every season that I compare all the other episodes to. So far, the worst one this season was Rock and Hard Place, which gets a “D”. And although a few episodes have been pretty bad ( Sharp Teeth- which gets a “C”) and/or boring, none have been as bad as Rock.
        Those two and Slumber Party is on that list for me. I also didn’t care for the angel episode I’m no angel I think. All that commotions over the reapers and being raped. Cas having Sex and dying and being bought back to life by supernatural means. It was dull. But this episode I gave almost a 9.5 as it was up there with Road Trip and First Born for me as it felt like a follow on and moved the mythology forward in a big way. Rock and a hard place was poor, Dean in dire need for sex was so off putting, it felt forced and a bit if I’m honest OOC…

        I loved it when Sam said, “Take me to my brother!” I loved it!( I think a lot of people are mistaken about what Sam said to Dean. I think he said that he wouldn’t do to Dean what Dean did to him in the same circumstances. At least that’s how I heard it.) But at any rate, I’ve watched the episodes again from the brothers separation and if you listen closely to the things Sam says, he’s pretty clear about why he’s been so upset. I do realize that not everyone can watch the episodes multiple times like that though.
        Sam I strongly, strongly feel wouldn’t save Dean without some good reason. Last season was the first time he’d ever done this, even though his reason wasn’t great it became apparent why he did it. Sam is always in saving mode when it comes to Dean, as I said before it was all about the deals that Dean makes that pissed Sam off the most. Because were family …… I think the writers this season have been up front regarding Sam, and he has grown up a lot.

        This season has been okay for me. It’s not as bad as season seven and there are some pacing problems, too many breaks and too many filler episodes but the episodes aren’t too bad. Rather typical for Supernatural and better than most of what’s on TV now.
        I didn’t find 7 so bad actually I thought 6 for me was dire. That felt really off kilter and disjointed, even now on re-watch I keep thinking what was that all about? I hated domesticated Dean, and Soulless Sam, so yuck for that season still. There have been way to many fillers for me, and its only started to hot up now as per normal its a race to get to the finish line with 7 episodes remaining they have a lot of holes to fill. I wish them luck!!

        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

