The fear of being ALONE?

Sam: I was ready to die, I was ready. I should have died. But you, you didn’t want to be alone. That’s what this boils down to you can’t stand the thought of being alone. I’ll give you this much, you are certainly willing to do the sacrifice, as long as you’re not the one being hurt.

Click to view full size image

A thought struck me about this text about this magic word of being ALONE. I think one of the things I’ve always learnt is I don’t think anyone really wants to be truly alone.  I think deep down we are all guilty of this feeling, even our Sammy! As the years go by one by one our family decreases in size to the last two standing. Of course not in every circumstance, but in this relationship when we get down to the raw knuckles of the thing all they are left with is each other. Dean’s fear of being without his brother scares him to death, but why? Is this also Sam’ fear not just Dean’s.  Is Sam right in throwing it out there at Dean. Is his assumption right in tackling what he fears might be the truth of the argument, or was there something else troubling Sam? Over the years we have witnessed both brothers fully alone, for quite long spells of time. The obvious hits us the audience like a ton of bricks that neither can cope in the real world, I should say their real world. Your right in thinking they both go to pieces, literally.

 

Both boys are in protection mode without really thinking of any consequences that may loom. They automatically go into white charger mode and think SAVE. It’s become a natural feeling that they charge in their all guns blazing. So have the writers tricked us into believing that now they wouldn’t save the other. Or is this the major twist coming up that yes in fact they would. Had those words from Sam been planted for a reason, to set up the not too distant finale? Saving people is in the remit of the shows direction, and we know it’s a contributing factor within its history. But will this be the big gesture that gets Sam back to normal, that shows us his old caring side once again? We know Sam can be a dick, but why this time when he knows that Dean would to the right thing and save him. Sam knows in his heart that this is what Dean would inevitably do. So why did he really begin to doubt it and question it. We know the deals were really behind those words when we tried earlier to salvage something from this current mess. But is this really all it is. We know that Sam also hates being without Dean and in the cold light of day refuses to live well without his brother. Like he feels guilty of carrying on his life without Dean with him. So what were the writers really trying to get at? That Sam really does want to be alone without his brother? Or the complete reverse, or something else entirely?

Click to view full size image

Is Sam better at living alone completely than we were always lead to believe? Running off to Stanford forced him to grow up. Where as Dean lived day in day out within the parameters of the Family Business. Sam was used to being without Dean for a certain time; it wasn’t until he got back together with him on a regular basis that those feelings began to change. Could it be that Sam now can’t find it easy to be without Dean, and it‘s him who struggles to cope without his brother. Has the tide changed? Is Sam trying to say we save each other Dean, but this has got to change. Neither of us can live without the other the thought of being alone completely and that scares the crap out of me, and I need you to be safe near me without going off and doing those crazy out there deals that nearly gets you killed. One scene in the past Sam tells Dean just don’t die. Dean replies I’ll do my best.  We get that these two brothers get highly strung, and get into the grove with the rigs of daily life, but the true fact is, they both fear the word ALONE, not just DEAN. They both have trouble admitting the word and can’t bear to contemplate life on their own. Would life be over for them if one wasn’t ever around? Sam in season 4 with Ruby wanted to go into a suicide mission and she saved him, just so he could be with Dean again. He was willing to take out his own life as he couldn’t bear the thought of the loneliness without Dean.  So I am finding hard to think that Sam really meant those words, and they weren’t from his heart. What is JC trying to tell us here, any thoughts …..

9 thoughts on “The fear of being ALONE?

  1. Sam has been able to live a life without Dean and the family business. As a boy in Arizona with a dog and lotsa pizza, at Stanford, and with Amelia in Richardson Texas. He can function as “one of us”. He can fit in. He is drawn back into the life by circumstances. Dean has also had a “normal life” with Lisa, but he was always looking around the corner, or locking doors. Both are pulled back into the family business Just because you can function alone, does not mean you should. It isn’t fear of being alone at this point. But being together is more powerful.
    Circumstance, yes good point. I don’t think Dean felt comfortable with his domestic life, I think he was always searching for Sam behind the scenes. Something always kept him back from 100% being in that role completely. The business is like a magnet, it just draws them back. Look at Sam with Amelia he gave her up and went back to the cabin to reflect, its in the pair of them and it will always be there.

    As to Destiel… not sure a network is ready to go there and frankly what would be the point in the story? If it doesn’t fit a plot line, then it is salacious and bating and better left to the shippers. Let’s not go there if its only purpose is to make headlines and it adds nothing else. SPN has made a point of having gay characters be strong and against stereotypes. Dean and Sam are both sexual, let’s leave it there.
    I don’t like it, I don’t ship it. I think it would spoil what is already there, what is strong as a unit, and special, why destroy something that is okay as it is just to please a certain part of the fandom. I agree with you Debbab.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. “As to Destiel… not sure a network is ready to go there and frankly what would be the point in the story? If it doesn’t fit a plot line, then it is salacious and bating and better left to the shippers. Let’s not go there if its only purpose is to make headlines and it adds nothing else. SPN has made a point of having gay characters be strong and against stereotypes. Dean and Sam are both sexual, let’s leave it there.”

      Well said!

      Like

  2. Every journey requires separation. When we leave here to go there, we separate from what is to go forward. Winchesters are on a journey which may require painful separation in order to appreciate the relationship they have had. The character Frank called them codependent with a few other terms to define the relationship. The characters have better results when they work together as brothers, but they have been okay working their own cases this season too as partners and most recently, Sam alone. Even though Dean has stated to Sam,”If there ain’t no you, there ain’t no me” in the past, I believe he did not save Sam this time because he was afraid to be alone.Which is why Sam’s comment cut so deeply into Dean’s soul. The writers have done a decent job differentiating the characters even to the details of their respective bedrooms. This is a good thing as both are adults and do not have to be tied at the hip all the time. As we know, the brother relationship is at the heart of the series, so the writers are pulling at our hearts deliberately. After “Mother’s Little Helper” both Winchesters are united in their efforts against Abaddon, so that’s one step closer. However, whether the brotherly good will returns to its former glory is a large issue. Don’t think we will ever see the immaturity of jerk/bitch banter or the pranks as both Sam and Dean are adults. That doesn’t preclude funny banter. Can they air the next episodes fast enough for me as the two week separation has caused me to rant.
    I’ve said this all along its for a deliberate reason, that once the finale pans out, we will understand why the writers have written such shocking, heartbreaking and tearful words. It was a real punch in the gut, but for this not to end peacefully with a hug I and I think many others will be mortified. Yes they fall out, there getting older and don’t have to be joined at the hip. But do the writers have to be so cruel. Sam has had so much flack, many still say he should apologize to Dean. Which I still don’t get. Dean did the naughty Dead why should he be the one to apologize. But will it be the same? this is what many are saying. Can the harsh words be un-done and Sam’s mentality and trust in Dean be restored. I think its too soon this season for comforting words to happen. I think Sam is winding down, and is showing signs of breaking the ice, but what will it take for him to go the whole hog, and come out and say it. I need to see that hug!!!

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  3. Sam has been thru so much from the very start of his life. Dean has been his only constant throughout his unconventional, scary childhood and his constant companion for the past 10 years (with the exceptions of Dean’s stint in hell and purgatory). The first time Sam was without Dean, he became a demon blood junkie and when Dean was in Purgatory, I am convinced that Sam had a psychotic break down. He has not been the same since season 7. He hooked up with Jessica when he went to Stanford and did not speak to Dean for two years. However, we do not know how long Sam dated Jess or if he started dating Jess after he and Dean stopped communicating. I will assume it was afterwards since Dean had never heard of Jessica before the pilot episode. He did the same thing with Amelia. Hooked up with her soon after Dean went to Purgatory. Dean on the other hand had a three week long relationship with Cassie Robinson when Sam went to Stanford and only went to Lisa because Sam made him promise to do so. Based on their history, it appears that Sam has the problem with being alone. Dean is very protective of Sam, but while Sam was in hell, he continued on with his life and made a family with Lisa and Ben. Sam on the other hand, had fairy tale relationships and was not honest about his life with either Jessica or Amelia. It seems to me that Sam is scared shitless and is lashing out at Dean. He knows that his brother would do ANYTHING to prevent his death, so why he is acting shocked and hurt is beyond me. I think the writers are setting us up for either the final split or their glorious reunion. No in between with these two.
    Yes this has been hinted at that Sam has had some sort of mental break down. But it was never really fully explored. They didn’t to the story line any real justice and Sam’s character I think was let down badly. I get the feeling he had been with Jess a while before Dean knocked on Sam’s door. They looked well cosy and on good terms with one another. Sam was in hell, and Dean never gave up looking. He I don’t think really wanted to settle down, he’s a born and bread hunter and its in his blood. Its pretty obvious he did love Lisa but I think he only went to her out of respect for his brother. I think he would have stayed in the hunting game other wise. I also think Dean would have ended up the same way if Sam hadn’t suggested going to Lisa’s. Sam I am too pretty sure he is scared to death and is lashing out at Dean, not horribly but is pent up about being left behind and on his own. I can’t see it being a final split, even if it were the end of the series. The brothers bond is what makes this show tick. If that is divided what are we left with? I just hope to god its a glorious reunion and a damned good one with a decent heart to heart. I don’t want them to just shrug it off.

    Also, I heard a rumor on Instigram that Jensen has cleared it with his family to do a Destiel story line. Have any of you heard about this? There is supposed to be an interview out there. However, if the show turns into a Destiel soap opera, I will not watch. The story is about Sam and Dean. I could care less if Dean is straight, gay or bi; I just do not want the final season(s) to focus on him and Castiel at the expense of Sam.
    Nope, I have not seen this mentioned on the board any where. I don’t go on Instigram never used it. They are pretty quick in getting information out to us. I wouldn’t switch off, but I would be pretty annoyed at the show for doing it. As I don’t feel it would work out between the pair. I agree totally that I don’t want Castiel to be at the expense of Sam never in a million years, as this was what I feared when he first came onto the show. Was Sam going to be demoted/sidelined. I can never see it personally.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. “Also, I heard a rumor on Instigram that Jensen has cleared it with his family to do a Destial storyline. Have any of you heard about this?”

      I doubt this highly and i hope its not true. I just can’t see this happening at this late stage of the show

      Like

  4. I don’t think Sam is good at living alone. He hooked up with Amelia after not that long. And what did he do with his life before her? He was a Stanford graduate handy man. I don’t think either of them are better alone but I do not think Dean is afraid of it-or Sam for that matter.

    I think they are afraid of being the last one standing. The one who is left to pick up the pieces. You can see it in both of them when either is in trouble the look on their faces. They don’t say anything and pause before the odd concerned words ‘are you okay’. As Sam has said in this weeks clip. I think they are both scared to death of being totally alone.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. Yeah, I think Sam is in denial about being alone. Every time he’s been alone he’s made some spectacularly bad decisions. Whenever Dean goes off alone he has a tendency to make rash decisons too. I think the two of them keep a good check on each other’s craziness when they’re together, except for when they’re doing crazy sh** to protect each other.
      What did Dean say in season 5 I think at the start of Fallen Idols, ‘That its more than that, we keep each other human. And he was right. They can’t function without the other. Its like they’ve lost an arm or a leg. They do desperate things that they wouldn’t never do when they are together. They are like a magnet you can’t prize them apart.

      Okay that Destiel thing makes no sense. Why would he need to clear it with his family to work on his own show. I find it hghly unlikely that Destiel is going to happen. The show runners will simply continue to string those shippers along to keep them watching and hoping.

      I think as others have said its way too late in the shows history to turn this around now. There have been NO real signs of anything other than friendship. I think clearing it with his family means Danneel, as she is his wife. How she would feel seeing Jensen kissing another man etc. I have never heard anything of this report ever before. So I doubt it would be made public knowledge any way, Jensen is a very private man.

      I’m not even opposed to finding out Dean is Bi or Gay but its ridiculous to think that will happen on a Prime-time TV show on the CW. Supernatural really isn’t the venue for that and if that became the focus of the show I’d lose interest. I have no wish to watch a gay soap opera either (mostly because I hate Soaps. I will watch a gay action hero though,) but maybe there will be gay characters on Bloodlines. If Teen Wolf can do it and Buffy can get away with it, that would be the show for it.
      This show fails at relationships any way, so I can see it failing. I wouldn’t like it to happen as I still feel its wrong. That’s just my opinion. I see Dean as straight. Even though he tends to flirt. If its on Bloodlines I don’t think I’ll be watching. I am not looking forward to this spin-off I just have a bad feeling about it, that its doomed to fail. A number of spin-offs have been given the axe already.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. Actually I do agree about that too. I’m not feeling a whole lot of enthusiasm for the show. I will watch the episode because hey! It’s Supernatural and I’m going to watch it but I’m not going to watch a thinly veiled ripoff of The Originals, which I already can’t stand. I also suspect that it might be like The Kindred from back in the nineties, which I did watch but the acting was atrocious.
        I don’t watch TVD or the Originals, its not my kind of thing. This spin-off is about youngsters which doesn’t appeal to me straight away, I will certainly give it a feel two or three episodes and see where it takes me. It will give us something else to talk about here too if it appeals to me. I am not sure about the leads at the moment it has to be said.

        I mean, I’m trying not to have preconceived notions about it but this type of show has been done a lot and there’s another show on CW with the same premise so there’s going to be comparisons.
        I bet everyone will moan about this one just as much as they do now. But I just don’t think it will last. Even Jensen said on that podcast that spin-off’s don’t go all the way, so I don’t have high hopes but it may prove me and others wrong.

        Love Aunty B xxx

        Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

