Now that Abaddon is dead?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KiOekT9Jw4A 

Where does this exactly leave Dean?

He still has contact with the blade and its still in his possession which is such a concern for Sammy as he’s resorting to taking a gun to bed with him. Drastic measures for his own safety and his brothers spring to mind. He’s being cautious. Now that the wicked old witch is dead, how does this affect Dean, and what lies ahead?

 

Click to view full size image

Sam begs Dean not to take the blade with them.  He doesn’t treat Dean with kid gloves and spells it out to him that they don’t no anything about the blade, magic comes at a price and we don’t no what that price is. You don’t have to have it with you all the time, please! but by the looks of things Dean takes it on the hunt any way. Does Sam have a leg to stand on. Is he scared of what lies ahead just as much if not more so than Dean. Is he oblivious to his own dangers that he is so addicted to the damned thing that he can’t leave it behind for just one day.

Click to view full size image

How is this affecting his whole body, and mind. We mostly know its slowly driving him insane to the point that he won’t be in full control of it, and drastic measures will surely need to kick into place. Will Dean be so reluctant to give it up. Will he be so sealed to the blade that the mark won’t disappear? Now Abaddon is dead, where does this leave Dean? Is the biggest danger out of the way. Or has killing her done him more harm? Has it stretched him to the point where he is in fact turning into a monster himself. The very thing that Dean informed his brother about in season 4. ‘If I didn’t no you, I would want to hunt you’. Is this perfect symmetry at play again?

Click to view full size image

So what do you think of the blades power, now that Abaddon has been killed by it. Has it done its job, or is the blade more powerful than ever. Its not diminished in any way. Also how has Cain fared with out the mark, has he missed this curse? So can Dean see away out of this tunnel and back to normality, or has he passed that fine line of humanity, I think I mentioned before can he ever be normal now, or is this the end of the road. Is he pure demon the one thing he’s feared for years. Is this the way the story is taking us?

 

 

21 thoughts on “Now that Abaddon is dead?

  1. Hey! I thought all of Gadreel’s grace had been removed. i watched that episode a couple of times and I thought that Cas removed all the grace when he finished healing Sam. I was operating under the assumption that it was all gone.

    I think Cas stealing the grace using the same technique that Metatron used on him, is probably the problem. If Gadreel voluntarily gives his grace to Cas,then it’s not the same thing.

    Like

  2. its gonna be interesting wondering if the angels will have any resistance to it, its likely that metatron will meet the pointed end of that blade and Dean will become a demon or be changed by its power
    He really does look angry like a monster at the moment. He’s fully on rage when he attacks. I kept thinking about Gadreel’s grace still in Sam, if this will actually work maybe on Dean. But it could be possible that the angelic power might not work on demonic power. Never really thought much about that. Except when Cas and Crowley came to blows over the angel tablet Crowley deserted away from the scene.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. This is looking more likely after this week’s episode. The whole MoC thing is really heating up. It was very interesting to watch Jensen being totally crazy as Dean. By the end of the episode Dean has completely lost his shit!Its fascinating.

      Like

      1. Just look at the face on Dean/Jensen at the end. He seems more animal than human. No words required. Where is a panic room when you need one?

        Like

  3. Couple if thoughts about this week’s episode.
    1) Is Dean hanging on to the Blade because he promised Cain he would return and kill Cain? Per Cain’s request?
    2) Where is this “Gavin” story line going? This dim bulb from 300 years ago is wandering the 21st Century? Will we see him next season?

    I doubt if Gavin is going to be a regular he was just bought back to be a pawn in Abaddon’s game. Cain I hope is part of the story. As Dean knows that Cain is going to call for him. So he must have an idea Abaddon is now dead meat. So any one’s guess at the moment.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  4. Symmetry to when Sam said he could handle the demon blood and Ruby- well how great did that turn out? There is always a price to pay, even Cain told Dean that there is a heavy burden to pay for the mark. Think back to the Wishing Well episode, the magic always turns bad. At the beginning of season 9, I wrote an entry in this blog where I said I feared for Dean’s soul. So now that brings us to season 6 when we had soulless Sam. Dean doesn’t need sleep-clue? His intensity to kill things-clue? His ability to over power a big bad-clue?How badly impaired is Dean’s soul from the MoC? Rather than having a physical impact like the trials did on Sam, the MoC seems to be affecting Dean’s mental status if not his soul or what ever it is that makes us human.
    I know how I loved that line when Sam mentions this. We do notice that the writers make links to the past. How important the past is in the present. I think I remember this wondering how it would come into play. So early on they had sewn those seeds to make us think even more. I think the not sleeping was the first real hint that he wasn’t himself. I think from the Purge with Sam’s words made him sink to an all time low. You could see the pain in his eyes and how distant he was. They were all big clues, yes.

    The Winchesters have always slept with guns under their beds as I remember from past episodes but that Sam would think he needs it in the bunker, well maybe it’s just a Winchester habit. They still sleep in their clothing though! The different corporate approaches of the King and Queen of Hell might have been fun to watch, but it would take too much time away from the Dean arc and screen time from the leads. I do think that a bigger show down between Abaddon and Crowley could have been more one on one, because it was dragged out for most of the season and then it was used as a vehicle to show Dean as unstoppable with the blade. Maybe this was a time saver and the dark Dean is going to be the focus. Time is probably the same reason that Malachi was killed off screen. Not every detail can be shown in a 42 minute time frame.
    I no they’ve always slept with weapons and holy water and crucifixes, but it was just the way Sam leapt up from his bed as though Dean was some intruder. He’s sensing situations more now and he’s defending himself and Dean. He’s working out all is not right with Dean. Have we been here before? I have loved this season how Crowley manipulated Dean right from the start, just as Ruby did with Sam. Crowley was out for his own ends just as Sam was in killing Lilith. But Crowley got Dean to do his dirty work as he knew he wasn’t worthy enough to gain control of the mark.

    If Dean becomes the thing “that if I didn’t know you, I would have to hunt you” I hope the writers do a sincere job and not a quick fix. I think back to how much more could have been done with Dean’s post purgatory stress but the time allotted to each episode makes these topics impossible to explore in depth and might turn it to soapy. Sam became a demon for a brief instant at the end of season 4 and has spent so many years seeking redemption and approval from Dean. Maybe Dean can learn to feel what Sam felt and better appreciate Sam’s point of view about be ready to die. So now that Abaddon is gone (as if anyone is really gone in SPN), there is Gavin who having not returned to his own time, may set off new problems for season 10. That line about the lore was placed prominently in episode 21 so….. Writers just don’t make it a hoaky fix for Dean- a hug and everything is back to normal.
    Me too. The whole PTSD was cut short I think they did a poor job of his struggles and what he was dealing with personally. It could have been developed much more. But they don’t get over PTSD in five minutes which this story line felt like. This show has a habit of not stretching out stories enough. They seem to have an idea and not really see it through. I think they rush to the finale to cram it all in. I think Sam had a tough time over the demon blood, and I think it took Dean a long time to come to terms with it. Now he’s in the driving seat, yes he might pick up a sense of what Sam endured at the hands of Ruby. Dean is in the same position with Crowley. Is he next on the list to be slaughtered? I think Dean will learn a tough lesson here and it will make him think of Sam’s own struggles. Sam pulled himself back from the brink and managed to kick the habit, so I hope they do the same for Dean before its too late.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. I’m not too upset at how the death of Abaddon was shown. I never thought of Abaddon as the big bad or the focus of this season. From the time Dean got the MOC I always thought he would be the big bad for this season. It has the added benefit of being something we’ve not seen between the brothers before. We saw Cas go bad and become a god. We saw Sam go bad and become, briefly, a demon, but we’ve never seen Dean do it.
      I think so many are pinning their hopes on this. I hope it happens as it will be a huge disappointment. But if Dean doesn’t get rid of the mark into season 10 where is this gonna leave him. How much darker will he get before the damage is done. He’s already changing, just like we saw Sam with the demon blood.

      If not then it might be Crowley who turns out to be it. I know Barb hopes that’s not what happens but you have to admit, that s*** would make for some very exciting TV and leave us screaming for next season. All I know is I’m definitely going to be screaming at my television during the finale.
      The clip looks good, Sam and Cas lock Dean in the dungeon in the bunker. The same place where Crowley was kept prisinor. Dean is mighty pissed. It I think all may lead to where we think it might. But I bet they will surprise us and will end I think with three of them involved in the final clip. Jared as usual has mentioned “SUPERNATURAL’s @jarpad says finale has “the best last 5 seconds” of any season to date. Does it change the landscape? “Oh God, yes!” change the landscape sounds VERY dramatic.

      Is it just me or does anyone think that Castiel will become God for real? It would explain why Cas keeps being reincarnated and why God seems to favor him. Perhaps God was waiting for that one special Angel that showed true independence and initiative. The one Angel that picked the side of humanity and fought for it with his life. Maybe the reason why Cas keeps coming back is because God favors him and has high hopes that Cas will replace him.
      He always strikes me as more powerful than most angels. I always said in this blog that I thought he was something way more than an angel. He pulled Dean out of hell and many angels lost their lives in doing so. So he’s a pretty powerful Seraph. Cas has always been the stand out angel and the one to get the boys out of scrapes. So it could be a possibility. But then how would they erase away the theory that Chuck was god?

      Maybe that’s the reason God left, to see what would happen. If at least one Angel would transcend his programming and step up and protect humanity, even if it’s from his own brothers and sisters and Cas was just the first one to do this. God keeps giving him second chances because. He believes in Cas. Over the years Cas has asked that question a lot and this might be the reason. Metatron, no matter how much he wants it, is not Gods choice to take his place. It’s Cas.
      Its a very original thought, and I like it. Cas has always been the angel figure head, and it would also fill in those mysterious gaps. Cas doesn’t like to lead though, so that can still be up in the air. I always thought Cas could have been an archangel maybe. They may hint one day and tell us the real truth. I’ve been watching Lazarus Rising tonight and Cas back then, man that was one hell of an entrance. Dean really did suffer in that episode.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. “I know Barb hopes that’s not what happens but you have to admit, that s*** would make for some very exciting TV and leave us screaming for next season. All I know is I’m definately going to be screaming at my television during the finale”

        I will be screaming too!

        Like

      2. Hey Barb,
        One way I like to think about it is this. I love these characters and though there’s a side of me that hates to see bad things happen to them or see them fight or go bad, it would make for very poor and boring storytelling if nothing happened to them. I love a lot of characters in fiction but I try never to get too caught up in my feelings for them. One way I do that is prioritizing the story above everything else. Even the characters. Story comes before everything.

        I see your point about keeping Dean human and not letting him go bad bc Dean is the main counterpoint to all the monsters in this series but if Carver decides that letting Dean go really bad serves the narrative he’s creating, he’s going to do it. He has some kind of over arching story he’s trying to tell.He has an endgame and I appreciate a writer whose willing to sacrifice his characters, physically, emotionally and mentally to make his story work and I hope he is brave enough to do that, despite what the fans may want.

        But this is just how I approach the show. I’m not the storyteller. I have to just accept whatever story Carver tells. When I can No longer do that, I’ll stop watching it. Some people have other ways of approaching the show, but this thinking helps me do it.

        Like

        1. “I see your point about keeping Dean human and not letting him go bad bc Dean is the main counterpoint to all the monsters in this series but if Carver decides that letting Dean go really bad serves the narrative he’s creating, he’s going to do it. He has some kind of over arching story he’s trying to tell.He has an endgame and I appreciate a writer whose willing to sacrifice his characters, physically, emotionally and mentally to make his story work and I hope he is brave enough to do that, despite what the fans may want. ”

          I agree as long as he sacrifices them for a GOOD story-last year sacrificed Sam and the stroy s*cked! I dont want hi to do that to Dean too!

          Like

          1. I would prefer to suck in a lot of air in a large sigh of despair or at being aghast at the finale, as I did with the finale to season 8- rather than scream. “Sacrifice” did take my breath away, not only for the pain Sam was in, but the angels falling was so artistic- I gasped. Hoping season 9 finale makes be gasp as well although it will set up several months of waiting for season 10.

            Like

        1. That would be an interesting arc for him. I can’t see any reason he’d do that but it could happen.

          Incidentally they’re being real cagey about Cas coming back. Think he might be ruler of Heaven next season? I’d sort of like that. He would Put the angels back on their mission of caring about humanity instead of trying to kill them all. The Heaven storyline would be over, souls would get in that deserve to be there and Cas journey from indifferent to good, from bad to human and humble would make a lot of sense. His experiences would make him a good God but I’d miss him something awful. Just speculating, tho’.

          Like

          1. Interesting possibilities. If the Heaven Gates story ends this season it will be an all time quick resolve to a major arc unless it was just a vehicle to get Dean to go dark. I just feel that with the wrapping up of secondary characters this season and last that the writers might go back to the original MOW with a major brother arc unresolved or taking the show in an entirely different direction. Not sure fans would take kindly to eliminating Cas as a force, but for the first 3 years he was not part of the show and it worked. Just suspicious that Misha has not been signed yet and that most of the secondary characters in the Winchesters’ life have come to a resolve. It may be the CW playing with our minds. I just wish the network would do more promos for the show as they do for other CW ‘hits” such as Reign which is not as intricate a plot as SPN. How much can be resolved in 2 episodes? The writers will probably make us say WOW! They really went there. Looking back at the season, there have been some unbelievable scripts.

            Like

  5. Whatever they are going to do with Dean I just hope they’ll do it properly… I’m saying this because I’m a little bit disappointed on how the Show treated Abbadon. She actually didn’t do anything at all, and looked like a bigger looser than a big bad antagonist! Where is her great army of soulless psychos and new borne demons? She faced the MOC alone knowing it is very powerful! At the end of the episode I just thought:”What the Hell??!!”…
    I understand what your saying. She did however kill a lot of people, and was as you say gathering souls to make her own demon army for what reason? We didn’t get this far did we. I think as per usual they killed her off too soon. I think she should have a least lasted until the finale or season 10 premier. We no how special those episodes are and I think it would have made much more of an impact. I think the scene its self was dramatic and worth the wait. I did love the episode very much, for these two writers it had a lot going for it. They are getting better at pacing and dramatic plots.

    I’m sorry, but I didn’t like the episode… everything is feeling so shallow… Of few importance… So I’m worried now about Dean story line and that whatever is coming is going to be short, predictable and disappointing… like bad sex!! There’s little passion in the script lately… We have no insight of Sam thoughts at all, and even with Cas he talked about Gadreel!! And Cas, who was worried about Dean, didn’t go with them against Abbadon?! No kidding, Abbadon!!??… It makes no sense…
    I think as per usual the finale will pan out and all this will make much more sense. This season has been Dean heavy and I think we still have much excitement to come. Is he going to face Cain, what’s he going to do about the mark, and the blade. This show takes a while to heat up and they have much still to get through until the finale. So I am keeping fingers crossed it will work out. Its not disappointed me before. If this make you feel any better Stella.

    So, I think they are going to turn Dean into a demon or just a psycho killer with no care in the world and this will be season 10 main story line. That’s why the Show is fast and easily getting rid of the actual bad guys… but the situation they have created (hopeless and probably evil Dean) would need at least 2 seasons to reform a good relationship between the brothers, but I don’t think we’ll have that much. So I’m worried they’ll pull some magic twist like:” Dean is irreparably evil but you just have to clap your hands and say I love you my big brother and everything will be OK again!”…
    :-/

    I always try and be optimistic. I no fans have their doubts, but we just need to give the story time to develop. I think it will work out okay. I don’t think Dean will go fully dark. Dean still remains the righteous man and the good guy. Its in his blood to remain the human one, most of the time. I also think in the past they have heavily feature on Sam and now Dean does have some decent stories its the case of will they or won’t they. Sam never went totally dark, Dean pulled him back to safety so this is what I am banking on that Sam will step up to the plate and do the right thing this time. Don’t feel so down about the scripts it will become clearer in time.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. I know… I shouldn’t complain, but the Show isn’t giving me the vibes it did at the beginning anymore, and it makes me just sad and frustrated… more so ’cause I believe there won’t be a season 12, maybe not even an 11 (I’ve just that feeling!).
      Anyway, after all I’m still thinking about our supernatural brothers, and there are so many similaritis between souless Sam and the actual Dean that I thought that maybe Dean won’t became a demon but just louse his soul. To whom I don’t know, if Crowley or Lucifer or who knows, but it would call back the stolen souls storyline. And now that Misha has been confirmed for season10, I hope he’ll work a lot with Jared! Sam and Cas, the both of them, after Dean and versus Crowley, would be awesome!! *_*

      Like

      1. It’s all about the ratings for the show. They seemed to have slumped recently. Perhaps in competition with basketball playoffs. Really? What’s more important than hunting things, saving people, you know, the family business. Seriously, the actors do a great job but sometimes the pacing of the show with back door pilots and episodes without subtext relating back to the main arcs get people tired. Audience starts to surf during commercials and gets interested in something else and forgets to tune in. Of course this is just the ratings measured of 18-34 yolds. There are many of us not in the demographic that watch.We don’t count in the ratings business. Even though we are the ones who can probably buy the products pitched, the sponsors look for that specific demographic. The audience is there IF everything aligns for a season 10. Once the quality goes the actors will not be interested as they do seem to care about the product presented. Season 10 is pivotal as I too feel a certain wrap up this year of secondary characters. Hoping not the end but that is Metatron talks about in his rant.

        Like

  6. I truly hope he doesn’t become a demon!
    I no your not keen on this barb, I am just thinking of all the possibilities. You know me by now, how I love to dramatize what might be, as for all we no its just pie in the sky. Its make believe until it actually happens. Don’t get het up about it, as I doubt it will go this far.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

