If Dean is cured?

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately, and discussions have come out more or less the same. That if Sam does cure Demon Dean, Dean at the end of ‘Do you believe in miracles’ Metatron ends Dean. So in all tense and purposes Dean does not exist, he’s dead. His soul is twisted and still bears the Mark of Cain. So Sam has a mountain of work to think about. If Sam does cure him, how will the writers get around this one. What scenario will they think up to get Dean out of this hole? Leave him a demon is this their only option?

Click to view full size image

Is it this easy for Sam to cure Demon Dean, and bring Dean back to whom he once was? Is Dean so far twisted that Sam can’t untwist Dean. Could Sam actually be forced to work along side Demon Dean because he can’t find a cure. Or a cure all scenario? If the Blade is the real problem behind twisting Dean into who he is, is this Sam’s best bet in trying to get Dean back to who he really was? I am also forced to ask myself will Dean ever be the same again? Was this also the burden that Cain was trying to tell Dean way back in ‘First Born’. That he will never be free of the Mark, and will remain a demon for all eternity?

Click to view full size image

By the sounds of things I doubt the writers will leave Dean permanently a demon. I think this show just likes to dabble their toes in the water with the boys and not leave them on a hook for all eternity. So if my prediction is to be believed again using our imaginations how do we think Dean will be saved, using what methods and by what means. I think back to all the times that Sam was in trouble and Dean had to do way out things to save Sam, how will this be any different?

Click to view full size image

So my question is how can Dean come back from this, knowing what we know that his body that contained him is dead. What chances does Dean having in coming back to normal and being free from the MoC and the taint that shadows him. Bella would love to know how do you think the writers will wriggle out of this one?

32 thoughts on “If Dean is cured?

  1. Just want to say, as much as I might bitch about the show, at a certain point I just don’t care and I’m just excited to see the brothers back on my TV again and ready for action. I expect to not be able to thing critically for about the first four episodes or so, cuz that’s what always happens to me. On some level, no matter what a person thinks about who gets more airtime and how the writers can’t write certain people it’s just good to go on another adventure with them.
    I know what you mean Ikeke. I am never bothered about who gets what screen time as I love them both just the same. I can’t wait to follow their adventure either and I think this summer has dragged like hell and cannot wait for season 10. I just hope its something that I approve of that either brother has done wrong. I am so tired of the angst they need to be on the same page just for a while at least. I miss those tender brother moments those are few and far between.

    I know a lot of people, if they had to pick at least one TV character to have brunch and a conversation with, they’d pick Dr. Who. But I’d pick Sam Winchester. (Closely followed by Willow from Buffy and Abbie Mills from Sleepy Hollow.) Its gonna be nice visiting with him again no matter how much the writers neglect him.
    I love Dr.Who but I am not a crazy fan like I am of this show. I love their story telling. I would say Sam Winchester has been a favorite character of mine for ages. I can go way back to my favorite TV shows like The Professionals and adore Doyle and some say the boys were based on the Professionals. And I can see the resemblance. I love STNG and William Riker and Wesley Crusher are so good. The original Tomorrow People was the first TV show I feel in love with and adored those characters. Particularly Stephen and John. My other all time favorite show was Robin of Sherwood and I fell in love with Michael Praed. So SPN was my first real horror show as I was never very keen on them.

    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. The show does such a good job keeping us involved with the fictional characters as well as the real lives of the actors, that we might actually miss the characters as if they were family members we haven’t seen for a few months except in family shared videos and photos. Sometimes, we might wonder what were the writers thinking, but overall we like to spend an hour with our family and”family don’t end with blood.” Of course, most of my family doesn’t pose for Harper’s Bazaar or Saxx underwear, but family is more of a feels thing- family business and we do not always agree with our family’s decisions but we are usually there to help with the consequences.

      Like

  2. What I would love to see happen is Sam curing Dean of being a demon and closing the gates of Hell. According to the show this would also kill Sam. I’m not really excited for another Winchester death but I love the idea of Sam sacrificing for Dean. Season 9 had a lot to say about Dean saving Sam when he shouldn’t’ have – that they sacrifice too much for each other and it has to stop (according to Sam). In this season I think Sam will eat those words – save Dean, close hell and possibly die. If he does die and heaven hasn’t been opened then he’ll be stuck in the vale and be a ghost presence? Choices, choices
    Re_act thank you for your post and great to see another new face.
    That is a really tough one, as I knew deep down that Sam didn’t mean those words, he was just really upset about the possession and lashing out at Dean. I couldn’t bear another season where one of them dies. Dean is technically dead any way, so there might never be a way back now for him. So for Sam to end up in the same fate would be a nightmare to watch. There are choices, and if Sam does go down the Crowley route, there is still the MoC to consider and get rid of, If Dean looses this, does he die again too? I get Sam’s plea of it having to stop, but to see him end this way would break me. I want my boys alive and kicking.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  3. Awesome post, but just so you know, the images aren’t loading.
    Thank you, great to see a new face in the crew too. I don’t know why some load and some don’t. Is it a mobile phone thing, where its just phones can’t read certain images?

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  4. Touched by an Angel of course (pun very well intended). I also hope that Sam cures or saves Dean from his demonic transformation, MoC included. I think the writers will get rid of the mark since Abbadon is dead, no more story line for it unless Dean becomes a Knight of Hell. The season lasts for 21 episodes. Why resolve this in 3? If the show wraps this up neat and tidy very quickly, what is the point of Dean becoming a demon beyond a fantastic season finale?
    I thought Dean was a Knight of hell now any way. Once he took on the Mark of Cain it was a done deal? I see Dean being cured by episode 5 according to spoilers, but the MoC still remains and causes problems later on according to JC. I guess only time will tell!

    Since Kripke’s last show has been canceled, I hope he returns as the show runner for their final seasons. I would love to see the brothers as they were meant to be. Sam saved the planet and mankind under Kripke; Dean let Sam go. Sam has needed saving since season 6 and Dean has held on tightly since Sam returned. Although I do not want either brother to die, their ultimate sacrifices in season 5 have been for naught since then. I just want Sam and Dean at peace with each other working the family business.
    Please don’t let either brother die. I could not bear that under any story line. I know it may end up this way. Just for effect and drama. And the very nature of their being. But it would be so, so unbearably sad. I’ve always been against it, as then one of them would be the last man standing, and neither want this fate, put on them. At first I did think Dean would be the one left standing as this still appears in the story telling the way it could go. But I just loath the idea. Even for the greater good do we have to loose one of them? They need to be at peace I couldn’t agree more.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. I liked season one through three under Kripke. However he wasn’t perfect. Kripke was instrumental in sidelining Sam’s POV in season four and then in continuing to sideline it in favor of Cas’s character development and Bobby feelings about being paralyzed, and how Adam felt about John and Dean and well in favor of virtually every character except Sam. So Kripke coming back is not the panacea I want.
      Kripke isn’t ideal in coming back, but I’m not so sure about Carver either in how he’s perceived Sam under his tenure. I would rather Carver try and sort his own mess out. Kripke’s own show has failed so him coming back may do more harm. Rather the devil you know.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. Okay , I really ,really like Cas, so this is hard for me to say but I feel like Cas showing up took away a lot of attention from Sam. I really hope we get a little more focus on Sam this season.

        When I started the show, I immediately fell in love with Sam. It took me a while to warm up to Dean bc I thought he was a complete d*** up until season two. But I liked Sam right away and I don’t feel we’ve been getting enough of his PoV either and we used to get some idea of what he was thinking under Kripke.

        Now these writers have a tendency to have Sam say things but n an oblique way that doesn’t make his meanings clear about what’s going on in his head. We have to extrapolate based on his behaviour and that’s not working out right.Either that or they have another character say what he feels and that’s not right either.

        Maybe this demon thing will bring Dean down off his high horse regarding Sam’s mistakes in the past. Dean can get some real understanding under his belt about the allure of power and corruption.
        I hope.
        Maybe.

        Like

        1. I think Kripke and company responded to the fans when Cas’ character expanded. Although I was not watching the show during that time, Cas was fleshed out tremendously during season 5. I think Destial must have been born during season 4 and we know the rest of the story. I also think the writers strike during season 3 left Sam’s storyline in a mess. I have read that he was going dark side in order to save Dean. However, instead of going Boy King, he became addicted to demon blood, then the fans fell in love with Cas and the show was trying to keep the momentum going. I just know that I absolutely love seasons 1-5 of the show. I also like season 6. But seasons 8&9 in comparison to 1-5? Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed the current seasons, but there is nothing like the creator working their magic. Just my humble opinion!

          Like

          1. IMHO the show changed after Kripke left as show runner. So it had to have a different feel which isn;t bad. Did it stumble here and there? Did the writers’ strike have a major impact on the arc? Yes and yes. Although Jared did an outstanding job as souless Sam, some of season 6 was a bit unglued. Season 7 was hearfelt when Bobby got killed off but the story takes us where the characters needed to go. Sam and Dean no longer needed a Dad figure so the writers let them grow up. Did the Leviathans get a bit too much- yep for me but then we did get to meet Charlie-good or bad- it was an interesting character and a different twist on technology which the show needed to upgrade in the show’s reality. s8 -the trials was a good arc for me but the two episodes of Man’s best friend and remember the titans were distractions with some good feels. The Purgatory affect on Dean might have gone on a bit longer for me and Amelia arc could have been clearer but there was little chemistry to hang onto. It did show Sam that he cannot escape reality and there were some good bro moments. It also showed Dean that Sam is a flawed human but still more of a brother than Benny.S8 reinvented the show with the MoL and the legacies. S9 has continued as a new show that started in s 8 so I look forward to the continued arc in season 10.

            Like

        2. Sam is purposefully written as oblique and keeping things to himself even in the recon as a child. Dean is written to be more in your face and yet he has held secrets from Sam which he has said he hates to do. When he killed Amy, Dean almost drank himself into an all time record. Both characters have deep feelings. They handle them differently. It is set up that way by Kripke.
          I so agree with this ^^^^

          Like

          1. Have you noticed any difference in the amount Dean drinks since coming back from Hell in season 4? In seasons 1-3 did he drink quite so much? I know he had a serious problem in season 7, I didn’t see quite so much in season 8 but he was back to pretty big level in season 9 especially after he got the MoC and the FB.
            He was also so much more light hearted and a bit cheeky before going to hell too. Dean has changed a lot since coming back from hell. They do say it changes a man, you know 😉 He was also cleaned up from what I remember the board saying when he came back from Purgatory, it was like that magically cleansed and detox him. It so annoyed me that Dean’s drinking never went any where and just to prop up ghost Bobby. Jensen would have been amazing with that story line and it was dropped like a red hot potato!!

            Love Aunty B xxx

            Like

            1. When Dean keeps something from Sam or he suffers a loss the drinking goes way up in quantity if not quality. He went for a record when Bobby died. He drank to push down the lie about killing Amy and again when he hid the Gadreel save from Sam. Withe the MoC he did his fair share as well but he doesn’t seem to need it so much with the MoC. I lost track in season 9 maybe because it was less there.

              Like

          2. Oh don’t get me wrong, I can usually interpret what Sam is going through or thinking. I just have to listen and pay close attention to his body language, something Jared really excels at. But a lot of the fans seem to have some real trouble parsing out what Sam thinks about things and there’s always a lot of contention in the fandom about what he’s thinking and feeling and I wonder if the obliqueness of his writing is what’s doing that.

            I still say Cas takes too much time away from Sam, but I like Cas just fine so not sure how much of that complaint is valid.

            Like

            1. Oh don’t get me wrong, I can usually interpret what Sam is going through or thinking. I just have to listen and pay close attention to his body language, something Jared really excels at. In all honesty, this IS the big issue. Many years ago there was a show called Police Squad that was cancelled even though it was an extremely well done and hilarious show. The reason given was because in order to get it people had to watch it. What that meant was people had to do what you do and frankly what I do, watch closely for body language and really pay attention. The thing is, as was pointed out when Police Squad was cancelled, the ordinary person DOESN’T pay that close attention to shows. They read, or talk or get a snack or in today world surf the net. In order for the average viewer to get a good sense of what is happening with a character, the writers need to be very clear and present it verbally, not only with body language or a few remarks that are drowned out by another character’s POV. With Sam, his POV isn’t stated and Dean’s critical of Sam POV is constantly stated. It is also reinforced by other characters like Cas saying, so all the audience can hear, that Sam is the second biggest screwup in the world and Dean is not the biggest screwup in the world. Dean is also verbally supported in ways that Sam isn’t Cas telling Dean that Dean’s only mistake was believing the wrong person not going against Sam’s will to not be possessed. Tracy telling Sam he’s the one who started the Apocalypse and no one saying yeah Dean and Cas were part of that. The constant drumbeat of Sam abandoned Dean in Purgatory with NO verbal pushback or explanation. The writes aren’t fools. They know how audiences respond to dialog and they are refusing to give Sam any dialog to counter the pro-Dean, anti-Sam statements. It really frustrates me.

              Like

              1. And i have noticed those few times when Sam does stand up for himself and pushes back against Dean’s narrative he usually gets vilified by the fandom for being “mean” to Dean. I saw a lot of that last season. It’s really the only time since Kripke that I’ve seen Sam insist on having his emotional need met by Dean and the fandom really seems to hate it when he does that.

                Like

                1. ” It’s really the only time since Kripke that I’ve seen Sam insist on having his emotional need met by Dean and the fandom really seems to hate it when he does that.”

                  Sam holds it in for so long that when he does let it go he gets carried away. Like in the Purge where he said things about/to Dean that WERE mean and untrue.

                  Like

                  1. You know I hear all over the place how oh so horrible Sam was to Dean after he found out about Dean tricking him into possession. Let’s compare for a minute how DEAN treated Sam in season four and five in reaction to Sam and demon blood. AND continues to blame him all the way through the end of last season, and quite possibly will bring it up again, since stopping Lucifer wasn’t enough for him to defend Sam to Tracy this season.

                    First he tells Sam that Sam is so far off the reservation that he is no longer normal, and far from human. After everything blows up in Sam’s face and Dean tells him and Sam admits to Dean he was wrong (something Dean has resolutely refused to do this happens: DEAN I’m just—I’m having a hard time forgiving and forgetting here. You know?
                    SAM: What can I do?
                    DEAN: Honestly? Nothing.
                    SAM nods a little, looking down: this doesn’t surprise him.
                    DEAN: I just don’t…I don’t think that we can ever be what we were. You know?
                    SAM nods again: this isn’t a surprise either.
                    DEAN: I just don’t think I can trust you.

                    From Fallen Idols
                    SAM: How long am I gonna be on double-secret probation?
                    DEAN shrugs.
                    DEAN: Till I say so.
                    SAM: Look. I know what I did. What I’ve done. And I am trying to climb out of that hole, I am, but you’re not making it any easier.
                    DEAN: So what am I supposed to do, just let you off the hook?
                    SAM: No. You can think whatever you want. I deserve it, and worse. Hell, you’ll never punish me as much as I’m punishing myself, but the point is, if we’re gonna be a team, you and I—it has to be a two-way street.

                    In The End Dean is told Lucifer is looking to use Sam and he tells Sam to go f**k off and leave him alone, deal with Lucifer ON HIS OWN. In Point of No Return Dean tells Sam that Dean has to say yes to Michael because Sam is so weak that eventually he will say yes to Lucifer and this is AFTER SAM spat out the demon blood the hunters tried to force on him. Dean deliberately and cruelly throws away the amulet not only in front of Sam but in such a manner that it shows Sam that he considers it and SAM worthless.

                    Now let’s look at the conversation from The Purge
                    SAM: And that… is the problem. You think you’re my savior, my brother, the hero. You swoop in, and even when you mess up, you think what you’re doing is worth it because you’ve convinced yourself you’re doing more good than bad… But you’re not.

                    [DEAN’s blank eyes stare at him]

                    I mean, Kevin’s dead, Crowley’s in the wind. We’re no closer to beating this angel thing. Please tell me, what is the upside of me being alive?
                    DEAN [shocked]: You kidding me? You and me — fighting the good fight together.

                    SAM [sighing in frustration almost leaves but then decides to explain. He come into the kitchen and sits down across from DEAN, who draws back unconsciously]

                    Okay. Just once, be honest with me. You didn’t save me for me. You did it for you.
                    DEAN [totally confused]: What are you talkin’ about?
                    SAM: I was ready to die. I was ready. I should have died, but you… You didn’t want to be alone, and that’s what all this boils down to. You can’t stand the thought of being alone.

                    DEAN [drawing back and standing up]: All right.
                    SAM: I’ll give you this much. You are certainly willing to do the sacrificing as long as you’re not the one being hurt.
                    DEAN: All right, you want to be honest? If the situation were reversed and I was dying, you’d do the same thing.
                    SAM [very softly]: No, Dean. I wouldn’t.
                    [He looks up and meets DEAN’s shocked eyes.]
                    <b<Same circumstances…I wouldn’t. I’m gonna get to bed.

                    First I will note that Dean confirms what Sam said about bringing Sam back for himself. When Sam asks what the upside of being alive is Dean’s only answer is you are with me. Not that Sam deserves a happy life. Not that Sam saves people. Not that Sam is worthwhile, a good person who contributes to the world, but the ONLY upside of Sam being alive is Dean wants him alive. Sam as a person doesn’t matter only what he gives to Dean. And this is said to a man who was willing to die a few months before and was at the very least passively suicidal. Dean makes no effort to give Sam a reason to want to live, only a reason why he shouldn’t leave Dean.

                    Now before you tell me same circumstance don’t matter, Sam had IN THIS VERY EPISODE, come running the second he thought Dean was in danger after Dean had been drugged. For the rest of the season Sam had Dean’s back. The one episode where Dean stayed behind and went out with Crowley, Sam called to check in, ask for Dean’s advice and make sure Dean was okay, a FAR cry from Lucifer is after you, tough toenails. Sam is polite and civil. He listens to Dean’s plans and thoughts on cases and doesn’t dismiss them because of Dean overriding what he knew were Sam’s wishes, shoving an angel in Sam and having Sam’s body kill THREE people and TWO angels.

                    Why are you so willing to accept that Dean can repeatedly beat Sam up for his mistake with Ruby, but Sam is not permitted to even note that Dean betrayed his trust and Sam can’t trust him. Why is Sam not permitted to say that yes, there are lines he won’t cross. That he will not shove an angel into Dean just to keep him breathing. I HATE the double standard in fandom that says that Dean can hurt Sam in any way he wants and Sam must immediately fluff Dean’s ego when Dean betrays him.

                    Final note, Dean took the MOC before The Purge when the harshest thing Sam said was that he was pissed at Dean and that Dean wasn’t poison. Apparently Sam isn’t even allowed to express anger at Dean no matter how egregious the violation.

                    Like

                    1. Sam does express anger. He has gone away from Dean and the life. He expressed anger to John, to Dean. That Dean doesn’t always deal with Sam’s anger makes Sam and the viewer even more upset. IMO it is the dynamic that is set up by Kripke from the start.

                      Like

                  2. When Sam does let go, he is usually over the top because he has emotional build up and what he needs just comes out as articulate but not stating what is at the core of his discontent. He is a lot like most human beings. Maybe that is what makes him so adorbs. Dean pushes things down and drinks and eventually sums up his issue in a few words. Sam, our scholar, has to chew on it internally and then his verbosity doesn’t truly express his angst. How many times has he turned his face toward the window in the Impala rather than getting into it with Dean?

                    Like

                2. Sam has pushed back, but usually not with good consequences. Often, he has learned not to openly push back because it doesn’t pay off. Dean is too much an older brother. It is there dynamic as brothers, so Sam keeps things to himself b/c Dean does not always provide what he needs emotionally. The fandom shouldn’t vilify either brother by now they should know how the dynamic works. And or course, it gives us such feels when the boys are on the same page.

                  Like

                  1. I see what you’re saying. Sam knows his brother pretty well by now. He knows that if he pushes Dean he won’t get anything. It was interesting watching him this season where he tried the same and yet a different tactic.

                    He pushed Dean as far as he could, stuck to him like glue and yet withheld most of his brotherly affection from him. Always present, so as to remind dean of what he’s missing and yet that constancy giving Dean the opportunity to open up at any time, and he almost reached him in @Thinman.But Dean can be a stubborn ol’ git and just sort of doubled down on things. The dynamic between them was ,fo me, very interesting this year. And oddly enough, with all their brotherly angst set on simmer, they seemed to get along better than ever.

                    FTR: I agree with Percysowner ,though about how Dean was the wrong one this season. That Sam was the victim and I dont understand how people can not see it that way. But I’m not fighting that battle again. I fought about it all last season until finally the fandom mostly just got on my last damn nerve.

                    Like

                    1. I C what u r saying as well. Sam is the victim of Dean’s deception, but Dean acted to save Sam for what ever reason selfish or not. Much like Sam acted when he went with Ruby- he thought it was to do a good thing, to save people. But this time, Sam’s outward rejection of Dean-now remember we don’t have all of his internal thoughts and what he really wanted to say with the purge-Dean was the one to go off by himself and team up with Crowley. They worked well as partners but not as brothers until Sam could express his guilt and nightmares and at that point he too was willing on the surface accept Dean’s solitary mission. Dean wanted to take his shot at Metatron, even if it was to prove fatal and still keep Sam safe. Sam, once again being knocked out- Dean not letting Sam make a choice- but in the end Sam does make a choice. Victimology is an interesting science. Let’s not blame the victim but make him/her the hero. Every story needs a villain and a hero but who we choose to be which one is open question. Now, I am starting to sound like Metatron. Just know, I am also in Sam’s corner as well as Dean’s.

                      Like

            2. Jared conveys much about Sam with his body language and use of breath and sighs. Cas could learn a lot from Sam as to how to understand the internal workings of the mind.

              Like

  5. How to cure a demon? Well human blood into Crowley brought back his humanity, so maybe through blood sourcing. The show has been blood centered since Sam’s 6 month old transfusion. Blood lines are always mentioned. Dean’s twisted soul- well if they could put back a twisted one into Sam, why not take out a twisted one from Dean, but there is always a consequence and for the Winchesters that is usually a high price. Death was cheated again because Dean did not die, so will Death play a part? And that nasty glowing mark on Dean’s arm is a curse but also a protection against death. Will Sam have to give up a piece of his humanity to save Dean-we know he would do anything at this point.The writers use all of June to figure out the arc and leave us saying more, more, more…usually. If Dean is cured or at least contained so Sam can work with him (Sam hates demons but not his brother- this is his conflict), we need a big bad for the brothers to unite against. I’m thinking that the stories might go back to the original format with weekly hunts of our favorite type, with more internal journeys going forward for all of the characters, Is it October yet?
    I keep thinking its got to be something bad for Dean to so disapprove or is Dean toying with Sam and making him think Dean disapproves. Dean is dead but there must be some of Dean trapped inside there some where that perhaps knows what Sam has done in order to find him, and cure him. I like the idea of Death intervening I always have but is the actor busy and they can’t spare him? I like the idea of Sam giving his humanity away, but are these writers capable of writing this, thinking this up? Is it to far out of reach for them? I want to be thrilled and be on the edge of my seat again. I was thinking about Appointment in Samarra and I miss that type of engaging thrill, I want a thriller feel in the show again, and that comic-con clip gave me that spooky, edge feel that I so want to see again. I just hope that they don’t bodge it up again and cut the story short in its prime as its too good to do this too.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

    1. OOOh good answers. I like the one about curing him with blood. It’s always about the blood, isn’t it? It started with blood and the show will probably end with it. Or it should.
      I love this analogy too, its so true this story telling isn’t it. Well since we have Crowley addicted to human blood, Sam is cured of his demon blood. What story line did Cas reveal about his blood? So are the characters all connected?

      Now from what I heard Dean isn’t completely cured. Just the worse of what he is is cured. He’s still going to have the MoC, and still be kind of dark. Sam is going to get into some dark ways to find him, but giving Dean his blood sounds about right as the taint would be lessened and the MoC would still be there. Dean keeps that, I heard.
      I’ve heard he’s cured but not rid of the MoC. Which rears its head later on. So not all of their problems are solved in one hit so to speak. I’m still interested in knowing what Sam does, this is my biggest excitement for me going into season 10.

      I have misgivings but I’m still looking forward to this season. I like to see how they resolve the brothers issues but I am tired of the infighting and the Angels. I like Cas. I love Misha Collins immensely (he is a total doll),, but the Angel story line is boring, boring, boring!
      I feel good about this season, so long as it all doesn’t come back on Sam, this is my only concern up to now. I have to agree with you about Cas, and the angels. I think they are lost as to what story to give Cas, and that is rather sad actually.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

      1. Yeah, it does seem like they don’t know what to do with Castiel.

        I hope this season we can see some more positive Sam stuff. I agree. I don’t want this season to turn into sam as the “bad guy”. (FWIW: I thought last season had some good Sam positive stuff in it but I guess most fans disagree with me on that.) This season needs more positive Sam stuff and apparently it needs to be in your face positive or the fans just won’t get it. Like saving the world type stuff.

        In the past, Dean has often been hard on Sam and a lot of fans don’t like that. I don’t like it either but I understand that as part of Dean’s complexity and as part of being an older brother.

        As the oldest sibling in my family I have to really work at not sounding or being too critical of my younger brothers and sisters and that’s really hard bc you are going to have opinions on some of your siblings bone-headed stunts and sometimes want to give them a hard smack. Plus Dean learned quite a few of his parenting skills from John who was not history’s greatest Dad, at all. So sometimes I give Dean a pass on being critical bc I know how hard that is to NOT do that.

        What I have a real problem with though is when other people are critical of Sam and Dean doesn’t speak up for him. There have been moments when he did but the times he dodn’t are the ones that really stick out. I don’t like when other characters disparage Sam for his past misdeeds.

        Like

        1. Even when an older sibling is not acting as one, the perception from below is that the older sibling is taking control, not valuing the younger siblings abilities, etc. in my experience in both positions. Doesn’t make the love less. I think the writers might attempt to make Sam a bit more complex as a human being without a supernatural edge and while I see his complexity in his actions, decisions, and speech, it is not in your face type of complexity. Hope that fans do not bash either bro as neither is perfect as are we.

          Like

          1. Dean is problematic for some people. He’s problematic for me sometimes but I try not to bash him. I do understand a lot about him bc he and I are in the same place in our family hierarchy. I give him a pass on a lot of the ways he treats Sam bc I struggle with not doing that with my siblings (I don’t punch them out though) and I recognize it when he’s doing it.

            I know Dean loves Sam more than anything but I don’t think Sam was wrong in the Purge. (And Dean needs to just flat out state that he forgives Sam his misdeeds or understands them or something.) I think Dean made that decision bc he was scared and didn’t want to be alone. Dean is allowed to have these feelings.

            My problem with the fandom is when they don’t allow Sam to express his legitimate feelings towards some of the dickish things Dean does to him. Sam (and sometimes Bobby) are really the only checks on Deans behavior in the show so Sam needs to be allowed to call Dean on his BS even if the fans don’t agree with what he’s saying and Dean needs to occasionally be kept in check by Sam’s anger and his fear of losing him, although I guess last season it went too far. I do recall that Sam used to be Deans conscience.

            Sam tried in the earlier seasons to at least encourage Dean to be a better man. Somewhere along the way that dynamic got lost or the fandom forgot it or something. Dean may have been righteous but Sam kept him ethical.

            Like

  6. Since I wasn’t surprised Dean became a demon, I’m expecting the resolution to be less than a surprise. Sam will at least try to cure him the way he almost cured Crowley. I expect Cas to spend some if not all of his remaining grace healing Dean’s body. So best case scenario Cas heals Dean’s body, Sam heals his soul. I’d prefer Sam to cure both, but I’m not really expecting the show to give him that much of a win. Worst case scenario is Sam fails to save Dean and Cas sweeps in to save the day all by his little lonesome. I would like to see Dean be a demon for at least half a season, but have no idea if they are willing to take it that far. Certainly with the Sam is worse than Dean as a demon, and Dean’s worst sins seem to be not taking care of the Impala I expect Dean to be a fluffy, sweet demon who does no real harm. It will make me furious, but it is what I’m expecting.
    I hope they do think of something new, than use past stories and re-cycle them. With the amount of spell idea’s out there they could come up with something far more damned original. Many want Cas to save Dean any way or Dean save himself. They don’t want any involvement from Sam, so I can see where this thought comes from. I don’t mind if either have an effort in saving Dean as they are both close to him, but what I don’t want to see is Cas reigning in all the glory. They are both in it together. They both have the same end result in sight, and should work as a close nit family should any way. I just want Sam to be recognized for his part in all this, and that it doesn’t go to one person, Cas. I will be annoyed too if this happens. It makes me angry about Dean too, but no matter what way its written Sam always appears to come off worse.

    Love Aunty B xxx

    Like

  7. The rumors have been that he will be cured in 3ish episodes but that the MoC will continue to haunt him. I just hope he doesn’t angst about whatever demon!dean did and realized he had no control. He’s been feeling guilty for SOMETHING for 9 seasons-its time he found some peace!
    These boys are like two peas’s in a pod, Sam did just this when he came back from being soulless wondering what he got up to. Knowing Dean he will brood and keep it all in, its just him and his very nature. Its how they walk past it, and carry on that’s the important thing.

    Love Aunty B xxxx

    Like

    1. ow you know the show wouldn’t be the show without some brooding and angst.
      If at least one of the brothers isn’t agonizing over something, we probably wouldn’t even know which show it was.

      I think they have gone over the top with the angst. I think the bond was never the same since season 5 when Dean said to Sam this relationship will never be what it was. Over the years it has slowly dribbled away to the point that we have too much tension between them. When Gadreel possessed Sam the lead up to that fall out I sensed would become unbearable to watch, it was too heavy. I want to see that old spark back in the boys, that’s what I miss. None of this melodrama, just to push up the ratings.

      But I get your point, I’d like to see them have a few happier times this season and be on the same page about something. The rumors I’ve heard is that the show will focus on the two of them taking care of each other this season and just because Dean’s not a demon doesn’t mean the story line will be over, I heard.
      I think as one of you said earlier it will go back to being more on the road, and internal stories regarding the brothers. That they become closer again, and we can sense that partnership working and on an even keel. Its the keeping secrets that’s always got either of them into deep waters.

      Love Aunty B xxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

