Hello Everyone!

Hi everyone,
My name is Lkeke35 and Bella has very kindly asked me to contribute to this site. I’m very excited about this. Some of you may know me from my own site, where I post about shows other than SPN. (What do y’mean other shows? There are no other shows!)

(If you want to get a feel for how I write about SPN, then visit my blog at Geekingoutaboutit, where the entirety of season ten has been reviewed.)

On my own site, I have to write my comments and reviews as if the audience has never watched episodes of Supernatural. The most exciting thing about writing for this site will be not having to do that. I know all of you guys are well-versed in Supernatural lore, (sometimes better than I am, so If I flub something, don’t hesitate to let me know.)

As for my street-cred, I knew I was going to like Supernatural from the moment I heard there was going to be a show. I knew nothing about the actors. I just had the bare-bones of a plot, and knew I’d love it. I’ve watched from the very first episode and I was right. I loved the show. I’d been looking for a series to replace Buffy and this was it. I liked the atmosphere, the chemistry between the two leads, the camerawork, the mythology. There were episodes that first season that were genuinely frightening (and I grew up watching some serious Horror movies. As a result, I’m hard to scare, so that’s quite a feat.)

True, the show isn’t scary now, but I’m not in for the plot so much, anymore. Now I’m here because I’m in it for the characters. I care very much for these characters and I wonder: Where are they going? What’s in store for them? How are they growing?

I started out as a Sam-girl, but I am firmly in the bi-bro camp, now. My urge is to always have the brothers come together, fight together and be together. In my opinion, the two of them are stronger together, than they ever are apart and I always advocate for that. As a result, I refuse to engage in discussions of who is the better brother.  I’m really looking forward to this new season because its been some time since the brothers have been on the same page. The past few seasons, there have been too many riffs and splits and misunderstandings, that just break my heart, because I don’t like it when people who are supposed to love each other, fight. Hopefully, this season will be a refreshing change.

I will be submitting reviews/recaps of every episode of this new season, as well as reviews of my favorite episodes, starting with season one, but my focus will mostly be about the brothers relationship, with the occasional foray into speculations about secondary characters, except for Castiel. Yes, I do love the character, but understanding Cas’ psychology and motivations is not my strength. I love him and I love his journey, but I just don’t get him. So, when I don’t post anything about him, it doesn’t mean I dislike him. It just means I’m baffled.

I’m a person who likes looking at the larger picture, the motivations behind character choices, story decisions and what those things mean to the brother’s relationship. I’m not so much focused on the details or canon, but what the creators are  trying to make the audience feel or think. I don’t like to speculate too much about plot or character arcs, because I am notoriously bad at that.

Above all else, however, I approach the show as a Fan. I enthusiastically wait for each episode and generally go wherever the writers want to take me on the brother’s journey. It’s not that I won’t point out episodes, or even whole seasons, that suck, its just that I don’t watch episodes through that particular lens, so I sometimes don’t see the things that others think are horribly wrong. Although, that’s no guarantee I will agree with you, if you point it out.

So, that’s where I’m coming from. I look forward to writing for you guys, I hope you like my stuff, and please! visit often and leave lots of comments.

4 thoughts on “Hello Everyone!

    1. “My urge is to always have the brothers come together, fight together and be together. ”
      I’m 100% in agreement with this. It’s the most important thing to me.

      Me too-I hate when they fight and keep secrets!!

      Like

  1. Thank you so much for all your interesting words Lkeke and welcome to our writing zone, hope you will be happy. You’re a real trooper for saying yes! I am so happy 🙂 Along with Debbab I find you have an interesting point of view, well done!

    Love Bella
    xxx

    Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

