Hi E’one,

I’m VMC2000. I got to know Bella thru our interactions on IMDb. She is a wonderful person, and an even better Supernatural fan. She was kind enough to ask me to write for her blog and I readily agreed. This is my first attempt at writing for Supernatural though and I hope I do justice.

I came across Supernatural purely by chance. It wasn’t until Season 4 was on air. I remember channel surfing and catching a scene where two guys were sitting around and discussing monsters. I was intrigued but soon realized it was a rerun (an SPN marathon in fact) and watched it only becos there was not much else on TV. Thank god for that. The episode playing was S1 ‘Dead in the Water’.

Being a fan of horror movies, the kitchen sink scene really impressed me. Rarely do they go that far on TV especially so early in the episode. I liked the premise and the overall story but wasn’t sure if SPN was something I would want to watch every week. I thought I’ll give it another shot before I decided. I came back after a few hours and caught the last 15-20 mins of Bugs. I know, I know. Not the best of episodes and definitely not one that made my decision easy. But something about Dean and Sam interested me. I liked their dynamic. I liked their banter.

Click to view full size image

I loved the way Dean interacted with that little boy in DITW. There was something about him that was endearing. I know it may be hard to believe but I really saw a nuanced performance from Jensen Ackles even then. His external bravado trying to mask the vulnerabilities inside. I could see this even without knowing any backstory regarding Dean. I made a mental note to give this show another chance sometime.

Click to view full size image

As luck would have it, the marathon continued the following day. I was late though and missed a few episodes. When I did switch on the TV I saw Dean getting electrocuted. Whoa. Is he not one of the leads? He can’t die, can he? What’s a Rawhead? If it were electrocuted would it have become a Cookedhead? (sorry couldn’t resist). Anyway I watched as Sam tried desperately to save Dean. His pain and anguish palpable. I loved Dean’s witty remarks and the way he tried to hide his fear for Sam’s sake. I started realizing these brothers and their relationship were special. They were clearly no ordinary brothers.

The episode progressed. I was enjoying the music. I loved Layla. Pls Show, don’t let her die. Yes I yell at the TV when I watch the show, dont judge me 🙂 I totally loved Roy. In hindsight the scene where he says he chose Dean ‘because he had an important purpose and it wasn’t finished’ was pretty spot-on. It’s one of those rare occasions when a seemingly casual line becomes such an important plot development in later seasons. When the reaper appeared it was chilling and scary. The music was perfect, the story exciting, and every character brilliantly written and well acted. This episode had everything I look for in a show. Funny yet dark and deep. Add to it Sam & Dean’s and also Dean & Layla’s on-screen chemistry. Truly memorable stuff. This was an excellent episode.

Click to view full size image

There were so many great lines… some funny, some profound, some though provoking, some just so good that it still makes an impact just thinking about it. My favorite piece of dialogue was the very last one.

Layla: You wanna hear something weird? I’m okay. Really. I guess if you’re gonna have faith… you can’t just have it when the miracles happen. You have to have it when they don’t.

Dean: So what now?

Layla: God works in mysterious ways… Goodbye Dean.

Dean: Well… I’m not much of the praying type… but… I’m gonna pray for you.

Layla: Well… There’s a miracle right there.

This was just the 3rd episode I watched but I was already beginning to feel invested in Sam and Dean’s journey. I wanted to know more about the Winchesters. I wanted to know why their Dad wasn’t around. I couldn’t wait to find out. I binge watched the 1st three seasons and a bit of S4 and was all caught up in a couple of months.

Ten seasons on and six years later I’m still here watching this show. I’m still a fan. This was the episode that sucked me right in and I have never looked back. It has a special place in my heart. Faith is the one that made me fall in love with the show. Faith is what made me love the Winchesters. And every time I watch it I fall in love… all over again.

So I invite you all to join me and fall in love with the show once more as I take a trip down memory lane. I plan to write about episodes that made an impact (good and bad) and analyze Sam & Dean Winchester’s role in it. I will also write about Season 10 and Carver’s vision (or lack thereof) but that depresses me a little bit. Anyway hit me up in the comments. I look forward to having a good discussion with you all on all things Supernatural. Let me know if you want any particular topic addressed too. Until next time then. Ciao.

6 thoughts on “Hi E’one,

  1. Hey VMC! I’ll take an E please. Lol, kidding.

    “I loved the way Dean interacted with that little boy in DITW. There was something about him that was endearing. I know it may be hard to believe but I really saw a nuanced performance from Jensen Ackles even then. His external bravado trying to mask the vulnerabilities inside.”
    Not hard to believe at all. That episode was a defining turn for me. I was impressed with Jensen’s performance and watching Dean with Lucas Barr, I knew the character would have a special place in my heart forever :).

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment Virile. It’s nice to know you feel the same way. Jensen is definitely outstanding when it comes to expressing things without saying a word. He and Jared have made this show really, really special.

      Btw… you get an E and a bonus A for this comment 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome aboard VMC2000!
    Does this mean that your focus will be on the earlier seasons, mostly?

    I fell in love with Dean during Faith. Up Til then I didn’t like him very much but that episode humanized him in a way the previous episodes didn’t. I think that episode changed my thinking about a lot of things about the brothers dynamic.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment LKEKE35. I plan to write a little about past episodes but will compare them to what is happening in the present. More like seeing the similarities and growth (if any) across seasons. Once S11 starts I will try and write a recap or at least post my thoughts on each episode. I do have a few thoughts on S10. If people are interested I could post them 🙂
      Looking forward to hearing from you.

      ~ vmc ~

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

