Dissecting facial expressions – S8 Torn and Frayed?

Dean Giving up Benny sitting alone thinking about what he’d said to Benny and how hard it was to break up the friendship so he could join Sam and the family business again. So what do you think Dean was trying to put across to you here? What expressions can I see as an actor that JA is trying to put across to me? Did you get what JA was trying to project?

Was Dean fed up of the life, having to give up his best friend who he went to war with, who he sacrificed so much with, and got down and dirty with. Dean felt pure, and must have been hard for him to have given this up and go back to the business. What were you’re thoughts on this area?

Now I wasn’t a huge fan of Amelia’s and don’t think I am alone in this thought either. I felt there was NO chemistry between her and Sam, was there meant to be? I still wonder on that one. I just couldn’t warm to her until this very scene, it really moved me, and thought wow this actress has something. Why didn’t she show us before and come out of her shell?? It was so sad, because she was banking on Sam being there her knight in shining armor and he wasn’t. That desperate look on her face overshadowed by the thought of being alone again. She clung onto what hope she had with Sam, and she ended up with nothing. So what do you think Amelia was trying to put across here? Am I right in assuming the sadness in her eyes that she felt lost and alone in the wilderness having to find her own way again. Was Sam her perfect husband material, could they have lasted in the real world?

I seem to recall a song and am singing the lyrics to

‘Breaking up is hard to do’. By Neil Sedaka. 

They say that breaking up is hard to do
Now I know
I know that it’s true
Don’t say that this is the end
Instead of breaking up I wish that we were making up again

I beg of you don’t say goodbye
Can’t we give our love another try?
Come on, baby, let’s start anew
Cause breaking up is hard to do

So the lines of the song remind me of this moment, that both boys had to break up with people they loved in order to remain in the family business and not bring in friends as it wouldn’t work. They KNEW it would end in tragedy and would be something they both would have to live with, if anything would have happened to them. Had Dean thought this when he was breaking up with Benny. But then Benny was man enough, strong enough to handle himself, where as Amelia would be lost to Sam in a heartbeat. She wouldn’t have made it. So were they right in giving up their friendships? Only time would have told us here…

Now this scene breaks me in two. Sam sits down to join Dean, after they both realize what they have both given up. Dean is sort of acknowledging to Sam is he okay with this. Do they BOTH have BOTH feet in the Business and NOT one foot out? The chemistry here is beautiful, the lighting is superb, and the space around them is small, remote and isolated. They are both in a tiny cabin contemplating the same things thinking about the people they’ve both given up. So what did you learn from this ending scene, did you think it was ALL hunky dory? Were they both happy or miserable as sin to come back into the fold, the business, what they knew and couldn’t live without. Where they satisfied with their lot?

I love here how the camera fades out, so you see the bigger picture of how unhappy the boys are. Even though they are back together there is a sense of sadness about them, that you know their hurting and feeling pretty low. What were you’re thoughts on this? Had the director allowed us to see the full picture of what was really going down? Had it been worth all the aggro of splitting up with their friends? How did you see JA and JP’s expressions what were all these scenes projecting across to you?

Love Bella xxxx

6 thoughts on “Dissecting facial expressions – S8 Torn and Frayed?

  1. “That desperate look on her face overshadowed by the thought of being alone again. She clung onto what hope she had with Sam, and she ended up with nothing. So what do you think Amelia was trying to put across here? Am I right in assuming the sadness in her eyes that she felt lost and alone in the wilderness having to find her own way again. Was Sam her perfect husband material, could they have lasted in the real world?”

    I never believed in Samelia and for all Carver said it was supposed to be this great love affair, it was written and presented as an illusion in the shape of a slippery rock two desperate, drowning and shell-shocked people are clinging to. I didn’t feel bad for Amelia. She’s not alone. Her husband Don should be waiting for her somewhere. She found this new man when she thought Don was gone and the Sam lover in me understands the temptation to ‘upgrade’ and go for that tall, tall drink of water.

    Still, she was a married woman waiting for a man she didn’t really know, in front of some motel. I have a hard time feeling any sympathy for her.

    Like

  2. My problem with Amelia is not that she was a bad character. The problem is that she was in the wrong show. I liked the actress just fine. She’s a very good actress, that I would love to watch in other stuff. Just not on Supernatural. She just didn’t fit. Although that is the kind of woman Sam would pick. He likes bossy women, I guess.

    As for the scene in the cabin, they look so unhappy. I suspect it’s because they know their relationship isn’t repaired. They’ve got a lot to work out and that work hasn’t even started yet. But the looks they give each other are promising, as if to say, “We’ll get through this too.”
    I felt so bad at then of this episode, especially contrasted with the mood of happy contentment that ended the episode Everybody Hates Hitler. That was an ending I could watch a million times, plus one more.

    This ending, not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the writing wasn’t great for the actress either. I think Laine did a good job, and yes I would like to see her in something else to see a comparison. Watching here in that episode was the first time I’d seen her in action, so its difficult to judge. I think you’re right the style of the show probably didn’t suit her.

      I wanted to feel something for them both, but the chemistry just wasn’t there for me, which was a shame. Considering the producers all thought it was this amazing relationship. I think it fell flat, and they didn’t expect this to happen. They had a lot to work out, but I think they were from similar backgrounds and in similar positions so perhaps later down the line it might have worked.

      I felt sad for them both too. I just guess it was doomed from the start. That eventually when they began to settle down in each others company the story would take it from underneath them. I get what you mean about the action, it left a dull taste in my mouth too. Its not something I would necessarily go back and watch.

      B xxx

      Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

