Supernatural : The Vessel

This episode was a lot less funny than I thought it would be. Like a lot of the  time travel episodes, I expected Dean to start quipping one liners at any moment, but he  played it straight, which gave the episode a level of gravity and pathos I was not expecting. The only snark he really displayed was when he  squeeed about Raiders of the Lost Ark.

I also don’t normally like WW2 and submarine movies. I’ve watched a couple and they’re too tense for me, apparently. Tense is not a feeling I enjoy, especially when its not relieved by comedy, but I actually liked this episode, probably because I knew going in, that Dean would survive the experience.

I was wondering when Sam would catch on to how Castiel was talking to him, which was hilarious, btw. Misha has done a wonderful job of mimicking another actor, playing a character, pretending to be another character.You could see that Sam knew something wasn’t right but he simply had no idea what. I’m guessing it probably hadn’t occurred to him that Cas could be possessed by “The Devil”.

There was a least one disappointment, when we found that the artifact Dean went back in time to get, only had one shot left, used to bring down the German sub. So yeah, a complete waste of time on that, although I still think it probably would not have worked on Amara.  I think the experience has given Dean some ideas though. At the end of the episode you could see that big brain of his working. I do wonder what he’ll come up with as the solution to Amara. I have a feeling that something from this episode will be of importance in the future.

And not just the whole Cas/Lucy thing, either. I kind of saw that coming. I knew Lucifer wouldn’t be able to pretend to be Castiel for very long. Its almost impossible for an evil character to be behave like a good one for any length of time, without giving themselves away. I learned that from those Evil Captain Kirk episodes of Star Trek, The Enemy Within and Turnabout Intruder.

It  was nice to see Castiel asserting himself and just a little heartbreaking. I had some questions abut an Archangel possessing another Angel and I do wonder, since Lucifer is evil, how this would affect Cas’ Grace. Would it make him unclean? How does possession of an angel work anyway?

I like the scenes on the sub, actually. It looked pretty authentic, considering my only point of reference is other submarine films, but another annoying part of those movies is all the double yelling and of course you must have a silent running scene, where everyone must hunker down and be quiet, or they’ll be blown up. So yeah, the episode hit all the correct tropes, including a a villain with a snide German accent.

I loved the callback to the Men of Letters and that for once Sam, and Dean, especially could use that to their advantage in this case, because mostly they  get blank stares when they mention being Men of Letters, or the show  forgets for long periods of time what they are. This time we got to see it work in their favor.

It occurs to me that being Men of Letters isn’t as helpful to them as we all thought it would be. Sam and Dean seem to encounter things (or Hell, sometimes just cause things to happen) that were never encountered or even thought of by the Men of Letters, which might account for how they sometimes can’t find any lore about the predicaments they find themselves in, like The Darkness.

I’m going to give this episode a good solid “B”. I liked it, and I will definitely watch it again, but it wasn’t great. There have been better episodes this season, like Baby and the Sam/Lucifer episodes. The episode was also a standalone, in the sense that there wasn’t a lot of forward movement of the plot, which is okay because the episode was still enjoyable.

This episode also gets a B+ for the music. Edif Piaf is one of my favorite French crooners and I love that particular song (Non Je Ne Regrette Rien) because it was featured in the movie Inception which is one of my all-time favorite films, and gave the episode a solemnity I wasn’t expecting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Supernatural : The Vessel

  1. Perhaps you might try watching Das Boot about the ordeal of being on a Nazi sub during WWII dealing with the horrors of being a human being on board a Sub setting aside the fact that the Nazis were bring civilization to the edge of destruction.

    What was it Dean told his brother? He could only be a witness.

    Why was that?

    Perhaps the answer is the seaman who ask Dean when the War ended said he was in the hope of having soon of his family survive. We know when the war ended, and even when the conflict began. Those living through the ordeal did not and signed up until the end. Were willing to die for real.

    Do we have a fictional hint of this when Team Free Will faced stopping the end of the world?

    Was there a reason the generation Dean found himself among is called “the greatest generation?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was wondering when Sam would catch on to how Castiel was talking to him, which was hilarious, btw. Misha has done a wonderful job of mimicking another actor, playing a character, pretending to be another character.You could see that Sam knew something wasn’t right but he simply had no idea what. I’m guessing it probably hadn’t occurred to him that Cas could be possessed by “The Devil”.

    It occurred to me that Sam spent practically all of season 5 resisting Lucifer and said yes only to cage him. The he was willing to be tortured or watch Dean die to keep Lucifer caged. So I’m not surprised that he didn’t think Cas would do anything as lame brained as saying Yes to Lucifer, especially since they had no way to get Lucy back in the Cage. I know Cas had his reasons, but to Sam saying Yes to Lucifer would seem wrong and idiotic. He would never consider that Cas might be willing to give Lucifer a foothold in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

