Supernatural : Don’t Call Me Shurley

Well, there was some intense mythology in this episode. Delivering on the promise of reintroducing God to the series, this is the moment some of us have been waiting for all season, while putting up with uninspired episodes like The Chitters. The Chitters had some good moments, but those have been covered, very well, by other bloggers and I was getting bored of reviewing unrelated Monster of the Week episodes. But this episode was very worthy.

Some people might call this fan service but I don’t care, because I got a lot of fiddly little questions answered tonight, along with gaining a new respect (any respect, actually), for Metatron, which is saying something, as Metatron normally doesn’t inspire an ounce of respect.

This episode is divided into two sections. We watch Sam and Dean on a case in Hope Springs Idaho, dealing with Amara’s Soul-Sucking Fog, which makes people be mean to each other, while Metatron and Chuck Shurley hash it out in Chuck’s Safety Bunker…er, Bar.

From the opening scene of Metatron digging through trash for a meal, to Dean ironing Sam’s clothes with beer, we start off on a high note and take a few emotional twists and turns along the way.

There’s not  much plot, but there are some interesting revelations, as Chuck confesses his sins to Metatron, who starts their conversation as an abject worshiper, and graduates to angry and disappointed child, who is finally letting his deadbeat father have  a piece of his mind. When Metatron asks Chuck why he left him, he’s not just asking for himself, he’s asking for all of humanity. Curtis Armstrong totally sells this moment as he brings all the anguish and rage of an abandoned child.

We get to see Dean turn on the anguish, as he watches Sam get possessed by the dark fog, once again. I didn’t know if he could be possessed again. Sam used fire to get rid of the infection last time, and I don’t know why he hasn’t told Dean about that little detail. I wasn’t too worried about Sam because of that detail, so Dean being upset, leads me to believe he doesn’t know about it.

The music, camerawork and acting really sell the moments with the fog rolling in. I was reminded of the movie The Mist, which is where the idea of a fog, that makes you hurt people, may have found  inspiration.

Chuck is attempting to enlist Metatron to help him write his autobiography, until Metatron susses out the real reason Chuck is writing it, and why he’s hiding in his safe space, and he let’s  him have it. Metatron tries to get details on Amara but Chuck isn’t forthcoming. Metatron does manage to get details on the Beginning, why  Chuck created the world and heavens, and we get an answer for what happened to the God Amulet. Chuck has it! It stopped working as a beacon because Chuck turned it off.

By the end of of the episode, Metatron manages to come to humanity’s rescue, and guilts Chuck into coming back into the fight. When Chuck tells Metatron he left because everyone disappointed him, Metatron comes to humanity’s defense. As much as I dislike Metatron, one thing that can be said about him is that he is always willing to talk up humanity’s greatness. He may not like people very much, but he loves humanity, which is  always a plus in my book, especially when you consider the  nonchalant attitude  the other Angels had towards the human species.

 

Best moments:

Dean ironing Sam’s shirt with beer. I just sat and watched him do it, and for some reason, it didn’t register on me exactly what he was doing, until Sam spoke.

Chuck bragging about his cat blog, telling Metatron his Chuck-suit was hella cute, and that he’d had a few boyfriends. (I hope that statement didn’t get anybody’s knickers twisted, as that is quite possibly the most radical statement ever made, in a television show.)😄😄😄😄

Chuck confessing that he gave himself the ability to play the guitar and bragging about his exploits. These various exploits, like getting a girlfriend and speaking French, are some of the most mundane things humanity accomplishes all the time, and Metatron was right to point out to him, that it’s sad that accomplishing such small things, is the be all, to a being that created the universe.

The look of wonder on Dean’s  face when he reaches in his pocket to find The Samulet, an item he’d thrown away as useless, so many years ago.

The realization, during the Chuckatron conversation, that Amara is probably older than Chuck, and is described  as that bullying older sibling, who likes to break their little brother’s  and sister’s  toys for fun.

Dean telling Sam he’s not leaving him, is a call back to the episode Croatoan, where he vows not to leave Sam, when Sam is infected with the demon virus, in season …what? 3? After eleven years I lose track, sometimes.

Metatron explaining to Chuck  just how important he was to the lives of those he touched, and how it felt when that light left them. In some philosophies, Hell is described as the absence of God’s light, and being removed from his presence. Does this mean life has been Hell for everyone since he abdicated the throne?

Metatron’s desctiption of humanity. Some of the best speeches, in this series, are often  given to the most unlikable characters, like Crowley and Metatron. And there must to be at least one tearjerker per season. It’s the law!

Sam immediately apologizing for the hurtful things he’s saying to Dean in the moments the fog took over. Both of them trying so hard to protect each other.  But every episode, this season,  we seem to get a scene of Dean being anguished over Sam’s prone body. This does not bode well for the end of the season.

The look on Dean’s  face when he sees Chuck and realizes he’s God.

 

I enjoyed the writing in this episode. It’s not the best of the season. I’d choose Baby, as the best, but it’s very good. Very well done. The only slow part was watching Sam and Dean do their usual FBI schtick, but it was worth sitting through it to finally get to hear Chuck’s side of the story. Up to now, we’ve only heard Amara’s side of the argument. Once again, humanity’s existence is at the mercy of, yet another, family squabble.

This episode Metatron served the role Sam and Dean played in Changing Channels,  when they tried to talk Gabriel into taking humanity’s side against his brothers and sisters. This episode sets up a nice parallel and contrast between the Winchester’s devotion to each other vs. God, and the Angel’s, devotion/abandonment, of their family. The Winchesters are meant to illustrate the very qualities that Metatron chastises Chuck  for not possessing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Supernatural : Don’t Call Me Shurley

  1. “Some people might call this fan service but I don’t care, because I got a lot of fiddly little questions answered tonight, along with gaining a new respect (any respect, actually), for Metatron, which is saying something, as Metatron normally doesn’t inspire an ounce of respect. ”

    It was a wonderful episode that gave answers to questions I’ve had for 84 years, I mean since season 5. Robbie Thompson’ Swan Song was top notch.

    “The music, camerawork and acting really sell the moments with the fog rolling in.”

    Agree.

    “Both of them trying so hard to protect each other. ”

    I know! I just love the way they ‘brother’ (yes, I’m making it a verb lol) this season.

    “But every episode, this season,  we seem to get a scene of Dean being anguished over Sam’s prone body. This does not bode well for the end of the season.”

    It really doesn’t. The recurring theme of infection with Sam is starting to break my heart. All that boy ever wanted was to feel “clean” and “pure”. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had wanted to talk about Sam’s psychology and how he needs Dean as a kind of security cushion that allows him to concern himself with other’s safety, rather than his own.

      Its like Dean having his back frees him up not to worry about his own safety and can concentrate on helping others. Dean is only good at helping others when he;s secure in Sam’s safety. That’s when he does his best work. Witness his behavior during that episode where he thought Sam was dead. He was not at his best at all.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. “I had wanted to talk about Sam’s psychology and how he needs Dean as a kind of security cushion that allows him to concern himself with other’s safety, rather than his own. Its like Dean having his back frees him up not to worry about his own safety and can concentrate on helping others.”

        It’s a possibility. I don’t read Sam as well as I read Dean because I find that he flip flops on principles I find crucial in the foundation and structure of one’s personality. I talked about how “I” would walk in traffic with my eyes covered if Dean Winchester had my back. I think I put it in those exact words in the “Devil In the Details” Report : “Superman’s got me”.

        The reason I’m not sure Sam feels that way is because he’s sometimes chastised Dean for saving him or trying to save him. You shouldn’t have done this. “I want you to worry about yourself”, etc. I know he admits that he needs Dean watching his back: “Shut up. I mean, I do need you watching my back. Obviously. ” (Time for a Wedding) but at times he acted like he resented it.

        I guess that’s the pre-season 10 Carver era I’m having hard time letting go of. I also think Sam’s propensity to get into a suicidal frame of mind is vastly underestimated. He’s never loud about it. He moves quietly when he wants to go. He’s not one to jump off a bridge and make a big production, but he’ll cling to doing something that will most definitely kill him and resent the time he cheated death because he was “ready to go”. All that muddles the playground for me and I’m not sure what to think anymore.

        I will say that the post season 9 Sam seems more comfortable with allowing Dean to watch his back and catch him when he falls. Maybe it’s growth, the fact that they’ve come full circle on certain issues, or the fact that for once in a long time, Sam truly believes he’s worth the trouble and FINALLY understands why Dean thinks saving him is worth taking all those risks. I think Sam didn’t use to think he was worth everything Dean was doing to keep him alive.

        Okay, I’ve come full circle in my own thinking (I need to argue myself in the most long winded way possible to get there but I get there lol) and I AGREE WITH YOU, KEKE. I guess I never thought about it before and I had to logic with myself. You’re right. Sam knowing Dean has his back frees him to take more risks. Phew! 😀

        “Dean is only good at helping others when he;s secure in Sam’s safety. That’s when he does his best work. Witness his behavior during that episode where he thought Sam was dead. He was not at his best at all.”

        I don’t believe Dean is “only good at helping others” when he’s secure in Sam’s safety. Yes, that’s the Dean stan getting in her feelings lol, bear with me. Dean is always good at helping others. He’s a born warrior/hero and he’s just got it. What he lacks when he’s not secure in Sam’s safety is the motivation to do it. I love to bring up the “Then let in end!” from “All Hell Breaks Loose” because life doesn’t have the same value to Dean (his and others to be honest) when Sam is in trouble. I also love to bring up the “We stay, we die. He wants to stay” from “Red Meat” after Dean finds Sam’s unresponsive body.

        Okay, I guess I agree with you again. Just wished you had framed the “only good at” in a gentler and more flattering light lmao. Don’t mind the fangirl. I’ll be over there in a corner * sheepish face *

        Like

        1. It’s cool. It’s eleven years of shows and a lot to parse. I tend to reach these types of conclusions semi-intuitively. I know other people may take different routes. I’m not always certain of the conclusions I reach either.

          But you’re not wrong about Sam resenting Deans care. It’s entirely possible for him to want that and need it and still resent it, at the same time, like most teen’s rebellion against their parental units. That he seems comfortable with it now may simply be a sign of maturity.

          As for Dean, I’ve heard it said that Sam is his fuel. I can grok that.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Sorry to keep butting into your conversation with Vee…but you both are coming up with some great points
            “That he seems comfortable with it now may simply be a sign of maturity.”
            Agreed!! I find Sam so much more likeable the past 2 seasons than in 8 and 9.

            Liked by 2 people

        2. ““I” would walk in traffic with my eyes covered if Dean Winchester had my back.”

          I feel the same way! I also think season 11 Sam is becoming more like that with Dean. I like it.

          Liked by 2 people

  2. “along with gaining a new respect (any respect, actually), for Metatron, which is saying something, as Metatron normally doesn’t inspire an ounce of respect.”

    I agree- I usually despise him but Curtis really sold it!

    I am one of those that didn’t want Chuck to be God. I would have been ok with it if it was God in Chucks meat suit but the fact that he was God all along-well now doesn’t that make God a “big bag of dicks” as Dean would say? To be there and watch Deans anguish over Sam and Lilith….well I am pissed at him.

    I need to re-watch, as I was so shocked that they did “go there” that I don’t think everything sunk in.

    I missed who’s pocket the Samulet was in-was it there all along or did Chuck put it there?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Chuck put the Samulet in Dean’s pocket. Earlier we saw Chuck holding it in his hand turning it on and off. Wasn’t shocked about the God-Chuck thing. I kind of knew that or at least I heavily suspected it. I’d long ago accepted he was a “bag of dicks”, though.

      Like

      1. On another site they’re saying it was in Sam’s pocket-I really need to rewatch. Also did Chuck put it there ? Cause he says at one point-you won’t believe where its been ALL ALONG…

        Like

        1. I watched the episode twice and he told Metatron, “You wont believe where I found it.” Or something to that effect. I’m certain he was holding it in his hand when he said it, and then there was a light coming from Dean’s jacket pocket, he reached into it, and pulled out the amulet. Sam was almost prone at that point and Dean had been cradling his head, but I can always watch it again! That’s not a problem!

          I do remember the last time we saw it , Dean had dropped it in the garbage can at a motel.

          Like

            1. Okay! I thought since I saw Dean handling it, that it came from his own pocket. Is Sam Chuck’s favorite or something. Or did we establish that it was Lucifer who sent Sam his visions? Lucifer is the Father of Lies, so I wasn’t entirely sure about that?

              Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

