XII : Winchester Brothers Report : “Did you break into our house?”

Supernatural “The British Invasion” (12.17) | air date April 6, 2017.
Eileen Leahy has a lead on Dagon and she helps the Winchesters locate Kelly Klyne. The BMOLs tell Mick it’s time to terminate the Winchesters.

Overall grade : 6.5/10

“The British Invasion” had a lot going on. Five fatalities, a plethora of characters, childhood flashbacks, an unholy tryst, and what some might consider an unexpected twist.

I was glad to see Eileen again. We met her in the excellent “Into the Mystic” and it looks like she and Sam have kept in contact and are getting closer. She came in with a solid lead on Kelly Klyne and the boys looked impressed by her skills when she told them how she tracked down Dermott, Dagon’s right-hand demon, and got Kelly’s number out of him before she stabbed him to death. I always love hearing hunters describe their process and the way they go about getting their monster.

I was also impressed (like Sam), when Eileen revealed the way Dermott systematically destroyed evidence that could give away Kelly’s location. “Smart”. “Pat Benatar”, I mean Dagon runs a tight ship. It was love at first sight with her, and she was the character I was most happy to see again after Eileen. Dagon is sharp, and that vanishing trick she pulled on Eileen was one of best moments of the episode. I know, I’m congratulating the villain.

The episode confirmed that, as suspected in “Family Feud”, Lucifer was psychically communicating with Dagon. He inquired about the welfare of his son, but also said something that stuck out to me. “Don’t fail me, Dagon. Not again.” When has Dagon failed her Lord? Was it the lack of interest she displayed, when her brother Azazel was working tirelessly to free him? I’m curious.

I didn’t understand why Dean didn’t want to call Crowley for help as Sam suggested. Are we supposed to believe Dean has a problem reaching out to Crowley when he needs something? Since when? He’s been on the phone calling Crowley, and working with him, and even joking with him so much lately that this sudden refusal completely threw me for a loop. Whatever, this is a Buckleming episode. More on that later… unfortunately.

Crowley and Lucifer weren’t as much fun as they usually are. Between Lucifer feigning submission, another disrespectful mention of Michael and all the floor licking (this needs to stop, seriously), I checked out during the dungeon scenes. I will say this, King. Watch your “pert, royal ass”, because the beast hasn’t been humbled. Not by a long shot, and as your mother told you, you are surrounded by treacherous minions who never cease plotting against you.

Of course, Lucifer wants to do away with his shackles, and there’s always a silly demon willing to help him. As if the ones before didn’t get their necks snapped for their trouble. Crowley said it best. The problem with demons… is that they’re demons (“Weekend at Bobby’s”).

I wonder how Kelly Klyne felt after being told the child she’s fighting for will kill her. Does she regret her decision? Dean was very protective of Kelly whenever the BMOL threatened her life. I guess this gives us an idea of how he’ll react with Lucifer’s baby when someone will tries to eliminate him. I come back to those monster exceptions I was talking about last week, and how the boys ensure that the future will never be truly safe by letting questionable creatures go. Gordon asked Dean in “Hunted” if he would kill little Hitler if he saw him. Ironic that Dean killed the adult version this season (as he told us over and over again), but would he have killed the baby? Guess we’ll find out.

“No dude, we’re not calling Crowley.”
“Hello, boys.”
Crowley? Oh hey there, Mick!

Mick was given a tragic backstory that made it seem like he might be sticking around for a while, or at least make it to the finale where fandom would cry over his death because we came to like him. I liked him. Sad to find out he was haunted by the memories of Timothy, his only childhood friend whom he had to kill as part of a ritual, to become a BMOL. Watching Mick seek refuge from his thoughts in his fellow MOL’s bunker showed that he was starting to look at Sam and Dean as potential friends. Like the Winchesters, Mick turned to alcohol to numb the pain of the sacrifices he made for the ‘Job’, and they couldn’t keep up with him. Mick drank Dean under the table. I’d never thought I’d see the day. “Can you even get drunk anymore?” That was Sam asking Dean in “Party On, Garth!”. I guess we have our answer.

Sleeping Beauty Dean, one of my favorite things.

I liked watching Mick make himself at home in the bunker and that’s saying something because I’m usually annoyed when people get too comfortable in Sam and Dean’s house (there are exceptions of course), but Mick fit in so well there. I will miss him.

Killed by Ketch, a fellow “survivor” of that horrible Kendricks School of the Hunger Games, in a moment that mirrors Mick killing his own best friend all those years ago. “They gave me a life.” And they took it back.

When I saw Mick in his beige coat, changing his mind about the “Code”, I saw Castiel questioning the law of Heaven. “The very touch of you corrupts.” That’s what Hesther told Dean after she saw how Castiel had changed in “Reading Is Fundamental”. The Winchesters have a great deal of influence over the people that come into their orbit. They changed Mick and he paid with his life for turning his back on the BMOL code. I don’t drink, but I’ll pour one out for Michael (and Timothy, that poor kid… and also Kelly’s doctor, and that cute guy who was body snatched by Dermott; none for you, Renny “I graduated at the top of my class” Rawlings).

Debbab was just asking if the BMOL were monsters. I’ve been a fervent and vocal critic of the BMOL since Day 1, but before this episode, I didn’t think they were actual monsters. I thought they wanted to keep humans safe and didn’t care about monsters feelings, which I find is the logical way to look at things versus the emotional way the Winchesters pick and choose who to save and as far as I’m concerned, sometimes make mistakes that other humans have to pay for down the line.

Ketch having been presented as a psychopath, I thought he might be going overboard with the kills because he enjoyed slaughtering humans as much as he did monsters. I wasn’t 100% sure that the Order had a systematic policy for killing people, which would make them monsters. Well, ritual child killings, hunter executions, it’s all in “The Code”.

I stand corrected.

Ketch and Toni aren’t the problematic element of the Order, they are the Order. Naomi 2.0/ Layla Rourke’s Mom (“Faith”)/Dr. Hess kept referring to Toni’s opinion of the Winchesters as a credible one. She had children kill other children and didn’t bat an eye, anymore than she did as Mick was emptying himself of his blood in front of her eyes. Monsters. The lot of them.

Told you : “Dude, don’t compliment the bad guys.”

“You’re changing the world, and I wanna be a part of it.”
“What the British Men of Letters are doing what we’re doing, it’s a better way.”

See what complimenting the Bad Guys get you?

I told Dean in “The Raid” Report, to stay away from “Team Low Budget Mission Impossible” because they were going nowhere fast. I knew their inexplicable alliance with the BMOL would blow up in their faces in a spectacular fashion. I also knew the narrative wouldn’t allow Dean to follow his instincts, and tell the BMOL to stick their proposal where they sun didn’t shine, like he should have.

I said that Sam’s decision to join them made no sense, in every report since “The Raid”. Dean joined them to fight by Sam’s side, that made sense given what we know about the character, but then he stayed, after he swore he would bail the second things got weird. Another decision that doesn’t make sense.

I said that Mary choosing to follow the BMOL was proof that she was not to be trusted, as she chose to align herself with an Order that had hurt her son, while he still had a problem with it. The brainwashed Kool-Aid drinking cult member that she is then jeopardized said son’s life, as well as his brother’s, to run errands for her new masters in “Stuck In the Middle (With You)”.

Last week at the end of my rope, I called on John Winchester ghost to save his sons from the BMOL prison his dreadful wife had trapped them into. Selling Sam out for her happiness. Selling Sam and Dean out for the Colt. Pimping out her kids to a merry band of psychos and now screwing one. Good job, Mary!

“Have you talked to Mom lately.”

Mary’s not keeping contact with her sons, as usual. She can trick Sam into coming to the BMOL base for a guided tour with a bunch of pleading texts, but she can’t say hello when she doesn’t need anything from him. Oh, you’ll have to forgive her. She’s probably too busy screwing Ketch. Ketch with the charming pillow talk: “I’ll end up shooting this one”. That’s what he thought when he met Mary.

Well, Arthur, all is not lost. You still could.

Mary’s full of it. She doesn’t want to “have it all”. She wants to be in bed with the BMOL and not be bothered with her kids. I hope she goes up in flames with the rest of them.

The BMOL: “Exterminate them. Every last one.”

Sure. All your Winchester vision boards should tell you that Azazel, Lucifer, Dick Roman, Eve, Death and countless others couldn’t do a thing about Chuck’s chosen “denim wrapped nightmares”. You’re welcome to try and exterminate yourselves in the process, which will hopefully clear the path for a BMOL-free, lucky season 13!

The bunker: “The key opens every chapterhouse in the world.”

Now we know how Toni got in, and how every other BMOL member could. Is the bunker in danger? Will Sam and Dean lose their home? Noooo!!! Well at least, there’s always Rufus’ cabin… or disco-themed motel rooms!

The Buckleming: “my little bro Michael”

Those two again with their wanton disregard for crucial pieces of canon history. I started this category in season 11. It’s back, for something I already ranted about so I’ll just copy paste from the “Hell’s Angel” Report.

Did we collectively hallucinate Michael telling Lucifer “You know, you haven’t changed a bit, little brother” in “Swan Song”?

Then I’ll add Gabriel’s words in “Changing Channels”.

“Michael, the big brother, loyal to an absent father, and Lucifer, the little brother, rebellious of Daddy’s plan.”

Michael, Gabriel, Lucifer. One of them is lying, and it’s the canon fail version of Lucifer Buckleming has cursed us with. They’re getting paid to write this story but never care to keep it straight.

 

Best Dean moments

Dean reunited with the Colt. The look of pure satisfaction on his face. So much history between the Winchesters and this gun. “Reunited and it feels so good” plays in the background.

Dean snatching Kelly up in the street like a gangster. He’s so smooth and she looks so discombobulated. Poor thing, and so funny.

 

Best Sam moments

Sam hugging Eileen. So I’m not a Samleen shipper per se, but I love Eileen and if something were to happen between her and Sam, I wouldn’t object. I’d at least be relieved with his choice because I’ve had serious issues with his taste in women post-Sarah Blake. His last girlfriends were awful, and it’s good to see him connecting with a woman who doesn’t talk down to him, abuse him and treat him like dirt. That hug was one for the books. Gentle giant… I’m so, so jealous of Eileen right now. Tears in my eyes.

Sam talking Mick off the ledge. “You only have to answer to your own code.” Sam the peacemaker diffusing a tense situation, protecting Eileen and getting through to Mick. Yes!

 

Best broment

Dean teasing Sam about Eileen. He likes this one. He liked Sarah too and loathed Ruby almost as much as I do. Let’s face it the man has good instinct and good taste. Sam’s little smile is the cutest thing. It’s okay, Dimples, you can tell us if you like her. Ugh, I love them both so much.

 

Final verdict

I liked seeing Eileen again, and Dagon is my kind of demon. The actress is fabulous and I can’t get enough of her. I’m sorry to see Mick go. On the Moviechat forum we discussed the possibility that he might die, but we didn’t necessarily think it would be this soon. Feels like a waste, building him up so much to throw him away so quickly.

The BMOL Order turned out to be even worse than I thought, and I’ve been ranting about them like a maniac since Toni. I’m glad that once again, that morally bankrupt, pathetic excuse for a mother, Mary, is shown to be as clueless as I always knew she was. I’ve been a big fan of Samantha Smith since “Pilot”,  but I have to say, “unlikely”, to her statement that we’ll love Mary again. Some fans will, for sure. I won’t, not at the level of contempt I’ve reached for the character.

So now, after the show turned our genius hunters into brain-dead puppets who signed up for the “Terrible Life” with the BMOL, I’m supposed to be invested in their upcoming war with the Librarians they cosigned themselves. I wonder, what was the point of it all? Turning the mother into such a reprehensible character. Having canonically smart brothers dumb themselves down, repeatedly, to justify an allegiance to an organization that posed a threat to their way of life (the way they hunt, the way they operate).

Fellow fans, we really shouldn’t have skewered “Bloodlines” the way we did, because the CW would have greenlit the project, and our current showrunner would have been allowed to nurture his own show, instead of turning ours into : Supernatural:the Bloodlines Edition.

Karma’s a witch!

Merci,

Vee

 

Gif credits

 

The Winchester Brothers Report by Vee

Season 11: 11.01 to 11.23

Season 12
12.01: “If he is not in one piece I will take you apart.”
12.02: “The only thing we had was each other.”
12.03: “Family hunting trip.”
12.04: “I hate you so much right now.”
12.05: “What do you think this is? Tickle party?”
12.06: “Where is my brother?”
12.07: “The brothers that rock together.”
12.08: “Impeach LOTUS, find Rosemary’s baby.”
12.09: “We’re the guys who saved the world.”
12.10: “I can’t see, did you get a plate?”
12.11: “It was everything. It was us, it was what we do.”
12.12: “They got gear, but they tried to kill my brother.”
12.13: “Where does that leave us?”
12.14: “Sammy? Lucy, I’m―”
12.15: “We hate them. Us. Together.”
12.16: “Either you get good fast or you get dead faster.”

13 thoughts on “XII : Winchester Brothers Report : “Did you break into our house?”

  1. Dagon is a great character, and I hope they don’t drop that little hint about failing Lucifer and never come back to it. As you said, it could be that she was sitting on the sidelines while Azazel did the heavy lifting and Ramiel was off fishing (these three would make for an interesting fic with their strong personalities – can you imagine the power dynamics at that family table?)

    Ketch’s line about “I’ll end up shooting this one” made me laugh out loud. He is so blithe about the whole thing, and it just screamed FORESHADOWING to me.

    So disappointed that they turned the idea of an MoL school into the Hunger Games. Sure, it could have been dark and full of manipulation (a cult) but kids killing each each other seemed way over the line (dare say, lazy writing) get to a Code that they all adhere to and fear. What happened to preceptors, beholders, chroniclers – people who are hands-off scholars?

    As always, good to read your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Dagon is a great character, and I hope they don’t drop that little hint about failing Lucifer and never come back to it.”

      Yes, Dagon looked a bit worried when Luci said ‘don’t fail me again’. I’m sure he expects her to give up her life to protect the nephilim if it comes to that.

      “As you said, it could be that she was sitting on the sidelines while Azazel did the heavy lifting and Ramiel was off fishing (these three would make for an interesting fic with their strong personalities – can you imagine the power dynamics at that family table?)”

      They REALLY would make for an interesting fic. I liked Azazel’s sarcastic personality and Ramiel’s menacing presence. I’m also a fan of Dagon’s. The producers picked three charismatic actors to portray the Princes of Hell.

      “Ketch’s line about “I’ll end up shooting this one” made me laugh out loud. He is so blithe about the whole thing, and it just screamed FORESHADOWING to me.”

      Lol, I loved David’s facial expression (or lack there of) when he said that line. It really sounded like foreshadowing.

      “So disappointed that they turned the idea of an MoL school into the Hunger Games. Sure, it could have been dark and full of manipulation (a cult) but kids killing each each other seemed way over the line (dare say, lazy writing) get to a Code that they all adhere to and fear. What happened to preceptors, beholders, chroniclers – people who are hands-off scholars?”

      I completely agree with you. I’ve had nothing nice to say about the BMOL since they appeared but the child killing came out of left field. Having Hess and Co. execute an operative in cold blood was enough to drive the point home.

      “As always, good to read your review!”

      Thank you. I also love to hear your thoughts 🙂

      Like

  2. And yet Ackles snorts so well. The Mary/Ketch scene is a set up for a reason, a choice that has to be made, a significant event-otherwise it is just to show Dean inherited his one and done stance from Ms. Mary. It would be superfluous otherwise but then again…this duo of writers….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like Mary in the beginning but I’m now on the fence. There are times I like her but yes there are times I’m disappointed. But I keep remembering some history here. When Dean first visited the Campbell family, Mary said then when she and John got married she was going to give up that part of her life so that they could have a normal family life. She repeated it again when she fessed up that she was working with the BMOL. That their way was better as it was getting rid of monsters forever when the end result of saving people and that they could have a normal family life. Sam’s felt the same way. It will interesting to see how they will react when they find out about the BMOL code and that there is now a contract out on the guys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Mary said then when she and John got married she was going to give up that part of her life so that they could have a normal family life.”

      I feel like they rewrote Mary’s character because we learned this season that she was still hunting when she was with John, which means she lied to him about where she was going, and left knowing she might not be back when she had two small children at home.

      “It will interesting to see how they will react when they find out about the BMOL code and that there is now a contract out on the guys.”

      Yes, so far the boys only learned about part of The Code from Mick (kill every monster) but they know nothing about the hunters executions and child murders yet. I think this might make it easy for them to kill the BMOL because they’re usually not quick to shoot human beings.

      Like

  4. “I’ve been a big fan of Samantha Smith since “Pilot”, but I have to say, “unlikely”, to her statement that we’ll love Mary again. Some fans will, for sure. I won’t, not at the level of contempt I’ve reached for the character.”

    THIS^

    Even my husband was all noooooo shes not sleeping with him is she? WTF!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, I could tell he was attracted to her. I didn’t think she had any interest in him but her sleeping with him, is just another manifestation of her choosing the BMOL over everything else. I’m amused that she’s sleeping with Toni’s ex. Mother of the Year, tangled up directly and indirectly with people who want to hurt her children. Bye, Mary.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Literally, Mary is in bed with the BMOL. Again, this writing duo veers off the main course just enough for me to say,”Meh”. Again, humans do often prove to be more monsterous than monsters- remember “the Benders”? The BMOL only deal in black or white- the code. As Dean learned early on, you need those shades of gray. Dean learned that one from Sam. And while I like Pelligrino’s Lucifer, I agree, the floor licking is not new-again the writers doing that parallel thing not as well as other writers. And Eileen and Sam do have a chemistry, but alas his “interests” do not have a long shelf life as I said in my review, but didn’t Sam ask himself if one could have the hunter’s life and a home life back in the “school for hunters” episode with Krissy? Not thinking show is going there, but Eileen would be a good choice. And how drunk can Dean get is a good question? This writing team never does him a solid.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Literally, Mary is in bed with the BMOL. Again, this writing duo veers off the main course just enough for me to say,”Meh”.”

        Off the main course. Love it. Was Mary and Ketch necessary? Meh.

        “Again, humans do often prove to be more monsterous than monsters- remember “the Benders”?”

        I’ll never forget how The Benders had humans in cages hunting each other. Sad.

        “The BMOL only deal in black or white- the code. As Dean learned early on, you need those shades of gray. Dean learned that one from Sam.”

        Yep, in “Bloodlust”, although I don’t believe Sam’s shade or grey perspective is at all compatible with the goal he’s currently chasing of ridding the world of monsters.

        “And while I like Pelligrino’s Lucifer, I agree, the floor licking is not new-again the writers doing that parallel thing not as well as other writers.”

        Yeah, there was little subtlety to it and the whole thing was just… sigh.

        “And Eileen and Sam do have a chemistry, but alas his “interests” do not have a long shelf life as I said in my review, but didn’t Sam ask himself if one could have the hunter’s life and a home life back in the “school for hunters” episode with Krissy? Not thinking show is going there, but Eileen would be a good choice.”

        I was thinking of what he said more recently when he asked Dean about settling down with a hunter in season 11. I hope the show’s not going there because I watch for hunting brothers, not One Tree Hill With Monsters, but of all the choices for Sam, Eileen is the first I’ve approved of in 9 seasons.

        “And how drunk can Dean get is a good question? This writing team never does him a solid.”

        Lol! I know you disapprove of that particular scene 😉

        Like

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

