XII : Winchester Brothers Report : “Who we are? We kick ass. We save the world.”

bSupernatural “Who We Are” (12.22) | Original air date May 18, 2017.
Sam and Dean only have each other to rely on when they’re caught in a dangerous situation; the fight between the American hunters and the British hunters comes to a head.
Supernatural “All Along the Watchtower” (12.23) | Original air date May 18, 2017.
Lucifer battles Sam, Dean and Castiel for control of his unborn son.

Overall grade : 6.75/10

12.22 “Who We Are”

The American hunters: “Kick it in the ass.”

“Who We Are” starts with Sam and Dean working together to break out of the bunker. The brothers trapped in the batcave was one of my favorite parts of the episode along with the hug they shared at Jody’s and Dean’s one-sided conversation with Mary. It was nice to see the brothers have meaningful interactions and meaningful conversations about themselves and the things that affect them, something someone apparently decided they should do as little as possible this season. Watching those big piles of flannel work sleeveless on the wall was also a rare, finale-worthy treat.

I was relieved to hear Garth was alive because I’ve been worried about him since the boys mentioned him in “The British Invasion”. As always, a pleasure to see Jody. The moment she extended her hand towards Dean made me emotional. He was wounded, worried about Sockpuppet Mary and I needed someone to care about him. And Jody always does. She senses Dean’s pain and steps forward to offer some compassion, a listening ear or a comforting touch. The way she did in “Don’t You Forget About Me” when he was dealing with post-Knight of Hell stress, or in “Celebrating the Life of Asa Fox” when he was wrestling with his anger at Mary.

Jody was also responsible for one of my favorite moments of the episode when she shot Dr. Hess dead between the eyes after Sam decided to “pass” on Hess’ offer to help him with Lucifer. I was also delighted that she got to handle Sockpuppet Mary and sock her in the face. Tens across the board, Jodeo! Speaking of, I smiled at the mention of Donna, who was doing her part in the fight setting up safe houses for the hunters’ families.

I was happy to see Alex. I think I fell in love with her because something about her reminded me of the magnificent Rachel Miner (Meg) but I’ve grown to appreciate the character in her own right. There’s a maturity, a warmth and a quiet strength about her that fascinates me. She took care of Dean and in the few minutes she was on screen, she showed how much her relationship with Jody has grown. I liked that she was chosen to say the famous words, “Kick it in the ass”, as a tribute to the late Kim Manners.

It was of course very satisfying to see the hunters blow up the dreaded BMOL base. Dean was removed from the action while all of that was going on, in part because he’s always been distant from anything BMOL-related and in part because season 12 has taken to sending him off to the cornfield at every turn, but I loved the reminder that he’s always in hunter-mode when he cuffed Toni to Mary’s chair at the speed of light when she wasn’t watching, right as she was about to administer the shot that would leave him vulnerable as he was travelling through Mary’s brain. John Winchester didn’t raise no fool!

Dean’s trip home: “I had to be, more than just a brother.”

One standout moment of the episode was Jensen’s amazing performance during Dean’s one-sided conversation with Mary. Dean entered Mary’s head like he did Bobby’s in “Dream A Little Dream” and went back to their “Home” in Lawrence, in a scene that bore several similarities to the one from “Dark Side of the Moon”. There was Mary’s dress, the fact that she asked Little Dean if he wanted pie, her loving words towards him (“I only want good things for you.”) that echoed the moment she called him “her little angel” in “Dark Side of the Moon”, and even the scene where Dean calls out to Mary and she doesn’t respond, the same way Sam called out to her in “Dark Side…” but couldn’t get a reaction out of her because he wasn’t a part of the memory.

My favorite part of Dean’s speech was the one where he talks about being a parentified child. “I had to be, more than just a brother. I had to be a father, and I had to be a mother, to keep him safe. And that wasn’t fair.” That part brought tears to my eyes. Dean being a parentified child is something I’ve always related to, and I always like the moments where he’s given a chance to express his pain, reflect on the unfairness of the burden that was put on him, without someone telling him to suck it up, princess, or keep smiling. I also love that he was able to confront Mary about the devastation her choices caused, a devastation Mary has been running away from like a coward since she split after asking how she would ever face Sam.

Sam taking action against the BMOL: “I want you to follow me. Take the fight to them.”

“They hooked us with their flashy gear and their tech. Most of you had the good sense to turn them down. I didn’t.”

I’ve ranted against the BMOL storyline this entire season, and especially Sam’s decision to work with them because it never made sense to me. They tried to offer up an explanation for the reason Sam fell for the company line. “I just followed. Cause it was easy. Easier.” “Easier than leading.”

Still not working for me. Yes, Sam’s always been on a journey to find and carve his own path. Yes, he’s had several episodes of rebellion against authority (John, Dean). Yes, he’s often followed, and when he tried to lead (season 4), it’s caused world-ending catastrophes that made him think that maybe, just following was the better option.

“My whole life, you take the wheel, you call the shots, and I trust you because you are my brother. Now I’m asking you, for once, trust me.” (“When the Levee Breaks”).

There absolutely is a foundation in the narrative for this arc. It still didn’t come together for me because I can’t get past anyone with sense deciding that working for the BMOL was the way to go. I never believed Mary had the sense Chuck gave a goose so I’m not talking about her. It seems like a massive step backwards for Sam to make this particular mistake, whether it is because he’s still deluding himself with the idea that a monster-less world is possible, or wants to be free from hunting one day.

The part that worked for me, if I look at Sam’s entire journey and not just this season, is the part where Dean gave Sam his seal of approval. One of the recurring themes of this show is how difficult it has been for Sam to lose Dean’s trust, be deprived from it, try to earn it back, try to prove himself. He tried to kill himself over it (“Sacrifice”), he begged for it (“Trial and Error”), lashed out over it (“Southern Comfort”), and then, he became mostly resigned. Which is why I believe Dean saying “I saw you. You’re ready for this.” “You got this.” had to be an important moment for Sam after years of “I keep asking myself, why won’t he trust me”.

“My brother and I, we, we uh. No, you know what? I. Called you here.”

I am all for General Sam kicking butt and taking names, leading the charge against the wretched BMOL and torching their base. Bring it! I also get that Sam had to be the one to clean up the BMOL arc since he was the one embracing them while Dean was vocal about not being impressed with them. I’m kind of wondering what the lesson is here. That Sam can lead without looking to someone else to make the big decisions? That Sam is learning that the way to repair his mistakes is by taking an active role in being part of the solution? I believe he’s known that since “Swan Song”. Was it about giving his a confidence boost that he’s needed for a while? Probably. I suppose the problem here is that, since every step of the BMOL arc didn’t make sense to me, no resolution the show would come up with would work either because it still wouldn’t explain or legitimize anything that happened before. And that’s the same problem I had with Mary’s arc. Another story that didn’t make sense to me from the get and therefore could never be tied up in a satisfactory manner.

Mother Mary: “All of this, is because of me.”

Anyone who’s read my reviews or interacted with me on MovieChat knows I can’t find a single nice thing to say about Mary Campbell to save my life. This is the end of her season 12 Mother Dearest arc and hopefully the last installment of my “Another Scathing Segment on Mother Mary”. I’ll try my best to ignore her when she inexplicably escapes Lucifer’s wrath in season 13 and starts making frequent appearances at the bunker with store-bought pie and meatloaf.

The Mary Sockpuppet was only a slightly more annoying version of the original so I was not surprised the first thing out of her mouth would be hurtful words towards her son. At least she remains consistent when it comes to her shoddy parenting skills. Continuity!

“Oh, you wanna play mother to my son? He’s all yours.”

Like Mary even needed to be in sockpuppet-mode to say something like that. Lady, from Ellen, to Jody, to Rowena, everybody has been playing mommy to your son better than you. Heck, Lady Antonia Bevell, that utter psycho, demonstrated a shred of motherly instinct when she made an plea for her life because: “I’d like to see my son again”, and how ironic that she was asking this to Dean, just as he, the rejected son, was praying he could see his mother again.

I’ve determined after “There’s Something About Mary” that Mary lives in denial and has a hard time dealing with reality. It was evident once again when Dean realized after he stepped into her mind that “You’re choosing this.” She tucked herself away in a safe memory dating back to a time where she still liked “playing mother” to Sam and Dean apparently. Of course, she was in denial back then too, making promises to Dean to keep him safe as if she hadn’t made a deal with a demon that was going to inevitably blow up in their faces the same way her ill-advised affair with the BMOL was guaranteed to cause nothing but hurt to her children.

“I hate you.” “You lied to me. You promised you’d keep me safe, and then you make a deal with Azazel.”

I appreciated that Dean got some things off his chest but outside of him acknowledging his painful upbringing and negative feelings towards Mary, the monologue didn’t work for me. One, it was an excuse to bench him, fifteen minutes into the episode so he could babysit that airhead Mary. Second, much of the monologue focused on Sam which spared Mary from actually having that uncomfortable conversation with her youngest child. I don’t understand how Dean once again gets to be the one who does all the emotional heavy lifting while that utterly useless, soulless, heartless, brainless twig doll just gets to be forgiven for everything and only has to drop a few Captain Obvious lines about being cold and distant and mumble something about how it’s all because of her. You don’t say!

There’s zero redemption for Mary and that three-person hug made me cringe and groan and scowl (I’m scowling as I’m typing this). She didn’t do a single thing to prove that she understood the devastation she had caused or was ready to roll up her sleeves and work on fixing things. Dean had to do everything and that waste of space couldn’t even hug him. Are you serious? We’re back at the bunker and she’s picking up books, busying herself with things while her injured son who got rocked to the core hobbles around looking for pills. Why don’t you try acting like a mom for once. Well Dean, not today, I’m afraid. Incapable of the smallest acts of kindness, standing there like a lump of coal, waiting for her sons to once again cross the river hopping on one foot to get to her. Emotionally inept and a lost cause. She should become fast friends with Lucifer given her track record of getting tangled up with sociopaths who tortured her children.

12.23 “All Along the Watchtower”

The second part of the finale had Crowley rising from the dirt like Dean in “Lazarus Rising” only to return to it a few minutes later. It had Rowena, a character who deserved so much more, killed off screen, her charred body discarded while Lucifer recounted the degrading torture he visited upon her during her last moments. I was too nauseous by then to truly enjoy AU!Bobby Singer’s cameo, and Bobby is one of my Top 5 characters ever on this show. Lucifer killed Castiel, flashing grace, burnt wings and all (it won’t stick). Luci Jr. came into the world, and his birth killed Kelly and opened a portal to a post-apocalyptic mirror world in which Mary trapped Lucifer, and then herself.

Just as Part 1 gave us “Dark Side of the Moon” flashbacks, Part 2 had plenty of references to previous episodes. AU!Bobby reminded us of the seasoned and grumpy duo of episodes such as “Weekend At Bobby’s” and “Death’s Door” when he said “me and Rufus go to work”. Kelly’s line to her son about an “angel watching over you” was originated by Mary. The boys compared their “The French Mistake” adventure to the Bizarro world of horned demons and doppelgangers they had just discovered. The beating Lucifer gave Dean is straight out of “Swan Song”, just like the moment Lucifer dragged Mary into the portal (Sam dragging Michael into the CGI hole). The moment from “Pilot” where baby Sam comes face to face with Azazel in his nursery was replicated in the last scene where Sam walks into the nursery and finds the teenage-sized nephilim flashing golden eyes, which is a truly great scene from 12.23 and a incredibly powerful moment given its callback to the origins of the show.

Another powerful moment happened when we glanced into the alternate “Mad Max World” where Sam and Dean were never born. “Who we are? We kick ass. We save the world.” Indeed. The world they never saved is in shambles and proof positive that they’re needed, notwithstanding the universe-breaking mistakes they themselves make once every two seasons. Chuck wasn’t kidding in “Alpha & Omega” when he said the world would be okay since it had them in it.

Long live the King: “Bye, boys.”

Sealing of the gates of Hell, a concept from season 8 was briefly revisited when Crowley offered to rid the world of the demons that had betrayed him one time too many. Crowley’s recent misadventures had made him realize he hates his job. That much has been clear since season 10 where he looked bored out of his mind by his responsibilities as King of Hell, and was desperate to lock down a handsome, badass Knight of Hell consort that would make life worth living again.

As he said several times this season, Crowley once again reiterated that he was betting on the Winchesters.

“Whenever there’s a world ending crisis, I know where to place my bets. It’s on you. You big, beautiful, lumbering piles of flannel”.

Crowley always had the best lines but this will be my all-time favorite of his. I expected him to die because we’d have been discussing it on MovieChat for weeks, and I knew he was going to sacrifice himself when he started the spell. I’ve always been vocal about my burning passion for Crowley and my undying love for Mark Sheppard and right now I’m brokenhearted, teary-eyed, and speechless. He was my number three favorite in a show increasingly overrun with characters I don’t like, and I feel a big chunk of the Supernatural I loved is dying with him.

 

 

Best Dean moments

“I hate you”. Dean’s journey inside Mary’s mind. From start to finish, a flawless performance by Mr. Ackles.

“Hey Lunatic”. Dean rising like the phoenix after the explosion. The line was perfect, especially as a contrast to Sam’s desperation when he stumbled into the war room. Dean’s way of lightening the mood and saying: of course I’m alive, Sasquatch.

Dean and the grenade launcher. “I’ve had this thing for so long. I’ve been waiting for the perfect moment to use this.” “Yippee ki-yay mother-” Finally! Dean used his big, beautiful gun and it was glorious! Sorry guys, couldn’t help myself.

 

 

Best Sam moments

“You might think it in your best interest to kill me. To end all of this here.” Sam facing Hess was another great moment. I loved the actress’ performance. Hess was playing her last card and giving it everything she had. Sam was not impressed and it showed on his face. “Pass”. Now that‘s the Sammy I know!

“Dean!” Sam stumbling in the war room looking for Dean after the explosion. Ah yes, the desperation in his voice as he looks for his brother. And the single layer t-shirt. And him looking like he’s randomly doing push ups while gasping for air. Yep. This is one of those scenes that really came together for me. * sips fresh lemonade through a straw *

Sam’s face after hugging Dean. And now for Padalecki’s performance. So much emotion and feeling, and almost all of it, in the eyes. When the narrative lets J2 be great, they always deliver.

Sam overcome with emotions during the family reunion scene. The eyes, once again.

 

 

Best broments

“Come here.” “You come back.”
“I promise.”
“Bitch.”
“Jerk.”
These are the moments I live for.

“I’ll take a jacked up Dean Winchester over ten other hunters any day” . This one doubles up as Best Quote, along with Crowley’s “You big, beautiful, lumbering piles of flannel”. Nothing I love more than little brother “Studying you, trying to be just like my big brother” (“Fresh Blood”)/ “You pulled a Dean Winchester” (“About A Boy”)/ “You are pretty damn awesome” (“Devil May Care”) Sam showing appreciation for his big bro.

Sam and Dean exchanging looks about the grenade launcher. After blocking all season, Sam finally gives Dean his blessing to use the “big, beautiful, and dumb” weapon and then proceeds to clear the room to let Dean do his thing. My favorite lunatics.

“You ready?” Sam helping Dean up because there’s no question in his mind they’re doing this together, jacked up leg or no. I need a moment.

“I always thought we’d go out… Butch and Sundance style.” It’s oddly comforting to me that Dean still pictures the end as the two of them going down in a blaze of glory. It’s the only ending I want.

“Glad you’re back, man.” The other hug. That epic bond. This, is the reason I can’t quit this show.

 

 

Final verdict

Definitely an emotional and action-packed finale. My favorite scenes included Sam and Dean trapped in the bunker having conversations about life and death, Sam and Dean having a moment at Jody’s, Dean being proud of Sam’s speech, telling him he believed in him, Sam getting the job done, Dean’s journey to the “Dark Side” of “Home”, especially the part where he acknowledges his pain, and every bit of Jody Mills. Jensen gave a unforgettable performance and Jared wore Sam’s heart on his sleeve.

It seemed there were portals in each part of the finale. Hess asked the BMOL to open one. I reckon it’s yet another portal the boys don’t know about that will come into play in season 13 because I doubt she was asking for a one way ticket to post-apocalyptic Hell. The nephilim also opened a new world of possibilities for the show but what I liked the most is that the “Mad Max World” showed our heroes how much they are needed.

I didn’t like that Dean was benched by a convenient leg injury and sent out to the cornfield to babysit Mary and then just incapacitated enough to give Mary the satisfaction of killing Ketch. Too much time was spent on Mary and aside from the part where Dean got to express his point of view and sort out some of his feelings, the experience was a fail for me because it didn’t change a thing about Mary’s arc. She continued to be the same emotionally stunted, mostly useless character (she did kick Lucifer into next week, I mean Bizarro World and had the good grace to follow him there). Never have I come across a character whose almost entire arc felt like a collection of mistakes absolutely nothing could repair. Her actions were those of a villain and I struggle to see the point of it all and the point of her. She should have never come back and she’s one of the reasons season 12 will go down as one of my lowest-rated ever.

Walt and Roy are yet another case of ‘be careful what you wish for’. We’ve been asking about them since “Dark Side of the Moon” and the show brought them back. Based on how rushed and unsatisfying it ended up being, I’d rather they had stayed in that black hole Jesse and Adam call home.

Castiel died like a soldier but the moment grace flashed through his eyes, I decided his death wouldn’t stick, which made the whole thing underwhelming for me. The only way this death would have significance is if the “cosmic consequences” Billie promised keep him from coming back and a Castiel from another world takes his place. Other than that, it’s business as usual, especially if they take the easy route of Jack resurrecting his guardian because he needs a father figure to look after him.

About the nephilim. He looks 100% evil as far as I’m concerned. It’s always been my opinion and frankly preference that Luci Jr. was tricking his mother and Castiel and bad to the bone. All I know is that thing with fiery footprints that flashed golden eyes at Sam looks like it came straight from the bowels of Hell.

I can’t seem to find the words to express my heartbreak that one of the last images we got to see of Rowena was a lock of her gorgeous hair dangling from the Devil’s hand. She was my beloved High Priestess of the Mega Coven that never was. Ruthie/Rowena was a breath of fresh air and I loved her so. I’m defeated. I feel empty.

I’m simply gutted over Crowley. He always had the best lines but this will be my all-time favorite of his.

“You big, beautiful, lumbering piles of flannel”.

That they are, and he loved those boys, in his own way, no one can tell me different.

“And I loved him, I loved him, I loved him…”

Long live the King and curse season 12 for taking my sunshine ball of hellfire away.

Merci,

Vee

 

Gif credits

The Winchester Brothers Report by Vee

Season 11: 11.01 to 11.23

Season 12
12.01: “If he is not in one piece I will take you apart.”
12.02: “The only thing we had was each other.”
12.03: “Family hunting trip.”
12.04: “I hate you so much right now.”
12.05: “What do you think this is? Tickle party?”
12.06: “Where is my brother?”
12.07: “The brothers that rock together.”
12.08: “Impeach LOTUS, find Rosemary’s baby.”
12.09: “We’re the guys who saved the world.”
12.10: “I can’t see, did you get a plate?”
12.11: “It was everything. It was us, it was what we do.”
12.12: “They got gear, but they tried to kill my brother.”
12.13: “Where does that leave us?”
12.14: “Sammy? Lucy, I’m―”
12.15: “We hate them. Us. Together.”
12.16: “Either you get good fast or you get dead faster.”
12.17: “Did you break into our house?”
12.18: “Leave our marks.”
12.19: “Whoa, that’s a beautiful mind.”
12.20: “We do terrible things, all the time to save each other.”
12.21: “It’s us. Please. What’s wrong with you?”

7 thoughts on “XII : Winchester Brothers Report : “Who we are? We kick ass. We save the world.”

  1. ““Whenever there’s a world ending crisis, I know where to place my bets. It’s on you. You big, beautiful, lumbering piles of flannel”.”
    Perfect line. I will miss Crowley as he is also my 3rd favorite character. I thought the good in the episode far outweighed the bad so 8.75/10 for me. Just that scene with Mary made the episode for me.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Part one I think. Especially the Mary/Dean scene. Oh yes Crowley is a big fave in my house-I think my husband likes him best of all!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The King is dead! Long live the King!

    Yeah, I’m gonna miss Crowley too, and no one can tell me either that he didn’t love the Winchesters as much as he was capable. I saw a little of that in the earlier episode this season when they’d been attacked by demons at a cabin. What ep was that? I did see that sacrifice coming though.

    Gee, I take it you don’t like Mary. Just a wild guess. I think you feel a little more strongly about her than I do. I don’t like her, and wish she wasn’t on the show, but I would put her out if she was fire.😄😄 She’s no good to anyone, not even herself.

    The first part had some great lines and speeches. The second half was almost too painful to watch, but then I’ve always been partial to the second to last episodes of a season, for some reason.

    Anyway great review!

    Hail, Hail the BMOL is dead!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Yeah, I’m gonna miss Crowley too, and no one can tell me either that he didn’t love the Winchesters as much as he was capable.”

      I honestly think he’s liked them for a long time. He basically admitted his massive crush on Dean and he’s been desperate for Moose’s friendship for a while lol.

      “I saw a little of that in the earlier episode this season when they’d been attacked by demons at a cabin. What ep was that?”

      “Stuck In the Middle (With You)”. He begged Ramiel to let the Winchesters live.

      “I don’t like her, and wish she wasn’t on the show, but I would put her out if she was fire.😄😄”

      I would skip right past her 😒 whistling Sean Kingston:
      “She’s fire burning, fire burning on the dance floor
      That little shawty’s fire burning on the dance floor
      She’s fire burning, fire burning on the dance floor
      That little shawty’s fire burning on the dance floor
      Somebody call 911!”
      * pops gum * 😆

      “The first part had some great lines and speeches. The second half was almost too painful to watch, but then I’ve always been partial to the second to last episodes of a season, for some reason.”

      I expected to love 22 more than 23 and I would have minus the Mary stuff. I ended up liking 23 mostly because the lack of focus on her. Again, liking is a strong word lol.

      “Anyway great review!”

      Thank you 🙂

      Hail, Hail the BMOL is dead!

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, come back soon!

